Entertainment

Coach Appiah, Gyan & Boateng make history

Read Comments Comments (117)

• akwamu the wise man 10 years ago

bring in an experience tactical coach to assist just for the world cup and let Akwasi Appiah take all the glory...that is fine. the way we played there was no team cohesion just individual player skills.

• KKKKK 10 years ago

Hiwever says MRAA is not a good coach does not understand the game. In both matches he used his knowlegde of the game and the Egyptian to beat them. He done what most coaches could not do. For my money Akwai is a great coach. ...

• Ojam 10 years ago

kwesi appiah has not won anything yet ,nothing in the form gold or even a silver cup, so stop the bull crap and let him win at least a single copper cup before calling him a great coach.

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

"kwesi appiah has not won anything yet"

He won the All Africa Games gold.
    As for "great", it's relative.

KKKKK perhaps thinks he is "great" because:

a. of our expectations of the team after Afcons 2012 and 2013;

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur thinkin 10 years ago

DEFENCE WINS TROPHIES, TOURNAMENTS
    CAN GH WIN THE WCUP? YES!
    HOWEVER, THE LACK OF POSITIVE TEAM PSYCHOLOGY. COACHES LACKING ENOUGH TECHNICAL ABILITY TO COMPETE AT THE HIGHEST LEVEL ARE THE 2 MAIN ISSUES.
    SOLUTION: PLAY MOR ...

• K.K 10 years ago

Stop this st.upid propaganda. We didn't need Boateng's goal to qualify for the world cup. Wasn't Egypt coach a white man? What makes dumb people think the white man is always better?

• ABROKYIRE Y3 FUCKEN! 10 years ago

All of a sudden, Kevin is a hero!! Where's that fool who was going to lead a demonstration against Kevin's selection? Why didn't he come to play---let alone come go to Egypt? Huh?

• LARRY OBENN 10 years ago

CONGRATULATIONS GUYS.AS I SAID FOUR PLAYERS WITH PKB DETERMINATION WILL MAKE GHANA PROUD IN BRAZIL.

• www.owafk-africa.com 10 years ago

14,000 FREE SCHOLARSHIPS TO AFRICAN GRADUATES, www.owafk-africa.com

• nii 1 10 years ago

This people with their village thinking can disgrace us oooooooooooooooooooo

• YAW WASH. DC 10 years ago

This writer is so stupid to start playing the Ghana race card, being an akan I hate to see other akans still engage in such unwanted sickness within the akans, why should this stupid writer use words like this ' Kwesi Appiah ...

• parker 10 years ago

I second your opinon I feel ashame sometimes on this forum with this "ashanti crusade"against other tribes,some of them even believe asantes are not Akans

• jimy somer 10 years ago

SELLAS TETE TSEVI IS EWE MAN THAT WO COACHED NATIONAL UNDER 20 TEAM TO WIN AFRICA AND WORLD UNDER 20 CUP.STOP YOUR NOISE WITH ASHANTI BORN THING.TRIBALISM CAN NOT TAKE YOU TO ANYWHERE.

• Oh-Andy -K 10 years ago

A krobo not Ewe please!!!!

• zola (usa) 10 years ago

THANK YOU. THIS IS STUPIDITY

• kpata 10 years ago

BUSH ENGLISH/JOURNALISM

• kofi 10 years ago

Akwasi Appiah is not Ashanti ask him

• MY FUCKING PISTOL NEVER JAM 10 years ago

JAMES KWESI APPIAH IS NOT AN ASHANTI DESPIRE HE WAS BORN IN ASHANTI . KWESI IS DIFFERENT FROM ASHANTI KWASI AND AKWASI. SULLEY MUNTARI WAS BORN IN ASHANTI BUT HE'S NOT ASHANTI

• Oh-Andy -K 10 years ago

And Baba Yara is a Kumasi boy true and true.

• Bernard 10 years ago

you are spot on, man.

• Jojo 10 years ago

I am buffled by the naivety of fellow Ghanaians and Africans!! If the Black Starts need more expertise and more technical handling why should those individuals be white? Don't we can't we find fellow blacks qualified to assis ...

• Adongo Johnson Kukurubini 10 years ago

A VERY BIG SHAME UNTO YOU GHFUO! YOU HAVE CRITICIZED AND DISLIKED AKWASI APPIAH ALL ALONG!!! YOU,PAAPA APPIAH AND SOME OTHER FOOLS WERE ALWAYS PRAYING FOR GHANA NOT TO QUALIFY FOR BRAZIL SO THAT YOU WOULD TRAMP ON AKWASI APPI ...

• Nyametsease 10 years ago

Stop glorifying Kwesi Appiah-he has won nothing to show for.
    C.K Gyamfi and others won us the Afrcan Cup of nations.C.K.Gyamfi took over from Coach Ember and did a great job-not until Kwesi Appiah wins a championship or what ...

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

"In both matches he used his knowlegde of the game and the Egyptian to beat them".

He did not beat Egypt in the second match.
    Your "truth" is a lie.

• Banki 10 years ago

ESSIEN IS FINISH WHY ALLOW THIS DEAD PLAYER AS DEFENSIVE MIDFILEDER. I WISH RABUI SPEED RECOVERY. SITTING ON THE BENCH HAS DESTROYED ESSIEN WAAAH. GOD BLESS MUNTARI FOR THE JOB DONE

• Ghanaboii 10 years ago

Didnt essien have a better game than muntari though? muntari gave the ball away so many times & thats why he was take off

• Krikri 10 years ago

the achievement of the Black Stars. THEY WORKED FOR EACH OTHER, FROM COACH, TECHNNICAL TEAM, GFA, SUPPORTERS, SPONSORS AND ABOVE ALL GOVERNMENT. They did not destroy each other through lies and burning of markets, threats to ...

• Johnson 10 years ago

if people talk like krikri do you think there would be peace in Ghana? Come on people, do not hide behind tecnicalities and insult people. I don't support either NDC or NPP but will never insult any of them. The two parties h ...

• RED-SOKOTO-GUDARI 10 years ago

Thus Boateng guy came on for only ten minutes, he has only played for ten minutes for the Black Stars qualifiers and happened to score a goal,which was good enough. But that does not make him a hero among the sited persons th ...

• kwami 10 years ago

Did u score the last goal?? Ur hatred and jealousy will lead u know where.. we love you KPB

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 10 years ago

Where were you when the same Akwesi Appiah led his team to thrash the same Egyptian team 6-1? Did you think he needed tactical help then? Or by your estimation, a top tactician has lost his tactical brain in three weeks ah? T ...

• Slimzay@The Unshakable Shaker 10 years ago

How in the world would you give points without giving any reason? Please allow me to come in.

Handing Fatau Dauda 8pts is not right. This means he did everything almost right. The keeper caused us our first goal, so I beli ...

• Papanea 10 years ago

Thought I saw it alone. KPB has the eye for goals. Also your points on the players seems accurate. You are good, misterman!

• frankie 10 years ago

Right on the money. Ayew sh. have been sub in the first half. why sh the coach waite for Dede to request a substitution after that little tackle. He knew he was having a bad day. On the other hand,we can't provide real analys ...

• Mark 10 years ago

Akwasi Appiah has been a good manager for sorting things out with Sulley, The Ayews, Essien, KPB. However, he needs to be more reactive. If somebody is having a bad day, change him immediately. Don't wait for the player to te ...

• Al Hajj AAA-Rashid(OH. USA) 10 years ago

It is absolutely childish if not absurd to introduce this tribal nonsense into our Black Stars.

Who care if AA is born Ashanti or Frafra?

Come to think of it, is AA not from Brong Ahafo ? So what makes him an Ashanti? C ...

• Tankoko 10 years ago

We Should just stop this tribalism hullabaloo and focus on the team. Those trying to do that should stop it as soon as possible…it wouldn't take us anywhere.

• OGOGLO QUARTER 10 years ago

THAS IS GHWEB FOR YOU..THE CRAB/CRAPS OF GHWEB ....ALL I DO NOW IS DRINKING SOME OGOGLO WHILES READING,SO I CAN IGNORE SOME THINGS....SIMPLE....

• KATAKYIE OF ST LUKE HOUSE 10 years ago

TRIBALISM IS EATING DEEP INTO THE GHANAIAN CITIZENSHIP WHICH IS VERY BAD.SO FAR AS A PERSON IS A GHANAIAN AND CHOSEN OR ELECTED TO WORK FOR GHANA,LET US SUPPORT HIM/HER.NOTE THAT NOT ALL APPIAHS ARE ASHANTIS AND SAGOES FANTIS ...

• NO NONSENSE 10 years ago

WHAT IS WRONG IF THE WRITER WRITES THAT HE IS FROM ASHANTI.

• ABU 10 years ago

There is nothing wrong if he should call the whole team Ashanti because we are having a Ghanaian population made up exclusively of Ashantis.

• OSOFO ATOPA 10 years ago

My bro, if there is nothing with his choice of words, was it relevant to what he wanted to say?.

• Jiyong 10 years ago

Fatau dauda took in two goals, there was nothing much he could do about second goal, but i personaly think he could have done better for the first goal, 8pts for kevin is too much, he spent just 10 mins on the field its not ...

• him 10 years ago

Drop dauda or blackstars will be jinxed

• Moro 10 years ago

I believe Kwasi Appiah should know that Kwarasey should have been in the post. He is our best keeper not Dauda. Dauda is even not keeping for his team in S.Africa. Why not Kwarasey who has been voted the best keeper in Norway ...

• akwamu the wise man 10 years ago

Many sports journalists supported the GFA idea since so many,
    foreign coaches have come to handle Ghana and proved nothing.

we reached the QF and if not for Gyan we would have made it to semi...and he says foreign coach ...

• KKKKK 10 years ago

which is better?

• bb 10 years ago

Yes akwasi appiah needs help

• baba oruma 10 years ago

fataw dawda's timing is not good he need to do better. he sbould stay in his poles when he is not Sure he can reach thecrossing.

• dk 10 years ago

your player points on the performance sheet are so wrong. you should revise it

• DIAMOND 10 years ago

Don't just say they're wrong.
    Give us your numbers.
    That's a debate.

• KING 10 years ago

he scored a tap-in...get over it

• George 10 years ago

You are not good on rating, try and learn more

• Trust Jesus 10 years ago

Some of you analyse and watch football with your eyes closed.Was it not the same Appiah team that mesmerised the Pharoahs? Egypt is not a small team.Even Almighty Spain lost to South Africa yesterday.Does their coach need hel ...

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

Fatau Dauda must be taught how to use his legs to block goal-bound shots. He also needs to be coached to use his hands to punch away goal-bound in any mid-air tussle. Dauda may have done well, it should however be pointed out ...

• Wuorfei 10 years ago

Goal keeping is still our problem. It's now apparent that Dauda may be good but his short width span is doing him in. For trial matches, I suggest we rotate them to see who is best qualified for the job. Brazil should not be ...

• THE TRUTH 10 years ago

al the rating is wrong all can agree that the stars were not at their best in cairo either for the fact that they have already qualified or problem with the pitch or more so for fear of problems in egypt to me fatau can be ra ...

• Pure Ewe 10 years ago

Until you guys see Ghana without division,s our development will always be derailed. What is this nonsense. I cant believe people who have spent some time in the class room to acquire read and writing skills chat this ashanti ...

Pure Ewe, please do not alarmed by this guy, I bet you he is not Ashanti. He one of those poeple the Ashantis call "Anomaa Kokonekone". This bird goes uptream to muddy the river and comes downstream to asks who muddied the ri ...

Dear Readers, Please forgive my mistakes, as you can see my BP is hitting the roof after reading the article. Me koko tua so. "Se oba kwasea ka n'ano tum a yebu no Nyansafuo".

• Ben T 10 years ago

Thanks Appiah & his Boys,Ghaha said thank U oooo

• MOMO 10 years ago

Michael played extremely well

• apicolo 10 years ago

after rating the players, what about Badu agyeman? dont try to cofuse us with that bogose rating. guday

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 10 years ago

When I saw the Ivory Coast team being led by an Ivorian coach recently, I felt so proud for him and his country. I wondered if that would ever happen with Ghana. Thank God it did happen and our own Kwesi Appiah has made histo ...

• Taller uk 10 years ago

Egypt v Ghana: player ratings
    by Taller UK: 20 November 2013, 06:59
    Ghana made it to a third straight World Cup on Tuesday despite losing 2-1 to Egypt.
    The play was characterized by large spells of Egyptian domination, wi ...

• Ern 10 years ago

Taller UK, I agree with your article more than I do with the main Ghanaweb article.
    The main Ghanaweb article here has just been put on to create controversy between those who think KPB should be on the team and those who th ...

• Anes Wiesbaden German 10 years ago

Oh

• 4-3-3 10 years ago

the highest I'll give to anyone on the pitch is a 6.

