This blog is managed by the content creator and not GhanaWeb, its affiliates, or employees. Advertising on this blog requires a minimum of GH₵50 a week. Contact the blog owner with any queries.

RLWC21: Recap of Round 1 of the Rugby League Wheelchair World Cup

Sun, 6 Nov 2022 Source: Rachel Ankomah Media

Round 2 of the Wheelchair Rugby League World Cup commences today.

Wheelchair rugby league is undoubtedly the most inclusive sport out there. It is not just for people with disabilities; non-disabled people are also welcome to compete, and men and women can play on the same team.

The wheelchair sport was included in the Rugby League World Cup main event for the first time in 2022.

The 2021 Rugby League Wheelchair World Cup includes eight teams.

There have already been three Wheelchair Rugby League World Cups, each hosted by a different nation.

Only four teams competed in the first tournament, which was held indoors in Sydney, Australia in 2008.

The second Wheelchair Rugby League World Cup took place in Gillingham, England in 2013, and the final competition took place in the south of France in 2017.

Recap of Round 1

1. Ireland is defeated by Spain.

Spain played the first opening game of the tournament against Ireland. Tough as it were, Spain took control and prevailed 55 to 32.

2. England shows Australia how it's done

Australia went up against England in a fiery encounter. Australia put up a fight, but England was too powerful and defeated them 38–8. 2008's inaugural staging was won by England.

3. France demonstrates their superiority.

France's 154-6 triumph over Wales today proved why they are the top-ranked wheelchair rugby league squad.

France are back to back winners and has taken home the trophy the most times.

4. Debutants USA schools Scotland

On November 4th, the USA made its Rugby League Wheelchair World Cup debut. They defeated Scotland with a score of 62 to 41.

CazooUK Player of the Match

1. 🇪🇦 Theo Gonzales

2. 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 Jack Brown

3. 🇨🇵 Lionel Alazard

4. 🇺🇸Mackenzie Johnson

Fixtures for Round 2

6th November

England Vs Spain

12:00 (GMT)

The Copper Box Arena

Australia Vs Ireland

14:30 (GMT)

The Copper Box Arena

7th November

France Vs Scotland

17:00 (GMT)

The EIS Sheffield

Wales Vs USA

19:30 (GMT)

The EIS Sheffield

Source: Rugby League World Cup 21

Source: Rachel Ankomah Media