Why Ghana needs a new petroleum levy - President Mahama explains

Read Comments Comments (57)

• Susan 6 months ago

EXCELLENT PLAN. MAN OF WISDOM. RUNNING TO IMF SHOULD STOP. GHANA ON THE RIGHT PATH TO RECOVERY. WELL DONE

• Pelicles. 6 months ago

@Susan, the bogus power agreement Mahama signed before leaving office in 2016, is the cause of the energy sector debt he is talking about. That agreement he signed, saddled Ghana with a yearly debt of $500million and NPP star ...

• SARA 6 months ago

EVEN IF IS 10ghc KWRAAAAA WE WILL PAY: WE ARE NOT AGAINST TASK BUT AGAINS T STUPID AND USELESS TASK LIKE E-LEVY WAS HUNTING THE POOR BUT P-LEVY IS HUNTING THE RICH: THAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BEFORE NPP -E-LEVY AND NDC P-LEVY: N ...

• SARA 6 months ago

SORRY CORRECTION TAX NOT TASK

• Yaw mensah 6 months ago

Useless talk

• Samus 6 months ago

Sara, so you think the tro tro driver who will pay for petrol is going to reduce for the poor passengers?

• Ernest 6 months ago

I hope ur useless mahama don't have sense even Akufo Addo didn't taxe as on free education

• Yaa 6 months ago

Do critical thinking The days of following people fir following sake is gone critically evaluate its impact,Do you know the correlation between a Ghs1.00 increase in fuel price and standard of living?
    Your country needs taxe ...

• JD 6 months ago

Stupid Burkinabe of a president. Useless ndc party. A party founded by murderers and a bunch of envious foreigners who killed almost every successful Akan and rather promoted Ewes. We will soon take our country back and do pr ...

• BUMBEBO 6 months ago

NPP was using small fishing net but NDCis using bigger fishing net in this tax regime. E-levy tax was 10ghs on 1000ghs for momo users, D-levy is 83ghs on 1000ghs for fuel consumers. Are you affected?

• Asakramitoga 6 months ago

See the huge debt left behind by the idiotic npp government yet these boars are criticising the steps being made to alleviate these debts. You are actually bush people

• Wwwe 6 months ago

Ofuibiba U party Lev 2.5 and just 500 was added on and U are here defending this stupidity from the scammer hmmm kwasiman

• Pelicles. 6 months ago

Do you think at all? Who signed the power agreement that saddled Ghana with a $500million yearly debt? NPP started making that payment from 2017 till they left power so, go and ask Mahama and listen to what he will tell you.

• Samus 6 months ago

Blame NPP for everything. Mahama said during the campaign that he was going to remove all taxes but he is doing the opposite now because he knows Ghanians have short memories.

• Nana TRUMU TRUMU Addo 6 months ago

THIS PETROLEUM LEVY IS VERY CRUCIAL. IF AKUFFO ADDO DID NOT MISUSE PDS MONEY GIVEN US BY AMERICA, THIS LEVY WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN NECESSARY. AGAIN NPP ACCUMULATED SO MUCH ENERGY DEBTS WITHOUT PAYING. NDC SHOULD ARREST ALL NPP T ...

• Wwwe 6 months ago

Ofuibiba kwasiman animal tell Ur scammer JDM that we are not fools like idiots like U ofuibiba

• Pelicles. 6 months ago

Which president signed the bogus power agreement with a yearly debt of $500million? When NPP came to power in 2017, they started making that payment till they left office in 2024 so, go and ask Mahama how that debt came about ...

• Nsia 6 months ago

@Pelicles, the brain dead fart displaying his idiocy as usual. Now, how many megawatts of power did your beloved NPP add to the National Grid after 8 years? In your idiotic opinion, Mahama has diverted that amount into Lordin ...

• Free Radicals 6 months ago

Ghanaians,you see the most criminal president in Ghana history. The witches and wizards who hate Ghana development and enjoy slum vote the the incompetent and useless president but sophisticated criminal who steal from Ghana ...

• they say they say 6 months ago

My friend SHUT UP

• Wwwe 6 months ago

Animal listing to sense ndc is scam period kwasiman how on earth will a normal human being b happy for paying BECE registration 500gh in 2025 and received 18gh pad only animals in Ndc with lower IQ will b happy fools this JDM ...

• Wwwe 6 months ago

God will punish U paaa U this scammer U told us the npp who introduced e lev was wicked in that tax if U send 100gh U just paid 1gh but in D Lev if U buy 100 U will pay 8gh ,hmm if 1gh is wicked JDM U are Satan

• Kofi 6 months ago

So now levies have benefit ? Hypocrites.

• Raphael Abeam US 6 months ago

This levy is in replacement of the E level. Why did you deceive Ghanaians of snubbing the E levy and bring out the D levy. I don't blame you of saying Ghanaians have a short memory

• Citizen8 6 months ago

Shame on you, double-tongued Mahama.

• Nash 6 months ago

Let me go and listen to what Twene Jonas has to say about this before I make any comment. Interesting days ahead.

• Sam 6 months ago

Why are u not prosecution those thieves in the energy sector! Ghanaians want justice in all sectors of our public life!
    U must be asking your attorney General how far he has gone with the criminals who acts and omissions ha ...

