Don’t send fans here for Women’s World Cup - Ghanaians in Canada

Read Comments Comments (59)

• George Nyarko 9 years ago

I agree with Mr. Akuamoah.We need money to do better things at home. I also suggest that no mission should give visa to our supporters again because they are not patriotic citizens.How many supporters came back after the Wor ...

• KWEKU MFANTSE 9 years ago

In the just-ended FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup tournament in Canada, reports indicate that the attendance was 14,834. Out this this figure, Ghanaian numbered just about 800. Yet they grouped together and cheered so loudly amid ...

• Ghfuo: hang nyantakyi! 9 years ago

I cheered for 90minutes on my feet and my voice was coarse! The govt of ghana should send me some check. The same way they carried 3mil to brasil for these useless players.
    The govt should do 2 things
    1. Sponsored fans who ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

You live in Toronto Canada and you want free tickets at the gate? Ofui, what happened to the $8.00 an hour that you made from working for the agency in the factory at Concord? Or are you still living on Welfare?

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

"We the NDC footsoldiers have worked hard for the party and so we deserve Canadian visa so that we can come and apply for asylum. We need to enjoy the Better Canada."

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

What about if people can afford from their pockets and no government funds involved? Can that be organized? They are surely coming to struggle with you and your job. Hahahahahaha.

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

And gold-chain clad businessmen,into asylum-seekers,telling all manner of ridiculous and concocted stories,such as I am a victim of "religious conflict"where none exists,would be even more worrying! FYI,I am reliably informed ...

• USACANADAUK 9 years ago

And to think that the government paid for them to go to another country to seek asylum and rub the nations' name in the gutter. Sisiefo !!!!

• K. Boateng 9 years ago

Good, the only commendable post without comparing NPP to NDC; you're maturing, keep it up.

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

What has this got to do with NDC and NPP? Idiot, who makes more political comments than yourself?

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

Who told Frempong tht if there are Ghanaians who are capable and able to finance themselves to travel to Canada to support the Black Queens, they should be denied visa? That is selfish and misguided suggestion. He right in sa ...

• Musah 9 years ago

nobody is denying qualified people who can obtain visas on their own not to come and support Ghana's team, most of these ignorant people this Gov't will support to come here are NDC chicken head fool soldiers, and Ghanaians r ...

• KKO 9 years ago

Kofi,
    Do you honestly believe that Joe Boateng or Araba Konua under current economic conditions in Ghana can afford to pay for a round trip to Toronto, pay hotel bills and feeding, just to watch women's football of all spor ...

• UKUSACANADA 9 years ago

Brazil Had a Ghanaian Community before they sent all those people on limited resources that could be used on needed infrastructure in Ghana. Ghanaians are not capable of managing their own affairs. This is just common sense. ...

• Ghfuo: hang nyantakyi! 9 years ago

If you spend foolishly,.gyeeda,.sada,.akomfemism, 3mil.to.Brasil etc..why won't you beg imf for loans? Idiots!

• afia 9 years ago

Ghana has all the natural resources to be a great nation. The nation's problem is mismanagement,lack of vision and good leadership ( leadership Dr. Nkrumah)

• Ekanson 9 years ago

I agree completely. If the FA or Govt wants Ghanaians resident in any tourny hosting country to go support the team, just get them some tickets or smth. It will cost far less than carting ppl from Ghana, lodging and feeding ...

• Ataa Nmai 9 years ago

This too known man kraa why? You dont know the objective is to travel and seek asylum like you probably did many years ago? LOL

• PK 9 years ago

Nobody is saying people should not travel. But it should not be government or public funds being used for individual gains. Those Ghanaians you are accusing did so from their own pocket without any financial help from the gov ...

• Rather 9 years ago

Available statistics suggest we have about 40,000 Ghanaians living in the Greater Toronto Area alone. We have the numbers, logistics and resources here in Canada to support our national teams when they come here. This will be ...

• C.O.D 9 years ago

I for one do not understand why Osman Kwesi Nyantakyi and henchmen are still on post, drawing their salaries and other emoluments after causing the nation such a huge disgrace and embarrassment. Why? I think they shd have bee ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

COD, the problem is the corrupt FIFA itself. They are so corrupt they'd rather keep the equally corrupt, tainted and putrid national associations in office to protect them (FIFA) than having some honest nosy guys come to get ...

• Futura 9 years ago

Bravo! Good article. The NDC so called fans will only take the opportunity to vanish in Canada. No visas for supporters. Enough is enough.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

If asylum was sought in Brazil, consider Canada. People will seek asylum from Ebola.

• mahall 9 years ago

Charly I wanna go Canada and hursler there why spoil this connection too no.

• Asempa 9 years ago

Enough fans in Canada. Ghanaians in US would join them if necessary.

• Mawusi 9 years ago

Us from the UK will go to Canada to support Ghanaians at our own cost.

• Adongo 9 years ago

Unless I am mistaken, Ghana has an embassy in Brazil. So why pay somebody $20,000.00 to transfer money there when the embassy has an account?

What nonsense is this? People like Elvis Afriyie-Ankrah, former Minister of Yout ...

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

This: Where and how on earth did they[the Ghanaian delegation] find this 'glorified Angolan errand man'?
    And as to your concern about bona fide tourists or business persons being denied visas into Canada,please be rest-assur ...

• ukusacanada 9 years ago

I dont see the reasoning in a lot of the decision these people made.

