Africa News Tue, 30 Jun 2020

Click to read all about coronavirus →

Visitors from three African nations on EU safe list

Algeria, Morocco and Rwanda are among 14 countries named by the European Union whose citizens are deemed "safe" to be let in from 1 July.

The process of coming up with a list has been tortuous and divisive taking into consideration politics and economics, as well as public health issues, the BBC's Europe Editor, Katya Adler, reports.

Countries like Germany and Spain, horrified by the devastation of Covid-19, wanted to play it safe.

They pushed to have a shortlist of countries with low infection rates, good health service and reliable health data.

France wants the EU to give access only when it is reciprocated by other countries, while Spain is said to be keen to reopen the border with neighbouring Morocco.

Source: bbc.com


GhanaWeb is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website. Read our disclaimer.

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter