This blog is managed by the content creator and not GhanaWeb, its affiliates, or employees. Advertising on this blog requires a minimum of GHโ‚ต50 a week. Contact the blog owner with any queries.

WRLWC21: All you need to know about the Women's Rugby League World Cup

Mon, 31 Oct 2022 Source: Rachel Ankomah Media

The Women's Rugby League World Cup 21 is set to commence tomorrow, 1st November 2022. This will be the sixth staging of the tournament.

There'll be 8 teams will be participating this year.

Group A

1. England ๐Ÿด๓ ง๓ ข๓ ฅ๓ ฎ๓ ง๓ ฟ - The Lionesses

They are the hosts for the tournament this year. They have made 3 appearances (2008, 2013, 2017) so far in the Rugby League World Cup. This would be their 4th appearance and First World Cup title if they win.

2. Brazil ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท - The Amazonas

Brazil will be making their debut in this year's tournament. Brazil will be representing South America for the first time in the Women's tournament.

3. Canada ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ - The Ravens

Canada made the semi-finals of RLWC2017 after beating Group A rivals Papua New Guinea. That was their first appearance in the tournament.

4. Papua New Guinea ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฌ - The PNG Orchids

PNG Orchids made their debut in the Women's Rugby League World Cup in 2017. This will be their second appearance.

Group B

1. Australia ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฟ - The Jillaroos

The Jillaroos are the reigning champs of the tournament.They have been participating in the World Cup since it's inception in 2000. Australia took it's first title in 2013. In 2017, they took their second title.The Jillaroos will be hoping to retain their trophy at Old Trafford this year.

2. Cook Islands ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฐ - The Moana

Cook Islands made their first appearance in 2003 and also participated in 2017.

3. France ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท - The Chanticleers

Les Tricolores made their debut in 2008 and went on to play in 2013. France will be hoping to put in a strong performance ahead of hosting the 2025 Rugby League World Cup.

4. New Zealand ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฟ - The Kiwi Ferns

New Zealand has the most World Cup titles, lifting the trophy three times since 2000. They have made 5 appearances so far and they will be hoping to get back their throne.

The first staging of the Women's Rugby League World Cup was hosted by England in 2000. 3 teams participated. New Zealand was crowned champions after defeating Great Britain by 26 - 4.

Second staging - 2003

Host: New Zealand

Teams: 9

Winner: New Zealand

Third staging - 2008

Host: Australia

Teams: 8

Winner: New Zealand

Fourth staging - 2013

Host: England

Teams: 4

Winner: Australia

Fifth staging - 2017

Host: Australia

Teams: 6

Winner: Australia

IRL Rankings.

Australia - 1st

New Zealand - 2nd

England - 3rd

Papau New Guinea - 4th

France - 5th

Canada - 6th

Cook Islands - 11th

Brazil - 17th

Fixtures for WRLWC21

1st November 2022

England ๐Ÿด๓ ง๓ ข๓ ฅ๓ ฎ๓ ง๓ ฟ vs Brazil ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท

14:30 (GMT)

Emerald Headingley Stadium

Papau New Guinea ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฌ vs Canada ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ

17:00 (GMT)

Emerald Headingley Stadium

2nd November 2022

New Zealand ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฟ vs France ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ต

17:00 (GMT)

LNER Community Stadium

Australia ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ vs Cook Islands ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฐ

19:30 (GMT)

LNER Community Stadium

5th November 2022

England ๐Ÿด๓ ง๓ ข๓ ฅ๓ ฎ๓ ง๓ ฟ vs Canada ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ

12:00 (GMT)

DW Stadium

PNG ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฌ vs Brazil ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท

17:00 (GMT)

MKM Stadium

6th November 2022

New Zealand ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฟ vs Cook Islands ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฐ

17:00 (GMT)

LNER Community Stadium

Australia ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ vs France ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ต

19:30 (GMT)

LNER Community Stadium

9th November 2022

Canada ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ vs Brazil ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท

17:00 (GMT)

Emerald Headingley Stadium

England ๐Ÿด๓ ง๓ ข๓ ฅ๓ ฎ๓ ง๓ ฟ vs PNG ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฌ

19:30 (GMT)

Emerald Headingley Stadium

10th November 2022

France ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ต vs Cook Islands ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฐ

17:00 (GMT)

LNER Community Stadium

Australia ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ vs New Zealand ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฟ

19:30 (GMT)

LNER Community Stadium

Source: Rugby League World Cup

Source: Rachel Ankomah Media