Entertainment

World Cup Draw: Up, Ghana; Hope springs eternal

Read Comments Comments (90)

• k. baah 10 years ago

well written article. in my comments elsewhere i have said that its going to come down to coaching if ghana is to survive the group stages. coach A.A strategy and tactics and player selection has to be tight!! or else forget ...

• MUJEED IBRAIMAH 10 years ago

Like what we read in the Bible, in the fight between David and Goliath, David was not given a dog's chance but with self belief and the strengh of God, we all know the outcome. Yes Germany and Portugal may look a very huge nu ...

• WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET 10 years ago

Free Internet tv streaming serving Ghanaians in the diaspora.
    WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET Brings You Live TV stations From Ghana.
    GTV, TV3, GTV Sports+, Adom TV Live, Joy News TV Live,
    Metro TV Ghana, e.tv And More.

• Trust Jesus 10 years ago

Continue doubting.The Stars will shine

• Choo Boi 10 years ago

Thank you "trust Jesus",if they are good,they are only good in Europe,but we are talking here about the "World"!!!!!!!Foward ever,Black stars ,just keep shining!!!!!

• Nii the Seer - Los Angeles 10 years ago

I have visited Brazil and lived in the North=East for a year in 2004. The weather is just like our humid Ghanaian climate. The Germans and Portuguese will be worn out midway through the second half and Ghana will have their w ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

They do not have three legs.
    I love that,my brother.
    WE CAN BEAT THEM SQUARELY.IF WE CAN HAVE THE CONFIDENCE,FAITH,ENTHUSIASM,POISE,TENACITY AND RESOLUTE WITH FOCUS,AVOIDING ANY UNTOLD DISTRACTIONS.
    We can win it all,trust ...

• TSUBASA 10 years ago

AS THE BIBLE SAY HORSES ARE PREPARE FOR BATTLE BUT VICTORY IS UPON YOU LORD.IETS ALL PRAY FOR THE BOYS.I KNOW THEY CAN MAKE IT IN JESUS NAME.

• Kofi Sammy 10 years ago

You write as if God is only on the side of Ghana alone. My brother God is also for the Germans , the Portuguese and the Americans...for every nation.
    Believe me it comes down to coaching. Football is a chess game.Unless our ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Expert advice. All this talk about religion, as if God has His favorite team and is cheering one team to win over the other. I am patriotic but it is going to be about tactical and strategical plays n coaching. Mind u it is a ...

• Harrison 10 years ago

We talked about AA needing help over and over. But it look like GFA is blind. They are not seeing what the masses are seeing. Forget about the WC with AA at the helm.

• O.K BOY 10 years ago

THE SAME THING HAPPENED IN GERMANY 2006 WHEN GHANA'S GROUP WAS INCLUDED CHECH, THAT TIME CHECH WAS THE NUMBER ONE TOP FLIGHT IN EUROPE. BUT YOU ALL SAW WHAT HAPPENED THIS COUTRY LOST TO GHANA. AGAIN, WAS IT EASY FOR THE GERMA ...

• OwusuP 10 years ago

THE PRESSURE IS OFF AS NOBODY EXPECT US TO MOVE BEYOND THIS GROUP AND THAT IS WHERE OUR STRENGTH LIES.WE HAVE TO PREPARE INTENSELY AND DEVISE OUR GAME PLANS FOR EACH COUNTRY WAY BEFORE WE GET TO BRAZIL.THESE COUNTRIES CAN NO ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

USA,PORTUGAL & GERMANY TEAMS can run,BUT CAN NEVER HIDE.
    I strongly believe,they are urinating and having toilets in their panties,but we don't see it.
    GHANA WILL GO AT THEM IN SUCH A FURIOUS MODE/CALIBRE,THAT THEY WILL HAV ...

• STAR BLACK 10 years ago

F A N T A S T I C !!!

• POW@ Group G for the 2 G's 10 years ago

Mark it each one of you. We are not going there to chicken in the group stages. Just wait and see, I don't care whether you believe it or not but Ghana will qualify to the next stage from this group G

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

Believe or not Kevin is the most feared player in European football today. Christain and his mates know this. He scores at will and under pressure. It would be a mistake to sit him down till we suffer before he struggles to r ...

LOVE YOU,,,,,AND I BELIEVE YOU AND I WILL SAY THE SAME THING IN FACT WILL REPEAT IT!!!GHANA WILL MAKE IT THROUGH and out of the Group stage..we are NOT AFRAID of any country....we are in to WIN and we will play our known game ...

• Sarskoberta 10 years ago

Neither is any of the countries going there to 'mouse the trap' OOPS! "to trap the mouse" and or to chicken-feed the group.

Who among the countries is the chicken or the mouse?
    They are all determined to oust the other. I ...

• Sarskoberta 10 years ago

Coach MRAA may have had the strategic and tactical controls under his his sleeves as you feared he might not.

This brings me to the begging question:
    How can he teach physical aggression, knowing that, the WC is a battle ...

OMG YOU are so on point!!!TRUST ME THEY ARE ALSO TERRIFIED TO FACE US TOO....and i am REITERATING YOUR POINT...AA knows VERY WELL AS WELL AS EVERYONE IN THE SQUAD!!!!!AND TRUSt ME MAN THEY ARE PREPARED....We will give it all ...

• HE`S NOT AFRAID 10 years ago

WORLD CUP DRAW:UP,GHANA HOPE SPRINGS ETERNAL

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

Leave this crazy writer.

Ghana is in NOT trouble at all. We expect to go to the world cup and play "weak" teams? And we forget "tough" teams will be on the way every time? Then how do we expect to bring the cup home, or t ...

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 10 years ago

Okay, this is the kinda guy I want to talk to. Look, Germany will not fancy playing Ghana, Portugal will think very deeply before coming to face us. USA we can deal with any day. You see guys, Ghana, Portugal or Germany, two ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

That's exactly what I thought.

OUR guys are great, great, great! We need "just a little" dose of focus and concentration.

Collect a team anywhere in Ghana, on the streets etc., and they could put up performance to dri ...

• dont change a functioning method 10 years ago

in brazil appiah has to follow the same method the serbian coaches used. Then in the quarter finals appiah and nyantekyi can experiment with any formation they desire to take us past where the serbs failed, ie the quarter fin ...

• kk 10 years ago

Body i advocade thanks you may be a state,an

• LONTO-BOY 10 years ago

When the stakes are high, it brings the best out of our Black Stars players. This isn't all doom and gloom. Facing Germany, Portugal and USA is going to be very tough but in football, you just never know. Our players certainl ...

• GHANAian 10 years ago

ITS CLEAR THAT THE BLACK STARS HAVE A HARD NUT TO CRACK. BUT FELLOW GHANAIANS, TAKE THE WEIGHT OF AN ARTICULATOR TRUCK. COMPARE WITH THE WEIGHT OF THE DRIVER? WHO CONTROLS THE TRUCK? AL VERY SIMPLE, IF HAVE A FAT(ARTICULATOR ...

• Kwame logoligi 10 years ago

Arn't you the sames Ghanaian people that was cursing Kevin Boateng for his "legs to be broken"? Now he is your savior, what a shame!!

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

To tell you the truth, LONTO-BOY, It was not much of a bother to me when they listed us alongside Germany. But, my heart just sunk the minute Portugal was somehow smuggled into our slot and I remember saying to myself repeate ...

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 10 years ago

Yes, our players may hail from a temperate country but they all play in Europe, remember? Any climatic advantage will be negligible.

Indeed it may be a blessing in disguise.My only worry is with Fatau Dauda.he rushes out by heart.He is jittery and not arable.Time for Olele to come back.Again the defense,there is no defender with the current set up as calm ...

Fatau is not stable and is jittery.we need Olele

I mean Kojo Asamoah and Sulley shielding the defence

• KOFI MUMUI 10 years ago

A daunting task ahead. GFA please get Milo to assist.

If Milo is that good,which team is he coaching now?Was he not sacked from his team when he left us.

Even Germany are scared of Ghana because they know we will not bow down easy off them to walk over us.

I think we should focus on beating of drawing Germany and that will surely do it.

As for the USA they can forget it ...

• GHANAian 10 years ago

BEFORE ITS TOO LATE. I REQUEST THE GFA TO WARN THE FIFA TO GIVE A VERY SINCERE AND TRUTHFUL REFEREES TO HANDLE BLACK STARS MATCHES. NOT TO GIVE US ANY RACIST AND BIAS REFEREES.

• NANA KUFUOR 10 years ago

It is rather not bad refereeing that will cause us but rather playing slow game or hanging too much on the ball will cause us red card. If we play our slow games, Cotinho collects the ball from one of our midfielders and pass ...

• Dr edusei 10 years ago

Coaching has nothing to do with it. Ghana will qualify if we are not lazy, pressure the ball , use your speed and attack. If we do what we do best in a hot Brazil climate , none of the teams will beat us. From midfield up, we ...

• OGYAKROM ENGINEER 10 years ago

DON'T LET HIM BREATHE STICK TO HIM AND HAMPER HIS EVERY MOVE REGARDLESS OF THE CONSEQUENCES AND YOU WILL NOT ONLY FRUSTRATE HIM BUT THE WHOLE TEAM.

• AMARIYA 10 years ago

I have great hope that, we would surprise the pundits, who think Ghana has no chance to advance the group stage. Our whole tactics to defeat the European teams, is concentration and self-motivation. As Kwasi Appiah said it, w ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

WHY AA NEEDS A FOREIGN TECHNICAL DIRECTOR
    LOL, POW, DIAMOND, SANTANA, Kofitse Kpoh
    UR LEVEL OF IGNORANCE IS QUITE DISTURBING. U HVE ACCESS TO THE INTERNET BUT U WANT ME TO TELL YOU STUFF? WHY DONT U GOOGLE UR QUESTIONS N ED ...

• OGYAKROM ENGINEER 10 years ago

WHO IS THIS IDIOT? ARE YOU A GHANAIAN OR JUST FAKING IT?

• ASL 10 years ago

My brothers anytime you see the stars in a hopeless situation that is where they perform credibly.
    It is time to surprise the world.

• Bismark Hamburg 10 years ago

Only hard work,Unity and Confidence matteres .Our Prayers too will help all the Players in Good Form and also Kwasi Appiah Coach.

• OSO 10 years ago

Whoever wrote the above article is a coward! This world cup is going to be played by men ,who all,have confidence in themselves.They have played among themselves times and over, except this time from different groupings.
    Di ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Those who were urging the national team to put Mahama's on the jersey, have not bargain more than necessary. I said before the draw that what NDC did in Egypt, was a bad omen and Ghana will face a formidable group and lo and ...

• KHEMEVOR ISRAEL 10 years ago

WHAT MAHAMA AND HIS PEOPLE DID AT EGYPT WAS SHAMEFUL AND DESPICABLE TO PUT IT POLITELY BUT LET US NOT IN OUR ANGER THROW THE BABY OUT WITH THE DIRTY WATER.THE COUNTRY AND BLACKSTARS DOES NOT BELONG TO MAHAMA OR NDC SO SUCCESS ...

• kojo 10 years ago

our group can not be group of death when we have nations like england italy uraguay in one group

• Felix 10 years ago

Yes! you may be right on your analysis however, don't forget that Portugal did not qualify for the World Cup hands down in their group. They had to qualify through play-offs. Were the same players not in their team when they ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

YES WE CAN!SAID OBAMA.
    I like your last statement.

No Bull,KWESI APPIAH & HIS GHANA BLACK STARS,ARE HEAVY.

We can match and beat them all,if we can gather the strength,poise,faith,confidence and use our God-given wisdo ...

• lee 10 years ago

Is this writer serious? Ghana has beaten USA in the last two WCs, and you give them the edge over Ghana because of some damn irrelevant FIFA ranking?...REALLY!!!!!! are you serious?????? We played against Germany in the last ...

• GC/USA 10 years ago

GHANA , GERMANY AND PORTUGAL ALL HAVE TALENTED PLAYERS BUT GHANA LACKS QUALITY COACH,TECHNICAL TEAM AND PLAYERS SELECTION TRIBAL BIAS.

• Nanaba 10 years ago

Ghana can stand agalnst any nation if we get compitend trainer the type of game against Egypt was poor

• james 10 years ago

where is your evidence of tribal bias,this is football/soccer.What has tribe got to do with a football game.Should Ghana get a white coach then.The coach should select 2 or 1 player from each tribe in Ghana to appease you.

• Guatemala,Tripoli. 10 years ago

Yes we are going to beat them be surprised,my Fellow Ghanaians we should not lose hope at all that our Group is tougher....

• kingsley 10 years ago

where is vorsah,boye

• james 10 years ago

Vorsah and Boye had injuries while playing for their European teams.

• Peter 10 years ago

The Ghanaians need to be courageous, confident and belief in God and themselves. They should not welcome any form of intimidation whatsoever and they would make it as they did in 2006.

You guys should pray for them, I mean ...

