2013 edition of Kumawood Awards Records the best ever

Sat, 28 Dec 2013 Source: Ebenezer Donkoh

At the announcement of Nana Benyin Anumel of Luv fm and Dayan Aduhene of Garden City Radio as MCs for this year’s edition of the Kumawood and Akoben Movie Awards, one was definitely going to witness a very great show if the patrons and actors corporated and that was the exact story witnessed at the True Vine Hotel at Ahodwo in Kumasi on Friday December 28th 2013.

The event which was well attended by the major players in the industry including Agya Koo, Lilwin, Vivian Jill Lawrence, Kwaku Manu, Oboy Salinko, Emelia Brobbey, Bill Asamoah, Akrobeto and tall list of others also for the first time had huge attendance by movie watchers.

Just like most events in Ghana, the Ghana Man Time (GMT – a situation where an event scheduled for 7pm starts later than the fixed time) came to play evidently as the show started around 11pm despite an original 7pm.

With the commencement of the event, awards were given to deserving winners one after the other but was met with the canker which many had criticized and wish to see a change.

At the mention of winners, a whole football team could be seen on stage, (a much uncivilized behaviour) despite earlier calls on winners to be decorous in receiving their awards.

Coordination for this year’s event was on point and saw a smooth run of the awards.

Among performers on the night were Kwaku Manu, ChickiCherker and buzzing Gospel musician Caleb Awuah.

The event’s beauty was a little marred in the beginning at the scenery created by some actors as they were almost turned away by security personnel at the entrance for their refusal to present their nomination letters which entitled them to an entry with a partner. Agya Koo, Kwadjo Nkansah Lilwin and Samuel Ofori were a few of such personalities as they came in with an entourage of about ten (10) each. (This can’t happen anywhere).

The event was also to be broadcast on the station with the national coverage GTV but did not materialize perhaps due to the late start.

Kumawood and Akoben Movie Awards is an awards scheme instituted purposely to reward deserving movie industry players who implore local dialects in their movies.

Kwadjo Nkansa Lilwin, Emelia Brobbey, Kwame Seth Djokoto , Akrobeto, Vivian Jill, Samuel Ofori, Auntie Bee, Funny Face, Gloria Sarfo, Koo Fori, Benedicta Gaffah were among the winners on the night.

I’m still compiling the list of winners and feature that in my next story. Keep watching this space.

Source: Ebenezer Donkoh

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter