News

Sports

Business

Entertainment

Constitutional Challenges for NPP at the Supreme Court (Part 1)

Read Comments Comments (45)

• Paul Amuna 11 years ago

Kofi, you have provided probably the clearest insight yet, on the frequently asked quit ions (FAQs) about the constitutionality of the proceedings here.and I thank you for answering mot of my own questions. I can't wait to re ...

• KOLA ,LONDON PROPER 11 years ago

--------------------------------------
    I have always admired Ex-President as a true Elder Statesman and if media reports are true that he will attend the inauguration of President Mahama, as a former Head of State, then, he ...

don't be cowed

• Nana 11 years ago

quo warranto has been abolished for over 50 years now.

• Nsem fon Ahi 11 years ago

The conclusion "I am of the view that the NPP petition has brought into public domain the level of irregularities and or administrative incompetence within the electoral processes that might have characterised past elections ...

• GOAHEAD 11 years ago

NPP ARE SORE LOSERS

• Paul Amuna 11 years ago

Oh, so you agree that his party is "CAUSING MAYHEM IN GHANA" by their actions and attitude. Too bad isn't? Which is better in your view?

• KAB 11 years ago

Kofi, this a good attempt though it is largely misconceived in several instances.
    First, please be advised that Quo warranto is obsolescent and has been abolished in almost every common law jurisdiction and Allotey-Okai di ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 11 years ago

Kofi,

That was a fast one, just like mine too.:-)

Thanks for the mention but you made a mistake in quoting my piece's title, "The President CANNOT be Sued." I wrote it without reading many of the writers you mentioned t ...

• Lol 11 years ago

Thanks.

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 11 years ago

My brother Andy,
    1. You should ask yourself how the president is harmed by entering an appearance and defense in the instant case, instead of sticking to the superficial narrative that the president cannot be sued.
    2. You s ...

• Blessings 11 years ago

"2. You should consider the possibility that the relevant constitutional provisions were fully contemplated before the creation of CI 78."

If, your above assertion is true, in that all the "relevant constitutional provisio ...

• Blessings 11 years ago

Complainant was DENIED

Dear Blessings,
    We are passing ships....
    My response is in reference to the idea that the president cannot be a respondent in the NPP suit. I think the CI 78 makes it clear that he will be a respondent. And my argument is t ...

• Blessings 11 years ago

"If you want my comment on the merits of the NPP suit, that is for another debate" Dr. SAS..

YES, all the forumners would welcome your "DOCTORIAL" and SCHOLARSTIC dissectation of the issues at bar regarding Nana Addo et al ...

I think the NPP suit has no merit. It will be thrown out by the SC.
    But the case can help improve our electoral system and hence our democracy.
    I speak as a lawyer and a staunch supporter of NPP.

Doc,

I've examined the principle thus referred to by you and found it in support of my stance.

For the sake of other readers, I've quoted a bit of what's out there.

"The rule is generalia specialibus non derogant. T ...

Good job Andy!
    But I would advise you to scrutinize the construct further, looking at it from several perspectives to see how it can be read to mean that the two statutes can be concurrently applied with good results. CI 78 ...

Doc SAS,

Indeed, I expect the President to respect the decision of the SC even if not represented, just as the Executive or the President must respect any decisions of the Executive challenged under Habeas Corpus, mandamus ...

• Wiafe 11 years ago

The presidency, the legislature, and the judiciary are equal branches of government. So in this case, the supreme court has to be careful it doesn't set a bad precedent.

Otherwise, what stops the presidency from meddling ...

• Lol 11 years ago

based on the fw versu the majority argument, does this mean that if less than half of the country is aggrieved, there should not be a corrction?

• Kwadwo 11 years ago

Kofi, this is a good effort. Attorney Sam Okudzeto gave a brilliant analysis on PM Express with Stephen Anti this week. The President was properly made a party in this election challenge Petition. As a practical matter, there ...

• MAT 11 years ago

YOU ADMIT YOU ARE NOT A LAWYER, SO WHY ARE YOU POKING YOUR NOSES INTO MATTERS WHICH ARE OUT OF YOUR RANGE? YOU SEE, BY READING LAW BOOKS AS A LEISURE WILL NOT MAKE ONE A LAWYER,LIKEWISE, YOU CANNOT BECOME A MEDICAL EXPERT JUS ...

You are comparing two things here, Law and Medicine with completely different pathways of study.

Reading Law can eventually make one become a Lawyer. And Likewise reading Medical books can also eventually land one to pract ...

• CALAMITY MILLS 11 years ago

STUPID DOG,Kofi Atta is not a lawyer,he himself agrees to that.

• Pocket Lawyer 11 years ago

For lack of knowledge my people perished.
    Kofi who do you want to tell you that NPP has nothing in their concocted cock and bull evidence?
    Even though the law is there to protect the sitting president from such action, NDC ...

• Lol 11 years ago

which part are you arguing against? make your point and let us see the legs tit stands on.

• NANA KUFUOR 11 years ago

Fellow Ghanaians, let us analyze the performance of the two main political parties in this country. NDC’s philosophy is “dzie wo fie asem”. In opposition they allowed the Kufuor regime to mind its own business. As a res ...

• John Carslake 11 years ago

Nana Kufuor; you say the NDC will improve everything. How is it, when given the chance in 2009, they have improved nothing? The President says 40% of schools under trees removed. He could have said 60% of schools under trees ...

• BOY KOFI 11 years ago

NPP wants the Supreme Court to declare Nana Addo as President of Ghana and this will never ever happen,let me state it clear here.
    The essential logic of their petition is for the Supreme Court to remove Prez Mahama from pow ...

• KUTXA. Bayone, France 11 years ago

Well done Kofi for this thought provoking piece,straight to the point and written in a language for clearer understanding.If there is one thing for which I however disagreed, it is branding former president Kufour as a true S ...

• Pocket Lawyer 11 years ago

1For lack of knowledge my people perished.
    Kofi who do you want to tell you that NPP has nothing in their concocted cock and bull evidence?
    Even though the law is there to protect the sitting president from such action, NDC ...

• Whatever 11 years ago

In the application law, the supreme law of the Land naturally takes precedence over all other laws in matters of conflict of laws. So when the law expressly states that the president shall not be liable to civil or criminal P ...

• Nyame Ekuma 11 years ago

I am, not a lawyer, bur i will be surprised if the Supreme Court will put President in the box and cross examine OUR PRESIDENT.

We are waiting patiently. The SC shd expose the blindness and deafness of all the party agents ...

• LONTO-BOY 11 years ago

MASSA KOFI, this is very insightful, logical, well-reasoned legal points and political arguments. This case is a historical first in Ghana. And whatever the outcome, it will have political connotation and political impacts.

• Blessings 11 years ago

Lonto-Boy,

These are very interesting assertions coming from a "perceived" NPP supporter..It is good to know that many of us will rise above partisan politics and put the Nation Ghana and its overwhelming semi-literate ci ...

• Lol 11 years ago

great work. looking forward to the next part!!!

• william 11 years ago

This excellent piece needs to be read with Prof Paul Kuruk's earlier piece on same subject.The two together provide us lay people with insights to understanding what is @play. Kofi and Paul, come again when necessary . Thanks

• Lol 11 years ago

Proff Kurukshould consider some public lectures after the court case. national commision on civic education should use him as a resource person to help the nation. such education should be on-going to help people when crises ...

• Bomfaboy 11 years ago

I do not think there is any conflict here, and that the petitioners were right in citing CANDIDATE Mahama in the case. Taking part in an election is not a duty of the presidency. If we argue that the president was doing his c ...

• Blessings 11 years ago

Absolute immunity given to one individual because he is the leader or president of a country is simply DANGEROUS to society in a democracy, in my opinion.

I think in a "nutshell", presidential immunities are granted or ava ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago

Blessings, I hope you are not inferring from the article that President Mahama has absolute immunity from prosecution whilst still in office. That is not what I said because there is nothing like absolute immunity. The exampl ...

• Blessings 11 years ago

..MY COMMENT NEED NOT BE A DIRECT RESPONSE TO THE ARTICLE AT BAR..LOL.

Bro Kofi, I was just making a comment, to hopefully enrich this onging constitutional debate on "Presidential Immunity" while we await the final deci ...

• DAVID ATUGIYA 11 years ago

The absolute immunity enjoyed by any sitting President from civil or criminal proceedings that some of us talked about since this frevilous petitioned by the NPP, is in reference to Article 74 and 75 (5) of the 1992 constitut ...

• KOMAANU 11 years ago

iS THE 'FARTER OF CAMBRIDGE' STILL EXTANT?

The cocoa farms of himself and Akyea Mensah have rip[ened, eh?

Adank is watching them but they don't know! One day they will vomit the money ourt!