Entertainment

Is Ghana Becoming a Failed State?

Read Comments Comments (44)

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Whereas Ghana is not about to become a failed state, we face serious structural problems if we are to become a successful state.

We must stop the economic dependency culture by relying on our own resources to build our cou ...

• Kwasipong 10 years ago

I really like that!

• DAVI 10 years ago

We must not take things for granted,Hate,envy,witch hunting,selective Justics,Propaganda,Lies,Intimidation and Winner Take All must END NOW,FOR US TO THINK AND SET OUR PRIORITES RIGTH.THERE WILL BE NO GENUINE PEACE AND GENUIN ...

• Edin Prempeh 10 years ago

We are the right things but leadership id poor. God save Ghana

• The real Truth 10 years ago

Ghana would've been a better country today if we were still under colonialism. We should've fort for rights because tribalism is killing our country thanks to the Asantes

• I & I 10 years ago

What did the Ashantis do to make Ghana a Failed State? And what did they do to spread tribalism? Go ahead and answer these two questions Mr.

The fact is Asantes obstruct and hold the country HOSTAGE when their idiotic tribesmen are rejected in elections. The only legitimate government in their eyes must be headed be the Grave diggers people. They think they're the ...

• mensah abrampa 10 years ago

Don't you ever get tired of picking on the subject of tribalism? You're part of the problem but always pointing the accusing finger at someone else.Everybody else is wrong but you. I'm sure diversity means nothing to you in a ...

How can u solve the problem if you don't recognize it? It's idiotic people like you thts why Ghana is not acheving its potential. Pathetic

• MYSELF 10 years ago

Stop accusing the Asantes of tribalism. If there is any tribalism in Ghana then anyone who wants to know the answer should ask JJ or Mahama.

• "NYEBRO NYEBRO" 10 years ago

Ghana had no tribal problem until Jato Julor Rawlings, the Ewe and BUTCHER from Dzelukopeh in 1979 pointed guns to our heads and started ROBBING and KILLING AKANS. I will forgive you since 1979 is a long way but this is where ...

• Wiafe 10 years ago

Ghana is a weak state--where certificateless 70 year old man wants desperately to be president and the ethnic laced system condones this.

Akuffo Addo is a nation wrecker--parading under the guise of a democrat. What realy ...

• I & I 10 years ago

How did Akuffo Addo who has never ruled Ghana before become a Nation wrecker? You don't make sense.

• Nii Akwei 10 years ago

"Ghana is a democratic country where one can speak his or her mind without fear of arrest". Ghana is a failed state if you ask me. Just look around you when you are in Accra and you will get the whole picture.

• kpata 10 years ago

With people like Kuffuor and Akuffo Addo and their stupid followers like you why not?

• KOO 10 years ago

If anyone makes a mistake and is not able to realise it,he or she is bound to make it again.Kuffour took Ghana to HIPC to help revive an economy that was near collapse.With this NDC government we are surely heading towards a ...

• The Eye Germany 10 years ago

Steve, thank you for another master piece of food-for-thought article. Ghana is by all standards not a failed state yet. Nevertheless, if care is not taken and things continue like what is happening now, I'm afraid, our dear ...

• mRNA + tRNA 10 years ago

No, Ghana is not becoming a fail state. It is the Ashantiland and Akyemland becoming prehistoric, making Ashantis and Akyems backward, sycophantic, Stone Age idiots.

• Aj-usa 10 years ago

Dude,the personal hatred game which our politicians have put into must of us our brains has deeply stick inn not allowing us to think twice.blame games has only be their theory of development. USA be came must powerful nation ...

• Agyeman. 10 years ago

National failure does not mean the just the absence of peace.In so far as we are still relying on a few raw commodity exports and can't be bothered to clean up our filthy,stenchy cities to make them palatable to tourists we a ...

• ghanaba 10 years ago

let us snatch our country from these watchmen master no dey boys dey. they think the country is not only in their custody but their private property therefore they have right and access. first let us bypass ndc- npp dictators ...

