Entertainment

Build a ‘Kwame Nkrumah Library’ all over Ghana

Read Comments Comments (55)

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Great piece. In fact, they have ignited the whole reason why we have to revisit history and do a proper teaching and documentation. I have sadly read only one of his autobiographies and I am grateful for you list of his books ...

• Kofi of Africa 10 years ago

Braveboy,

As usual, thank you for the encouragement. It is very hard researching, writing and editing articles throughout the night. I do so altruistically, because I am very disappointed in the squabbling, IMF_SAP loving ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Very true friend, very true.

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah and the proposed African common government
    Aremu Johnson Olaosebikan
    Department of History and International Studies, Faculty of Arts, University of Ado- Ekiti, P. M. B. 5363, ado- Ekiti,
    Nigeria. Email: john ...

• AYI 10 years ago

GOD BLESS YOU WRITER.

AFRICA/ALL PEOPLE OF AFRICAN ORIGIN/DESCENT USE ALL/EVERY MEANS, /AT ALL COST/BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY RADICAL MEANS TO UNITE. AFRICA/ALL PEOPLE OF AFRICAN DESCENT BE SELF-SUFFICIENT, USE YOUR RESOURCES ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

This is the play, Julius Caesar, all over again.
    Some just can not live without hating great leaders.

Thanks Mark Kofi Anthony for re-focusing the crowd.

Braveboy,

Brutus Akufo-Addo has told you Caesar Nkrumah was ambitious, ambition should be made of sterner stuff...

Regards.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

The evil that men do lives after them, the good is oft interred with their bones.

• THE MASK 10 years ago

Your all IDIOTS. He was a Communist and taking Ghana into Communism. He took the profits from the Coco farmers for himself. Demanded Ghana work for the Government. The CIA was asked to come in and help rid his ass by your AR ...

• Bewise 10 years ago

I have always said that, Nkrumah's books need to be introduce into our educational system. If they had done so, we will have politicians who have developed love for Ghana and Africa and not politicians who are self serving an ...

Bewise,

You are very wise, because you are right. The current crop of leaders in Ghana would have read and understood the true character of imperialism enough to have been warned about the dangers of selling off all Ghana' ...

Neo-Colonialism, the Last Stage of imperialismKwame Nkrumah 1965
    Introduction

THE neo-colonialism of today represents imperialism in its final and perhaps its most dangerous stage. In the past it was possible to convert a ...

• focus 10 years ago

First things first! First create good teacher training colleges to produce good teachers who can educate the kids or the people. Use the money where it is needed first and all other things shall be appreciated.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

focus... you can also teach in your small corner and don't just leave things to good colleges, even great countries seek for good education and all the little comments here and the purpose of the writer is to give practical i ...

• VOLUNTORY CONTRIBUTOR. 10 years ago

Yes Nkrumah has done his part, what the rest of us want to carry on is our problem. Either we take lessons from him or go back to those who like to blow sweet air in our faces and take our resources for free and cheap to enri ...

VOLUNTORY CONTRIBUTOR,

This is precisely the point of this discourse - we the people must define our own future.

Our current IMF-SAP loving, neocolonial NDC-NPP leaders have conspired with white exploiters to sell off ...

Braveboy,

I had to unlearn most of what I learnt from Ghana's neocolonial educational system.

I read, read, and read again anything I could lay my hands on. I started reading the conservative, Reader's Digest and progr ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Precisely, we really need that and fast. We owe it to future generations to study, work and leave to them a great unadulterated history and future.

Focus,

The positive cultural provisions of Dr. Nkrumah libraries will not take much from the need to build more teacher training institute, or even resourcing the ones we already have. The two can go hand-in-hand.

Secon ...

• Sam 10 years ago

1. Marcus Garvey

2. Kwame Nkrumah

3. Malcolm X

4. William Du Bois

5. Sekou Toure

6. Bob Marley

7. Peter Tosh

8. Mu'ammar Qathafi

9. Samora Macheal

10. Thomas Sankara

11. Robert Mugabe

• Jury 10 years ago

To the imperialist western powers, all these names you've listed are labelled: RADICALS, DICTATORS, REVOLUTIONISTS & other insultive negative names, cos they never licked the ASS of the CIA.
    One of the simple reasons ...

Jury,

The imperialist is only concerned with exploiting Ghana's/Africa's resources as quickly as possible. To do so, it must vilify our most intelligent, patriotic leaders, and encourage the stupid ones who love big 4x4 ca ...

• SULLEY 10 years ago

Kofi,

I don't who you are addressing your proposal to. But surely you should know better than expect the NDC government to accomplish this! How can you expect the same government that supports the overthrow of Nkrumah and ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Sulley... forgive Kofi. Yes! Mugabe is a prodigal son we must protect, but Nkrumah is a Tower that rouse and still stands tall.

I like your great contribution as well and I will try and look for that Lady if possible.

Brother Sulley,

Thank you very much for your contribution. Of course I know the NDC-NPP are a bunch of court jesters. I have given good reason to say this most of the time in my articles.

