News

Sports

Business

Entertainment

Akufo-Addo's government gives $90,000 to MPs to buy cars?

Read Comments Comments (133)

• Ablade Effia kuma zongo takoradi 7 years ago

Why, is too much, Ghana. Poor always will grow poorer and the rich will be richest, how can you gave one person 90.000 for purchase a car, haaba

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (INVISIBLE FORCE ) 7 years ago

AUTHOR: ABENA-------NDC has ruled Ghana for so many years .When they were given the Opportunity to find oil for us, they couldn't do it.NPP came for just 8 years and found oil for Ghana .We all know how NDC spent the oil mone ...

• okuseku 7 years ago

Kwasia baako nso nea, Prince Kwasi Adade, he's the same as omanbapa and old soldier he hardly talk sense here i don't know whether he even read the topic at all b4 he start his trash

• PUMA 7 years ago

This will never stop anything. Ndc stole Ghana's monies to buy over 600 cars for themselves. Bring out those cars for the new government to use?do you fools who never worked before and think car is a property want them to wal ...

• CBI. 7 years ago

STUPID KWASI ADADE PRINCE OIL HAS BEEN IN GHANA LONG AGO NPP DID NOT PLANT THE OIL NEITHER NDC BUT FACE FACT.........IDIOT

• Ciao 7 years ago

Ur right the oil has always been there. So educate the person that does not know. Why the insult?

• koffi parker 7 years ago

who wants to spend the Heritage Fund? And who saved it, that is what these MFKS want us to believe after every 4 or 8yrs, them MKFS makes you believe that change is good, we need change every 8 years for what and whose benefi ...

• Sekyere East 7 years ago

My mother land is bleeding and some of our mp's are greedy. They have many cars why $90000? Finally fire ???? burn my mp's

• Kwedjo amponsah 7 years ago

Where is the evidence

• WIN 7 years ago

WHERE DID YOU GET THAT FROM? BRIANLESS MAN. YOU PEOPLE TALK SO PEOPLE CAN SEE YOU. STUPID ANIMAL.

• T and T 7 years ago

Take a look at the top 10 richest people in Ghana, they are mostly former gov officials. K4's brother, who was the MP for defence is the richest, JJ is at number 9, others include Kwasi Botwe(finance minister), Kwaku Afiriyie ...

• okuseku 7 years ago

You are 100% right TandT they are all thieves is only fools that will defend this rich list we have idiots who have surrounded themselves with tribal and selfishness nosense to extent that we can't defend the country from akr ...

• OBREMPON USA 7 years ago

Where did you get that piece of information ?.
    And so what do you want GHANAIANS TO DO ?

• Sinclear 7 years ago

NANA WILL NEVER DO SUCH FOOLISH THING

• O GHANA, MY NATIVE LAND ! 7 years ago

What cars are the MPs going to buy, Jaguar or Ferrari? Do these useless NDC men think president Nana Akuffo Addo has no brains just like their slick John Mahama.

That is the evil strategy NDC is embarking on. They are usin ...

• Phil 7 years ago

How is it that when some of these people who call themselves public figure are given a platform, they never make any good use of it?
    The Nana Akufo Addo that ghanaians know and his government will never do such a thing this ...

• Smart Frempah, UK 7 years ago

We don't need to believe all that are being said by everyone. NPP will be stupid enough to give that much away IF it's true.

• Amahama 7 years ago

Don't just believe everything you read. In the world of social media anybody can malign you hard won reputation and get away. Where did this guy get his information. The finance minister is using a Camry car not V8 and he is ...

• Nana Malik 7 years ago

I hope the government will come out and deny this story.$90,000? What kinda cars are they buying in a poor country like Ghana? This is terrible.

• NANA ADDO 7 years ago

OHHH MY GOD MY MOTHER LAND.

The title of the article is a question. There is no fact checking here. Read carefully.

• NANA ADDO 7 years ago

SHUT UP. IF NOT TRUE HE WONT BRING IT OUT.IS THE MEDIA NOT FOR NPP OR UNDER NPP CONTROL ?

• Sherry 7 years ago

Commanding people to "shut up" you are one special idiot. Prove it.

• Sharp point 7 years ago

Fucking NDC propagandist gangsters
    You socialist scumwill never learn. Only one style propaganda propaganda propaganda
    Fools you will never come to power again.