• mensah abrampa 10 years ago

The attainment of a failed state status is not a sudden flight. It's the (end) destination of a journey.We may have embarked on this journey inadvertently but the pace we travel will eventually determine how long it will take ...

• KENNY A 10 years ago

ECONOMICALLY, GHANA IS A FAILED STATE, THE HALLMARKS OF WHICH ARE ALL TOO CLEAR TO THOSE IN GHANA.

-HIGH GRADUATE UNEMPLOYMENT
    FAILING ECONOMIC AND EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS,
    -HIGH TAX REGIMES,
    -HIGH UTILITY TARIFFS, ...

• KK 10 years ago

Somalia is a good example of a failed state. They are trying to pick themselves up anyway but they are still a failed state.

Ghana is not a failed state but a pretty bad and weak one. We are taking care of ourselves but ju ...

• Kofi Dadie 10 years ago

A failed state is in my opinion, one in which institutions do not function correctly. That is true for many state institutions in Ghana, putting the country on the fast track to failure.

• Issah Musah 10 years ago

Things seems to be okay on paper, but the reality on the ground is that Ghanaians do not feel the impact of the so called positive development. The key sector or the backbone of development of every nation includes Agricultur ...

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

Ghana's Organs of State (the Legislature, the Executive and the Juduciary) are well established and work; the Economy is in good shape comparatively; this said

- it is right for Ghana to have their eyes on bogus, corrupt a ...

• Asempa! 10 years ago

My brother works for GLO and if not for this money only god knows what will happen . Kwasea like you livin in London complaining . You need a paster to pray for your stupid brain

• kojo 10 years ago

yes you are right

Are you afraid to call a spade a spade? Ghana is already a failed state!

• USMAN 10 years ago

Ghana is already showing signs of a failed state.

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

The general tone of this article is comforting but to most ordinary folks we are winding all over the place and only making too slow progress.

We need to self-prune more often and vigorously, and constantly re-assess our ...

• Francis Opoku 10 years ago

Great article. God bless Ghana.

• Edin Prempeh 10 years ago

WE SHOULD NOT FORGET THAT GHANA CAN HAVE A CIVIL WAR IF THE JUDGES ARE IMPARTIAL.

• Jato.P 10 years ago

You have answered your own question

• Asempanaye 10 years ago

I get the impression you don't live in Ghana. You think you can speak your mind and the BNI will not be on your heals, especially if you are not an NDC person?
    When a gang of NDC lawyers and politicians collude to steal 51 ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

Sadly enough the bad behaviour of the selfish NPP braggarts has also affected some in the NDC. Nkrumah's works is all that Ghana has to show for

• YAFFA YAFFA UK 10 years ago

GHANA BECAME A FAILED STATE SINCE 1966 WHEN THESE SELFISH EWES LED BY KOTOKA & CO MADE A COUP TO OVERTHROW A LEGITIMATE GOVT. IN POWER. FOLLOWED BY ANOTHER EWE JULO JATO RAWLINGS.TELL ME WHICH GOVT HAS DONE 1/10 OF WHAT NKRUM ...

• ghanaman 10 years ago

In spite of the current conditions not adequately meeting the necessary and sufficient conditions, it must be said that there is no safeguarding mechanism preventing the nation from plunging into a the status of a failed stat ...

• joseph owusu 10 years ago

Ghana is a failed state since Dr.Busia was overthrowned

• SAM. 10 years ago

GHANA IS NOT A FAILED NATION AND OUR FUTURE IS VERY BEAUTIFUL AND THAT ALSO DEPENDS ON OUR LEADERS. GOD BLESS GHANA

• BryanD 10 years ago

A state's failure is on many levels,
    but spiritual life is primary. However,
    again it the people that matter, not the
    state, so to speak. The people of Ghana
    can express themselves, which is good. Ultimate success is ac ...

• Charles 10 years ago

Atta this is a good question, but I do not agree with you on the part that you said America created. The President Bush street in Ghana, Accra could tell you a little of help Americans try to give to the countries which are b ...

• Stephen-Pipes Afrifa 10 years ago

Indeed Ghana is a failed state despite the conditions a country may fall under, the average man is suffering a lot .....