Why NDC needs the Minority to change the Constitution – Barker-Vormawor explains

Read Comments Comments (91)

• Kojois 23 hours ago

Tell your illiterates NDC members. Let them know now.

• JESUS IS GOD 23 hours ago

If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation” — 2 Corinthians 5:17. Let Jesus make you new—open your heart and say yes to Him.

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 17 hours ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine....for instance 15 paracetamol at once.....or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Karikakchar 8 hours ago

Complete insanity, the youth are wiser than your satanic confusion. May you repent or perish

• JACK TORONTO 11 hours ago

Thank you. Jesus is Lord

• Mansa Ayisi Mawutor 22 hours ago

That’s the sad thing about illiteracy and lack of knowledge. NDC wants an its own Judiciary, own Chief Justice, own courts, own judges, own court clerks and own staff. They simply cannot compete squarely in a fair and just ...

• Cake 18 hours ago

Ebi like you sat on ur brain before typing this rubbish.

• Fuudian lomotey 9 hours ago

NDCFOO nkwasiafoo nkurasefoo akromfoo Agyimiifoo nkoaa tweeea kai led by ofui kwasia mpanin bi sei mahama siato

• Thomas Agyemang 7 hours ago

Remember, no Ghanaian got killed in elections held under the NDC except under the angels. Why?
    After writing that, NDC want their own Chief justice, their own Courts, their own judges, their own court clerks etc, u should h ...

• vccc 21 hours ago

a very stupid vormawor who cannot do simple arithmetic

• Bobby Stones 15 hours ago

Vormawor should quote the specific article on his claims of 75% threshold, he should cite the specific provision in the constitution he relying on. Most Ghanaians are aware of the 2/3rd margin majority of mps, and the procee ...

• GUARANTEED: SKILL THAT WOULD STILL PAY DAILY CASH-OUTS IN 2026 11 hours ago

Do yourself a favour even as you pray; New year follows shortly, prepare towards a better 2026 with a practical skill that puts cash in your hand immediately if your income pauses today. Smartphone repair & accessories is one ...

• Gyemii sei aaa 10 hours ago

you need 2/3 majority which is 67%, not 75%

• Thomas Agyemang 6 hours ago

Oliver didn't quote any article in the Constitution to support his claim or assertion. What I know or read under Article 290 of the Constitution is that, the third term issue is an entrenched provision, hence it requires a re ...

• Tobby 23 hours ago

Your educated NPP run down the country and some even went into exile after looting all they could lay hands on. Your so called men have no integrity and I guess you are proud of that. Dick head!

• Philla philla 21 hours ago

Kwaseato, your clueless, visionless and incompetent MAHAMA kromfoc too common ford expedition as a bribe in exchange for awarding a contract to a burkinabe contractor.ofui

• Paddy 20 hours ago

Tell this to the Marines, about somebody running down the country and Edinam also hiding in the US after been convicted. Filling of Nolle Procequi etc.
    You're in the worst path as compared to your predecessor.

• True Ghanaian 23 hours ago

Its not impossible, u need a voter turnout of 40% with 75% agreeing, its good to build consensus but if npp wants to stay out it can still be achieved

• selfmade KING 21 hours ago

Hw3 de3 wokeyr3? Have u heard of referendum if npp stayed out of it?

If npp stayed out of it, it becomes entrenched and hence after Ndc passes it, there has to be a referendum

Think for once mister Ndc man lmaoooooo

• Lwa 21 hours ago

Masa be civil we the NDC know the law because we brought it into being .... be careful

• Bole Mahama 21 hours ago

Leave selfmade alone hahah

Lwa@ I loved the way he teaches some Ghanaians sense here haha! I always read his comments

• vccc 16 hours ago

don’t mind that idiotic vormawor, attention seeker an idiot od a so called lawyer who removed the key from a police riot can and it away. ln any civil country he ought to have been prosecuted . indisciplined fool

This is the meaning of ENTRENCHED position in Ghana s parliament

“ In Ghana's Parliament, an "entrenched position" refers to entrenched provisions in the 1992 Constitution—fundamental rules (like human rights, judic ...