• NANA ADDO 7 years ago

I TOLD U NPP AND NANA BRAINLESS

• Odumgya Gyamfi. 7 years ago

Have we become that gullible as a nation? If anyone says something with no evidence we automatically assume it's true and start spewing nonsense. Ayariga is being probed for the lie he fabricated. He is still on the hot seat ...

• Plus 7 years ago

My brother that is how dumb the populace is becoming. Nobody fact check anything.

Stupid boy,you believed every lie against mahama without question. Idiot somebody

• They Say They Say 7 years ago

It's a rope a dope

• Sherry 7 years ago

This is the Ghana that one shouts julor" and with no evidence someone can easily lose their life.We are still a very primitive society.

• Onaapo 7 years ago

If u lie to win elections u do the unthinkable. We'd soon see the type of cars out MPs will use. No need for speculations yet, facts will speak for themselves,

• Tufguy 7 years ago

foolish man's thinking. You have to verify the authenticity of the fake report.

• Efo Kwaku 7 years ago

No insult he Will by on means do his part

• Osei Mensah 7 years ago

This akuffo addict patapaa at 73 and the entire NPPigs think that their hypocritical free SHS will make them rule Ghana forever then they are living in a fool's paradise. kuffuor brought NHIS to benefit majority of Ghanaians ...

• Agonaba 7 years ago

"Are you the only person in Jerusalem"Leave Nana alone to do his work.

• Odikro 7 years ago

Go to Cuba and see what cars their Ministers use for official duties. They have a Gross National Income per capita of $19,000. Ghana has $3,900. Are we getting sick as a nation?

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

Odikro,
    We are hoping this is not true.

• nana asenso 7 years ago

Really? Your comments is not a surprise because of your name

• ibn abudu @ Canadasheabutter (GhUWR) 7 years ago

GHANA BROKE _US$25 MILLION +/-10% NOT POSSIBLE , OUR NPP GOVERNMENT INHERITED A DEPLETED TREASURY , BROKE THEREFORE NOT POSSIBLE TO DOLE OUT THAT AMOUNT .

HOW EVEN WILL THE MP REPAY THIS MONEY TO THE STATE AT GHS4.60= US$ ...

• Osei Mensah 7 years ago

So all the noises the NPPigs were making was just because they wanted power? And not just because they wouldl act as angels but they had tired in opposition so they needed power

• Y B 7 years ago

Nana I support you BUT, this is Total Foolish and Stupid. Why such money and our roads in deplorable state. Our hospitals lack health machines, why not also stop independent celebration and use such money for our Needs?Nana s ...

• Bobby, Denmark 7 years ago

Where and when did the npp government give this money without telling the whole nation. Ndcfour akronfour!

How authentic is this information. Am educated society and journalist will authenticate it's news. Unfortunately citizens are being informed with no evidence and they take this information at face value without facts.

• Heritage fund looters 7 years ago

I am glad that is not John Dramani Mahama who dished out such amount orless the So so called pussy of God Dr Mensah asshole Otabile would have been on NDC necks like a mosquito and where is He and All the hypocrite FM station ...

• Rootslocks 7 years ago

Anyone reading this article should just pause and think for a second. Ndc lies and cheap propaganda would keep them in perpetual darkness.

• JK 7 years ago

Cut the rubbish! What has NDC got to do with this? NDC lies? The statement is attributed to PPP.
    Are you perhaps a product of the new Ghana Education System? A little advice, if you don't mind? Read over articles twice. ...

• lone prophet of Jehovah 7 years ago

MISPLACE PRIORITIES OH GHANA WE LOVE CARS MORE THAN ANYTHING SHALOM PEACE MAKER

• Tag 7 years ago

This foolishness has to stop, any fool gets on a radio station and spews out lies.$90,000 for what kind of car. A brand new Toyota 4 Runner American Model do not cost even $50,000. This nonsense has to stop. The V8s running o ...

• Accraman 7 years ago

Hope you know the actual price difference between the two cars. What's more, if government is purchasing a fleet, the prices are higher.

• Nana Yaw Danso 7 years ago

Hypocrisy at its best!!!
    Oh now the V8s running on roads in Ghana don't cost more than $80,000? My question is, where were these "professional appraisers" when we were told that 2011 Ford Explorer was $100,000?
    Also, Ghana ...

• Efo Odenkey 7 years ago

Tag, pls tell me, are u the spokesperson for the MPs? I don't think u're the right person to tell Ghanaians whether or not the allegation is true.

