Entertainment

How the Supreme Court erred

Read Comments Comments (64)

• william 10 years ago

Why not tell us what the petitioners complained about and what remedies they were seeking from the court?

• Facebook lawyer 10 years ago

Next time NPP should send their case to Solicitor and Barrister of the Supreme Court of New South Wales, Australia, Mr Kwame Adofo for adjudication, period, case close. For now the case is over and Ghana is at peace with itse ...

• Ekuma 10 years ago

Next time tell Bad wool mia , to fetch his evidence from the trumulized ANUS of pink shits . Nonsense .

They thought burning the markets will frighten the 9 judges to pronounce the arrogant evil dwarf 'KAPWEPWE as Ghana's ...

There is no smoke without fire , many times our chiefs for 30 pieces of silver have betrayed the interests of the people . they not only take money but also actively promote the most toxic of ideas against the welfare of the ...

• Nii 10 years ago

Dear Mr. Koramoah, you rather got it wrong. Since there were six areas of allegations, the cumulative effect of the justices' ruling on the issue of whether there was irregularity was that there was none. You cannot just take ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

THIS IS WHAT I CALLED BUKATA 419 JUDGEMENT. THANK GOODNESS THAT WE HAVE A JUST GOD WHO SIT HIGH AND LOOK LOW WHO THESE JUDGES WILL ANSWER TO ONE DAY. THE EVIL THAT MEN DO LIVES AFTER THEM. NONSENSE!

• Steve 10 years ago

Accept it GOD is not on your side .

• Kwame Koramoah 10 years ago

No, my brother the way you are looking at it is wrong. The court set out the issues to be determined. The issues were to cumulatively look at the evidence and then vote according to the issues set for trail, otherwise what wa ...

• Wiafe 10 years ago

Mr. Adofo--you got it all wrong. The whole freak show was about finding the "right" way to stop Mugo Yaro's patatpa. The petition was evil and clearly it was set out to create instability in the country.

So the whole c ...

• kwame koramoah 10 years ago

Well that may well be so but in the jurisprudence we cannot let it go unanswered

• MARK 10 years ago

You are right that the judges should have voted directly the 2 questions they set out to find answers to. it appears they did not. Instead they voted on what I call the "determining issues" which will crucially inform their a ...

Ha ha haaa. I am in limbo as what the outcome would be. This is why we are doing this analysis, maybe the judges will help us answer.

• Nii 10 years ago

I feel you brother but I think the justices already answered and their verdict will be the same no matter how the question was asked. Remember that the petitioner is about the validity of Mahama's presidency. The verdict is c ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Mr Adofo, you make some valid points. However, in my view if the Justices had taken your approach, perhaps, the outcome could have been the same (5-4) in favour of the respondents. In that scenario, the petitioners would have ...

• Nii 10 years ago

Thank you Kofi. If the justices had gone what the writer suggested you can imagine what the petitioners would have done. By addressing each of their pleadings, the justices avoid that confusion. Initially I was also looking a ...

Well Nii, you see in law we identify an issue for determination and resolve the issue in the end. The judges did otherwise which suggest that they themselves got confused by what was before them. It does not make sense to ide ...

• Nii 10 years ago

My brother you can urge the petitioners to go for a review but I doubt the results will be any different. Remember that half of ALL the petitioners' pleadings were dismissed unanimously.

Well, Kofi it may well have been the case, however in law when you identify an issue and you rule on other things not in issue, that is an ERROR. plainly simple. Whether or not the result would have been the same is not to th ...

• Nii 10 years ago

MARK thank so much. This is exactly my point. Either way you look at it the result will be the same. It is unfortunate the justices did not answer the two questions directly. But I agree wih what Kofi Ata has written below be ...

Nii, please read judgement. Nowhere did the judges answered the questions in the terms you put it. Some stated the issues but in the end they did not answer the issues they themselves set for trial. This is the problem. In la ...

• NPP - Disillusioned Desperadoes 10 years ago

Hey Mr Adofo with reference to your... "In law you identify the issue, you state the law, and apply the law to the set of facts and conclude. The issues were set out clearly by the judges, but please point to anywhere in the ...

Ha ha haaa. I have read the entire judgement and I have set out in the article where the respective judges so held.

• Nii 10 years ago

My brother I agree with you on that but like I said the effect will be the same. See the response of MARK and Kofi Ata above. Personally I was of same opinion as you but after reading the judgement I saw that the justices avo ...

No, that is not correct. Please read the decision again and you would find that the majority ruled that there were violations, irrgularities, omissions that affected the outcome. They only differed in their consequential orde ...

• Nii 10 years ago

How did you arrive at that decision? Read all my explanations posted here and you will see how I arrive at my decision.

• Yaw Amofa 10 years ago

Yes, so this imbecilic writer knows better than the nine justices huh? Would he have written this shit if the verdict had gone petitioners' way? All of you are empty barrels.

Yaw, I dont think it is necessary when you result to insults. All it does is to stop others from contributing to the debate. Please let us look at the issues and stop the inslts.