• D. TRUTHSAYER 17 hours ago

That boy is not a Cambridge or Oxford graduate biara! He abandoned his studies and returned home because he said he wanted to organise a coup to overthrow your Akuffo Addo!

• meat dog 23 hours ago

how can ndc change constitution that is nonsense talk you just want to be heard for nothing

• Kwaku Tee 16 hours ago

I thought NDC claimed they brought the 1992 Constitution and why a review after just 33yrs using it? Does it mean they did a shoddy work?Could it also mean intellectuals like GBA who boycotted it when they were preparing it a ...

• Duka daya 23 hours ago

Barker Vormawor is day dreaming . Currently it is two thirds of members of parliament to amend a non entrenched clause.
    So with the CRC proposals of 3/4 or 75 % it is the same 2/3 who will vote to allow the new clause.
    No o ...

• selfmade KING 22 hours ago

“For Ghanaian constitutional amendments, the required percentage depends on the clause:

non-entrenched clauses need a two-thirds majority in Parliament, while entrenched clauses need a national referendum with 40% voter ...

The last election voters turnout was 61% and an entrenched referendum requires a 40% eligible voters turnout and u think that is an easy process right?

Again, the minority ll make an entrenched regardless of their numbers ...

Lmaoooooooooooooo

• Onana 11 hours ago

Common sense is that if both majority and minority agrees it becomes a useful law which gain strong roots for longer establishment. Ghana is not a one party state

• K K sarpong 23 hours ago

Constitutional correctness needs patriotism not party loyalty so stop trying to create division and hatred to divide patriots in parliament. This based on your argument makes it seem impossible to make corrections to the cons ...

• AI 23 hours ago

I DON’T AGREE!
    With the Micro Minority, what else does NDC need them for?

For Ghanaian constitutional amendments, the required percentage depends on the clause:

non-entrenched clauses need a two-thirds majority in Parliament, while entrenched clauses need a national referendum with 40% voter tur ...

• Dallas1 10 hours ago

With or without the micro-minority the Constitution will be CHANGED!

And u know damn well that, the minority ll be ENTRENCHED and hence there has to be a national REFERENDUM even if Ndc passes it

Again, if Ndc passes it, the referendum should hav 40% voters turnout

Again, there has to ...

NDC doesn’t believe in intellectuals like NPP – Dumelo

“The National Democratic Congress’ parliamentary candidate for the Ayawaso West Wuogon constituency, John Dumelo, has said that the NDC is a party for the ...

• Champagne 23 hours ago

This guy is confused much more than his mother's menses dross. What a jackass. Mtcheew!

Chieftains and politics meeting is a melting point to finally set the nation on fire

• Gbetia 22 hours ago

Well noted but then Markin Afenyo was mad with his shoes on the head thought Ankaful will trans to Winneba fools Ghana for us all advice that abooah OK your article good sense but that idiot control him 75% mark credit Efo Ef ...

• Gbetia 22 hours ago

Know something Efo Kwakuvi look heaven and hell no where but Ghana as you know ok stop fool word to wise.....both madness

• Kwasi Agyei 22 hours ago

Clueless comment. The 75% is just made up by this bloke.

• Bobby Stones 15 hours ago

Don't mind him, these lawyers are only smarter than themselves, he should have mentioned the specific article if his assertions were true in the first place.

• Onipanua 22 hours ago

The 1992 constitution wasn't done in parliament so shut up Mr know everything

If it wasn’t done in parliament, then the Ghanaian constitution is illegal and illegitimate and hence President Mahama is an illegitimate president then right?

Stop your BUGA BUGA, Takashi and CHOO BOOIII politics

T ...

When ur JM was seeking for electioneering redress at the Supreme Court based on the Ghanaian constitution, u had no complains right?

Typical Ndc man lol

• Ama Governor 19 hours ago

Is this the police car key snatcher now lecturing us? Friends today Enemies tomorrow indeed. I am sure Ellen Ama Daaku is now an admirer of Oliver Notes being sold in the lecture hall by Beatrice Annan

• Asakramitoga 19 hours ago

This fool is still talking. Go and learn more from.yiur constitutional lecturers. Gbemela

• Obrempong 18 hours ago

The IQ that places Ghana the Eight (8th)
    Position in the world scale of most Low
    Thinkers or Dumbest, still does not affect the
    Entire Ghanaian population. There are still
    Wisemen with Higher IQ .Yes, if Ghanaians
    b ...

• Osei 15 hours ago

As if your father is better. Obrempong kwasea bi ba

• Teddy more 17 hours ago

Off course, all the parliamentarians will be in the parliament house to make a constitutional change.
    Majority cannot amend any change without minority but if the majority won the highest vote, then the change will automati ...

• National referendum 16 hours ago

Hahaha

U dumb as hell

Majority votes isn’t enough to carry a constitutional amendment

There has to be a national referendum

The moment the minority is out of the pic, the process becomes entrenched and hence ...

• Achakanapaya 16 hours ago

What is this idiot talking about?
    Attention seeking Gbemela.

• SCHEMER 15 hours ago

It’s good the NDC party despite their numerical advantage cannot comprehensively change the constitution. A random look at Sammy Gyamfi’s face andl. You’re tempted to call for his iimmediiate arrest and prosecution.He ...

• Emelia 15 hours ago

Have you smoked?

• Nyameasem Nyasasem 14 hours ago

Never say it's impossible, until 7th December 2024 general elections, many were those who thought no political party; NDC/NPP could attain absolute 2/3 majority in parliament.
    So 75% of parliamentary seats is matter of ...

• Agbeli Kumordziì 14 hours ago

Look back at the E levy deal at the parliament
    Today NDC don't need NPP in any way
    Majority carry the legal vote

• Bob 13 hours ago

NDC can change it no matter what ,when NDC was writing the constitution, where was the NPP?
    Now the NDC have what it takes to do what is good for the country,
    Stop that your propaganda agenda, it will not work.
    We don’t ...

• Sansambila 13 hours ago

It is not true. To change a non entrenched provision in parliament the NDC just need two thirds of members, which they have it. It is only the entrenched provision that need 75% of voters to support it. You don't need 75% of ...

• selfmade KING 12 hours ago

And how do a bill or discussion becomes an entrenched in parliament?

The moment the minority takes a stringent stand with regards to the topic of discussion, it ceases to be NON ENTRENCHED and becomes ENTRENCHED!

Any di ...

• Duka daya 12 hours ago

No wonder the country is going backwards. What nonsense people spew on these pages. A debate on the floor of parliament decides on what is entrenched and what is not an entrenched clause in the constitution.
    God save us all. ...

• Rain 11 hours ago

U confused as ! Selfmade has educate u, keep quiet! He has explained what’s entrenched and non entrenched! Go back and read his comments and stopped exposing ur ignorance dude

And where did he said that, we need 75% of MPS in anything? lol

Writing anything for writing sake

U don’t need 75% of MPs for anything but rather u need 75% of the voters voting YES to the constitutional amendments ...

• Duka daya 12 hours ago

The moment the minority takes a stringent stand with regards to the topic of discussion, it ceases to be NON ENTRENCHED and becomes ENTRENCHED!.
    Self made King!!! WHERE IN THE constitution has this been spelt out? Read your ...

• Rain 11 hours ago

So educate us let see….

• selfmade KING 11 hours ago

Where in the constitution should what is spelled out?

Are u fucking serious dude?

What stupid guy? So we haven’t seen referenda before means, we can’t discussed it right?

So u have seen some before that’s why u are talking in about it?

U not only a dumb ass idiot but probably suffering from DA ...

U didn’t even read my comments or u high from some cheap weed and hence didn’t even understand my comment

Akoa gyimi!

1)Entrenched clauses requires 2/3 of parliament votes

2) 40% of eligible voters turns out

• selfmade KING 10 hours ago

“ A constitutional amendments in Ghana, especially for entrenched provisions, must be referred to the Council of State for advice, a key step in the stringent process, as mandated by the Constitution, with recent major revi ...

