Politics Mon, 3 Sep 2018

Western region NDC elects new executives

The opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) branch in the Western Region has elected new executives to steer the affairs of the party for the next four years.

The party held its regional executive elections on Saturday, September 1, 2018 across the ten Regions in the country.

In a keenly contested election held at St. Joseph's Senior High School, Sewfi Wiaso on Saturday, Nana Kwame Toku emerged victorious in the chairmanship race polling 336 votes to beat the incumbent chairman, Mr. Michael Aidoo.

The incumbent Secretary, Mr. Joseph Nelson took the secretary position with 460 votes as against his main contender, Mr. Famous Tumi Acquah who polled 311 votes.

The Organiser position was won by the incumbent, Mr. Japheth Baidoo with 423 votes to beat Younous Mohammed who polled 394 votes.

The incumbent Women's Organizer, Mrs. Anita Annan lost her position with 4 votes to Mrs. Gladys Egyin Kwakye with 36 votes, Mrs. Beatrice Sam also polled 22 votes and Josphine Yankson had zero of the total votes cast.

Mrs. Beatrice Ofori polled 4 votes to lose her post to Mrs. Mariam Raji who had 25 votes, Mrs. Elizabeth Nsaba polled 18 votes, Mrs. Janet Ansah also polled 14 votes and Mrs. Georgina Zileru Antwi had only 2 votes.

Havatious Ati Peter Cobbina polled 22 votes to beat the incumbent deputy youth organiser, Abizi Morkeh with only 9 votes, Mustapha Iddrisu got 21 votes, Prince Nkuah polled 16 votes, Louis Dartah polled 13 votes, Jeremiah Kwame Ansah also polled 11 votes and Paul Kelvin Eshun had only 6 votes.

In all, 820 delegates voted for 45 candidates who contested 15 vacant positions in the Region which was supervised by Mr. Opoku Mensah, the Regional Director of Electoral Commission (EC) in the Western Region.

Speaking to GhanaWeb after the elections, the Chairman-elect, Nana Toku expressed joy for the confidence reposed in him and promised to work closely with other executives.

Nana Kwame Toku, the newly elected Regional Chairman for the NDC was defeated in 2010 by Michael Aidoo in a Regional delegates congress prior to the 2012 elections.

During his tenure from 2008 to 2012, Nana Toku, through his leadership amassed 18 parliamentary seats for the NDC in the Western Region.

The NDC currently holds 10 parliamentary seats in Western Region as compare to the NPP which is holding 16 parliamentary seats.

He said he wouldn't disappoint the party for the confidence put in him. "I will work with Mr. Michael Aidoo and my victory is not a victory for me but a victory for all NDC members".

He said the seats lost by the party during the 2016 elections would certainly be recaptured in 2020 under his watch if he gets the nod to lead the party once again.

He promised to work extra hard with Executives of the party to revitalize the energies of all sympathisers of the party, rebuild structures at the grassroots and introduced pragmatic measures necessary to win new souls for the party and consolidate gains made over the years.

He said unity, and quality human relations, which have always been his mantra would propel his administration to greater heights.

He called for peace and tranquillity in the party while assuring followers of his commitment to inspiring those who aspire to serve in the NDC.

The Delegates’ Congress increased the economic activities in the area and gave the platform for some National Executives who are aspiring to be the National Executives of the party to display their posters.

Find below the full names of the newly elected executives.



Nana Kwakwo Toku = 469 (He lost as a Regional Chairman to Micheal Aidoo in 2014)

Michael Aidoo = 346 (Incumbent)


Kobina Jerry Kankam Darkwa = 258 (New Face, he failed to win it in 2014)

Musah Adamu = 173

Michael Gbedemah = 185

Captain rtd Anthony Cujoe = 189


Joseph Nelson = 460 (Incumbent)

Famous Tumi Acquah = 360 (Incumbent Communication Officer)


Charles Kojo Adu Fordjour = 498(Incumbent)

George Ofori Dankwa = 318


Japheth Baidoo = 423 (Incumbent)

Younous Mohammed = 394 (Regional Youth Organiser incumbent)


Thomas Asienae = 407

Pious Kwame Nkuah = 261

Clamper stone Reben = 150


Richard Kirk Mensah = 497 (Incumbent Deputy Communication Officer)

Sam Jerome = 321


Ebenezer Essien = 480 (New Face, He failed to win it in 2014)

Kankam Owusu Yeboah = 338


Henry Rockefeller = 524

Kwasi Dick = 294


Daniel Darlinton 493 = (New Face)

Daniel Armah = 325


Hafizu Alasco = 494 (New Face)

Ali Sanusi Uttar = 322


Gladys Egyin = 36

Josphine Yankson = 0

Anita Annan = 4 (Incumbent)

Beatrice Sam = 22


Elizabeth Nsaba = 18

Janet Ansah = 14

Beatrice Ofori = 4 (Incumbent)

Georgina Zileru Antwi = 2

Mariam Raji = 25


Eric Kweku Kyere = 23

Robert Kofi Agyekum = 17

George Dadzie Junior = 28 (New Face)


Louis Dartah = 13

Jeremiah Kwame Ansah = 11

Prince Nkuah = 16

Havatious Ati Peter Cobbina = 22

Mustapha Iddrisu = 21

Abizi Morkeh 9 (Incumbent)

Paul Kelvin Eshun = 6

Source: ghanaweb.com
Related Articles: