Diasporian News Wed, 30 Apr 2014

Click to read all about coronavirus →

Toronto NPP Chapter Elects New Executive amid turmoil

One of the most bizarre political events occurred in Toronto this weekend when the Toronto Chapter of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) elected a new Executive for a four-year term.

The event was embroiled in total chaos when members trooped in to the meeting at Victory International Possibilities (VIP) Center at 244 Brockport Drive Unit 12 in Etobicoke, Toronto on Sunday April 27, 2014.

The Ghanaian News Roving team arrived at the meeting premises at 5.50 P.M for the 6.00 P.M scheduled meeting. According to the Chapter members, the main agenda for the meeting was the election of new Executive Members. As soon as the meeting was called to order, the outgoing Chairman of the local Toronto Chapter, Mr. Augustine Opoku Agyeman asked to see the Electoral Commissioners led by Mr. Joseph Abankwa for a short discussion. When they returned, Chairman Opoku Agyeman announced that he had received a text message from the newly-elected General Secretary of the NPP in Ghana, Mr. Kwabena Agyepong that the Tornoto Chapter elections should be postponed to enable him investigate a petition that some unnamed local chapter members had sent to him regarding the local elections. The members present protested vehemently doubting the authenticity of whatever instructions Opoku Agyeman claimed to have received from the national Secretary in Ghana. They vowed to hold the elections, which were originally due in February, 2014 with the approval of the Electoral Commissioner, Mr. Abankwa since, they insisted that the overseas chapters were not under the control of the national executive in Ghana. This brought heated arguments between the outgoing Chapter Chairman and his supporters which led to the exchange of few blows sending one person to the canvas. The outgoing Chairman then switched off the lights in the Hall claiming that he had rented the place for the meeting and as far as he was concerned the meeting was over

After the chairman and his other five supporters walked out of the meeting the remaining members, numbering 23, decided to hold the elections in the parking lot of the Center. In the end, the Electoral Commissioner conducted the elections and new Executives consisting of the following were elected:

Christian Akyeampon, Chairman

Alex Barning, Vice Chairman

Secretary, Prince Ofosu Sefa

Treasurer/Financial secretary, Joe opoku ware

Organizer, Samuel Yaw Barima Ameh

The newly-elected Chairman, Christian Akyeampong received all the votes cast. One of the contestants, McDonald Agbenyo had earlier withdrawn his candidacy. The rest of the executives were elected unopposed.

Pic: The new Executive Committee being sworn in by the Electoral Commissioner, Joseph Abankwa at the parking lot of the VIP Center.


Source: Ghanaian News Canada

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter