This blog is managed by the content creator and not GhanaWeb, its affiliates, or employees. Advertising on this blog requires a minimum of GH₵50 a week. Contact the blog owner with any queries.

Parliament Coup D'etat : Over 40 NDC MPs Demand Reinstatement of Haruna and Muntaka.

Wed, 25 Jan 2023 Source: Kwesi Asante

In a petition urging the party leadership to undo the alterations made to its leaders in parliament, nearly fifty National Democratic Congress (NDC) MPs have signed on.

Changes to its three major leaders, the Minority Leader, his deputy, and the Minority Chief Whip, were announced by the NDC National Executives in a letter to the Speaker of Parliament on January 23.

Kofi Adams, a Buem MP who is not one of the offended MPs, said that he has seen the petition and that some of his colleagues had signed it.

According to sources, the majority of the signatories are backbenchers for the party.

As leader of the Minority Caucus, Cassiel Ato Forson (Ajumako Enyan Essiam MP) has taken over from Haruna Iddrisu (Tamale South MP), which is the primary change in the NDC frontbench.

Other modifications and holdings

Emmanuel Armah-Kofi Buah, a member of parliament from Ellembele, was also appointed as the new deputy Minority Chief Whip.

While Muntaka Mohammed, an Asawase MP, would be replaced as Chief Whip by Kwame Governs Agbodza, an Adaklu MP.

Comfort Doyoe Cudjoe-Ghansah, an MP for Ada, has also been kept as the second deputy Minority Chief Whip, while Ahmed Ibrahim, an MP for Banda, has retained his position as the first deputy Minority Chief Whip.

Source: Kwesi Asante