Politics Sun, 22 Apr 2018

Chairman Wontumi calls for unity after Ashanti NPP polls

Video Archive

The retained Ashanti Regional Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Bernard Antwi Boasiako, has called for unity amongst elected executives at the just-ended regional delegates’ conference which was held in the Ejura/Sekyedumase Constituency.

The Chairman and Secretary went unopposed while some of the candidates in the Youth organizer slot also pulled out of the race a few minutes before the polls.

Mr. Boasiako, popularly called Chairman Wontumi, emphasized the party’s resolve to capture the Ejura/Sekydumase, Sekyere Afram Plains and the Asawasi constituencies which are currently held by the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC).

He called on the elected executives to work towards the NPP retaining power in the 2020 general elections.

Chairman Wontumi was speaking to party supporters after the elected executives were sworn in.

The event was not without some skirmishes as members of the Delta Force, squared up to the police.

One of the members of the group was chased by some police officers after he was alleged to have threatened to attack one of the police inspectors.

Chairman Wontumi and some party supporters had to intervene after other members of the Delta Force came to the aid of their colleague.

The police took control of the election grounds and barricaded the inner perimeter to avert further scuffles in the counting process.

One other hiccup saw delegates and other dignitaries inconvenienced after the air conditioning in a blow-up tent failed.

This left attendees sweating in the heat.

Workers of Owner Services Limited, the company contracted to provide chairs and tents for the event were seen trying to fix air-conditioners to provide fresh air to the structure but to no avail.



Chairman unopposed

Bernard Antwi Boasiako

1st vice chair (5)

Patrick Acheampong- 298

Kwabena Nsenkyire- 411

Henry Osei Kwabena – 147

Mohammed Bashir Tijani- 11

Abubakari Ibrahim -47

2nd vice chair(5)

Frank Bona Aboagye -143

Mary Gambrah -246

Sam Kofi Cudjoe-360

Akwasi Acheampong-37


Baffour Kwadwo Aseidu- 96

Secretary unopposed

Sammuel Pyne

Assistant Secretary (5)

Kwame Adom Appiah-379

Raymond Oppong Boateng-176

Moro Kabore -280

Antwi Boasiako Frank32

Daniel Donkor-15

Organiser (5)

Daniel Boateng -90

Francis Adomako -399

Riches Oscar -357


Enock Kwaku Boateng-26

Felix Appiah Nti Gyambibi- 11

Women’s Organiser (2)

Nana Ama Ampomah- 473

Beatrice Owusu-408

Youth Organiser (5)

Nelson Owusu Ansah -390

Kwaku A. Frimpong -53

Dennis Kwakwa -352

Ohemeng Ian Moore-8

Michael Ofori Akuoko-77

Treasurer (3)

Hajia Zainab Sallow -737

Fredrick Addae -144

Nasara Coordinator (7)

Mohammed Abdul Hamid-213

Alhaji Hallaru Kumasi-92

Couch Khamid Suleiman-23

Iddrisu Abdul Kadir-48

Zakaria Osman-85

Fawaz Abdul Ganiyu -33

Saalim Mansuru Bamba -394


Total number of candidates –38

Source: citifmonline.com
Related Articles: