Entertainment

An Open Letter to Professor Asare

Read Comments Comments (98)

• moyo 10 years ago

When you see Professors like Asare arguing as education serve no purpose in society, it goes to question what politics can do people like him. He is a disgrace to the academia

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

Your type is the kind that enables autocratic rule. At the heart of it, all that Prof Asare, aka Azar, said is the Supreme Court judges cannot be the prosecutors and judges in their own case. They cannot be adjudicators in a ...

• Kofi Abotsi 10 years ago

There you go, Oyokoba...defending the indefensible!!!!

• Brainy Guy 10 years ago

Thank you Sir! Teach these nincompoops some sense.!

• Kwaku Asante 10 years ago

Mr Nimo failed miserably to put his case into a befitting context. In a country where teenagers can massacre students with guns, threat on the Internet or wherever must be taken seriously.

The examples he cited are not fr ...

• truth 10 years ago

Enough of this nonsensecal back and forth needless and less productive debate over the decicion of the supreme court. Does Ghana belong to only the so called educated elite? Let us realise its not all about the law but common ...

• PKA 10 years ago

Well said, buddy. If only people could apply a wee bit of common sense in Ghana, we could all have a peaceful and progressive co-existence. It appears common sense is no longer common these days.

• DIN PA 10 years ago

Where have you been, Nimo ? These pesople are doing everything within their power to turn Nkrumah's Ghana up side down. They go round bragging to be lawyers, but have no brians. They don't speak good english and call our d ...

• ADWEN 10 years ago

Nimo, it seems you misunderstand Prof Asare's point of view in that you just read the definition of "contempt of court" online and decided to use the narrow definition to refute Prof Asare's point.
    1. Prof Asare's issue is a ...

• william 10 years ago

What a pitiful demonstration of rich illogicality!The Supreme Court remains focused while sweeping the dirt as it goes on.Bravo to the the Court.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Nimo, your article is very unfair to Prof Stephen Kwaku Asare for a number of reasons.

You have every right to disagree with the views of Prof Asare on the subject of contempt of court and its interpretation and applicatio ...

• Nii Lante Okunka 10 years ago

We are yet to learn to tolerate each others opinion without resorting to ad hominem statements.Usually when people run out of things to say in support of an ongoing discourse, then they employ such silly personal attacks.It h ...

• YB 10 years ago

Thank you and may God bless you Sir. Nimo tainted a nice article with so many invectives. I hope he accepts these flaws and does better next time.

• Mercy Agyei 10 years ago

Kofi

Can you introduce me to your friend? So he has been standing for principles as far back as his secondary school days? Good for him.

Was he a good student?

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Prof Asare was an excellent student at both St Augustine's and St Peter's as well as at Legon. He was amongst the top in our class at both "O" and "A" Levels and since he had First Class at School of Administration at Legon, ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

Any fool can chew and pour and pass. Is he a law professor? Is he a constitutional scholar?

• Wahabu 10 years ago

I am in "love" with your comment, matured and humane. Do well to stay in touch with the this web so you can help others to learn how to argue without insulting. God bless you my brother.

• Kobena 10 years ago

Kofi,
    I have been away today and just read the interesting comments you made about Prof Asare. Well done. Many of us Ghanaians, including academics, cannot hold sustained arguments without resorting to insults.

Even for a ...

• Baffour Agyemang 10 years ago

Mr Kofi Atta a question to you. If the authorities in the USA can see in this time, place and space in their juricdution the theads facing them,say terrorism and random gun insanity and swiftly deal with it, why can't the Gha ...

• Snoop 10 years ago

Has the clown ever set the record straight that he is no constitutional expert and that he is not a law professor? Of course not; he is an attention-seeking clown. He knows not what he farts about.

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

I for one have never believed in titles (except where absolutely necessary) and believe we are all entitled to our opinions and to argue them forcefully.

We don't have to agree all the time or on everything, but we must a ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

Kofi, don't you also think your old schoolboy friendship with Azar has influenced your take on Nimo's positions on Azar? Nimo is quite right in pointing out the erroneous info being put out that he is a law Professor instead ...

• AKLAND 10 years ago

Thank you Kwaku Asante you make my point
    this guy Nimo is comparing Orange and Apple.

• ... 10 years ago

Kwaku Asante,
    You clearly did not understand what Nimo wrote. This free speech thing happens everywhere. Las week a teenager found himself in police grips when on a Facebook wall he poated that the Prime Minister and his cab ...

• ... 10 years ago

Sorry it happened in Norway,

• Yaw Amofa 10 years ago

When it comes to "booklong" Ghanaians are experts. The courts in every civilised country defines the rules. Everyone is talking about Ken Kuranchi as if he was the only one jailed! Is Ken Kuranchi a better human being than At ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Thank you so much. Atubiga is also a " person" . I said it after June 4th many were shot but the extremists will twist it to be certain tribes were targetted. Here we go again

• Mehunu_Meka 10 years ago

The defense of the Benkumhene of the offinso Trasditinal Area for suggesting that Chiefs should be made to retire at the age of seventy. Even though his call was not directed to his Omanhene,or for that matter the Otumfuo,wha ...

• Joy 10 years ago

OYOKOBA, I agree with you 100% "It is about time these judges stop wearing horse-hairs and Dracula robes; that would enable fresh air go through their natural hair. This overly deferential words like "My Lord, Your Lordship" ...

• Wofa Kwame 10 years ago

Fvck off!

Kwame

• Kakraba Cromwell 10 years ago

I just love your fantastic Piece it is just GREAT!!!!
    I would like to liken Prof Asare to "a learner driver who has just gone on the road for the first time and so he thinks he can drive as an experienced driver."
    In the sa ...

• Kwame Sulemana 10 years ago

Jealousy will kill you.

Kwame

• John Mills 10 years ago

Hard to believe, with such level of reasoning. You belong in the jungle.

• Yaw Amofa 10 years ago

If the United States was that civilzed, people wouldn't gun down innocent school children by heart, such a thing will never happen inGhana. You who have sought refuge there now want to even define who the indegenes must be.

• Sani 10 years ago

Asare has been writing for ghanaweb since the early 2000s - more than ten years ago. There was a time he addressed himself as "Professor Asare". Of late, he has even stopped calling himself "Prof" in his articles. It is comme ...

• Ajavuk Da Jajak 10 years ago

I do not think an adviser should himself or herself violate his or her own rules. It is hypothetical to cry foul while advising that others should not cry foul. Why did you not point out in one paragraph the flaws in Maxwell ...

• YB 10 years ago

Maybe you did not read Sani's comments carefully but I think he pointed the flaws in Nimo's article to the invectives and personal attacks on Prof Asare, which had nothing to do with the issue at stake. Sincerely I think your ...

YB, I agree Sani pointed out the flaws. See my piece below for confirmation. However Sani also berates Maxwell Nimo, and it is something he should not have done, if he we sincere to his own principles of sticking just to the ...

• Al Gammal 10 years ago

What exactly did Sani say to berate the writer? That he asked him to cut out the "crap" or that he should not call a man "Prof" who doesn't address himself that way?

In the ethics of fair criticism, you do not use offensive language when your goal is to draw attention to a weakness that needs to be addressed, just because you are upset. The idea of fair criticism is to help the writer lea ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A man and a women were married for a few years. The woman believed in freedom of speech, and spoke her mind. The man thought she was dominating the house and wanted that to change, so one day he says, "I just want you to know ...

• KWASI IN EUROPE 10 years ago

Despite all these arguments we should know that the law was made for the people and not the people for the law. The Supreme Court wants peace to prevail in Ghana. What is wrong with that?

• Akufo Addo 10 years ago

Thanks for exposing this idiot type professor. Hidding behind internet to project his ignorance.

• TP 10 years ago

It would help if Maxwell Nimo would let us know his credential. Having said that, I think basic law should be made a prerequisite for all advance degrees in Ghana so the like of Nimo would not blow smoke up our ***.

• TP 10 years ago

It would help if Maxwell Nimo would let us know his credential. Having said that, I think basic law should be made a prerequisite for all advance degrees in Ghana so the like of Nimo would not blow smoke up our ***.

• TP 10 years ago

The prof is no idiot. He is a better man than you sounding like your name sake. I am proud to b his class mate and I would let you know our class had some of the brightest students Ghana can ever boast of.

• Yaw Acheampong 10 years ago

The fact that you do not agree with Dr. Asare does not mean that he is an idiot. You wish he was your brother or uncle. Can't we argue without the insults? Let us learn how to get our opinions across without resorting to in ...

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

Maxwell Nimo, you should be ashamed with your veiled and vain attack on this highly learned Professor Asare.

The point of your case against Prof Asare is rooted in personal animosity towards this man and there is no doubt, ...

• Kofi Abotsi 10 years ago

Thank you for your vigilance, Maxwell Nimo. Prof. Asare cannot lead Ghana down a dark alley. I am happy to note that there are Ghanaians out there who will willingly suffer the truth to be known just for its sake.

