Entertainment

Ghana's fall from serial favourites to serious flops

Read Comments Comments (40)

• Rocket 11 years ago

FOOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Mr.N 11 years ago

The Black Star is the fact cow and GFA do not care about anything apart from the Black Stars.

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

NIGERIA TO WIN AFCON CUP SEVEN TIMES!!!

Nigeria will keep the AFCON Cup for a very very long time before Ghana ever think of smelling it. With or without your 'juju' we shall keep the CUP with the power of Holy Ghost on ou ...

• mtcheeeeeeeewwwww 11 years ago

hahahaha see this mumu with speed but no breaks.You fool,what makes you think ghana people hate your thieving selves? Is it NEPA,419,boko haram or the overpopulation with high level of corruption and robbery just to mention ...

• Big mouth 11 years ago

W§erll,if you people will not slaughter each other in the name of "God",then you can keep the cup.

who? You,your papa or your grandpapa?

• Agyaaku 11 years ago

Ghanaians are at it again through the bankrupt and hopeless Press. Football matches aand trophies are won onthe playing field and not on the pages of your bogus newspapers. It's high time the Ghanaian press sits up. They have ...

• Al 11 years ago

we've had 4 coaches in 5 years...meaning no stability what so ever. every time a coach gets going he either leaves or we give him the boot. every one is coming down on appiah and praising Milo but it seems that Ghanaians forg ...

• CEREBRAL 11 years ago

You make very important observations about how Ghana can't keep coaches. There are reasons why Ghana can't keep coaches, and I can mention a few reasons why. The 4 coaches you mentioned struggled to make immediate impact beca ...

• CEREBRAL 11 years ago

5) The GFA must decide, (and this is as important as the above 4 points in the previous post.) on a STANDARD MODEL or STYLE of play. This model should be relevant to the physical and psychological attributes of the Ghanaian a ...

right on point but only sensible people can understand these fine points.

• Ibrahim Alah 11 years ago

The only remedy to our situation as I see it, is to keep the coach and experiment on the players in a reasonable time like we did in 1978 Cup of Nations in Ghana. Ghanaians don't appreciate what you do as a sacrifice and a s ...

• akwasi 11 years ago

the truth is, it is much much more easy
    to criticize done coming up with a workable solution.did you even suggest a coach if Akwasi Appiah is sacked. Nigeria FA was going to sack their coach has he not won the cup. patient t ...

• anokwale 11 years ago

Ghanaians get way over emotional after these losses. 1) Changing coaches all the time does not solve anything, 2) Being harder on the local coach is unfair (Proven by Stephen Keshi with Nigeria), 3) Touting local champions t ...

• CEREBRAL 11 years ago

Anokwale did you really mean what you said or it is a joke:
    "3) Touting local champions to be selected is unrealistic (Solomon Asante is good but he missed an easy opportunity in the first half against Burkina and Clottey pr ...

• Sam 11 years ago

I think what was mising in the Ghanaian squad was those players who for certain reason failed to join the black Star team in South Africa. The Essiens, the Abedis, the Kelvin Prince Boatengs, ............. you name them. I th ...

• Nana Poku, Essex 11 years ago

Spain won the World and European Cup as a result of long term planning and development. It is all about long term Planning, Training and Development. The FA need to bring back the Colts system again to unearth young talents. ...

• Kofius 11 years ago

Can U compare yourself to Spain ? In Spain nobody is trying to promot Kotoko and Kumasi players at all cost.

• Just Talking 11 years ago

How many Kotoko and Kumase players were in Appiah's squad? Can u name them?

• John,Tema 11 years ago

Sensible comment

• Denn 11 years ago

Nana Poku, your comment is well taken.. I do agree with you. We need to invest in the younger ones. Ghana is so blessed with soccer talents,but the FA has not taken advantage of it. The FA is more interested in age cheating ...

• Kasong (Lusaka) 11 years ago

Good article but you didnt talk about pride and arrogance. These are 2 of the numerous contributors to your failure. We defeated Ghana at the last afcon and at world cup qualifiers , yet u Ghanaians still think it was a fluke ...

• Africanus 11 years ago

We are talking about ways to fix our footballing woes and you are talking about Ghanaian perception of Zambian football. Who cares, besides you fail to realize that the Zambian win is not based on a well crafted and developed ...

• RED-SOKOTO-GUDARI 11 years ago

Michael I agree with you on the points you have raised, our GFA has become obsessed with Europe, while those money for travels could even be used to build good training grounds and gymns for the Stars in Ghana and for Ghanaia ...

appiah be trained yes it makes sense but is he the best available to us? Hell no. We have coaches who have been tested against the best so why Appiah and no one else?

• sam 11 years ago

TRAIN WHO-BLACK STARS JOB IS NOT FOR TRAINERS-ARE YOU CRAZY? THE REASON WHY APPIAH IS BEING KEPT IS PURELY DUE TO NEPOTISM AND NOT COMPETENSE AND WE ALL KNOW THAT.

• Nii Ansah 11 years ago

too pessimistic

• paul tetteh Usa 11 years ago

What Coach Appiah needs now is Serious Strikers like Muhammed Gago or Cristiano Ronaldo kind of strikers to add to the team.let's tried that now, if we wanna go to the world cup in 2014.

• Paa Pee 11 years ago

A baseless inconclusive piece. So Mr Reagan do we use local boys or pros?
    The 2013 Nations Cup was the worse in talent and skill. The standard was so low that the winners were even not sure that they won

• bongoman 11 years ago

who told you Nigerian players are local players?

• JOHN ASAMOAH 11 years ago

WELL WRITTEN PIECE!GHANA NEEDS SUCH CANDID JOURNALIST TO SAVE ITS FOOTBALL.REAGAN,THANK YOU.

• Paul Ansah 11 years ago

Even Graphic Sports editorial acknowledges that leaving Black Stars in charge of Kwasi Appiah is BAD.GFA SIT UP

• kires 11 years ago

Appiah has problem with man management. dropping the ayew"s was not the solution.he should be ready to learn from great coaches like jose, vicente, mancini, hasan shehata etc

• Paul Ansah 11 years ago

if GFA will take your advise the better for us all.they hate criticism and expect everyone to keep quiet.

• Big mouth 11 years ago

Appiah alone can,not hadle black Stars,today the game is so Iternationalised,tha without a foreign coach we will not get far.How weill you know the strength and weakens of the other opponents?From GBC or JJOY FM?We also need ...

• KANEWU 11 years ago

SELLAS TETTEH IS KNOWN TO HAVE BETTER COACHING AND WINNING RECORDS THAN USELESS KWASI APPIAH, BUT AS LONG AS TRIBAL BIGOT AND CORRUPT KWESI NYANTAKYI REMAINS AT THE HELM OF THE GFA, SELLAS TETTEH WILL NEVER GET THAT BLACK STA ...

• Lixo 11 years ago

The truth hurts eh ?

• GORDON YEBOAH,USA 11 years ago

any sportsman wont ask for kwasi appiah,s sack.you are talking about spain,do you know how long it took them for such a glory?how do u assess appiah for only months?if we dont qualify for the world cup,is it appiah,s making?b ...

• dodo 11 years ago

give the black stars to Mr Disary if you want to win something again.Gfa

• Notorious Clone 11 years ago

Ghanaweb video is now on youtube, check it out:
    www.youtube.com/watch?v=DbYHPM3GJgM