• Kofi Bediako 6 months ago

DUMSOR TAX PAYS THE PERSONAL PHYSICIAN
    The DUMSOR TAX is paying the BLACKMAIL that the fake doctor Anna Sansa Daly is demanding for the personal physician services she offered. SHE WILL MAKE GHANAIANS PAY AND PAY until Ghan ...

• kwame 6 months ago

President and NDC are stealing from the Ghanaian Tax payer.

• Achakanapaya 6 months ago

Ghanians understand the situation you inherited Mr President. Ghanaian's are willing to even pay more for you reset the energy sector, because they trust you Mr President. Ayeeekoooooo, Ghanaian's dey for you Sir.

• Akuraseni 6 months ago

E Levy was wrong but D Levy is right, .God punish you. Dishonest, corrupt incompetent Liar John Mahama.. You don't deserve respect as Ghana president..

• Sisi fiaa 6 months ago

I am not a fool to vote for a dancing goat like Bawumia

• E-LEVY BAD DUMSOR LEVY GOOD 6 months ago

Hehehee Mahama the conman shows his true colours

• Yaw 6 months ago

John Mahama has forgotten he signed the take or pay contract i in his previous administration which causes the debt in the energy sector. Ghana is to 500 million dollars a year. When the NPP government mentioned it the NDC sa ...

• UK boy 6 months ago

Still incompetent, scammers

• Koti 6 months ago

Are we not been scammed? As this levy was first reported by ghanaweb, it said "at least $3.7bn" would be needed to pay the debt and $1.2bn would be needed to buy fuel to run the thermals throughout 2025. Now Mahama is telling ...

• Paul 6 months ago

You think you're wiser than all Ghanaians. You think it it wasn't difficult for Akuffo Addo impose the E Levy.? Something he got opposition from his own Vice President.

• Atsu 6 months ago

Mahama you are a typical fool and liar so, this is what you call Reset Abi dead goat

• MAHAMA WHY DIDN'T YOU EXPLAIN TO US BEFORE SLAPPING US THIS WAY? 6 months ago

John Mahama do you take us for fools? You took E-Levy away, then immediately increased water and electricity tariffs. And now you slap us with a punitive DUMSOR TARRIFF? Where in your campaign messages did you tell this? Was ...

• ME DI B3 BOM!! 6 months ago

Manka tsire wo se mide bebom?

• Obroniba 6 months ago

Who must be held accountable for this wicked mess creating for the innocent people to keep suffering? Start the prosecution of these bunch of thieves to restore conference or we come after you. We are solidly behind you and y ...

• Ohene 6 months ago

The reason Gh is so stupidly reckless. Politicians will squander our resources and the poor people are made to pay for it.

• Omega south Africa 6 months ago

419 and scammer government

• Sam 6 months ago

Q-net government, supported by ordinary, hatred filled anti Ashanti idiots who see any shit from mahama as sacrosanct. If you use propaganda to win power, reality will catch you

• Yaw mensah 6 months ago

Listen to yourself are you talking sense ??? Instead of you to intensify the collection of revenue and bills, you are lazily asking we those don't own light bills to pay uncollected debt. E- levy or dumsor pevy is even higher ...

• BOYIIMEN 6 months ago

THIS PETROLEUM LEVY IS VERY CRUCIAL. IF AKUFFO ADDO DID NOT MISUSE PDS MONEY AND COMPACT 2 GIVEN US BY AMERICA, THIS LEVY WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN NECESSARY IF NPP DIDN'T ACCUMULATE SO MUCH ENERGY DEBTS WITHOUT PAYING.
    THE SIMPL ...

• At 6 months ago

All NDC supportors are animal they don't think e _ Levy don't spend me up 10 gh since they introduce it. But yesterday a only I bought 70 gh fuel so I will be praying up 6 Gh.

• Demeterius 6 months ago

What happens to the energy sector levies collected over the years?

• Agyenco (UK) 6 months ago

Please Mr President don't belittle our intelligence. We are not children with short memories. We know your history of being not truthful and honest to Ghanaians. Your dishonesty and mismanagement are well known to every Ghana ...

• Zom 6 months ago

Not a new levy

ESLA has just been increased by 1 cedi

• Lopez 6 months ago

Is Mahama not ashamed of himself for telling Ghanaians this cock and bull stories. Who caused this huge debt in us in the first place. It's your mess that you have come to deal with all due to your reckless deal of pay or ...

• Jubilee House Rat. 6 months ago

This Incompetent One is nothing but deceitful agent of Russia.

• Kojois 6 months ago

Stupid man when your govt was signing take or pay do you think the future implications. You said taxes is not good why taxing the poor person's today flip flop. Else you should resign immediately lair

• GOOD FATHER 6 months ago

NPNP SHOULD BE BLAME FOR ALL THIS MESS DURING 8 YEARS IN POWER.GHANIANS SAW ONLY CORRUPTION HERE THERE WITH FAMILIES AND FRIENDS

• Editor, Forest Echo Politics Weekly. 6 months ago

Mahama must continue to be bold with reforms.

• Solo 6 months ago

I thank the new NDC for their wonderful work they are doing. In fact the dumso issue is a big challenge to us as a nation. Jm you are really want to reset the nation for inidentifying a solution to end dumso. Keep it up. Kud ...

• Ernest 6 months ago

Ur wicked liar mahama never again