I knew June when I worked as As ...

• nii 10 years ago

THANK U, HAVE READ MOST OF THE BOOKS MENTIONED ABOVE. I BOUGHT THEM IN VANCOUVER, b.c. ON MY WAY TO JAPAN IN 1975. HAD TO STAY IN VANCOUVER FOR 3 DAYS BECAUSE OF AN AIR STRIKE, BUT IT WAS ALL WORTH IT. I STILL HAVE ALL THOSE ...

• Ayisi 10 years ago

Kofi thanks for the insight. I saw a good number of Nkrumah's books on sale at a bookshop in Gambia. They were expensive though. It seems transferring the copyrights from Panaf to a publisher who can get the books out at a ...

Luckily my friend most of his books are in the open book library on line, you can read the in Pdf format on line. If you like to read Axioms of Dr Nkrumah for example, in google search, just type the title and add Pdf. The en ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

WHICH IS UR MOST FAV BOOK N WHY?

GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL!,

My favorite book is Revolutionary path. Because it is a compendium of most of his earlier books.

But overall, I also I like CHALLENGE OF THE CONGO. It is Dr. Nkrumah's expose of western ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

TAKE HIS REMAINS TO NKROFUL, PLS...N DEVELOP THE PLACE

• Isaac Kusi, Bronx, NY. 10 years ago

visit www.panafbooks.com

• Joni 10 years ago

1. You wrote:
    "During his leadership Dr. Nkrumah wrote more books than any living African leader. This is the reason for still lingering jealousies by his political detractors:"

Then you go on to mention all the books tha ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Do we care about your lies, no.

I can easily destroy all the points you've raised, but I refuse to descend into the gutter with you.

The question is who started it all and what article have you written to show that ba ...

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

What is wrong with Joni's comment . What is gutter about his comment.If indeed you are as smart as you think, go ahead dispute his facts . It will do you good as you grow if you understand that there are two sides to the coin ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

The other side had bomb throwers written on it.

The man wrote books and good ones with great ideas and predictions, at least respect him for that.

What do you take us for. Whether he wrote it in power or not is irreve ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

correction.. the most important thing is,

...so called gurus sit.

• Joni 10 years ago

MINOR CASE, GHANAMAN clearly doesn't understand the issues. He has taken it for granted that I am anti-Nkrumah and an NPP. But nothing I have argued shows that. I didn't say anything against Nkrumah. I never said Nkrumah's bo ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

There're several things Nkrumah did and it will take long essays to write and put them out. I told you to write your own if you have any, but the writer to my eyes did a right job educating the public on what Nkrumah wrote.

• Joni 10 years ago

I have argued that if I am making the case for Nkrumah, I will do so on factual grounds only not on sentimental ones. I have not chosen to write an article on Nkrumah. That is my choice. I will not write an article on Nkrumah ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Let's strike a deal here, you critique and I praise. I hope that is fine with you.
    At least, we have the heart to allow criticisms. All I have been saying is give credit where credit is due.

Kofi will not be privy to al ...

• Joni 10 years ago

Anybody can choose to praise or criticize an article if they want to. The most important thing is that whether you praise or criticize it must be on factual grounds. Not criticise just for its sake or so for praise.

If you ...

Ghanaman,

I think you've got me confused with someone else. I am an ardent Nkrumahist, not a Danquahist.

Regards.

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Kofi...) I would not say such a thing against you. I was not referring to you.

Ghanaman,

Thank you. It was a genuine mistake.

• KWARNING,NJ 10 years ago

HE WROTE A MILLION BOOKS YET HE WAS A DICTATOR.

• target 10 years ago

brainwashed 'matemeho' ni
    Go lick the ass of the cia for a few bucks of $dollars to kill your ashawo mother & your pimp father

Target,

Behave yourself. I didn't write this article for language like this. Be polite to your NPP opponents in debate - and vise versa. Haba!

• Atadwe 10 years ago

What was the dream of Kwame Nkrumah? To build library for Ghanaians or to unite Africa and rule over a larger nation. How was Ghanaian money was spent outside the country?

• CAPONE 10 years ago

WHAT IS IMPORTANT IS TO SEND TRAINED TEACHERS TO THE VILLAGES TO TEACH AND NOT A LIBRARY WHERE PEOPLE CANT READ.IT DOES NOT MAKE SENSE TO ME.

• Whatever 10 years ago

Ghana need to institutionalize Kwame Nkrumah's mind and his thinking because that will hugely boost our development drive

Whatever,

Correct - 10/10 points!

• stanley 10 years ago

THE LATE KWAME NKRUMARK

• Kwadwo 10 years ago

Kofi of Africa, I trust you were a member of the young pioneers and you grew up reciting the following:
    Nkrumah does no wrong;and
    Nkrumah never dies.
    Please be advised that Nkrumah did good, but he had a lot of faults th ...

Kwadjo,

No, I was a Boys Scout. My father fought in the Second European War - as part of the West African Frontiers with Sgt. Adjetey - to enable Ghana get its Independence. So he prefered the more soldier-like Boys Scout ...