News

Sports

Business

Entertainment

GhanaWeb TV

Africa

Opinions

Country

Asante gold artefacts: Ghana rejoices as 'crown jewels' looted by British put on display

This article is closed for comments.

Read Comments Comments (57)

• Kwakuo President 1 month ago

Good morning Akaatia Addo

• Rex @ Kwasia+(A) 1 month ago

Ooh you are greeting the midget, I don't think they looted it, they whop their ass in battle and took them as the spoils of war, that was the order of the day in the ancient, even Asantes, Denkyira's, Fantes and all the tribe ...
    read full comment

• KA NA WU. 1 month ago

Be respectful. The uncalled-for denigrations of public figures will keep the most intelligent out of public service.

• Kwaku Dua Canada Borga 1 month ago

LOANED? Hahaha disgraceful

• Jon Yonny 1 month ago

The word looting is moderate they stole them at gun point. British should be ashamed of themselves. This is plain stealing. They should confess and recant.

• NO WONDER AFRICA IS CALLED THE DARK CONTINENT! HOW DOES THIS TEMPORARY DISPLAY BENEFIT GHANA AND AFRICA? 1 month ago

A TEMPORARY 3-YEAR DIGNITY AND GHANAIANS ARE REJOICING LIKE FOOLS.

THESE ARTEFACTS WILL RETURM TO THE UK AFTER 3 YEARS SO WHAT'S THE POINT? BLACKMAN WILL ALWAYS REMAIN BLACKMAN.

• Starnation 1 month ago

In fact, I am not sure why I should celebrate this act that artifacts that have been stolen is brought back for two years on loan agreement. Isn't a breach of moral and or ethical values? I think, Ghanaian intellectuals shoul ...
    read full comment

• THE TAX-FREE GULF ARABS ARE IN TOTAL CONTROL OF THEIR HYDROCARBONS RESERVES. THAT'S WHY THEY ARE SUCCESSFUL ECONOMIES AND DO NOT HAVE ANY BUSINESS WITH THE "BRETTOM WOODS" FOR LOANS. 1 month ago

THE WHITEMAM TRAVELLED THOUSANDS OF MILES FROM THE UK TO GHANA, DECEIVED US WITH THE BIBLE AND THEIR CHRISTIANITY, ENSLAVED OUR GULLIBILITY AND STOLE ALL OUR WEALTH, AND THE BLACKMAN IS STILL REJOICING FOR GOING TO THE UK TO ...
    read full comment

• FRANKIE 1 month ago

These Aryan Caucasian rascals must permanently return their loot to the original owners and stop this nonsense of loaning it to us. Through buccaneering and piracy throughout the world these thieves and hyenas have built thei ...
    read full comment

• Selfmade SMOKE em’ 1 month ago

Is called negotiation!

Stop the crap! Stop acting tough!

• Limping horse John MAHAMA lack policies. 1 month ago

@SELFMADE, you said it well, it's called negotiating, they won the war against the ashantis and took whatever they wanted, they did it around the world and not to ashantis alone. Greece wants what was looted by the British ba ...
    read full comment

• Nobody 1 month ago

You call it negotiation? This is arm twisting...The person that stole it knows you are the owner yet you have agreed to a loan term? What is that!! It is either they take it or they give it to their owners period.

• FRANKIE 1 month ago

The British would not give it to them. They know Asante understands the looting game.

Asante looted those artefacts and even people's lands through wars. What moral right do they have to complain about looting ?

• Mary ho 1 month ago

Kwaisapanyin, ewe nni aboa! Why are u talking about an Akan issue!

Are u not the same EWE INWARD LOOKING animal who’s always here talking shit about chieftaincy and how it should be abolished?

If chieftaincy was ab ...
    read full comment

Wo y3 kwasia pii! Ayibge nni GYANGYAN!

@ FRANKIE the backward tribalist

• Papa nni 1 month ago

That ewe Frankie is a fucking hypocrite!

• YSL 1 month ago

Mary the ho toilet boy, who stepped on your toes that your kooko has pae so? Am guessing it's Frankie your nemesis right?, some of us u wish u could hijack Ghanaweb so we couldn't even comment again, but who told u Frankie is ...
    read full comment

Wasn’t the same Frankie the punk who has being insulting chieftaincy institutions that is archaic and should be abolished?

