Entertainment

Kwesi Appiah Is a Genius!

Read Comments Comments (114)

• Lin 10 years ago

"We had forgotten that Kwesi Appiah had deservingly been captain of the senior national team for a few years, until conspirators took the honor away from him and gave it to an egotistic Abedi Pele just before Senegal 1992." G ...

• wang shuai 10 years ago

who cares about "African best winner" tag. He captained the nation to African glory. what did Abedi Pele achieve with the national team as a captain? Give credit where it is due and stop being so stupid and lose talker. Do y ...

• VICE RESSIEN 10 years ago

....it was essien and sulley who suggested to play deep mid-field. appiah had NO CLUE.... and don't forget this idiotic appiah didn't even want sulley in the team... but without sulley and essien nothing will run in the black ...

• Only the Thruth 10 years ago

foolish man shut up ass hole

• DAVI 10 years ago

BIG SHAMMMMEEE UNTO ALL THE ANTI-AKWASI APPIAH PULL HIM DOWN FLOKS.AKWASI JUST FOCUS AND LET THE GUYS PRAY AS A DISCIPLINE TEAM,AT LEAST YOU ARE TAKING THE NATION TO THE WORLD CUP,WITHOUT SPEAKING FRENCH.SECCESS HAS MANY FATH ...

• Agyeman Jones 10 years ago

You can as well say it was the ball that decided to go wherever it wanted.

• Mango 10 years ago

Well, then maebe we should commend Appiah for allowing Essien and Sulley to coach him. sometimes coaches need help from players. The humble ones will acept the help, the prideful ones will act foolishly.

• PKA 10 years ago

Danny, my comment is rather belated because I missed this article on the day on which it was published.

Until i read the part that concerned Abedi Pele, I thought what I had read so far was excellent.

you see Danny, Abe ...

• PKA 10 years ago

-a potentially divisive issue.

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Learn to appreciate the positive things done and stop being an idiot. No group in the world ever succeeds without discipline. You Trokosi fools never shy away from malice. No wonder Ewes can't move forward in their lives even ...

• JK-Sasraku 10 years ago

"it was essien and sulley who suggested to play deep mid-field. appiah had NO CLUE...."

Oh my God, some people talk from their butt holes! Were you standing there when Sulley and Michael dictated to the coach which positio ...

• Rans F 10 years ago

You deserve all the insults being hurled at you for your STUPIDITY! How could you be so dangerously cynical and envious? What were your expectations yesterday? That the STARS would be crushed by the Pharaohs so that you will ...

• IBF - Canada 10 years ago

what can i say to you? you are indescribable. but good luck with your jealousy, hopeful it will end you well

• Adwoa 10 years ago

I had a dream that the egyptians beat us 7 goals to 1 in the return leg. Its a bad dream, it will not happen. NO NEVER.

• joseph 10 years ago

Adwoa turn the dream upside down & you will get the real meaning.The devil always deceive you by taking your 7 give 1.pray to let your spirit move hand in hand with the HOLY SPIRIT.But for the mean time stop dreaming

• Jojo 10 years ago

Who the hell is this idiot????
    So every Kotoko player and coach should become a national coach? What an idiot!!
    Sounds like an idiot from Kedjetia, Kumasi so am qualified! Idiot!!
    I have nothing against this excellent youn ...

• Amed 10 years ago

This write-up is demonic and divisive at a time we are all supposed to be rejoicing over a God given victory. Yes some of us were opposed to AA because of certain choices he made in the past. We were vindicated yesterday.

• Papa Appiah 10 years ago

Mr Price, sorry but your article is a gross oversimplificatuion of the issues. The reasons why some of us were against his appointment was not because he was, as you put it, a native born darkie or some such description. Many ...

check the CVs of all the coaches of the countries....

• veep 10 years ago

so what is your point? this what i don't get. you guys keep talking about experience coach all the time. sounds like a company always seeking expatriate employees without training such itself. which company should spend its r ...

Veep, I have an answer for you. Kwesi Appiah could have started at Ebusua Dwarfs,done so well and moved on to Kotoko or Hearts or Asec and continued buiding his CV. If our decision was to appoint a Ghanaian whatever, then he ...

A local coach, any local coach is good enough for me. It is a shame to rely on foreign coaches at this time, even as far back as the early sixties, Ghana has been a country that can stand on her own two feet. From the preside ...

I agree with you Kofi, except that we cant continue to pay lip service to it. We want local coaches so what have we done about it? What facilities, coaching courses, investment in the local league, improving conditions of our ...

Trokosi idiot, stop disgracing yourself with your inward-looking point of view. Learn to join the rest of Ghana like Atsu and Vorsa.

• Leeeee 10 years ago

your hatred for the coach was tribal and you depicted it in that stupid article you wrote. Assistant coaches becoming substantive coaches happens everywhere just as vice presidents always want to become president. there was n ...

Im perfectly happy to congratulate him on this victory but apology for having an opinion is stretching it a bit too far. And I am a fante from Cape Coast. I am yet to know of any tribal friction between fantes and ashantis.Do ...

• J. O 10 years ago

Congratulations Akwasi and all the star players
    Pryce, I agree with your comments.

• Leeeee 10 years ago

he does not need your apologies anyways. he just have to keep proving you wrong. he is not a genius yet as the writer wants to portray but he is doing his best in the midst of all the distractions and sabotage from people lik ...

• veep 10 years ago

continue to live in a dreamland. it is no secret that almost every tribe in Ghana has something against the Ashantis, Fantes included. your article was way below the belt. you criticized the move that brought back Gyan into t ...

• joseph 10 years ago

We are here in europe talking about racist.We allow ourslves to be seperated by these small small lines in our own country.It's very sad to hear darkee against darkee.Africa we are far far behind.Wake up AFRICA!!!

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

Is all David Duncan fault that Gas and hearts supporters hate Kwasi Appiah

• Ern 10 years ago

Who said Gas' and Hearts supports hate Kwesi Appiah? I am a Ga, and also a Hearts supporter, but I have been supporting KA since his appointment. Please do not generalise!

• azoah 10 years ago

We should be careful ,how we praise the 'ourselves' with little or no evidence,in articles.We must do ourselves some favour by keeping a modest mark,with key players who made the game lovely ,setting higher standards ,by lift ...

• azoah 10 years ago

learn how to stay coaching by winning with skillful players.Treat them as stakeholders and real partners ,critical to your appraisal and performance.'don't ever treat them as employees of GFA,with appointment letters on file ...

• Nana 10 years ago

Are witches

• kkkkk 10 years ago

Appiah should just thank God for this win because Ghanaians would have roasted him alive.

• jyga 10 years ago

I am with you kkk. I'm so happy for KA. Ghanaians would have roasted him alive... No doubt or no two ways about that as we always say. You said it all.

• kkkkk 10 years ago

Point of correction, Akwasi Appiah was not Kotoko captain in 1982. It was Papa Arko. Great article!

• Slimzay **Unshakable Shaker** 10 years ago

I wouldn't call this article GREAT. It is a good article though for the fact that it takes us back to see what giving opportunities can do. It is also good in reminding us of trust in ourselves. This article is pointing out t ...

Both Papa Arko and Appiah were captains of Kotoko in 1982. Arko was captain for a short period.

• ASAFO BOY 10 years ago

point of correction PAPA ARKO WAS NOT THE CAPTAIN IN 1982 RATHER POKU AFRIYIE,THEN PAPA ARKO BECAME CAPTAIN 1983.

• kkknj 10 years ago

First of all Kwame Nkrumah would have had patient, because he Know for sure that He will deliver, that is why He told the white man to leave us alone. So far based on score line during the play offs,it point to how focus he i ...

• akwasi 10 years ago

haters will always hate.
    he really prove himself today.
    the changes he did was perfect.

• KojoLee@Dilemma-Situation 10 years ago

"Now my problem with him is his over interest in KPB, and my question to him is that don't he think it will be injustice to take any player out and replace him with KPB if we qualify for the world Cup? That is my problem with ...

• jay 10 years ago

stupid idiotic comment.. the best player will play in the world cup even if ur father is in form he will be chosen .. talking abt injustice is how you think. KPB HAS DONE NOTHING WRONG SO HE WILL PLAY WHEN THE TIME COMES.

I beg your pardon Mr. Jay, what is the "Time" for him (KPB) to play for Ghana?

Take heed.

• Mr.N 10 years ago

Nature would take care of KPB nature has the way to set the wrong right let leave it in the hands of nature. KPB would show up with his boots ready to play in Egypt I know Kwesi N would pressure Kwesi A but in the end I am co ...

• POW@ Appiah anaaaaaaaaa 10 years ago

I agree with you paaaa on this one. Initially I wanted to pray him out of the team but I've got the clue now.

You beg his pardon, you don't think jay is right with his reply? You are lucky he replied you before I came because I would have given it to you in double. Governor, are you thinking at all? Don't you think by having all thes ...

• kkknj 10 years ago

You must be sick in the head,get out you selfish junk.

• Sarskoberta 10 years ago

You got it all wrong the perception of justice and injustice tabled above when 'fr3fr3kobo' is the scheme of things in the application/formation of the GBS' assignments.

Currently, it is conspicuously enshrined in the MRAA ...

Tell the others too please for they seem not to get it. Thank you Godfather!

• POW@ Appiah anaaaaaaaaa 10 years ago

Massa, this KPB guy is so annoying and I'll pray him out of the Brazil squad. "Ns3m fon y3 ehï paaa" Who should "huhu" for someone else to "keka"?

That's it Powasomo!

With my new found belief, hei megyedi abedwa, I now see the two of you...
    Mo mmienu nyinaa y3 'devil incarnates" borne out of hate and prejudice. Haaaaaaa
    Its wanwaful.

Mr N, AKa Nyarko Abronoma and his fellow churchian ...

• Johnnie B 10 years ago

I personally think that AA is writing his own history, this man has suffered too much in the hands of some inpatient Ghanaians. Indeed, he is the only coach in a very long time that has produced a lot of goals for mother Ghan ...

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

“Let us show to the whole world that, the black man is capable of managing his own affairs” - NKRUMAH..........

If we had listened to him and kept him in power, the World Cup would have been ours by now. It reminds me ...

• Kofi of Africa 10 years ago

NON-ALIGNED,

YOU WRITE EXCELLENTLY. I AGREE WITH ALL YOU'VE SAID HERE - ESPECIALLY ABOUT CK AND THE OSAGYEFO.

• USMC(KNYC) 10 years ago

Kwasi Appih has done it, now what?

“Let us show to the whole world that, the black man is capable of managing his own affairs” - NKRUMAH................

If we had listened to him and kept hom in power, the World Cup would have been ours by now. It remin ...

“Let us show to the whole world that, the black man is capable of managing his own affairs” - NKRUMAH................

If we had listened to him and kept hom in power, the World Cup would have been ours by now. It remin ...

“Let us show to the whole world that, the black man is capable of managing his own affairs” - NKRUMAH..........

If we had listened to him and kept him in power, the World Cup would have been ours by now. It reminds me ...

• costa 10 years ago

why Ghanian's are too know like that, God bless that is why we won the game but you people are attacking the coach now.
    nkwasam

• Adam 10 years ago

One word exposed you! You said "egoistic" Abedi Pele. That one alone tells a lot that you have hatred for one of the best ghana has ever produced? What do you say about collecting the captainship from John Mensah and skipping ...

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

AS FOR THIS GAME PAA DIE. I WILL GIVE AA, KONADU AND THE COACHING STAFF 8.75/10....WELL DONE

NKUM N SUMAILA PREVENTED A PERFECT 10 SCORE...

Haaa GHananiba, now that you have changed your thoughts and thinking about coach AA as you used to called him, we will all start changing our thinking and thoughts on other matters as well.

Well come to the Walatulizatio ...

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

IM UPSET AA DIDNT CALL YIADOM THO. HE IS GOOD IN THE AIR N ON THE GROUND. HE PLAYS IN THE BEST LEAGUE IN THE WORLD, LA LIGA. AA N HIS STAFF DID WELL, SO I WILL PRAISE HIM,NO DOUBT. THE SAME WAYI WOULD HAVE RAINED INSULTS ON H ...

Some of us stood 100% behind Mr. Akwasi Appiah appointment as head coach of our national team the Black Star and formed "Walatulization" concept meaning - 'Self reliance' for his appointment. We nick named him coach MRAA mea ...

The fact that GHFUO is an well acknowldeged antagonist for MRAA'e goal hunt revolution, and also an avowed nemesis of every top official in authority, albeit the hierachy of
    the entire governmental proceedures, doesn't mean ...

• Frederick, USA 10 years ago

I think it is time to thank you coach for a job well done. I love Ghana soccer so deep and you have made me very proud. I have often read how we as soccer nation have crucified you over and over. Through it all you kept your ...

• NANA KODOM TECHIMAN 10 years ago

this winning comes as a result of the players own skills but not kwasi appiah. kwasi did nothing. even any Ghanaian coach can do the same with players

• kkkkk 10 years ago

idiot

• wang shuai 10 years ago

sometimes i wonder of some of you deserve to be acknowledge or simply be ignored. you are so pathetic. so ignorant, naive and uneducated that you dont even know the core duties and responsibilities of a football manager. By ...

• Amed 10 years ago

I agree. with this team, which always existed and Appiah refused to utilize because of his own selfish idiosyncrasies any team is beatable.The Zanbian coached attested to this fact several times. Appiah should shine his eyes ...

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 10 years ago

People like you are sad and therefore always see only the dark even in the midst of shinning light. You are the only one that could not see that K Appiah got his tactics absolutely spot on to the extent that the Egyptians wer ...

• Leeeee 10 years ago

kwasea...why do we blame and insult him any time he looses a game

• AkwasiA 10 years ago

Nyaho, why are u silent ? You would have been the first to comment/condemn Coach AA had Ghana lost this match.Learn to appreciate and encourage people in authority and only criticize constructively.

• mohammed amin abdallah,adenta,fafraha 10 years ago

NONSENSE TALK,STUPID.HEARTLESS PERSON.THE PERSON EDITED THE ARTICLE IS ALSO FOOOOOOOOOOOOL!

• Quojo 10 years ago

The captain of kotoko team that won the cup in 1983 was Papa Arko. Don't make coach what he was not.
    Personally I love Kwasi Appiah. He is a decent fellow.

• Asou. 10 years ago

The major problem with us is that of self hatred. We do not accept anything of our own. Anything from beyond the ocean is the best. We are constantly buying from others without selling anything. How do we grow or progress? We ...

• Kwame logoligi 10 years ago

A good dose of criticism is sometimes warranted. As a matter of fact the right dose of it can not only correct an ill but is known to bring out the best out of situations that need correction.
    Talking about situations that ...

• kojo 10 years ago

this is something that this generation don't want to hear, refresh your bad memory aren't you ashamed of yourself, enemy of progress,

• DON. AMSTERDAM 10 years ago

MOST GHANAINS THINK ONCE A WHITE MAN
    IS GHANA,WHEATHER HE IS MAD OR WHAT,HE
    IS FAR BETTER THAN A GHANAIN WHO CAN
    DO BETTER.IS THE SAME AS THIER POLITICS,ONCE A PERSON IS RICH IN GHANA WITHOUT POLITICAL BACKGROUND,HE
    CAN ...

Compatriots,

Coach Kwesi Appiah speaks perfect English. It is not Appiah who must improve his English, but the journalist who write's this message!

I have often thought how lucky Ghana is to have an articulate native G ...

• Left Critic 10 years ago

Have we as a people become utterly incapable of saying anything without calumny, insults, bile and childish envy? How do we manage to turn this moment of joyful triumph into yet another occasion for settling petty scores? Wee ...

• Grammar Police 10 years ago

So you think you know what malapropism is? Perhaps you are a product of Rawlings' JSS system! Jingoism has more than six different meanings in the dictionary, and your definition is just one of them. My advice? Stick to the m ...

• Frank Agyepong 10 years ago

Kwasi Appiah is an excellent coach without doubt. But why bring in Abedi Pele in your story as being egoistic when the Captainship of Black Stars was give to him by the GFA authourites in 1992?. It is very stupid to attack pe ...

• Kk3 10 years ago

Amazing but even if Kwasi Appiah led Black Stars win the tournament in Brasil, some will still condemn, castigate and wish it was an 'oburoni' coach instead of him.
    This 'oburoni' is better love fest permeates every aspect o ...

