'Extending presidential term to five years is a third term in disguise' – Martin Kpebu

Read Comments Comments (51)

• Pelicles. 19 hours ago

The so-called CRC are all "Stomach-directed idiots". At times, some deep-thinking individuals will come up with a statement, and its meaning goes deep. Richard Feynman was absolutely right when he said that, and I quote, "Nev ...

• Ricky 18 hours ago

@ Pelicles. Animal. Have you told GTEC and its Director what you are telling us? Please do that otherwise you are an idiot

• Karikakchar 17 hours ago

If there's the need to give the president more time to work then the elections should be held earlier and it should be possible for the president to have ministers approved prior to the president taking office. This is done i ...

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 9 hours ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine....for instance 15 paracetamol at once.....or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• JOKERS ABOUND HERE 17 hours ago

"Never equate education with intelligence": you're a prime example of that truism!

• JESUS IS GOD 15 hours ago

If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation” — 2 Corinthians 5:17. Let Jesus make you new—open your heart and say yes to Him.

• Reap what you sow 12 hours ago

Ghana today has a president in the person of JDM. We should not over look the fact that Ghana just voted out Akufo Addo, Bawumia, ken Ofori Atta, family and friends. Supposing these nation wreckers ruling Ghana for 5 + 5 year ...

• Former Dining Hall Prefect 19 hours ago

As Jake Obetsebi Lamptey used to say, "moko aya, ni moko hu aba".

• Donatus 18 hours ago

We should give a decade to a bad president. No. 4 is okay.

• Donatus 18 hours ago

Try me and see president, no way.

• Arteta 16 hours ago

I agree. 4 years is ok. The term is 8 , you do 4 first. And if u r doing fine another 4. what is wrong with this sensible thing we have done for 40 odd years. What we need is a constitution that fight stealing- a constitution ...

• they say they say 14 hours ago

The unnecessary entitlements that is fleecing and milking Ghana dry, they made no mention of. They could have even propose an Auxiliary 3rd term for highly performing president by way of referendum especially if the previous ...

• CURTICE RICARDO 18 hours ago

Eeeeeiiii this is clinical observation by our revered Lawyer Martin Kpebu. Seriously,if this affects JM's administration,no problem. Like we'll be dead under Nana Nebuchadnezzar.

• Papakyene 18 hours ago

Rikardo

• Papakyene 18 hours ago

@ Rikardo
    Wo y3 kyinkyinga wai

• Vim master 18 hours ago

OH masa... i like kjinkjinga. Please use amother Meat.

• Kwasi 18 hours ago

4 years is okay. We cannot keep nana addo's alike for more years. How can we put up with a bad useless president.

• #NO 5 year presidential term 17 hours ago

We don't lack human resources in this country and no one is indispensable. The term is 4 years renewable once and it must remain as such

• Kwame Peter 18 hours ago

4 years is tried and tested,what a president cannot do in 4yrs he cannot do in 5yrs.Kutu Acheampong was in power for 7yrs yet his achievements surpasses all those who enjoyed 8yrs including John Mahama who left in disgrace.To ...

• Ricky 18 hours ago

@ Kwame Peter. Cry River. The exchange rate is better than that of your NPP even though you printed money illegally. Baboon

• Vim master 18 hours ago

That is a sticky situation, it cut both ways. Five years with a good leader equalls development where as for a bad Leader equalls disaster as in the case of Akufo addos. 4 year term has not serve ghana good enough. The countr ...

• Eric 18 hours ago

Nonsense there's nothing like bad president, Ghana had never a bad president in history everyone did his bit

There's bad president. When you have a president and everyone around him is stealing, doing fraudulent deals and he comes out to defend them, that's called bad president

• Ghanaman 18 hours ago

The stupid article 71 emoluments and ex gratia hated by all right thinking Ghanaians was not even touched by these so called experts! The only sensible aspect of the report is the part separating the legislature from the exec ...

• Patriotic Citizen 18 hours ago

@Ghanaman. They do not want to address Article 71 emoluments and ex gratia because they also want it when they are no longer in power. Both NDC and NPP are the same. We are being led by a bunch of greedy, selfish individuals. ...

• Esi 15 hours ago

Didn't the president promise to scrap the ex-gratia if he's elected as president. Too many Article 71 holders in the country.

Yes he said that and now he's abdicated that responsibility to CRC and they in turn don't even mention it. In order words he's hiding under the table

• Ghanaman 14 hours ago

They would if majority of them knew and really understand what article 71 and ex gratia is all about. Most Ghanaians have no idea what it is and its negative implications on Ghana's economy. Someone, somehow should find a way ...

• No Nonsense 18 hours ago

IF NANA NEBUCHADNEZZAR WERE TO WIN THE GENERAL ELECTIONS, BY NOW HE AND HIS COUSINS WOULD HAVE COMPLETED THE SALE OF GHANA TO THEIR BOSOM CRONIES.
    THEY WERE ALREADY HALF THROUGH THE NEGOTIATIONS WHEN GOD INTERVENED AND BROU ...

• Patriotic Citizen 18 hours ago

Mahama was sworn in under the current constitution (with a 4 years two terms limit) so he can not seek a third term. The laws of the land will not allow him to go for a third term.

• S B. 17 hours ago

I don’t agree with Martin.What about if you have a good government and wish it to continue its good work?.5-year term is reasonable to enable subsequent governments to have ample time to undertake development projects.
    Thi ...

• Kwesi 17 hours ago

Martin Kpebu after 5 years citizens have the right to vote out a non-performing Government. So it is not automatic that a President will rule for 10 years because he/she has won an election.

• Future Judge 17 hours ago

I can't still figure out what came to the minds of the CRC members to bring to the table for consideration the four year term of the presidency. First, the democracy that we are practicing in Ghana is based on the Western mod ...

• Kwame Nkrumah 17 hours ago

Excellent! Martin. I will go along with single presidential term 8years and 4 years parliamentary cycle. It reduces cost tension and provides for a mid term review performance

• Kwame 17 hours ago

We don't need election. Waste of money. Go for Chinese system.

• MO KWAME NKRUMAH NO 17 hours ago

And If President Mahama is not interested and says he will not go for the third term,does it becomes third term in disguise as you are saying Martin Kpebu?"aden na wagyimi saa no,Martin kpebu?" The extention of Presidential ...

• Trueth is one 16 hours ago

Please can someone educate me, when the constitution said 2 consercative term

• Mandela 16 hours ago

Whatever garbage comes out Kpebu's big mouth is of no effect. Please disregard.

• Salim 15 hours ago

Personally I would have wished that the president time in office reduced from 4 years to 3 years, imagining having someone like Akkufo Addo in office for 5 years

• No Nonsense 14 hours ago

UNDER NORMAL CONSIDERATION, 5 YEARS WOULD HAVE BEEN OK. BUT "IMAGIN HAVING THE LIKES OF AKUFFO ADOO AND KEN OFORI ATTA, 5 OR 10 YEARS WOULD HAVE BEEN A VERY HUGE PROBLEM, CONSIDERING THEIR INSATIABLE PENCHANT FOR CORRUPTION A ...

• WR yoKojo 14 hours ago

I think its good. The first year and last year mostly politics. So five is actually 3 years. If its adopted the current term is not included.

• Bitter truth 12 hours ago

Massa your writings don’t make sense..u better come clear..if a president is bad, u can give him 10years, he will still perform badly..4years is long enough for any serious president to make any significant changes in a cou ...

• Bitter truth 12 hours ago

The fact is that 5years will not make any significant difference..if a president is bad, given him 10years will even be a waste of time..for me, the 4years is even too long to endure under a bad leadership..4years is good eno ...

• JULOR CAESAR 10 hours ago

A bunch of vision-less ass-licking elders and appointees failing to address the gross incompetence of elected officials and instead falsely believing that more time in office is the answer to lack of planning or inability to ...

• Bosby 9 hours ago

The US with all its complex local and international problens dies two four tear term and they have never asked for more.

Come to Ghana they vote fir visionless people who only come to waste resoilurces of State and behave ...

• Kwame panin 8 hours ago

Mahama came 4 years and messed up. He was voted out. Akufo Addo completed his 2 terms of 4 years. Ghanaians were unhappy with the last term so gave Mahama another chance. Mahama is only in the first year of his 2nd term. ...

• Jim 7 hours ago

I have an idea. What about just a single 5 year term with no reelection? So that every 5 years, we have a new President

• TRUEGHANAIAN 4 hours ago

SAM GEORGE PLEASE FIX THE DEVTRACO TO PS GLOBAL, COMM 25 ROAD

• Kwame 4 hours ago

Let us campaign against the 5 year term.

• Klaase Klose Marfhen 2 hours ago

The NPPs should be advised to abstain from 2028 general election. Reasons:-
    1. Their Osono Maame is gone
    2. Their electoral thief Jean Adukwei Mensah will soon go
    3. Their rigging machine in the Ashanti region is uncovered ...

• Short angel 1 hour ago

My hope is let Ghana keep to the 4 year term. If a government is corrupt and comes tomoower like what was witnessed during the NPP era, it means giving them on emote year to entirely steal everything and sell the people. No t ...