News

Sports

Business

Entertainment

Arrest drivers charging unapproved fares - Transport Ministry orders police, security agencies

Read Comments Comments (59)

• Unpredictable Oye Onye Kwasi Atta 4 weeks ago

Controlled price era resurrected again? This is not ABSOLUTELY fair. Why does government want to control price of transport operators but doesn't do same to chop bars and restaurants operators, musicians and entertainers, car ...

• Kilogram 4 weeks ago

If such actions are not taken by the government, you and me will suffer in the hands of greedy drivers. And hollow-headed fools like you will turn around and blame it on the government. Since you appear to be against "price ...

• iPRONOUNCE 4 weeks ago

The NPP wants to keep prices as they are until december so that when it increases later, they'd be shouting that it's the NDC's fault

• Mahama as president and Bawumia as vice 4 weeks ago

Another fool

• Who Killed Mills 4 weeks ago

@ Kwasi Atta. Control price is exactly what came to mind. Like rawlings era where private individuals go to Togo to buy goods but rawlings wants to set a price below cost for them. Where is the profit? Do individuals subsid ...

• BBus 4 weeks ago

Why does the Government not take action on the unreasonable increase in prices? How do transport operators profit with increasing costs but with revenues artificially held constant? Unfortunately I am sure you will not have a ...

• JACK TORONTO 4 weeks ago

The only action needed to be taken is to check corruption within government loopholes to control the fuel prices. You can't increased fuel prices every week and expect drivers not to increase transport fares.

• ALETSE GBONTON 4 weeks ago

THESE NPPIGS KEEP DISGRACING THEMSELVES... DID YOU BUY THE CAR FOR THEM???? ARE U THE ONES BUYING FUEL & SPARE PARTS??? NPP KWASIAFUO

• Londoner 4 weeks ago

Look at you exposing your ignorance and quite frankly, shallow-mindedness. The government has the authority to intervene if the citizenry is being milked by some inconsiderate trotro operators.

You NDC people cannot think ...

• The Don 4 weeks ago

You talk a lot of bullshit.

• AKP 4 weeks ago

Government is protecting citizens against the foreign drivers Abi???
    The increase in petrol prices, the cost of spare parts should be just swalled by the drivers Errr! You think they don't have families to cater for.

• FISHERMAN 4 weeks ago

but the government cannot intervene if the citizenry feels being milked by the same government through e levy and biweekly fuel prices increment. Primitive something

• DOES THE GOVERNMENT CONTACT DRIVERS BEFORE INCREASING FUEL PRICES? NONSENSE 4 weeks ago

Drivers have the right to charge prices they want. It is left for passengers to decide on the vehicles they want board.

• Ekd 4 weeks ago

Then let the government do the transportation and bear all the cost involved. It's that simple. You put your money where your mouth is.

• FRANKIE 4 weeks ago

Thought it's a free market economy.

• Mahama as president and Bawumia as vice 4 weeks ago

English is your problem,they are not controlling it ,but enforcing it ,go back to school and learn English you say you won't

• Voiceless 4 weeks ago

All those against the transport ministry should go to their graves now. They are useless to humanity and discipline.

• Nobleman 4 weeks ago

I hope you are one of the Kumawu NPP voters.

• Nana Kwabena 4 weeks ago

Mafia tactics not the best... ANYWAY Be in charge of your own water supply. Invest in a borehole water system and do away with exorbitant water bills. Let's do it for you...www.waterboons.com

• Hanks 4 weeks ago

Has the government inform anyone before the unjustified fuel increments!!! Idiots n stupid leaders!!!

• Kilogram 4 weeks ago

Good action. There is too much lawlessness and greed in Ghana.

• ST GHFUO: GH LEADERS ARE NOT ENLIGHTENED 4 weeks ago

leaderless nation. gprtu must issue the fares based on what has been agreed upon between them and transport ministry. the rates should be visibly displayed in every vehicle and also at each bus terminal for all to see, visib ...

• Kilogram 4 weeks ago

Excellent!

• Nawoginiabu 4 weeks ago

After collapsing the transport sector you want to control individual car owners and drivers. Loose talk

• Sebastian Deh 4 weeks ago

Deal with the catalyst of the price hike - FUEL and the hullabaloo will end. If there's automatic price adjustments formula for fuel there should be a corresponding formula for transport fares to avoid this routine fights bet ...

• William 4 weeks ago

Who is the owner of the behicle ? Did the driver force anyone to enter the car on his price ?

• Hmm 4 weeks ago

Kwasiafo why don't you arrest the dollar first. You increases fuel on daily basis and they also have to adjust their price

• Mavrick 4 weeks ago

Over the years and up until now, Ashiaman to Tema. Drivers are overcharging. 5 cedis to Ashiaman traffic from community 11 KFC. GHC 6. 50p is Ashiaman lights to tema. Government regulation must be applied to Ashiaman drivers.

• Thief of Staff - Akosua Frema 4 weeks ago

Useless, senseless, corrupt, deceitful and wicked people running the ministry of transport. Kwasiaa4 buuluubuuluuu!!!

• Akajatayogogo 4 weeks ago

Till Akufo Addo lives power Ghanaians will suffer Allah.

• Akajatayogogo 4 weeks ago

Confused government, Akufo Addo is useless.