Wasn’t the same chieftain in this case asantehene who fought for these artifacts to be returne ...
    read full comment

• YSL 1 month ago

Massa I was very charitable on you o, remember that you don't have monopoly over insults, how dare you command me here to be quiet? And whose hero is Frankie? How many times have you insulted the NDC and Ewes here? So what if ...
    read full comment

• YSL 1 month ago

And remember Asanteman is not your property to ask somebody not to comment about Asantes, even Maurice Ampaw that insulted nananom openly is still there doing his business,this ewe Asante insults on Ghanaweb is a give and tak ...
    read full comment

Wo gyimifoo papa!

Asanteman isn’t my property but I guessed THAT EWE PUTA is your GAY PARTNER and your property!

NNIPA gyimfooo tei s3 wo!!

Asanteman isn’t my property but FRANKIES STINKING, short ewe dick is you ...
    read full comment

U are very charitable on me? U sick bastard!

Kwaisa, where did u see my insulting ewes before?

Where did u see me insulting ndc before?

Wo kwaisa pii!

U stupid ass kisser!

I don’t insult any tribe unl ...
    read full comment

Who told that tribalistic EWE DOG to blast the white people for us?

This man on countless occasions have insulted Ashanti’s here but he wants to talked good about the Ashanti artifacts now?

Stop acting like an ost ...
    read full comment

• YSL 1 month ago

But if he writes that chieftaincy must be abolished, let's assume without admitting that he is an Ewe, don't they have chiefs? So it's his general idea about the institution chieftaincy and not specifically a particular chief ...
    read full comment

Did u fucking read my comments?

Stop chatting foolishness and read my comments before u type shit!!

I gave u an example of why he has being biased wrt Ashanti issues!

I gave u an example of how this punk said that ...
    read full comment

Do u know how many times that dirty ewe tribalist has denigrated manhyia that, they have no power to summons anyone but ll turned around to urges the ga traditional council to summoned OKATAKYIE Afrifa!!

How can u condemne ...
    read full comment

• YSL 1 month ago

Why are u so uncouth and uncultured like that? Wo y3 gyimifoc paa wate? I have tolerated ur bullshit, trying to be as nice as I can be, but u keep insulting me why?, do u over smoke weed or something? What did I say to you to ...
    read full comment

• Mary- Ho public toilet 1 month ago

O shut up Togolese trokosi Ayigbe vermin. By their words ye shall know them. Alien vermin born and bred on a diet of insults. Which tribe would FRANKIE the Togolese belong to but trokosi Ayigbe? You alien leeches are disgusti ...
    read full comment

• YSL 1 month ago

Apart from your uncivilized tribal bigotry, wat else? Aponkye, me y3 dehye kronkron wc kokofu wae, gyimifoc bi tes3 wo nti na Frankie Didi y3n at3m no, wo nim nyansa koraa, Kuraseni ayibge this ayibge that? Are you more human ...
    read full comment

• Asida 1 month ago

Seriously? How can you give something you accepted of looting from me back to me on loan? My own property on loan to me. How?

• Rex @ Asida 1 month ago

That was why I told u it wasn't looted, there is every generation and their ways of doing things, in the ancient, it was agreeable that after a war, the winning faction could even take whatever portion of land they wanted fro ...
    read full comment

Leave these soft clowns alone

• Nsuomankwa 1 month ago

Asem oo... anyway, so If you will build a house in Ghana, you must think of drilling a water borehole; and if it must be done well, think of waterboons.com

• Kanawu 1 month ago

It's of no use to us.
    Let the white man keep it, they know how to take care of things better than us.
    Go to our museums and you will be disgusted with the state that some of them are in.

Have u ever been to manhyia museum before?

What about the Kumasi cultural center museum?

If u can afford it, go there and go marvel yourself at how ASHANTIS have kept their artifacts for more than 400 years in these m ...
    read full comment

This article is from BBC and did anyone see the use of ASHANTI KING instead of GHANA KING?

