Entertainment

Supreme court or supreme gods II

Read Comments Comments (85)

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 10 years ago

Sir john was slapped with a fine of five thousand Ghana cedis, not three thousand as mistakenly stated in the article.
    The mistake is regretted.

• Miko 10 years ago

Dr. SAS, i understand your frustration as an NPP sympathiser but honestly, we back home understand issues better than what you are trying to educated us on. The mere fact you practicing in Texas does not make you More enlight ...

• okofo 10 years ago

How could the same judges who feel offended or scandalized be permitted to adjudicate this case? The subjects before them were pre-judged, and were given NO CHANCE to argue out their right to freedom of speech. This is a mock ...

• YVONNE 10 years ago

you are so foolish that you dnt even know the difference between 5000 and 3000. kwasiakwa

• Asoreba 10 years ago

This "we at home" foolishness is what is killing the nation. Justice is justice no matter where it's practiced.

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

"It is in vain, sir, to extenuate the matter. Gentlemen may cry, Peace, Peace – but there is no peace. The war is actually begun! The next gale that sweeps from the north will bring to our ears the clash of resounding arms! ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Dr SAS, you raised a number of important issues in your article such the the law of contempt in Ghana, due process, etc. However, you let your well written article down by your emotive language. It is unfortunate you describe ...

• A. Nyamaa 10 years ago

Shall we all keep quite while people lose thir liberties? Is that what we are supposed to do?

Some of these matters have been decided already. The judgements in Kuranchie, Atubiga and Awuku are now part of our legal histor ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

I am shocked by Dr SAS essay . How can our instittions have credibility with such an essay on the world stage "Given that Atuguba can hardly express himself in intelligible English, one wonders what type of legal argument and ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Massa, you and I are on the same page on this one la. In fact, the word out is “trade responsibly or get off our country and go seek refuge in Mongolia for all we care.” Now, nobody is toying with anyone’s civil liberty ...

• Baffour Agyemang 10 years ago

Dr. SAS please will you name just one lawyer in the US who has threaten the life of the Suprime Court Judges of the US of A?

Dear Dr. SAS it's almost 24 hours now and I am still waiting for you to name just one lawyer in the USA to support your long article written in perfect english. Name just one please.

• PKA 10 years ago

Justice Atuguba may not be an English Professor, but you are not exactly an authority in the language yourself, are you? Last sentence in paragraph one goes: "Sir John had described Justices Atuguba as selective and hypocrit ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

Many a time,one gets the IMPRESSION that our Ghanaian-american profs and Attorneys think UNTIL they qualified with their Law Studies, NOBODY EVER practised Law in Ghana!!There are too many "flying Horses"in the air.
    Kofi Ata ...

• Boy Alinko 10 years ago

we shall monitor your movement and as soon as you arrive in Ghana you will explain yourself to the SC Judges.
    So do not try and come to Ghana ok?

• Dr Do little 10 years ago

why can you say this such a stupid thing. why dont u monitor your own movement. you are very stupid man who doesnt wonna face the truth. truth is always bitter. thank you Dr

• Naana 10 years ago

I very much agree with your opinion. i felt they had no way of defending them selves, if they did they will be automatically imprisoned. this is very sad for democracy and freedom of speech. i felt Justice Atuguba took the wh ...

• Baffour. London 10 years ago

Dr you have hit the nail right at the top. Am not a lawyer but the way these supreme court judges are doing is very bad and I think is about time someone takes them on. Am glad you taken them on, and I plead that you write pe ...

• kanawu 10 years ago

these same NDC FOLKS who killed the judges are asking other judges to rule in their favor. Maybe these judges will remember fellow judges who became victims of this NDC Party.

• oregun , usa 10 years ago

ANOTHER STUPID IDIOT

• George 10 years ago

If i may ask,which party sent the matter to court.

• seidu 10 years ago

You are hiding in Texas writing nonsense come to Ghana and face atuguba. Idiot

• Kofi Boateng 10 years ago

I think your article is excellent and gives insight to people who sincerely want to study law and know it. I think that our law practitioners ought to be bold and shun cowardice to prevent one person or a group of persons fro ...

• Ewusi 10 years ago

If people do not respect the Liberty they have,freedom they live in would be injured. So our freedom should be such we insult judges on the bench?,where is the difference human beings and animals if Liberty go wayward.

• Facebook lawyer 10 years ago

You have not yet regretted. Be prepared for firework on this reckless article. People like you who call yourselves doctor of law are rather more porous than laymen. You compare apples with because you believe they are all fru ...

• me 10 years ago

You couldn't have put it better. This is a clear case of comparing apples with oranges. If the author can bring out a case in Ghana where a supreme court decision or action was criticized by an individual who ended up being d ...

• Kwame - Ivy Attorney -San Diego 10 years ago

YOU'RE AN ASSHOLE!! TYPICAL AFRICAN "BOTTOM FEEDER" ENVIOUS OF WHAT OTHERS HAVE ATTAINED, AND YOU CAN'T!! I'M OFTEN AMAZED OF THE WAY SOME FOLKS PUT FORTH THEIR WAY OF THINKING ON THIS SITE!! A TRULY SAD STATE OF AFFAIRS!! NO ...

• Uncle Mends, Takoradi 10 years ago

-Wrong; for comparing U.S. with Ghana.

-Wrong; because many Americans have given up their liberties for security. A case in point- NSA wiretapping vrs Edward Snowden.

-Wrong; for delivering a "low blow" by saying Justi ...

• Humanity 10 years ago

It easy to critisized your fellow human being for his/her shortcomings. If you are task with the work of Atuguba, Would you be able to contain the rest of the judges, let alone the court room and the entire nation?. Being a ...

• Kosoko 10 years ago

Thank you brother. Couldn't said it better

• Kwadwo 10 years ago

Even in the US, a lawyer can not get away for calling a judge names. A lawyer in every jurisdiction in the US will be disciplined by the bar if the lawyer disrespects the court.concerning matters before it. You are not the ...

• Dey 10 years ago

Check the level of pedigree of these justice before comparing apples with bananas ignorantly concluding that they are all fruits. I expected you as a PhD holder to be more incisive in your analysis taking into consideration ...

• JUDA 10 years ago

DR,I LIKE YOUR ENGLISH BUT I THINK YOU WENT TOO FAR IN CONDEMNING ATUGUBA.IF THE WHOLE WORLD WORLD SHOULD READ YOUR ARTICLE, 98% WILL CONDEMN YOU.THE WORLD IS A PLACE.

• Kwaku Azar 10 years ago

on that Supreme Court. It was embarrassing to watch a judge screaming like a madman and a lawyer telling him to calm down to control his blood pressure.

What happened in Court had nothing to do with legal process. It was j ...

• GAWUKO 10 years ago

I wonder what you would do if someone insulted you with unprintable words. Would your pressure stay normal and you yourself remained calm? People will think you are an imbecile if you did that just to be pleasant. So let us a ...

• A. Nyamaa 10 years ago

I made a similar comment yesterday on this forum.
    It is pathetic.
    Justice Atuguba behaves like and angry demi-god who must be pacified.

More worryingly he smells the blood of his stricken foes and gloats in his awesome p ...

• Amma 10 years ago

Public Tribunals is exactly what Atuguba wants, not an enlightened court in a democracy. I wonder where he was in the PNDC days, seeing as he now laments of some perceived standards falling because of political parties. I bel ...

• Mister 10 years ago

Don't you know Rawlings put him and Kpegah there after he organized the abduction and murder of the Akan Judges?

• Ako 10 years ago

Azar is still srugling to justify his intemperate language.After the humiliation of his GS by Atuguda,he has been all noise but making no sence.The unanimous verdict is that this humiliation is far better than making a an npp ...

• oregun , usa 10 years ago

YU DID NOT SPEAK OR WROTE LIKE AN INTELIGENT DOCTOR OF LAW, NO HOME SENSE OR STREET SMART , THE JUDGES DID A GOOD JOB, PSE YUR ARTICLE DOESNT MAKE SENSE, AND YUVE INSULTED ALL GHANAIANS, YU ARE VERY STUPID AND DONT HAVE ANY S ...