• A concerned citizen 10 years ago

I will like to cogratulate the Stars but their last performance was very bad though the scoreline was fair to both sides to calm nerves. Before the match i suggested that KPBoateng should replace Majeed to start so Majeed cou ...

• nii 1 10 years ago

RUBBIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIISH. This people with their village thinking oooooooooooo noooooooooooooooo.

• HE`S NOT AFRAID 10 years ago

COACH APPIAH,GYAN & BOATENG MADE HISTORY

• IKE 10 years ago

This is one of the cheapest thing i have read on this network,did the players and technical team had their ethnic background endorsed on their shirts?please whoever you are Ghana does not need this.

• Joseph Bonsu-Akoto 10 years ago

This comment stinks. Give credit when is due. These guys risk their life to represent Ghana. Lets rejoice their achievement. Essein by the way is still among the top 5 players in Ghana today. These deserve praise not insult u ...

• guess 10 years ago

"ASHANTI BORN KWASI APPIAH:" What does the phrase mean? Couldn't the Author simply say Kwasi Appiah ? What a moron!

• wadada 10 years ago

Stupid writer, what does he want to achieve by this type of Ashanti born writing. We should stop this type of divisional writing. At the end of the day we are or Ghanaians

• Akanvae Joseph Akubiyamga 10 years ago

Black stars did well in both legs. we now need to strategically plan very well for the world cup. with that I am sure we can go far in the world cup. the plays and the entire team need our support.

• congo 10 years ago

black star play nothing in EGYPT.there was a lapping at the mid field.and MUNTARY whateva is name is,wasnt supposed to be subtitued.sulley was playing well by holding down the egyptians.next time appiah should make good sub.

• Ras Kumar 10 years ago

To lead, to be led, and to have lead; those are the questions

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

What's the relevance of 'Ashanti born' in this write up if not to stoke tribal sentiments I dare ask?

• KWESI 10 years ago

ALL THE PLAYERS MADE HISTORY.ASAMOAH KILLED MANY GHANAIANS IF YOU DONT KNOW.HE MADE PEOPLE SUFFER FROM HEART UP TILL NOW.STOP THE BIASE.

• parker 10 years ago

why the need to remind your readers where the coach comes from,ashanti born so what?sooner or later asantehehe will invite him to award him chieftaincy title.

• TRUTH 10 years ago

WHY MENTION HIS TRIBE WE ARE ALL GHANAIANS,EVEN HE IS NOT ASHANTI HE IS FROM BRONG AHAFO REGION,KWASI IS FROM DOMAA AHENKRO AND MAXWELL FROM NKORANZA THE SAME B/A,WE ARE ALL GHANAIANS.

• TRUTH 10 years ago

KWASI APPIA,MAXWELL KONADU,ASAMOAH GYAN ,KEVIN BOATENG,ALL OF THEM FROM B/A

• Mark 10 years ago

So what if they are all from B/A? This is no less divisive than the writer's post.

• Richard Nkrumah 10 years ago

Congrats Black Star players. May the Lord strengthen you and see you through with boldness

• Agyaku NYC 10 years ago

Akwesi Appiah is so adamant he initially thought he could carry black star without the super stars like Ayew, Kevin, Essien and Muntari. He has now realized and know the difference.Akwesi, reminder, event though you qualified ...

• LARRY OBENN 10 years ago

KWESI APPIAH MUST HAVE MORE TIME TO LOOK AT THE GERMANY GAME WITH ENGLAND,GHANAIANS MUST SUPPORT HIM NOT BE AFRAID TO PRAISE HIM.FORGET ABOUT FOREIGN COACH.........

• Osamanba 10 years ago

The most important part is that Kwesi Appia is a Ghanaian

• JJ 10 years ago

Appiah is not a good,we are fortunate because this current black star team is full of talents and experience players, pls do not hype this guy for he is handling a good side.

• Osman 10 years ago

good job!

• Kwame 10 years ago

The writer of this article is a damn fool. Kevin Boateng made history how? His goal was not needed for Ghana to qualify. So many other players played the other qualifying matches to get us to this stage.
    As usual he appeared ...

• kwame usa 10 years ago

what a poor journalism, as a matter of fact why do you need to bring Ashanti born instead of first Ghanaian coach. anyway on your correction akwasi appiah is not Ashanti born he is a brong born from dormaa and don't bring div ...

• ObjectiveMan 10 years ago

Good for appiah. But don't mislead people. Who said foreign coaches did nothing. Appiah worked as assistant under 2 of them. I don't also like the bit ; Asante born.

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

What is the relevance of that? Nonsense.

• jkl'kj 10 years ago

jkl'

• Obibini 10 years ago

why tribalism here, this writer needs to be matured & know what to say when he is writing something about our nation, We are happy A.A is Ghanaian, thus all we need.

• Obi 10 years ago

Kwasi Appiah is from Yaakrom near Dormaa Ahenkro in the Brong Ahafo Region.He only captain Kotoko and that doesn't make him an Ashanti born.In any case,he is a Ghanaian first and formost.Some Ashantis don't even know that the ...

• KWESI 10 years ago

EMBEZZLEMENT IS RAMPANT AMONG THE AKAN PEOLPLE IN GHANA.MOST THE OF CRIMINAL MINISTERS ARE THE AKANS.WHO RESPECT THEM IN GHANA??

• Obi 10 years ago

When Gyan missed the penalty, My Ashanti friends teased me that only a Brong man will miss such a crucial penalty.Now they want to claim Brong heroes like Akwasi Appiah, Maxwell Konadu,Asamoah Gyan, Kwadwo Asamoah, Agyeman Ba ...

• concern ghanian 10 years ago

THE WRITER IS MOST MUMU IN AFRICA

• concern ghanian 10 years ago

ONLY GHANA WE HAVE PROPAGANDA MINISTRY

• Jazz of Spintex 10 years ago

The English premier league is purportedly the best league in the world, why? Because it’s full of foreigners who bring their skills to the league which the whole world tunes into on a weekly basis. Ghana is fortunate to hav ...

• EKO 10 years ago

Akwesi Appiah is a born Ghanian period

• Tak 10 years ago

we all made history

• chuol Deng 10 years ago

I am hereby informing you that, remember the 2010 world cup what was happen to you guys. I was not happy about what had happened and let it not repeat again. I wish you the success for 2014 world cup in Brazile. chuol Deng fr ...

• Mark 10 years ago

Thank you Chuol for the pointer. Our players have to learn how to take penalty kicks too. Some of them are horrible at that.

• vl 10 years ago

This was a very fine article about the Coach Kwesi Appiah who does deserver praise. My only worry was when the author referred him as an Ashanti.
    On the international stage we are all Ghanaians and on the local stage we are ...

• Great 10 years ago

I really can't believe this. How on earth should something like this be published for the world to read. Are we moving forward or backwards? It's a shame to the writer and whatever tribe he came from.

• E-man. USA 10 years ago

stupid writer he is, and a complete idiot

• eckow Amiss 10 years ago

this write should be banned from putting up such uneducative and outrageous article on the web. thought you guys will have some editors to check on what is posted. this article lacks substance and content.

• Ellis Isaac A. Bruce jnr (ga-mantse V 10 years ago

kwadwo asamoah has nt being performing well....due to the position given to him...........

both the two legs dede was a floop............
    fatau dawda was a suspect in the air balls..............
    kwesi appiah needed to va ...

• Awudu 10 years ago

you see how un professional journalist reports and create problems for themselves and for the country.
    what at all came into your mind to not stopping at Kwesi Appiah born in Ghana but Ashanti?..what do you want to say?...r ...

• kobby 10 years ago

was about to say the same thing when i saw your post. this certinly has nothing to do with ribalism. your nice article has just gone waste because of that. please be mindful of what u write for its not only Ashante's who read ...

• joel Appiah 10 years ago

ghana have very good misfilders but i couldn't understand when we get the ball we that hold it much longer does one of our problem in cairo

• AKARA 10 years ago

May see us through this competition successfully in Jesus Mighty Name!!!

• CHARLES KOFI,AFRICA 10 years ago

IT,S AMAZING HOW SOME GHANAIANS CAN BE SO STUPID.KKKK!HOW COULD YOU SAY APPIAH IS A GREAT COACH WHEN HE HAD WON NOTHING FOR GHANA.BS DO NOT PLAY ANY COHESIVE GAME IF YOU,VE NOTICED AND EVEN THE INDIVIDUAL SKILLS OF THE PLAYER ...

• Albert 10 years ago

Please let us edit our articles well before posting. Some of us also learn from such presentations. So many spelling mistakes. There is another article that says "ROUTE" for Kwasi Appiah instead of ROOT.