Ghanaians can stick their KING crap in their jealous Ghanaian asses we ASHANTIS will always referred to our WURA as the ASANTEHE ...
    read full comment

• FRANKIE 1 month ago

Primitive and primordial tribalist. This is the 21st century. You're far behind. Double up.

And I learned it from your good for nothing tribe, u backward idiot!!

U think we don’t know how u talked shit about Ashanti’s here right?

U think we don’t know how u speak against chieftaincy here that it should b ...
    read full comment

• Mary ho 1 month ago

U are the tribalist! Inward looking piece of shit

• Mary ho 1 month ago

Leave the confused, inward looking ewe son of bitch!

I have never seen an AYIGBE nni kwaisa who’s always meddling in the affairs of Akans like this dirty, filthy ewe guy who called himself with his slave name FRANKIE!
    read full comment

See this stinking EWE PIG, see this inward looking alien, see this inferior filled ewe baboon who has denigrated ASHANTIS AND CHIEFTAINCY institutions with his acerbic comments calling me TRIBALIST!

Or u think we don’t ...
    read full comment

• ALHAJI TUWO ZAFI. 1 month ago

I don't get it.
    How can GHANA rejoice over the return of stollen ASANTE artefacts ?.
    The joy is for Asantes. How come Ghana.
    Do we have another name for Asantes, being Ghana ?.
    Ghanaweb, watch your HEADLINES.

• Papa nni 1 month ago

Did u read the article?

The article wasn’t authored by Ghanaweb but rather they picked it from BBC!!

BBC which’s a titan in new reportage is showcasing Ghana through Ashanti artifacts but your little, short and jea ...
    read full comment

Wo mmo agyimi basabasa lol

• Yaw Akoto 1 month ago

Just a reminder this Asante gold artefacts
    Is going back to the looters, the British to keep in their museum is no more the property of the Asante, after a few public display, what should Ghana rejoice about,

• Alkebulan 1 month ago

Blackman no sense, they Britische took the original and make artificial for Ashanti chief. What we saw out there are fake.

• Blackman 1 month ago

What happens if we don't return them? Just asking...

• YAW 1 month ago

UK should be ashamed.
    First of all they have no right to come to Africa without visas
    Secondly waging war and killing of our people without any provocation

Thirdly stealing of our resources

Everything has its beginni ...
    read full comment

• Adviser 1 month ago

Don't be deceived, Brits will never give what they captured in war. What they have now is only a counterfeit of the real thing. Why can't Osei Tutu demand the head of Obiri Yeboa from Dormaa, why can't he claim their God from ...
    read full comment

• Bastie Asantefournyinaahene 1 month ago

Kwasia Tutu II must be made to pay interest. It’s a loan.

Most of these artefacts were looted from Bono Manso during the treacherous war.

• WEBSITE DESIGN. 1 month ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - Business / cooperate websites
    - eCommerce/Online shop Websites
    - Education/NGO/Church Websites
    - News/Blog/Media Websites
    PRICE: 1,500gh. Call us today. 0501796870 for more info. KJUY

• Bastie Asantefournyinaahene 1 month ago

The vikings had a better hat than this nonsense. The blackman only appreciated this because the whiteman came for it. Animals

• Thompson & Johnson 4 weeks ago

And at least the British preserve the artifacts. The gold would probably be melted down by now if it had stayed in Ghana.

• FRANKIE 1 month ago

'King Solomon'! What a negotiation?

Loan deal?

M3gye m3gye no, enie?

Joke of the century

• Kojo 1 month ago

Has this artifacts examined to see if it’s real or counterfeited. It’s needs to be screened deeply free from tracking and recording device. DO NOT TRUST THESE PEOPLE

• ROGUE LAWYER 1 month ago

Otumfour has raised a lot of very important issues we need to pay attention to,
    fellow Asantis let us digest all the opportunities our KING has suggested in the speech and tap the chances for marketing and business.
    we a ...
    read full comment

• Wise Man. 1 month ago

The British don't need this anymore that is why is back in Ghana otherwise who can take away from them.They know the reason why they brought it back so Ghanians not jubilate on it after all this will not change Ghana economy.