• Preacher 10 years ago

You are a fool. I think some of you when you read the books to an extend you become stupid. Are you comparing US to Ghana? This tells me how low you are in your practice as a lawyer in US. Shame on you.

• Kweku 10 years ago

You are more of a coward than any other person in this country.

• Okoe 10 years ago

It is not so much that SC judge want to be anything. Remember Rhwanda, it is such utterances of chopping people's head off that inspires people to do the unthinkable. It is time for someone to stand up to say enough is enoug ...

Yes Rhwanda.That is what some bloated egos in NPP and NDC including Dr. SAS want to be visited on Ghana.

• A. Nyamaa 10 years ago

No, Nobody wants Rwanda in Ghana.
    Akuffo Addo, even if he wanted, cannot turn Ghana into Rwanda. A man intent on visiting mayhem on his country will not go to court first.

The idea that somehow after judgement has been pa ...

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

How can this animal called samuel adjei sarfo ,the ever imbecile,mad,useless,aimless and al-qaeda open its mouth like its mother`s ass and make such analogy?Does it think its brain works better than that of the whole Ghnanaia ...

• jersey boy 10 years ago

Dr. sarfo you are very wrong in your comparison,analyses and concusions.
    we in ghana, understands the english language JUSTICE ATUGUBA speaks and writes. you are comparing 200 plus years of judicial development to 56 year ...

• Mister 10 years ago

You need free senior high school education

• Michael 10 years ago

I'm surprised you hold a PHD because the poverty of thought you have displayed in this piece is shocking indeed.

• Kwame - Ivy Attorney -San Diego 10 years ago

Michael - YOU'RE DISPLAYING YOUR OWN IGNORANCE AND STUPIDITY!! "Poverty of Thought"? I BET YOU COULDN'T WRITE OUT ANY "Enriching Thought" IF YOUR LIFE DEPENDED ON IT!! WHAT DO YOU HAVE TO WRITE AS A REBUTTAL? NOTHING!! A PURE ...

• A. Nyamaa 10 years ago

Michael
    Even though I disagree vehemently with you on the position you have taken on this matter, I respect your view.

Please pipe down and don't denigrate the man's Ph.D

Wouldn't it be a disaster if we all agreed that ...

Nyamaa did you hear Sir John threatening the lives of some of the judges.Life threads are not just criticisms.

• A. Nyamaa 10 years ago

Sorry, Baffour but I did not understand Sir John as threatening anybody. An admonition to be careful cannot be tantamount to a threat. Kuranchie did not threaten and Awuku did not either.

Adorye threatened but quite clearl ...

Mr Nyamaa do you sincerely believe admonition to be carefull should be of ones life? Are we in the business of equalization or forcefully looking at issues on thier merrit.

• ADELE PALMAS. 10 years ago

Dr Adjei Sarfo,you are hundred percent
    right.WHEN DID ATUGUBA'S WORD BECAME LAW
    If the truth lies betwwen the legs of
    your mother and you must fish for it with what constitute your manhood you cannot be accused of having ...

• Adjoa Sarfo 10 years ago

Dr. Sarfo, the arrogance posture with which you are postulating you "achievements" in US courts over criticisms of judges without any repercussions, I believe delineates you from the realization that laws are location as well ...

• PKA 10 years ago

Well said, Adjoa. If SAS thinks he knows better than the SC, why doesn't he go to Ghana and tell them his piece of mind? Is he afraid of being in contempt? Of course, I've forgotten that his "bravery" and insolence do not ...

• Facebook lawyer 10 years ago

If you write a useless article you would end up irrationally fighting all comments with different identity, lol! It is only narrow minded people who wouldn't see anything wrong with this useless article. It not surprising suc ...

• jim 10 years ago

i have my doubts about your credibility as a doctor of law.And it is for one reason that you could in your write up differenciate between criticism of a decision of a court of law and blatant insults of judges sitting on a ca ...

• Amma 10 years ago

Hear hear..Mr Adjei Sarfo! I spent two nights in a police cell in Ghana for challenging a police officer who used a false traffic offence charge as a way of obtaining bribe. I became an 'enemy of the state' in fact Bradley Ma ...

