Ghetto Ghana workers and the new Italian ‘slaves’

Read Comments Comments (37)

• Jury 7 years ago

Travel & see over the seas: Aborokyiri,
    Until you get there to sell yourself so cheap to your deadly regrets!!!

Aborokyiri be that!!!!!

• Kwame USA 7 years ago

If I tell you what we face in America and Europe, some of you Ghanaians won't believe it.

• ELINAM 7 years ago

Most are too docile and lacked knowledge of self. Money means everything and in this case, the money these poor guys are talking of as the reasons why they do not care of their status as slaves is just peanut.
    No wonder one ...

• Open your eyes 7 years ago

They brought themselves and the same way they can leave. Not slavery. It's their choice.

• Zongo hustler 7 years ago

I live comfortable in my Kwesimintsim ghetto @ Ta'di, ride my 4x4, screw all kind of high & low class chicks why must I go dump myself like a cheap-side slave in Babylon?
    Snub all these wannabes & wannahaves & let them blame ...

• Abena Gyumfua 7 years ago

Afie ne fie menua, mo ne kasa. Out of jealousy and wanting to be somebody who you are not is what make these folks to travel aimlessly and end up been treated like slaves. If they use the same strength and determination and h ...

• Foreigner 7 years ago

These workers are being exploited. All Ghanaians need to realize that if you travel to the west without proper documents, you are at the mercy of your employer to pay and treat you right. No matter, they are going to take a ...

• ADRO CHOPPER 7 years ago

Some cant even speak English properly, how do you expect them to get proper documents?

• Kwesi 7 years ago

I think for a journalist to lie like this to the world is a crime. The workers on this farms are multi nationals including the Italians themselves,you earn according to what you can reap.it's individual work. Some strong guys ...

• G. K. Berko 7 years ago

What the Journalist said rightly and aptly reflects what is on the ground in most of the areas mentioned. If you know of an isolated case or area where the conditions are better and the workers could make as much as you menti ...

• SALVATION DELIGHTs. 7 years ago

The sad part is that, the greener lands take our resources almost free and cheap to advance themselves.

• Atoklo 7 years ago

Kwesi, please get yourself educated in issues like this before making comments which show that you are not well informed. I have lived and worked in the UK for the last 43 years and have travelled widely in Europe in view of ...

• TAVIE 7 years ago

NOT LIKE THAT IN NORTH AMERICA FOR MEXICANS AND CARRIBEAN FARM WORKERS IN USA, CANADA THEY ARE DOCUMENTED RECEIVE FREE MEDICALS. GET VISAS FROM HOME COUNTRY BEFORE LEAVING. SO WHY EUROP IS DIFFERENT BECAUSE GHANA AND AFRICA E ...

• G. K. Berko 7 years ago

Slave labor occurs in those areas you mentioned, too, but only in limited dimensions. It happens even in the USA, believe it or not.

There have been numerous incidents of Farm owners in the Western USA using coercion to g ...

• obroni 7 years ago

When I was 12 years old I started working as a farm laborer during holidays. I had to ride my bicycle for 1 hour to reach my work. worked from 1 to 17.00h.
    I plucked tomatoes, cut flowers lying on my knees 9 hours a day and ...

• Rebel 7 years ago

Ghana ghettos in Italian agric tomato farms!!! N most of these vulnerable workers come from North and Northeast Ghana. Are our Ghanaian politicians reading these stories. Yet they have the audacity to bastardize SADA that was ...

• teneboah kodua 7 years ago

What a bunch of fools those niggre srae.With the amunt of labor for pittance THEY CAN GO DO SAME IN GHANA AND EVEN PROCESS TOMATOES AS BUSINESS!!!! MOYE SLAVES NKWASEAFUO!!!!!!!

Produce their own tomato farms to be sold to borkina, maly, tunisia, and all those arid places. And still make decent bucks. Tomatoes does not need much soil to grow. It grows on little soil moisture and humors.

• joe 7 years ago

In 1991 I was in Italy myself.hmmmmmm somebody sponsor me from Ghana to Ghana just graduated from apam secondary school very young and really don't hv any experience in terms of real life.the connection guy sounded so good to ...

• joe 7 years ago

Ghana to Rome and stranded thnx

• Sinclear 7 years ago

evil Italians what a shame

• KWABENA KASAPREKO. 7 years ago

WHEN YOU ARE AT HOME, IN GHANA, AND SOMEONE FROM "ABROKYIRE" TELLS YOU ABOUT THE HARSH CONDITIONS, THAT PEOPLE (FOREIGNERS) ENDURE OVER THERE, YOU THINK THAT STORY TELLER DOESN'T WANT YOU TO TRAVEL OVER TO THAT, OR TO THOSE C ...

Trying to manupolate me. I do not believe in what baptist churches believes t k jakes. Keep stupid beieves to yourselves.

Says. I am not going to participate in the destruction of holy bible. Period.

Says. I am not going to participate in the destruction of holy bible. Period.if the baptist church believes in what I believe, they will not support using another person against his will. Dalvation scriptures deals with that. ...

You die, and then what? Carry you farari to the pit. Free but shot by police officers, and then what?

Parking spaces. Thinking of stealing my truck would serve their vehicle religious satanic appetite of neighborhood watch. Spanish occult believers of pope guadrulupe. 4otally out of line to scriptures, along with faith solel ...

Know your beef. The jealousy known.

• FINITO 7 years ago

I have been to these farms 25 years ago and its no different from how farm workers are treated in the US or any civilized country . You work and if you don't want it ,you quit . Also there are people from all part of Ghana an ...

• ADRO CHOPPER 7 years ago

You are an IDIOT!!! Do you think things are always the same?

• kofi nti boakye 7 years ago

Still better than the slaves in their own mother land called Ghana with life expectancy of 40 often exaggerated to be 60 to cover their shame. The land where women and children do not matter, only "big kings" and other person ...

• Elder 7 years ago

The word slave was created for this topic by the journalist,these guys can leave and go back to their countries anytime they chose to.
    If the country Ghana has been able to create jobs and taken care of this DUMSOR issues th ...

• Yaa 7 years ago

I encourage all of my fellow Ghanaians/Ghanaian-Americans/Ghanaian-Brits etc,to BOYCOTT any and all Italian manufactured products.Do not by anything associated with Italy. If Italy does not do anything to cull human rights ab ...

• Yaa 7 years ago

I meant to say *buy not by and *mistreatment not treatment.

• Azumah Nelson 7 years ago

Go back to Ghana,The best country in Africa.