• YB 10 years ago

Have you really read Prof Asare's articles? What Nimo sought to do was to deliberately run around it and use poor examples like those in the US to argue his case. Why else would he have insulted the Prof he had something more ...

• TP 10 years ago

It would help if Maxwell Nimo would let us know what his credentials are? Having asked that, I did basic law should be made a prerequisite to all advanced degrees in Ghana so the likes of Mr. Nimo would not blow smoke up our ...

• kululu 10 years ago

He has a phd in socialism and communism studies from Wan Chi Huo university in North Korea, if you want to know.

• TP 10 years ago

It would help if Maxwell Nimo would let us know what his credentials are? Having asked that, I did basic law should be made a prerequisite to all advanced degrees in Ghana so the likes of Mr. Nimo would not blow smoke up our ...

• TP 10 years ago

• Micheal 10 years ago

Quite unnecessary. Maxwell made his point. He did not say Prof Asare was not accomplished.....mtcwiwwww why am I explaining? I am sure you understood what he was driving at. The bile is rising up your throat. take a drink.

• GOG 10 years ago

what is your level of education. ask about the procedures on contempt and write sense ok

• KUTRUKU 10 years ago

He is an asshole.

• TP 10 years ago

That would help us understand why your article is so hollow and fails to address the central issue in Dr. Asare's piece. Any attempt to silence free speech should be resisted. Note that the cases you referenced are going to t ...

• Wubgu 10 years ago

Below is a copy off the CV of Professor Stephen Kwaku Asare.He holds a JD with Cum Laude from USA. What is Maxwell Nimo trying to say. What is the qualification require to practice law in USA. Go to American Bar Association w ...

• PKA 10 years ago

Read the article again, buddy. Maxwell's point is, merely having a law degree does not necessarily make one a law professor. In other words, Kwaku Asare's "law professorship" is self-imposed.

• Yaw 10 years ago

If you read quite carefully, the ridiculous the unfounded attack on Prof. Asare you would have known this asinine line of attack: "Actually he does not have the qualifications to be a law professor"

Now ask yourself if t ...

• Apam 10 years ago

Well, a JD stands for "juris doctor"...depending on where the JD is obtained, the individual may or may not be a licensed attorney/lawyer. Anyway, he may not be a law prof, but it it is safe to say that he must know a thing o ...

• Mercy Agyei 10 years ago

Instead of addressing the issue for us to learn, as the Prof has been doing, your main interest is to pull him down.

You are the type of people who make africa a laughing stock. Anyway, why is such rubbish published by Gha ...

• EX sas 10 years ago

SO U CALL BRILLIANT AND WELL RESEARCHED ARTICLE RUBBISH? PLEASE SEE A PSYCIATRIC. OR U MUST HAVE A VERY LOW IQ.

• seidu 10 years ago

Thank you Nimo for exposing this have baked so called professor of law. You see because he is hiding in America and we know little or nothing about him academic field every one is made to believe he is actually a law professo ...

• Mehunu_Meka 10 years ago

Ata Kofi! We all read about his petitions addressed to the CJ calling for a halt to the proceedings and many other ludicurous demands as though the CJ enjoys any such powers.
    And this is the same individual complaining bitte ...

• Adongo 10 years ago

Koo Nimo,you have taken everything out of context here.dont throw dust into our eyes!

• kusi 10 years ago

pidever seens every stupid man in that party call himself lawyer or prof that is why any idiot will be calling himself either lawyer or prof we are knowing them one by one.

• SAMMY ADJEI 10 years ago

In my life I have come across PhD holders who say "I didn't went" or "I didn't gone". So there is no big deal if someone claims to hold a Doctoral degree. There are professors here in Ghana who don't reason logically. If you ...

• Owukua 10 years ago

Well, from what I know, a lecturer is called a professor in the USA. That is very different from
    a real professor like ex. President Mills!
    In the Netherlands, one with a Masters degree can say he is a Dottoro! We need to ...

• James B. Otafregya 10 years ago

In France, a teacher is a professor: Le Professeur.

In Germany, a polytechnic professor is a BSc (Diplom XX (FH) ) holder: ie irrespective of what degree you hold, you are a professor

So to distinguish, real professors ...

This article has been well written with regards to its defence of the SC's actions and verdict in the contempt cases referred to therein. The claims could have been made in half the space devoted to the article by dropping re ...

• Kosoko 10 years ago

Thanks brother, you could not say it any better. You have indeed put this mischievous man in his right place. Thank you once again!

• Prof Lungu 10 years ago

You've identified your "mischievous man".

Fully explains your attitude to the judges who alone (1) have common sense and (2) want to protect Ghana!

• KWARNING,NJ 10 years ago

DEAR MAXWELL NIMO, COULD YOU PLEASE EXPLAIN WHY THE "CRIMINAL CONTEMPT"IS THE CITATION WITH WHAT SOMEONE SAID OUTSIDE THE COURTROOM. WHAT IS SO CRIMINAL ABOUT THIS? PLEASE HELP ME.

• Opoku 10 years ago

Good advice to the so called prof asare

• Kwesi Mends, Takoradi 10 years ago

Well written article.

• Abronye 10 years ago

Professor Asare is only beating about the bush.also singing in his own tribe all the time.

• jomo 10 years ago

they are stupid idiots.

• SUMBRUNGU 10 years ago

a Great and reasoned piece. i had always maintained on this forum that Asare is a wayside professor and nothing more. His incoherent and infantile submissions on the subject of free speech is meant to delight psychiatric pati ...

• Kwame Omari 10 years ago

I don't know what you've been reading. But I will suggest that you stick to reading and trying harder to comprehend (and understand) what you read than rushing to make such atrocious off the mark comments like you've done.

• nana amankwa-pam 10 years ago

I CANT WAIT TO READ ALL YOUR LETTER ,BECAUSE U HIT THE NAIL IN THE HEAD ABOUT KENYA SUPREME COURT COMMENT ABOUT BOTH PARTIES AND THEIR SUPPORTERS NOT MAKE COMMENT ON THE CASE ,BUT MAHAM HAS THE POWER TO MAKE HIM THE WINNER,NO ...

Maxwell Nimo, in quoting the CV of Kwaku Asare you chose to dwell on what he teaches or has taught. Why didn't you write about his full qualifications? I'm very disappointed with your letter. Having stayed in the US and possi ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

He mentioned Azar's qualifications and where his expertise lie: Accounting . What the hell is hard for you to understand, knucklehead!

• Yaw 10 years ago

He is a JD with honors and has been called to the Florida Bar. Do you understand that? Some of you are so gullible that you feed on dirt online instead of research on easy stuff such as academic and professional competencies ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

When it comes to issue like this, Ghanaians can read, analyze and come out with the basic reason as to why something or whatever needs to be done.

We are expert and fluent with the QUEENS language yet, our nation is crying ...

• scarecrow 10 years ago

the problem is the numerous "quack" ghanaian professors outside the country who will not come home to help in nation building but instead remote controlled professors like the caliber of Okoampa and many more with "AKANISM",t ...

Does Ghana need quack professors? Why will you want them to come home and help?

• Nii Shippi 10 years ago

You could have made your points without insults to the person of Prof Asare. It clearly shows that you are a straw person in life. Kwasea!! Aboa!!

• they don't know squat 10 years ago

If you care to research the history of education and academics in Ghana, you will find that there are many families especially from the coastal areas of Ghana who have had a high level of education before the 18th century to ...

• Snoop 10 years ago

You have managed to expose this idiot of an accounting lecturer at a 2 by 4 school huffing and puffing garbage all over the place.

He's a very dishonest and an attention-seeking idiot. He knows he has no expertise in law, ...

• they don't know squat 10 years ago

Ghanaians and Nigerians like to show off their academic degrees and titles , and use them to buttress their arguments....this is called in logic " an appeal to authority" as a means of pushing their argument.
    Please Ghanaian ...

• Snoop 10 years ago

True dat! They don't know squat, except to brag about a non-existent qualifications. Eye asem oooo.

• DUBONS 10 years ago

I TAUGHT AS MUCH BUT I COULDN'T BRING IT TO THE MEDIA AS YOU DID THANKS ONCE AGAIN WE NEED TO CONTINUE TO EDUCATE ALL INSTEAD OF TRYING TO INCITE THE INNOCENT ONCE FOR BAD UNDER THE COVER A "PROFESSOR"

• osei koko 10 years ago

God bless you Nimo ,you have really make me happy today.If that so call Prof,come across your letter he would definitely change from his tribalism and hypocritical tendacy .That man is making fool of himself.

• Malam Mahama Tula 10 years ago

You ignoramus! Not all Asares are from Asanteman! By the way a citizen Of Asanteman is called an Asante, not "Ashante"

• Kosoko 10 years ago

Pls, you can make your submission by expanding Asare's thesis from your understanding and orientation without reacting to my comments unnecessarily. If you wish to react to my comments pls let it be meaningful