Regional News Sat, 1 Sep 2018

New Somanya: One feared dead in accident involving NDC supporters

One person is feared dead whiles several others have sustained injuries in an accident at New Somanya in the Eastern Region.

The victims, mostly sympathizers of the National Democratic Congress were said to be traveling from Koforidua to Apeguso in the Asuogyaman district for the party’s ongoing regional executives’ election.

An eyewitness, Okatakyie Frimpong Manso explained that the Toyota Hiace bus they were travelling on burst one of its tyres resulting in the vehicle somersaulting several times.

“What happened was that the vehicle lost control on the road because one of the front tyre burst. Currently, one person is dead, with others severely injured. The accident happened at New Somanya. It is a place where people do not live there, it is in the middle of the road, making it difficult to get assistance. The ambulance service and the police service are not in, the people around to help cannot do much,” he said

The eyewitness stated that the only option available is waiting on vehicles commuting to Koforidua to carry injured victims to a medical centre in Koforidua.

“Currently, the little help we are getting over here is that vehicles passing to Koforidua, we keep stopping the ones with space in them to take some of the injured back to Koforidua for treatment,” he said.

The opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) is electing its regional executives nationwide today, Saturday, September 1, 2018.

Delegates from all 275 constituencies are expected to assemble at various designated centres to perform the exercise.

After the regional elections, the party will later in the year choose national leaders and subsequently elect its presidential candidate before the end of December 2018.

NDC flagbearer race

About 11 aspirants are vying to lead the NDC in the2020 elections.

They include former President John Dramani Mahama, former Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the National Health Insurance Authority (NHIA), Sylvester Mensah, Dr. Ekwow Spio Garbrah; a former Trade and Industry Minister; Former Vice Chancellor of the University for Professional Studies, Accra (UPSA), Prof. Joshua Alabi, Cape Coast South MP, Kweku Ricketts-Hagan and Goosie Tanoh.

The rest are, Alban Bagbin, Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Stephen Atubiga, member of NDC communications team; Elipklim Agbemava, a lawyer; David Doste Kwame Kuwadah; and a banker and oil and gas consultant, Nurideen Iddrisu.

Source: citinewsroom.com
Related Articles: