Pratt 'downplays' French language;prefers Hausa as official language instead

Read Comments Comments (76)

• Nii 7 years ago

This man has no idea. Just because you're a journalist doesn't make you a smart person. Ghana is surrounded by french speaking countries not Hausa speaking countries. Besides, most people that speaks Hausa speaks broken En ...

• Charles Higgins 7 years ago

Kwesi "Brat" would always be a Pratt.

• OTIKO 7 years ago

TWEEEAN NANA WOT HAVE TIME TO SOLVE GHANA PROBLEMS. PROMISING DAILY AND NO CLUE .DAILY PROMISING

• Kpenyigba Kwesi 7 years ago

Let's support the President for the promotion and study of French language in Ghana High Schools.We can no do business in Haussa so we do not need introduce it in our schools.French is very important for international and reg ...

• ATSUKUOR TEI-WAYO 7 years ago

HAUSA FOR THE WHERE? THIS GUY MUST BE SICK. IT WON'T HAPPEN SO FORGET IT.

• PRATT IS A GAY , IGNORE HIM 7 years ago

This homosexual kwasi pratt always speak against Christians, always speak against Israel, and favours evil.

• M.A.N Speedy ! 7 years ago

Ghana has more than 5000 French teachers. How many Hausa teachers do we have? Mr.Pratt lacks critical literacy. Go back to school!

• Issa 7 years ago

Go to East Africa and you will find out how Swahili has made trade and movement very comfortable and convenient.
    We are Africans
    Let's learn to be proud of what we have
    For how long will be continue to fuel neo colonialis ...

• Ebenezer 7 years ago

this man always speaks rubbish, what! Hausa is the most spoken language in west Africa? who told him that. master we r not kids, apart Nigeria n Ghana, which country speaks Hausa in Africa. commit for der.

• KUULS 7 years ago

Dis stomach journalist is always a fool. He thnks he is the only wise man in gh. KWESI, GO TO BAAKO, SUA NAKWAN N U WL TALK SENSE

• Kwabena Apuntuah 7 years ago

Mr. Pratt is becoming irrelevant each day. Why is he talking like he has no sense. Why would i learn Hausa when all 3 countries around us has French as their National language. This guy is an idiot and he should not be entert ...

• Ghanawatch 7 years ago

Kwesi,what are you saying?That hausa has more international appeal than French.You must be a man from outerspace.Or you did perform poorly in French in school?Do you want Ghanaians to be like the fulanis who roam from country ...

• Bbb,Mahama remains a thief. 7 years ago

Pratt madness is on.

• Buju 7 years ago

Have we finished learning our local languages?How many of us can read and write our local dialects?example Akyem etc.Or is it because Nana speak French?He wants everyone to learn it.Is yen Akanfo French?.

• Issahaku 7 years ago

Tank you my brother.

• Bbb,Mahama remains a thief. 7 years ago

Hausa is not the most popular don't be ridiculous and mischievous.

• Kofimensah 7 years ago

This is the typical Pratt for you. A notoriously attention-seekig idiot.
    If Nana had proposed Hausa, he would have suggested French.
    And sureky he doesn't believe in anything he advocates.
    Happily, he has become irrelevan ...

• Ricardo 7 years ago

No wonder his name is 'pratt' the word PRAT in English means 'incompetent and stupid, an idiot' so no wonder Kwesi Pratt is a stupid arsehole. How can you compare Hausa to French! He should start teaching his children Hausa a ...

• Charles Higgins 7 years ago

Mr Pratt was my senior at Aburi Presbyterian Boys' Middle Boarding School (Amanfo). He was a loudmouthed and nothing.

• Angels 7 years ago

Was he same OTU PRATT of Amanfo fame ?

• ADONGO 7 years ago

All of you must wise up.All the three francophone countries surrounding Ghana also speak Huasa.

• Maka a maka 7 years ago

This Pratt character should be ignored because his suggestion is just a bad joke. Sometimes one wonders why what this man says matters? Government isn't going to make Hausa compulsory in schools. In which of the three Franco ...

• Sangbasangba 7 years ago

How many people in ivory coast speak hausa? How many people in Burkina faso speak hausa? I have lived and worked in the three regions of the north for about five years. Interestingly enough, less than 30% of the residents he ...

• Solomon Argentina 7 years ago

Mr Pratt come again.learn Hausa to travel to where? If this is the challenge you are going to give to Nana Addo you will fail.shame on you.

• Moses 7 years ago

Why insult Prat. Some of you don't think. You only follow what your leaders say. The other day some people were angry that tax on domestic airline tickets had been abolished but taxes that make trotro expensive did not get th ...

• NICH 7 years ago

Moses no descent Ghanaian with sound mind will propose such illogical thought, regarding regional integration. Hausa is a common language in the northern part of Ghana,has it helped commerce in the region? Was pratt advising ...

• CHINESE 7 years ago

Pratt said Chinese is more widely spoken than French...
    Pratt it is Mandarin wai. It is called Mandarin. It will be added as well. Being multilingual is an asset in these times.

• yyy 7 years ago

whaaat,Hausa tofiakwa,boko harams' language is what you want the good people of Ghana to learn,apuu t))

• ike prestea 7 years ago

How can you say we should make hausa official language is it a Ghanaian language,did the President say he's making French our official language,because of politics all these journalists have become color blind.

• Fine Boy 7 years ago

French language! Is gonna be another burden on the students tooo many subjects

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

Kwesi Pratt of all wisdom, who are you to suggest that Ghanaians should prefer learning hausa to French, intellectual dishonesty and diminishing has really cripple you.

• Afrika Bravo 7 years ago

Why should we speak French.is just because of our Neighborhood no, it doesn't make since. Every Country in EUROP speak his own Language but They still moving forward.Akufo Ado Don't have any massege ,so he use to talk any how ...

• brother Nash: on May5, 7 years ago

The president didn't say international community he said west Africa.And that is true if you look at the ecowas region the most dominant language is French. Ghana for example all the three countries around us are French speak ...

• Gkg 7 years ago

Mr President,and Mr.pratt, visit Canada and see if french is compulsory on any of the pronvince, it is one country, is ghana going to be colonized again by West African french speaking countries? Damned it

• Amega 7 years ago

Introduce French and Hausa to students and see which will make a greater appeal.

• raw 7 years ago

What an argument. Even though, I mostly side by Mr. President - this Mr. Pratt is Right and as such his suggestion should be considered.

• apuuuu 7 years ago

Kwesi Pratt as you are getting old it seems you have forgetting your wisdom and your knowledge at the toilet at times i wonder if you are truly a journalist or you just happened to be in radio station wh ...

• KOOSU1 7 years ago

Oh Kwasi, what are you saying, Hausa? Wotri ASEI, That is one of the Biggest Mistake Osagyefo made, three Francophone Countries surrounding us and He failed to make the French language Compulsory, no doubt the Francophone Co ...

• Feli 7 years ago

This loot and share journalist because his mouth is big he thinks can say anything for Ghanaians to listen. Shame, shame Pratt.

• Papa 7 years ago

His comments really explains his name, PRAT (FOOL).

God forbid to use Hausa as our language kai

Yet you eat Hausa wake, Hausa tuo, Hausa koko and many more, the Zangos in Ghana is full of Hausas you Idiot! Think! oops! Idiots can't think.

• bo 7 years ago

kwasia ghanians eat jollof rice so in you mind we should also make wollof compulsory or we use Samsung so we should also make Korean compulsory what good devolpment have hausa language brought Ghana every country that this z ...

• Haruna 7 years ago

I pity this backward Npp funatics. Very soon you all get heart attacks and die out of envy

• Ato 7 years ago

I don't think Mr. Pratt has a clue about official languages at International level. Ghana must move forward. We don't have to invent the wheel. French is good to be taught in all schools.

• Critical thinkers international 7 years ago

Oh Prat or rat !!! How could you.

Kwasiaaaaaa paaaa be you

• Nii Bi Nii 7 years ago

It seems to me that Kwesi Pratt hatred towards the prez makes him Pratt a fool. Sometimes his reasoning power is not sufficiently right.

• Id 7 years ago

If Mahama said it,u pratt (rat) will support it.just shut up

• Issahaku 7 years ago

I think our ghanaian language should rather be made copusory and not French or Hausa. To our politicians when you were going round asking people to elect you into power which language were you using.

• kk 7 years ago

kwasi pratt you are fool whats development hausa language gonna bring us tell us

• Issahaku 7 years ago

Ghanaian language must pop up instead of any foreign language.

• Nii Joromi 7 years ago

This rodent like human being only talks crap. Meanwhile, science, maths and IT should be the most important subjects for development and not French.

• Nii Joromi 7 years ago

Nana is getting senile. Science, maths and IT are the way forward, not French.
    These old African politicians need to wake up.

• Kwaku Kyeretwie 7 years ago

Hausa is not an official language but it us Nigerian language, what economic importance can we get from speaking Hausa? French is more important than Hausa because Ghana is bordered by three Francophone countries that do busi ...

• atta 7 years ago

but French has always been taught in JSS

• AZAA 7 years ago

Another achievement in FOUR Months

• Michael K. Tettevi. 7 years ago

Hausa cannot take the place of French in West Africa. It can only be an additional language to be learnt in schools, even that not as compulsory as French. Mr. Pratt may change his tv programmes to Hausa and see the number of ...

• Obrefo 7 years ago

What is this idiot stomach so called journalist talking about? What Nana said wasn't about national language but rather a linguistic harmony with our francophone sister nations.

• Nack 7 years ago

If you don't have a clue to your problems you become agitated and a whole lot of things pop into your brains,
    what at all do we struggle on someone language as if we communicate with signs like dump, you want to speak Hausa ...

I HAVE ALWAYS KNOW HIM TO BE A FOOL BUT I DID NOT KNOW PRATT WAS MAD.

• Kpevi 7 years ago

Hmm. God is great. I have seen and experienced this before. One can be so jealous that anytime he tries to oppose his his secret enemy he ends up appearing silly or stupid. Such a person is so ready to oppose such ...

• Kotey Dsane 7 years ago

Hausa. What the fuck. Woy3 kwasia paaa kwesi Pratt

• Kwasi 7 years ago

Most English people do not want their children to study French. Not many people in UK can speak French. This issue needs 'national' debate. Pratt has started.

• King Lomotey 7 years ago

Both the president's contention of making French compulsory for, SHS, and Pratt's counter suggestion of Hausa as the language to study in our schools, mean we are no longer thinking of Nkrumah's Africa Must Unite, I ...

• k de k 7 years ago

Kwasi Pratt you are scared to say that they should use Akan as the national language You have been in this job for long so please fo God's sake say something that people will see you as a level-headed person. Or are you an "a ...

• Jb 7 years ago

Akan? Hahah dude Ewe is even bigger in west Africa than Akan. Pratt is right. If it is about africa, then it must be African Language. And if it is about business, then it must be Chinese. The world is moving towards China no ...

• boa 7 years ago

Shut the fuck up ewe population is 5 million even ashanti population alone is more than ewes not talking about akan population even in ghana ewes dont like thier name and language they are getting akanised . Ghana has the mos ...

• Kwabena Thompson. 7 years ago

Very unfortunate. Almost all the so-called educated people display some kind of ignorance in their utterances but I don't expect this from. Kwesi.

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 7 years ago

WELL FRENCH TOO IS SWEET TO THE LIPS AS I TOO SPEAK SOME VERY WELL! BUT ALL READY THE FRENCH LANGUAGE IS THE INSTRUMENT OF COLONISATION ADOPTED AGAINST US IN AFRICA! AND IT WILL WORSEN OUR POSITION IF WE ALL ENTER INTO SUCH S ...

• Kwadwo Kyei 7 years ago

This is a sick joke from a so-called veteran journalist. How can anyone in his right mind compare Hausa to French when it comes to ranking international languages? Maybe Hausa is an international language for nomadic people, ...

• Abena Donkor 7 years ago

Mr Pratt's idea is good but because it comes from a very unpopular person like him, it is bound to receive condemnation and rejection. The case for Hausa is supported by NPP Stalwarts like Lawyer Zwirnes, J.A. Kuffuor and man ...

Must you know everything
    Too known

• Agya owusu 7 years ago

Pratt u are 100percent correct we can't do without our own we must start from our house before going out so u can't hang french on our neck

• Nana abena 7 years ago

This is completely false. Hausa is NOT the dominant language in Nigeria! What blanket fabrication! And Hausa is certainly not the dominant language in West Africa, you have Senegal and the Gambia that speak mostly Wolof, Libe ...

• fire 7 years ago

Twi would be better.

• ODB 7 years ago

All we knew was Fanti and now, we don't know where that 3suanti came from so we should turn back to our Fanti and akofo addo should tell those nighbouring countries to also learn English so that that can do business in the su ...