• Odjame 4 weeks ago

Stupid people in government . Very useless government .look at the hardship in the country kwasiafor

• Sunday Oliseh 4 weeks ago

Npp has forgotten MR KUFFOUR arrested drivers and npp went into opposition!!!!

• Akwasi 4 weeks ago

ARREST POLITICIANS WO STEAL OR MISMANAGE PUBLIC FUNDS.

• TogbeKporwomordzikpoo KpornugloAvumako 4 weeks ago

So government has the right to increase fuel prices but commercial drivers don't have the right to increase transport fares

• Kwesi Arthur 4 weeks ago

This country is a joke… even license and roadworthy the police take bribes how much more transport fees

• Tiasoaopae 4 weeks ago

Londoner,because of how npp gives you everything freely thats why you are telling a contributer that he is ignorant.Are you sure that how npp is ruling is in good way as those who ruled GHANA? Stop your greediness and think a ...

• Tiasoaopae 4 weeks ago

Londoner,because of how npp gives you everything freely thats why you are telling a contributer that he is ignorant.Are you sure that how npp is ruling is in good way as those who ruled GHANA? Stop your greediness and think a ...

• Sir R. 4 weeks ago

This government is just pushing everyone into poverty. You have increased fuel price but you don't want transport fares to be increased, how do you want drivers and car owners to survive? The police you are charging to arrest ...

• WWW.SPOTLIGHTAFRICAMEDIA.NET 4 weeks ago

ARE YOU LOOKING FOR THE RIGHT IT PARTNERS?? THEN CONTACT US...WE HELP YOU GROW YOUR INSTAGRAM,FACEBOOK,TWITTER,YOUTUBE,TIK TOK FOLLOWERS EVEN TO A MILLION OR MORE REAL FOLLOWERS......WE ALSO BOOST YOUR LIVE STREAM VIEWS..YOUT ...

• Kokobelop 4 weeks ago

All these things happening under competent Bawumia? See where lies and political propaganda has landed us. Educated idiots rulling us

• Luck of ideas 4 weeks ago

Why are you arresting the market women who changing prices every week, the food joints, the provision store, phyamcy etc? Why not the oil dealers, spare parts dealers and so on. Why only the drivers? Luck of ideas by the ruli ...

• Voiceless 4 weeks ago

All those against Transport Ministry now should better go to their graves early. They are useless to humanity and discipline.

• Sam Fante warrior. 4 weeks ago

Ghana the nation of criminals and blood vipers, corruptions all over. Akufo Addo must be arrested and face international criminal court for killed innocents 8 Ghanaians on 2020 election just to rob to become by force presiden ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 4 weeks ago

what type of nonsense is that,
    I wish all drivers would park their cars, until the fares are negotiated and approved before they start operation.
    if this is the chaos the minister want let him have it.
    when your governm ...

• Rest Not 4 weeks ago

Nkwasia command

• Idiots people 4 weeks ago

Those who took this decision are idiots

• Emil Mensah 4 weeks ago

Ohh NPP, taking us back to the 70s. Everything is wrong with this clueless government.

• WEB/APP DEVELOPMENT. 3K.K 4 weeks ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - eCommerce/Online shop Websites
    PRICE: 1,500gh. Visit: www.JustracAfrica.com for more info. JK ...

• Over Priced charges 4 weeks ago

The sellers and service agents are taking advantage of these issues. Iron rod price jump from 6800 to 7700. Ha. Waay? Market is slow already. No money in the system.

• Looming crisis 4 weeks ago

This is how it starts with brute force and degenerates into full blown national crisis. Did the transporters suddenly start charging unapproved fares without adjustment to fuel prices? It's only a failed government that suppr ...

• Nobleman 4 weeks ago

Shame onto this Nana/Bawumia government. They have brought more suffering on Ghanaians. You are increasing many items in your budgets which subsequently affects the cost of goods and services and you want the drivers not to i ...

• Yaw 4 weeks ago

The thing is very simple. If you can not pay walk. Why should they buy fuel at such a high price and wait for you to tell them when and how to increase prices? Secondly the ministry direction is not backed by any law in the c ...

• muntari 4 weeks ago

he can supply the public with buses from his stolen public money, he can then dictate the fares

• Oyibo 4 weeks ago

Are we in a military government? What the ministry is doing is illegal. The drivers should call for a nationwide strike. Why did they allow pragya riders to increase fares.

• A very Big Head. 4 weeks ago

Am not using trotro to work any longer. The fuel prices are up . 50 cedis gets me to work and back, but not any longer.
    But I think it's a good move on the path of the government the citizens are suffering.

• The rich is always right.gyemii ghana 4 weeks ago

U see how leaders of this Republic are so stupid, u have increased fuel price ,drivers wants to increase fares that one is abominable .oh Ghanafo) wise up oh wise up .don't waste ur time in ghana .leave this country for the f ...

• The rich is always right.gyemii ghana 4 weeks ago

Why waste ur money to buy cars when some cheap politicians are enjoying ur sweat. Leave this country and die old. .A country of deceitful leaders everywhere.

• Kwame Takeshi 3 weeks ago

How will it be done? Never give an order that seeks to regulate economic choices. Passengers will pay because they need transport and there is no public transport alternative. If public transport takes 50% of passengers it mo ...