Almost $25 million!

• PAPA JAKE, USA 7 years ago

This allegation is 99.9% true. My best friend, who is MP (I can't disclose his identity now), told me about a month ago that,they have been given $80,000.00 each to purchase vehicle.
    I call all Ghanaian politicians ''GIFTED ...

• KWASI DONKOR USA 7 years ago

Where is the truth, this man is saying $90.000.00, and you are saying your friend MP told you $80.000.00

• NPP GURU, Akuffo Addo is a Chimp true 7 years ago

Even if the money is $20,000 it's too. They don't deserve such monies. This yeah yeah MP's . That Akuffo Addo boy is a stupid fool.

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

Not have you now joined the ndc machine out of fustration?,wonders.abba!

• RASPUTIN 7 years ago

Where did this stupid hear this?

• Kwame assin 7 years ago

Npp is going to sink Ghana deeper than Ndc. Mark it on the wall.

• White Dove 7 years ago

I don't believe this story,
    when you convert the figure from $ to ¢ and multiply with the number of M.P, the total money should be more than what he quoted.

• Uncle Pee 7 years ago

After reading the article, the story doesn't correspond to the caption. What is wrong with some of these reporters? From what I gathered from the story, the supposed $90,000 to MPs is in reference to the Mahama administration ...

• sam 7 years ago

No wonder u didn't pass ur English orals... Go and read the article again b4 bringing in mahama.... Stupid fool!!!! leave Mahama alone and face Nana

• Iraq 7 years ago

UK MPs use bicycle to go to work and we see them as good country and we always need aide from them,where are the so call wise men in Ghana,where they,poor people will always suffer for the rich to enjoy

• justice 7 years ago

Eiii this people will kill we Ghanaians. No money in Ghana and you are giving 9.98 millions for car Eiiii Ghanaians let wake-up ok

• TUTUGYAGU 7 years ago

I will expect NDC MPs to come out with this revelation since it will help their cause to come back to power. How can we believe this statement without any proof and what is the justification for doling out a whopping $90,00 ...

• Okponglo Guy 7 years ago

The budget has not even been read. Nonsense.

Fake news.

• JUNIOR AGOGO 7 years ago

WHAT THIS GUY IS PUTTING UP IN THE MEDIA IS JUST THRASH; NO EVIDENCE. ANYBODY JUST GO THE MEDIA HOUSES AND TALK RUBISH WITHOUT BEING PROBED TO PROVIDE HIS EVIDENCE.

• John Ghanaba 7 years ago

I emphasise, if this is true then the system of governance is rotten to the core, perhaps the money was given for others things as well not cars alone.if it is not true then this buffoon should be thrown out of office me ...

• GhanaMustWork Again 7 years ago

The Nana that I know from 1978 would not use state resources this way.
    Misinformation by the PPP.

• bros 7 years ago

Mr man find other means to discredit nana addo ok and stop this bullshit story.

• clearance seedorf 7 years ago

Nana Addo has never given $90,000 to any MP. I listening to the program this morning and even the MP for Ayawaso west Wegon, Mr. Kyeremateng Agyarko denied the allegation.

• ALIMI YAO 7 years ago

You're being naive. Do you expect the MP to confirm the allegation? For me the issue is not how much the MPs are given but whether they should be given any money at all to purchase cars. It's time Ghanaians rose up to crush ...

• shark 7 years ago

ghanaians have been taken for a ride.empty promises and lies

I told Ghanaians that this short dwarf ugly sakora guy president is a renowned liar, lying his way to power

• PATAPAA TRUMP 7 years ago

The Vp Dr BAWUMIA made ghannaians to understand that the NPP took over from an empty coffers from the NDC so where is the money coming from?how many constituencies do we have in ghana and mutiply by $90,000 what?remember th ...

• Ekow Samuel 7 years ago

The gorvnment of the Akuffu Addo Mr. is now bringing the amount of expendition as huge which is not rigth so the must immediatly reduce it ,and again we are asking that is the car for them or is for the state? and even they m ...

• OWEN NEW -YORK 7 years ago

WHERE WILL NANA ADDO GET SUCH A HUGE AMOUNT? ILLITERACY IS KILLING MOST GHANAIANS. THEY BUY ANY FAKE STUFF PUT ACROSS AND START INSULTING OUR LEADERS. ANY NATION BUILT ON LIES IS BOND TO FAIL AND FALL. EVEN AMERICA WILL NEVER ...

