News

Sports

Business

Entertainment

Ghana will be bilingual one day where English and French will be spoken – Akufo-Addo

Read Comments Comments (39)

• Xero Britt 2 months ago

The level of general education in Ghana is so low, maybe they should focus on English first since most aren't even functional in THAT. Besides, there isn't even access to English Language reading materials such as public lib ...

• Neo Coloniasm 2 months ago

This short fool wish he can extend his tenure. He is only feeling shy to say it. Kwasea. Go away

• Nana 2 months ago

I would have been happy if Ghanaians can use one local language as our national language instead of us adopting French as a 2nd national language.We need that to keep the nation united which will benefit us more.

EXACTLY

• EXACTLY? 2 months ago

The same Ghanaians kicking against French will say no if Twi, the most widely spoken language in Ghana, were to be improved and adopted as our National Language. Something is seriously wrong with the way Africans think.

• Truthfulness 2 months ago

Over our dead bodies would we ever venture to make stupid twi our national language....
    The superiority complex of the Akans, especially the Ahantes is something to be mindful about in making twi our nationa ...

• OGyam 2 months ago

And, I presume we will be using my own Twi language to teach Physics, Biology, Add Maths, Chemistry etc. By the way, what are the Twi words for all those subjects? My parents and my elder brothers and sisters cannot help me w ...

• The Voltarian 2 months ago

Lame duck criminal Akufo Addo, you have 8 more months before you and your criminal NPP party are voted out.

• Ex-Pope 2 months ago

MORE NATIONAL CATHEDRAL BULLSHIT

Ghana will be bilingual one day where English and Corruption will be spoken.

• TRUTH 2 months ago

They haven't moved from 1957 a bit. Still mentally ENSLAVED as usual.

Why not, I want to see a Ghana where the languages of Ghana, TWI, GA, EWE, DAGOMBA, NZEMA, FANTI, ADA, ETC are spoken in France and UK and used as offi ...

It will never happen for MANY reasons.

• Accra is dirty.com 2 months ago

Another promise,where is I will make Accra the cleaner city in Africa you promised? 67 years after independence was too late for bilingual when our leaders had the chance to implement such status knowing that Ghana is surroun ...

• TRUTH 2 months ago

ANOTHER IT IS BOUND TO HAPPEN.

• Test 2 2 months ago

THIS AKUFO ADDO STILL ENJOYS THE COLONIAL RULE OF THE SLAVE MASTERS LOOK AT HIS COLONIAL MENTALITY
    IN THIS 20TH CENTRY AKUFO ADDO IS NOT TALKING ABOUT ONE AFRICAN LANGUAGE FOR ALL AFRICAN TO PROMOTE TRADE AND UNITY BUT RATH ...

• Ex-Pope 2 months ago

AKUFO-ADDO IS A USELESS BEGGAR PRESIDENT

That's what happens when a country has a beggar President as its leader. Akufo-Addo only cares about saying what will get his foreign masters to fill his calabash. It's called Ghana ...

• Kofi Seaman. 2 months ago

Simply balderdash. Speaking foreign languages? Do they speak or learn to speak any of the Ghanaian languages in France or any par of Eirope? When will the Africa ever assert himself. Every country in Europe speaks their own l ...

• Bioassay 2 months ago

Akuffo addo is a serious foolish man

• Agbeli Kumordzi 2 months ago

That stupid bilingual law will not work in the Volta REPUBLIC
    We are sick and tire with colonial languages ib Africa we don't need no more
    French should stay in France
    If Akuffo what French for Akyims that is fine with him

• NART 2 months ago

YOU DON'T TALK ABOUT HOW 0NE OF OUR LOCAL LANGUAGES SHOULD BE OUR NATIONAL LANGUAGE, BUT RATHER FORIENG LANGUAGE, EVEN THE AFRICAN FRANCOPHONE COUNTRIES ARE RUINING FROM THE FRENCH LANGUAGE AS THIER NATIONA ...

• SO CLEAN 2 months ago

FRENCH WILL BE EXTINCT...

• NN 2 months ago

What is mentally wrong with this man?

• Kwame 2 months ago

When ex - French colonies are running away you want to embrace France . You are accursed. Your type of "African leader " is only fit for the dung heap. Shameless Uncle Tom.

• ProTrumu 2 months ago

Champion comment. You've said it all. What a perennial failure.

• Addo 2 months ago

Kwasia president.which day Ghana will speak french.Aboa french is not our language to speak.did the french people speak Twi or other languages in france.aboa gyemifuo.

• ROGUE LAWYER 2 months ago

I WANT ONLY TWI LANGUAGE TO BE SPOKEN IN PARLIAMENT AND IN OUR SCHOOLS.
    no more colonial language

• HOW MANY COUNTRIES SPEAK FRENCH? 2 months ago

What proportion of the world's population speak French?
    French is a beautiful language but it is struggling these days to remain in the top tier especially with the huge economic surge of Spanish speaking countries in Latin ...

• What is French and English going to do for us 2 months ago

This our president dea has he forgotten we’re independent? Our mother tongue is just as relevant as the colonial languages. We’ve been using the colonial language since independence and we continue to under develop.

• Kojo Nimo 2 months ago

It’s pathetic to read some of the negative comments as if being a bilingual is a bad suggestion from our President. It’s unfortunate many Ghanaians don’t travel to Cote d’ivoire or Togo so they can’t appreciate the ...

• OSAFO KANTANKA 2 months ago

Listen to this president too. Is bilingual Ghana going to present two decent meals a day on every Ghanaian meal table ? Citizens want to be self sufficient in the production of local foods and not relying on foreign food imp ...

• Sam Fante warrior. 2 months ago

Akufo Addo illiterate educated Akim villager, homosexuals idiots president. Nothing important in this ugly old man brain. Do you think only you speak french in Ghana or you think Ghanaians doesn't know nothing about french ? ...

• Dede 2 months ago

Useless old man. Fix the destroyed economy and stop singing this rubbish you keep on regurgitating every now and then. The Ghanaian is not consumed in that inferiority complex you and your Danquah family in Kyebi are sufferin ...

• NANA ADDO WON'T SIGN A SHIT 2 months ago

How do you expect such a bootlicker western brainwashed President of this kind to SIGN AN ANTI-LGBTQ BILL AGAINST HIS PAYMASTERS....????
    Ghana will speak English and French one day,...
    BRAVO MR. PRESIDEN ...

• Kanawu 2 months ago

Ghanaians are already bi-lingual.
    Most Ghanaians speak English and Twi.

• Truthfulness 2 months ago

Waaaa look, is there a single real authentic and genuine Ghanaian who speaks English without speaking his or her tribe ( local ) language...
    We have over 60 local languages in Ghana, so, practically we are ...

• Hey 2 months ago

Get off our backs!

• Jack the Jakal! 2 months ago

Mr shallow-mindedness, pls visit any of the schools or even the universities to see how French is taught and interview the hundreds of students who graduated with French to confirm their level of competency before you keep ta ...

• SECURITY AFRICA K89 2 months ago

TRACK and MONITOR your vehicle (Car/Motorbike)on your phone/pc anytime with our Car Tracking systems. Shutdown engine remotely, Set geofence, Voice monitoring, etc. PRICE: GHS750. Visit: www.JustracAfrica.com JT

• AKURASENI 2 months ago

Akuffo Addo should be ashamed of himself as leader who is supposed to liberates his people.French and English have never benefit African.UNCLE SAM

• Onua 2 months ago

In the 21st century, the colonialists west can still deceive the African with some few words, is pathetic.