• Osabarima Darko 10 years ago

Sir, once you are quite learned, you know that, universally, if returning officers fail to sign the pink sheets, the vote of the people are still valid, and can therefore not be discarded. If both Afari Gyan and Bawumiah, adm ...

• 4 Year Old 10 years ago

The Supreme Court got it right.

My brother, I don't know all the answers to the questions as to who won what and at what strongholds. What I am commenting on is that after reading the judgement of the court, the court simply got it wrong in not answering th ...

• Osabarima Darko 10 years ago

Sir, once you are quite learned, you know that, universally, if returning officers fail to sign the pink sheets, the vote of the people are still valid, and can therefore not be discarded. If both Afari Gyan and Bawumiah, adm ...

• Observer 10 years ago

Justice Atuguba was afraid of NDC violence and therefore misled his fellow panel members. Corrupt judgement

• Roger 10 years ago

The question is, can anyone beat Mayweather? What a fight1

• Roger 10 years ago

Kwame, you couldn't be more right. This was all fixed before it began. Atuguba's incoherent, rambling written judgment of mostly irrelevant references was neither because he has no command of the English language and the law ...

• Nana Yaw III 10 years ago

Massa, Justice Dotse, whose written judgement is so boring that I had to muster a lot of patience, curiosity and courage to read to the end wrote, among other isuues, the following:

"SETTLING OF MEMORANDUM OF ISSUES AND P ...

• Roger 10 years ago

Kwame, you couldn't be more right. This was all fixed before it began. Atuguba's incoherent, rambling written judgment of mostly irrelevant references was neither because he has no command of the English language and the law ...

• Roger 10 years ago

• Kojo KOMININI 10 years ago

TWO SCENARIOS ARISES!

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

We are in a Modern Democratic Ghana,everybody is free to his opinion but the fact of the matter is that the game is over.The Supreme Court judges have saved Ghana and we thank God for that.You can agree or disagree with the v ...

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

True

• ghanaba 10 years ago

The verdict by the JSC could be likened to the old poem "The Three Blind men who visited the Zoo" Asem be ba dabi.

• Ekuma 10 years ago

Next time, NPP shd fetch their evidence from the VAGINA of Pink Sheets , for that will be sweet and aromatic , but not from the smelling face of Pink Sheets. Nonsense

• Nana Yaw III 10 years ago

Mr. Barrister,

If the Judges reduced the whole case to:
    "(1) Whether or not there were violations, omissions, malpractices and irregularities in the conduct of the presidential election held on the 7th and 8th December, 2 ...

Nana Yaw, so what do you say was the reasons why the court set out the issues to be the only 2? Are you curious at all?

• okukuseku 10 years ago

The so called yes votes only reccommended a re-run in the polling stations affected. What if the results of the re-run when justapoxed on the total national collation does not result in outright winner? Mind you, re-run would ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

Against the spirit of the constitution which is much more important than the letter thereof,
    innocent Ghanaians or voters cannot incur punishment on behalf of electoral officers who fail in the performance of their public du ...

Well, your statement is putting your personal feelings to what would have happened. That was not in issue. The issues were as set out by the court, which sadly the court misled itself in committing an error.

• Ekuma 10 years ago

Kwame Adofo, pls don't be stupid. If the judges had voted they way u wished , wouldn't u have also said they did not consider the details of over voting , unsigned pink sheets, bla bla, bla. ? Nonsense .

U are just a fool ...

Ekuma,maybe you should take the time, the effort and write your opinion and stop insults. It does not advance any cause whatsoever.

• Umslopogaas 10 years ago

HOGWASH!! Oh!., these so-called jungle/bush/tribal monkeys lawyers always, always find something to howl about to justify their tribalism.

Umslopogaas

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

There is nothing wrong with the Supreme Court verdict.Ofcourse,the losers may always disagree with it but that is how justice works.Mind you,if you disagree with the verdict,it does not make your opinion the best verdict beca ...

Exactly, but where the judges get it wrong we hope you accept that we need to tell it if we feel they are wrong. Next time it may not be on election but maybe on your liberty. Do you say we should let it pass even if they get ...

• Kobena 10 years ago

Kwame,
    I am not a lawyer, but I also felt right from the beginning that the court had boxed itself into a corner by crtsallising the case into two issues. Unfortunately, it then went off tangent and came up with results that ...

May well be the case but I am only concerned about the legality of the rulling.

• Whatever 10 years ago

The ruling wasn't 5-4. It was 9-0, 9-0, 7-2, 6-3 and the rest were the same except in only one which came to 5-4. Even in those instances were the supreme court held that there were irregularities which was admittedly against ...

• John Anamse 10 years ago

I am sure it is your kind of ideas which is driving Gabby crazy and making him come to a hazy conclusion that the Petitioners rather won the case on a 5-4 majority. Please re-think as this is uningenious.

In the first case ...

John, so what was the point in settling the issue to be just two?

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

It is indeed a fine argument and I agree that strange things did indeed happened in the unraveling of the case in court and in the decisions of the SC. To me, as I've been saying, it is the monumental failure of the NDC and M ...