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

Compare it to $39.8 million Mahama use to buy 275 cars and Government give GHC10 million to MP's to buy their own cars so they will not be thinking of stealing state cars.come on this is like $2.5 million.Mahama dole $300 mil ...

• TUTUGYAGU 7 years ago

This article has only two purposes. (1) For the writer to cause confusion and denigrate NPP. (2) For ghanaweb to increase its number of visits per day to boost its advertising revenue potential. Ghanaweb could have fact check ...

• AVERY 7 years ago

INDEED, WE NEED A DEMOCRATIC REVOLUTIONARY GOVERNMENT

• AMARIYA 7 years ago

Such exaggerated lies sent the NDC into opposition. They are pathological liars.
    NDC have started putting words of lies in the mouth of tiny political parties.

• Bretuoba Kofi Frimpong Boateng 7 years ago

I just hope this is not true.I will hold my fire for now because though I didn't vote due to distance,I know my family back home voted for something better than this.Why?are they buying a Range Rover?

• Kwam 7 years ago

This is no news, every body knows that at the beginning of the term of a new parliament loans are given to them to acquire vehicles for official use, it has been there since 1992, so what is new about it?

• Rup 7 years ago

I think 90,000$ is quite a reasonable amount considering the way the cedi has depreciated. Unless of course we want to change the status quo and advocate for a lesser 4wd for our MPs beside the land cruiser. Cos as it stands ...

• edema 7 years ago

so the old man wants Ghanaians look foolish for voting for him?
    is this our thanksgiving for voting him in. He is coming to share the money like that? what wrong did we do to him ?
    we shall see

• Awuradebasa 7 years ago

Which way are we heading toward?
    Who can we trust now???
    Oh my God

• KWASI DONKOR USA 7 years ago

Where is the truth, the man is saying $90.000.00 and you are saying your friend MP told you $80.000.00

• Agyaba 7 years ago

You kidding! $90,000 to purchase 4WD that's 2018 Escalade for MPs . Nana should immediately return mahama's Expedition.

• Chuks, Tudu 7 years ago

Director election does not know 90.000$ for each of the 275 parliamentarians add up to $24.75 Million the equivalent of Ghs106.4 million and not Ghs9.6million. Shame on you.

• FRED 7 years ago

This is what is now called FAKE NEWS

• Nana Egyir Aggrey 7 years ago

Why not the MPs buy their own cars from their salaries? Next time it will be;-houses. Nana,-please do not go the NDC way. Do not let this become a norm. Do not encourage corruption, it will ruin your reputation. Most of the ...

• Moses Yabdow Simon 7 years ago

Thank God that it is the both side that he has given the money to, i would have been wondering if it were only the majority side.

• Nana Ama 7 years ago

This is Fake news

• Lantei Lamptey 7 years ago

Your arithmetic is even wrong. Just trying to give NPP bad name

• Sankofa 7 years ago

Same old story. Politicians never learn.

Nana Addo and his admin are repeating exactly what they accused the current opposition of doing when they were in gov't.

• truth 7 years ago

GHANA!

• King of . 7 years ago

5A 5000 YEARS OLD SECRET JINNI FORMULA THAT UNLOCKS THE MYSTERIES OF WEALTH AND SUCCES “THE HIGH POWER JINNI MAGIC RING” A SECRET FORMULA unwritten until now, Remember the KINGS and their fabulous wealth? Even today the t ...

• YEBOPOWER 7 years ago

Recycle of Mahama's administration. l don't doubt this article. Worst to come. African politicians are the same with their monkey ideologies. Loot,loot, chop, chop. Any one wondering Ghana is still a third world country? We a ...

• Enyo 7 years ago

I listened to the said radio program. The ppp man could not provide any evidence to back up his claim except to say "I have heard". An MP was on the program and challenged him to provide evidence as he is not privy to such ar ...

• Prophet Essay 7 years ago

If this is true, NPP will surely not be my party in the next election.

• romeo 7 years ago

Eiii is it à loan facility. Ï Hope it is or else

• password 7 years ago

Is this a change,Lord have mercy on our leaders

• KOOBOY 7 years ago

THE CHOP GHANA BIG TIME CONTINUES UNABATED. WHY CAN'T THESE MFS GO TO THE BANK AND SECURE LOANS FOR THEIR CARS. WASTE OF THE COUNTRY'S LIMITED CASH AT HAND. I HAVE ALREADY REGRETTED VOTING FOR NANA. 2 MONTHS AND NOTHING HAS S ...