• WR yoKojo 13 hours ago

He is not wrong. Entrenched provision needs referendum of 40% turn out and 75% voting yes and parliament requires 2/3. Non entrenched is just 2/3 no referendum.. presidential term is entrenched. Do the maths.

• Musa 10 hours ago

The man made a specific reference to parliament 75% of mps and it is wrong.
    First of all the proposal goes to parliament for debate and if 2/3 wins which the ndc has then we can go for a referendum.
    In this case if at least ...

• EducateMe 12 hours ago

I don't get it. Is this analysis a suggestion that if the proposed amendment is good for ghana, npp parliamentarians would vote against for party sake? Lord help ghana.

No is not necessarily they will vote against it but the majority caucus needs to persuade or sell their ideas to the minority to see if they can convinced some of them to join in their cause

Entrenched position is enshrin ...

• Akplenyo Agloga Markin 12 hours ago

@ selfmade KING. How can you persuade and sell your ideas to animals like Annor Dompreh and Stephen Amoah alias Sticka who have always cocked their ears and only singing and dancing in parliament? Do you want a walkout foll ...

• Duka daya 11 hours ago

You are engaged in JANDAM. Stop throwing dust into your own eyes. I am sure you are the type of people who believe Europe is in London. All Europeans or obroni come from England

• Rain 11 hours ago

The guy has schooled u so stop ur foolishness

• Rain 11 hours ago

U can’t countered him and u here saying jandam! Haha

What a shallow minded idiot

What’s JANDAM?

What a

This is something that even a rat can go and research on it so what do u mean by JANDAM?

What a hell is the meaning of JAMDAM!

Stupid Ndc guy with ur BLO ...

• selfmade KING 10 hours ago

Btw ofui, Ndc cadre lmaoooo

Any bill to parliament that involves review to the PRESIDENCY, JUDICIARY, legislature is already an ENTRENCHED bill and will require NATIONAL referendum even after supermajority vote

The con ...

• TRUEGHANAIAN 12 hours ago

SAM GEORGE PLEASE FIX THE DEVTRACO TO PS GLOBAL, COMM 25 ROAD

• Musa 10 hours ago

Am not sure of what this guy is saying but what I know is 2/3 majority which is about 66.7% of all mps.
    Currently ndc has about 67% if we work the maths with 184.
    If even the independent candidates decide not to be with t ...

• Mister dreamer 9 hours ago

U don’t understand the process

Go and read on it well

The bill is an entrenched one and will requires a bipartisan support and referendum

It can’t be passed without national referendum

Super majority votes ...

• Musa 3 hours ago

U are oblivious of the facts. Entrenched means there has to be a referendum of which 40% of our current voters must vote. Out of this figure if 70% vote YES then there will be an amendment.
    Before the above process parliamen ...

• selfmade KING 1 hour ago

lol

U have no idea of what u are saying

The bill is already entrenched because it touches on presidential term of 5 years for the presidency

The bill is entrenched before it enters parliament

Any bill that tou ...

• selfmade KING 1 hour ago

U know where ur problem lies?

The difference between what’s ENTRENCHED and what’s not ENTRENCHED! lol

Any CONSTITUTIONAL REVIEW BILL or COMMITTEE is considered as an ENTRENCHED BILL ALREADY before it enters parlia ...

• Klaase Klose Marfhen 10 hours ago

The NPPs should be advised to abstain from 2028 general election. Reasons:-
    1. Their Osono Maame is gone
    2. Their electoral thief Jean Adukwei Mensah will soon go
    3. Their rigging machine in the Ashanti region is uncovered ...

• Mister dreamer 10 hours ago

The way Ghanaians ll vote against Ndc based on the Igbo issue, u ll be shocked! Keep on dreaming

• Citizen Vigilante 8 hours ago

With the posture of the super majority I'll be very disappointed if the micro minority joined the super majority when it suits the super majority. Let the President and the super majority do it however they want it. Now we al ...

• Toko 7 hours ago

This is not about NDC or NPP, going to help the nation if we look into it very well.

• K.S. 5 hours ago

Next time, NPP people will wise up and vote.