Entertainment

Ghanaian Universities and the Complex Question of Degrees

Read Comments Comments (26)

• PEACE 10 years ago

LET ME ASK YOU DO YOU HAVE FREE HEALTH AS AT NOW. DO YOU WANT THE SCHOOL TO OPERATE LIKE THE SO CALL FREE HOSPITAL, THE HEALTH INSUARANCE THING. WAIT WHEN YOUR SICKNESS IS NOT MALARIA AND YOU WOULD UNDERSTAND.

• KK 10 years ago

Ghana is not rich enough to have free and qualitative education to high school level. It was possible in the Nkrumah era when Ghana was under 8 million! It is better we pay something small for education and health care of hig ...

• SECRETLESS GHANA 10 years ago

All the private varsities admit grade D7 and E8 holders yet their products call themselves unemployed graduates in Ghana and challenge products of the public Varsities for jobs. They are damaging the value of Ghanaian Varsity ...

• KK 10 years ago

Is it not so that the private universities have their certificates awarded by the public varsities? I hear Central university's certificates are awarded by UCC. if so UCC will ensure that the standards are equal to what they ...

• Benash 10 years ago

Good piece, thanks for sharing and reminding us. And shame unto all who are using their education and position just to enrich themselves.

• Slaker 10 years ago

I think the influx of uncontrolled private universities is adding up to the already bad situation the public ones offer us. Its just a pity that anyone earns a 'degree' from just anywhere and is given very important roles to ...

• ROSE YEBOAH 10 years ago

Yes university education is becoming meaningless in Ghana if research is being neglected. What graduates are interested in are their pockets.

• JAMAL 10 years ago

What a shame. What country are we in? When will research be a major preoccupation of graduates in order to speed up development. Money eaters, sit up!!!

• Issah Musah 10 years ago

Dr. kwame Nkrumah in his independence speech said and I quote" we need to change our attitudes and our minds". Without changing these two key elements am afraid we won't move any further than were are we today.
    Nowadays stud ...

• Konoreyawa 10 years ago

You hit the nail to the core.

• The Eye Germany 10 years ago

Thanks Steve. This is another significant articles penned by you. Bravo!!!

In my humble view, I think all aspects of education in Ghana from the kindergarten to the highest level of the education ladder-the universities ne ...

• Frank 10 years ago

My only advice is that Mr. Owusu keep the articles clean without partisanship. The totality of Ghana's economic slumbs is all inclusive. NDC, NPP, all others who have had the chance to be leadership and have had or have influ ...

• Media Mogul 10 years ago

Frank, you're right. Stephen is clearly partisan. He thinks the problems of the country are NDC's alone but both NDC and NPP are to blame for them. In fact, NPP is more chop chop than NDC. Now NDC is learning from NPP how to ...

• Stephen-Pipes Afrifa 10 years ago

Hmm, somewhere in Africa ( Ghana) the entire country runs on the basis of " whom you know" . Without this life is hard and will miserable for you.

Corruption in Ghana as of now is very sad, the individual Ghanaian is the v ...

• Bert Lindvall 10 years ago

Hi Stephen
    There you have some points ,Stephen!
    All the best
    /Bert

• Seth, USA 10 years ago

As usual the writer raises very important issues here. Good job!

• yaffa yaffa uk 10 years ago

MY BRUDA WHAT YOU ARE SAYING IS 100% RIGHT.I HOPE THE GRADUATES IN GHANA WILL LEARN SOMETHING FROM YOUR ARTICLE AND CHANGE. KIITOS.

• ghanaman 10 years ago

very salient points.

• USMAN 10 years ago

ACHIMOTA+LEGON+FRE_MASON=CORRUPTION.

• Yab Yab 10 years ago

To set the same standards, the premier universities must establish branch campuses in all regions. The admission standards, quality of instruction and graduation standards would be at par. This would obviate the need to conce ...

• Kwadwo A 10 years ago

Well done, big brother, corruption can be easily be stop if our so call leaders will have love for our mother Ghana. If our leader can pass laws for citizens not to pay bribes to any gov't and report anyone who ask for bribe ...

• Justman 10 years ago

THE PREZIDENT STOP FINE SPEECHES AND TAKE HOLD OF CORRUPTION BY THE HORN AND FLAY IT. DESTROY THE WOMBS THAT PRODUCE CORRUPTION. IT IS A FORMIDABLE TASK.IT MUST BEGIN FROM SOMEWHRE ESPECIALLY FROM THE TOP TO THE ORDINARY WORK ...

• Johnny Cash 10 years ago

great piece of writing. important information. i have had the same thoughts lately for a while. nice you could express it so well and clear.

• Oti Akenteng 10 years ago

I don,t think it will be easy to have free education to such a highest levell.But i think it will be better if we can pay something less,especilly from primary to Senior High school.

• Uncle Ebo 10 years ago

This is exactly our biggest problem. (Office Table Robbery). The sad part of this situation is that it is seen as a normal practice. So the solution never comes and therefore our poverty always deepens.

• Obasola Bamigbola 10 years ago

Hmmmnnnn... Oh Africa! I thought the level of corruption in the public offices in Ghana is reduced compare to that of Naija and other West African nations... Do we really have leaders in Africa? Selfish interest is now the re ...