• koffi parker 7 years ago

The creation of more Regions is all about further their evil and corrupt practices to fund their evil ego $90,000 for a car? haba there are more NPP parliamentarians, why bother to confiscate or investigate Kofi Adam's car wh ...

• kojo Peter 7 years ago

This is the change the electorate want, we are seeing the difference, so no comments

• kojo Peter 7 years ago

This is the change the Ñ P P was craving for and we are witnessing it, no noise!

• WeDey Watch 7 years ago

Not anymore.
    We voted for change and we shall enforce it.

• ABA 7 years ago

THIS IS THE GREATEST LIES IN THE HISTORY OF POLITICS IN GHANA.

• ABA 7 years ago

MP NEEDS CARS TO WORK. SO THE SUPPOSED CARS MAY BE GOVT CARS. OR LOANS TO BUY THE CARS WHILE THEY PAY BY INSTALMENT. THIS IS DONE IN MOST OF THE COMPANIES AND CIVIL AND PUBLIC SERVANTS JOBS.

• Emmak 7 years ago

They should not be given more than $20K each as car loan or whatever they call it. As a matter of fact, MPs should go to the banks to contract their own car loans if needed. I do not however believe that the story is true!

• Lens Joseph 7 years ago

All are one ,this is the worst party in power

• ALentogra Joseph 7 years ago

Most people thought nana Addo is a blessing to Ghana not knowing he is rather wicked man ever to be the president of mother Ghana

• KANTAMANTO. 7 years ago

Mr. President, who told you that the
    M.P'S need money to buy cars? I am
    really disappointed in you. Most of
    the M.PS have very good cars and if
    you foolishly give them $90,000 each
    how can you get money for your f ...

• Mm 7 years ago

Give these FAT BASTARDS bicycles!!!!!!!

Fools you go soliciting for Loans from countries you sell your God giving natural resources for peanuts,then to buy their cars!!!!
    You give our money back to them!!!!!!!

• Efo Kwaku 7 years ago

You see politician, as for the 90,000 dollars no minority no majority all of them collected it pepeepe no talking. If it's my home town roads cost that money you see will minority shouting the contract is over bloated. Becaus ...

• Kwasi 7 years ago

GHANAIANS HAVE NOT SEEN ANY CORRUPTION DURING PREZ.MAHAMAS TIME.THIS IS THE TIME THEY SHOULD PREPARE TO SEE THE REAL AND THE TRUE COLOURS OF THE NPP.

• Agyemang 7 years ago

why do we as a country always continue to quote figures in dollars when we as Ghanaians use ghana cedis as medium of exchange? is it a way politicians are using to deceive us?

• Teacher OPK 7 years ago

I dont think my president will ever do such a thing...masa parliamentarians are not super humans ooo......
    Treat all citizens equal.......cus one man one vote during election...

• Amore John Abasiba 7 years ago

Mills gave Gh50000 and we were complaining now is $90000 my take

• MICHAEL 7 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5

WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0266363715
    *1. Multi-Maca + VITAL 5 have a special property which enhances en ...

• HIGHER 7 years ago

This guys are worse than the previous one.thieves.Have the nation at heart.

• noble 7 years ago

but Baumiah his vice complained about the cost of house put up for vice presidents WHY CAN'T HE TALK ABOUT THIS-----HMMMM

• Simpa Panin 7 years ago

Big lie. MPs usually contract loans from Deposit Money Banks to acquire vehicles. Beneficiaries of the loans pay through monthly deductions from their salaries
    The government does not come in at all since such facilities ...

• sam 7 years ago

are u a Ghanaian living in Ghana or on Pluto?

• Joe Germany 7 years ago

Still npp don't understand ,this Aküff0 Addo is too old for the job. By sitting for 5 minutes he will sleep .The brains are already dead. He can think far but you are forcing to rule. This is very bad.

• sam 7 years ago

Wait for the worse Ghanaians. .. u've seen nothing yet....

Those who said they want evidence.. which evidence did u provide when accusing Mahama. ... Stupid! !!!!!

• Simple Mankind 7 years ago

NPP for Ghana. A lawless all die be die jungle society. What is the exchange rate of the cedi as per dollar (US), gas price per gallon,? Employment history? DKM saga(you promised to pay them if you become president)? Electric ...