• Iwan 10 years ago

gave it to an egotistic Abedi Pele just before Senegal 1992. This id..... I want to be civilised should know that Abedi has two children in the team that is making Appiah a Genius

• Harrison 10 years ago

BS still have a lot to do. The Defence is still porous. We need someone to help AA for the WC. More friendlies will also help streamline the BS.

• john ansah 10 years ago

Ghanians are hypocrites, today they will hail u when all is well and sacrifice u when things go wrong!

• Maame Efua 10 years ago

You are very right. Ghanaians should stop those useless praises and let the man do his job. what did you not say after South Africa. You showering those praise just shut up !!!!!!!!!!!

• Harrison 10 years ago

Nonsense! What did AA do? Watch the entire game, AA did nothing. The players played out of their own experience. The Arabs were even more physical than the BS. tHE BS should be ready for a tough return match.

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

he shd at least win bronze at WC or win AFCON before you call him genius...Stephen Keshi has AFCON

Rasta,

YOU ARE RIGHT. COACH APPIAH HAS TO CUT HIS TEETH WINNING THE AFCON OR EVEN SURPASS THE QUARTER FINALS HURDLE IN THE WORLD CUP BEFORE HE CAN TRULY BE HAILED A 'GENIUS'.

IT IS EARLY DAYS YET BUT HE HAS, FOR THE MO ...

• John Johnson Abogyese John 10 years ago

I agree with some of your points, but disappointed @ egotistic comment about Abedi...Both Abedi and Appiah were great captains...I blame the conspiracy theorists who created that artificial tension between two of Ghana's fine ...

• AJA KANYA 10 years ago

Kwasi Appiah was also installed captain after the band had been snatched from Joe Odoi in the 80s. So why cry that Appiah suffered a similar fate when Abedi was given the band?I think it is cheap that you are using this forum ...

• Ross 10 years ago

I am a white Canadian Soccer fan. Please don't screw up. Get to the World Cup and be in the final four. I have been constantly disappointed with Africa Soccer teams. Every world cup I want more than they give me. I want an Af ...

• Ross 10 years ago

For God
    Sakes get to the final four. Please don't screw up.

• Joe 10 years ago

NOT EVEN AFCON ,WHICH HIS FELLOW KESHIE ON FIRST APPOINTMENT AS HEAD COACH WON EASILY WHILE KWESI PPIAH STARS WERE BEATEN AND BULLIED BY WEAK BURKINA FASO, DESPITE ALL THE HELP FROM REFEREE TO HELP APPIAH ATLEAST TO ACHIEVE S ...

• Dr. Kwame Nkrumah is my hero 10 years ago

Go lick your own balls. Animal

• Sankofa 10 years ago

To be fair, Kwesi Appiah has been wise.

He has built a formidable backroom team, listens to their advice and involves them in decision-making. He is building a team both on and off the pitch. He is learning all the time, a ...

• kf 10 years ago

bunch of ignorance spreading around,Kwasi was a member of the national team when Ghana won the cup of nations in 1980 and also successfully won club championship with KOTOKO in 1983

• Project 10 years ago

Research

• Teejay 10 years ago

I did not forget the stupidity and arrogance he demonstrated during our previous important matches. He learnt a good lesson from that but that does not make him a genius. We are happy.

• Nyorkopio 10 years ago

There were, and still are many Ghanaians who hailed the appointment of Coach AA, kept faith with him, and continue to believe in what he can do with our national team. It is easy to amplify the voices of the handful of naysay ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 10 years ago

is the same that shouts crucify him.

We should accept defeat as gracefully as we appreciateit when we win. In any tournament, it is either a win, lose or draw. Somebody always gets hurst as Egypt probably is now.

Ken

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 10 years ago

Kwasi Appiah and Maxwell Konadu are master strategists who can win the World Cup for Ghana.

• KWASI KYEI BAFFOUR 10 years ago

MANY GHANAIANS HAVE INFERIORITY COMPLEX,COACH APPIAH IS FAR BETTER THAN THE EAST EUROPEAN COACHES.GHANAIANS ARE NOT DOING THAT TO THIS COACH,WHEN NKRUMAH FELL FROM POWER, PEOPLE FROM HIS OWN PARTY TURNED AROUND AND SAID ALL K ...