• Kosoko 10 years ago

Common sense is common but not common to all people irrespective of their intellectual attainment.

First, the article did not show any scholarly critique to the Supreme Court's Pursuit of contempt of Court. It did not eve ...

• Joni 10 years ago

Kosoko, you're right. Sarfo-Adjei is more interested in insulting the judges and showing that he knows more than them than really addressing the legal issues involved. It would have been far better for him to demonstrate the ...

• Kosoko 10 years ago

You have summarised it best brother!

• A. Nyamaa 10 years ago

Are we meant to fear the supreme court?

• Kosoko 10 years ago

Not all, but I expect him to face the court intellectually but not to hide behind a computer and abuse judges

• Joni 10 years ago

Agree with you there too, Kosoko. The thing is not to be afraid of the SC judges. It is to challenge them on concrete, legal (intellectual) grounds, NOT TO ABUSE!

• Kwobia,Toronto 10 years ago

Some arrogant self serving fool.What a piece of
    garbage.

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

For your information, Sir John is a lawyer of repute who should have known better that in jurisprudence, you can not comment on a matter before a court of law, worst of all single out a member of the panel that was appointed ...

• Kosoko 10 years ago

Brother, even Justice Atuguba's English is perfectly intelligible. He only tries to speak like an African but not to mimic the American ascent Dr Adjei Sarfo is familiar with. People of Justice Atuguba's generation and the ge ...

• Yaw Mensah 10 years ago

I can understand why Ghanaians are lauding the SC judges for cracking the whip and no one cares about how that whip is cracked. We are a people who are afraid to stand up and challenge misuse of authority. No wonder military ...

• Azaato 10 years ago

The tea kettle calling the pot black? The writer says Justice Atuguba cannot express himself in intelligible and yet goes on to write, "After half century of obscurity and latent obscurantism...". What could that mean?

• Mister 10 years ago

Mate get more education for you to understand. That is a learned lawyer's language.

• Kobena 10 years ago

Sam,

This is an interesting piece, but I am sure that many people on the forum are going to take you to the cleaners! It is all symptomatic of failed education system from kindergarten to university level. The text books, ...

• AUTO 10 years ago

Some aspects of the piece could have been better; less abusive, but in all, a good one. I'm a lay person but very surprised that this is happening in Ghana. He's behaving like a school headmaster dismissing students without ...

• SUMBRUNGU 10 years ago

A junior high school pupil would've done a lot better

• Akwasi ( London) 10 years ago

Thankfully I am not a lawyer. However I think that quite apart from self promotion and publicity which his article has earned him Mr Sarfo has got himself in a twist somehow.
    The so called Sir John and his assistant were in ...

• Ako 10 years ago

This is a disapointing piece of analysis.

• Sunkwa 10 years ago

Ghana is yet immersed itself in the culture of the rule of law---since Independence Ghana as a nation hasn't had the opportunity to adapt our thinking,institutions etc. on legal footings---we seem to adore the 'strongman tact ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

You claimed to be a doctor of law but what you wrote makes you a doctor of extreme tomfoolery. How can you say that the family members of the judges should be putting funeral arrangements in place for the judges? Even Sir joh ...

• AGOO 10 years ago

ANOTHER FOOLISH THING OUT THERE.

• John Anamse 10 years ago

Normally, it does not take a long time to recognise a boastful and arrogant person as soon as you meet one and I think the same goes for a writer.

"He and his fellows have failed to expeditiously adjudicate a case that sho ...

• Pabro correa 10 years ago

Regarding the cases of Sir John and Hopeson Adorye, I have studied what exactly they said carefully and the law of contempt as it's stands now.Though what they said appears to be abusive and a bit over the top, There's nothin ...

• Akunor 10 years ago

The field of play is in Ghana,don,t stand in USA and FART in your pants.

• Boss 10 years ago

This piece is great but it is based on the premise that Ghana practices an effective democracy like that found in the USA. Unfortunately it is not the case. Countries like Ghana practice a bastardized form of democracy. The f ...

• Oviparous 10 years ago

A good article very incisive are we in a kangaroo courts days God forbid Atuguba please let us have a more civilized way of adjudicating matters in court. What a disgraceful trial !!!