• CANDIDO 9 years ago

By now, Ghanaian nationals are residents all over the world. Why can't our embassies instead give tickets to our Ghanaian residents to watch and support our matches. Thievery has been Ghana 's MOTTO a long time ago..

• TK 9 years ago

I think Afriyie Ankrah is a crimninal. This is the guy who led our allota against Rawlings Regime in those days claiming Rawlings and his ministers squandering the national cofers, Yet he is stealing now disgraced Legon produ ...

• Kwabena Apuntuah 9 years ago

It is okay to object to the State sponsorship of supporting groups for our national team abroad. However, it is nonsense to suggest that Canada is justified to deny visas for well meaning Ghanaians with the resources to come ...

• KWEKU MFANTSE 9 years ago

Kwaku, your statement is self-defeating.

"But then of course you have a government that is only interested in stealing not building national institutions to safeguard the rights of ordinary Ghanaians. A weak government ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

Apuntuah (or is it Aponkye), why don't you go transport them to Canada? Why do you think your employers will ask for your resume before making a decision on giving you a job? We call it "track record". Ours is filthy. Even To ...

• ohene 9 years ago

Apuntuah go away!Who care you BS!

• KAKABO 9 years ago

The blackman is the only creature on this earth who will fly an able bodied person who cannot feed himself, pay to cure himself of common malaria, afford to rent a room, or clothe himself adequately, across the ocean at a cos ...

It is a problem even in the Western World, where you find black people, you find more poverty, disease, ignorance, and religion. Ghana is the most religious nation on erath and also one of the most currupt.

• Kobina 9 years ago

Ghanaians that moved from continent "Germany and Holland" to UK are the epitome of what you juat said. They do menial jobs, use local medicine and gives money to a Pastor who is also a Hustler.

• Kwame Kay 9 years ago

KAKABO Thank you a million times bro, u have taken the exact words out of my mouth. I cannot bring myself to believe a govt will fly these number of ppl to a country at the tax payers expense just to support football. Eiiii ...

• Natural Mystic 9 years ago

Sure governments (be it NPP or NDC) should stop this stupidity of sending their foot soldiers as supporters abroad to support teams. It is however, not on for one to say that Ghanaians should not be given visas to come to Can ...

• mahall 9 years ago

Npp don't worry NDC footsoldiers are in Brazil now working as carpenters and security ewes and northerners.so now you have the chance to win 2016 OK Nana ooooonana

• Ade Is 100% right. 9 years ago

see the bogers in canada..when the time comes they will be busy cleaning toilets in some offices... are they sure they will leave their Galamsey to go and watch the game.. lie lie

Any one has the right to go and support their national team wherever they are playing, but shouldn't be on the backs of a nation that is neck deep in dedt. That is just the argument.

Just like there are professionals and laborers in Ghana, there are also professionals and cleaners in the Ghanain communitees in Canada. Don't be ignorant.

• kpata 9 years ago

Trust me we don't clean toilet here ok? I can feed u and your family for a year on better food than you can afford in 50 years. you idiot!!!

If Ghana send supporters to any nation with a large Ghanaian population to support a tournament especially Greater Toronto where I visit like twice every year will go to show how stupid the leadership in that country is, and ...

• J.B. Rockson Washington D.C. 9 years ago

Oh GH

• J.B. Rockson Washington D.C. 9 years ago

Stop that

• Lord Tennison 9 years ago

You are sooooo self-centered.So selfish indeed!

• Kwame 9 years ago

I don't see anything wrong with Ghanaians traveling to watch and support their national team so long as they buy their own tickets to do so.

• babanaruwa 9 years ago

shame onto the ghanaian sports outfit for these reckless acts of corruption and swindling.Lets heads roll.

• CHEGUVERA DENNIS 9 years ago

THOSE WHO ARE READY TO SUPPORT THE NATIONAL TEAM, MUST BE READY TO PAY FOR ALL THEIR EXPENSES AND BILLS TO TRAVEL IN THE NAME OF SUPPORTING THE NATIONAL TEAM.

CREAT ,LOOT ,AND SHARE US ALL THEY ARE THEY KNOW TO DO BEST.BIG ...

• Nana Yaw Flectcher 9 years ago

foolish talk...they doesn't issue to people who want to go to Canada!!!!! Foolish Talk again!!!! Ask them whether the country Canada belongs to them? Kwasia fuo!!!!!

• ohene 9 years ago

Nana Yaw Flectcher, you are missing the point. The men are not claiming ownership of Canada, if there is such a thing, but for the nation's interest. They are saying the money could have been well spent on health and educatio ...

• Akurugu A.T. 9 years ago

This sounds like our brothers in Canada are greedy people. No visas for Ghanaians at all is a non starter. How about Ghanaians who want to come to Canada on their own cost and not from the government's ticked?

• Never again 9 years ago

Canadaians,I support YOU fully. Proved to the so called Ghanaian BOSSES that you are in an ADVANCED COUNTRY and you know the value of HOW TO handle MONEY.Never allowed any IDIOTS at the Gates of Canada. The Ministry of youth ...

• KAPUU TEMA 9 years ago

BY NEXT YEAR THERE WILL BE NO VISA FOR ALL FOOT BALL NDC SURPPORTES IN THE WHOLE WORLD YOU SEE THE WORK OF USELESS MAHAMA GOVT.

• Mawusi 9 years ago

This is the most sensible article of the year as far as I'm concern.
    Sounds patriotic. Ghana has been disgraced enough. This is the beginning of something good. More of this .