• MICHELSON 10 years ago

ASAMOAH GYAN'S BLACK STARS CLAIMS GHANA NO LONGER UNDERDOGS AT THE WORLD CUP SO WHY THE PANIC EVERYWHERE FOR GHANA'S GROUP PARINGS. WORLD CUP IS A PLATFORM OF UNCERTAINTIES AND NOT FOR QUARTER FINALS EGOISTIC BRAGGARDS.

• i like the confidence 10 years ago

Good,confidence Ghanaians i realy like Your high spirit of the game,i believe Ghana will og through,it does not matter big teams,all is need is to prepare and take Our chances when we playing against these countries,for me Gh ...

• J.O 10 years ago

We shall overcome

• kk 10 years ago

Ghana can't waste so many chances playing in this group. We outplayed the Germans in the last world cup but we ended up conceding the only goal of the game. We have a better team this time around and should do even better out ...

• BAFFOUR 10 years ago

we can is our dream if u afraid please wait for the ladies?

• Nana Antwi 10 years ago

I don't thing Black Stars are in trouble. If we change our goalkeeper and play John Mensah, Ghana will beat the USA. Portugal is not a problem as many predit. Solution for them is to get one strong and sharp person to follow ...

• R.KELLY 10 years ago

massa go home and scared your kids with those names cuz this is soccer and Ghana has the qualities to beat all three opponants...Ghana is going to led group G come 2014 and nothing can stop us

• Ruff.KELLY 10 years ago

beating Zambia and egpyt was the hardest hurdle blackstars has to go through to get to brazil and nothing is stopping this guys from advancing from group G...lets just work on our goal keeping errors and blackstars will be th ...

• S MENSAH 10 years ago

WE ARE AS GOOD AS ANY OTHER NATION - SO EVERY ONE SHOULD JUST SHUT THE FUCK UP AND ENJOY THE DRAW!!! IT'S A CHALLENGE - - - ISN'T LIFE FULL OF CHALLENGES??? STOKE BEAT CHELSEA 3:2 YESTERDAY.
    GHANA 2 : 1 GERMAN - - -- GHANA ...

• LEBENE AMEGBE 10 years ago

this is football anything can happen remember is 90min game and is eleven agaist eleven.

• Kusase Azumah 10 years ago

ghana want to take the cup .we should prepare and beat the best.that is all.no fear.

• KOFI OF AFRICA 10 years ago

COMPATRIOTS,

I DO NOT THINK MUCH OF THIS POST. IT IS BASED ON THE OLD DOOMSDAY SCENARIO.

IT IS A NON-STARTER, IN A WORLD CUP COMPETITION WHERE ALL NATIONS ARE ZONAL CHAMPIONS. FOR ANY ANALYST TO POST AN UNBALANCED ASSE ...

• Koo 10 years ago

I'm intrigue about the person who wrote the article. I think your writing style is commendable. Well done. For the real content and our chances, its down to lot of things....injury, weather, etc. So fingers crossed....not the ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

You write as if Ghana will be represented by Makola 11!

• JP 10 years ago

Your comment by far the funniest I ever read. Thank you, you made my day " Makola 11"

• sikdo 10 years ago

Ghana we.luck is not easy but is going to be easy enough for us who.is Germany.Portugal
    American we.are also Ghana God.bless Ghana

• MOMO 10 years ago

The Brazilians of Africa would lift the cup ion Brazil,
    Dont Fear and worryv or be dismay, be optismistic about the future because God is on our side, who ever taught Ghana could trench Egypt 6-1.... never but miracles do ha ...

• Kwabena Ansa 10 years ago

Black Stars, you should not harbor any inferiority complex. Any player in the team who have such complex ought to be ashamed of himself because those countries you are to face are no better than you.
    What you have to do is ...

• Emmanuel Etornam Kumah 10 years ago

Of a truth, i have never come across someone so pessimistic like Sammie Frimpong. Probably you should have written the threat Ghana poses to these countries. Germany beat Ghana 1-0 the last time we clashed, but let's face it ...

• Paa Kojo 10 years ago

I think our group is one of the "deadly" groups.

• Excel DOKU 10 years ago

ghana will get the whole world astonished as we will emerge the toppers of group g.with GOD all things are possible

• emma 10 years ago

kwasi appiah is hero for gh.

• JOHN DATSON 10 years ago

Ghanaians always stay for hope ....ghana FM RADIO STATIONS... should very careful open there lines to talk foolish about the stars to give them bad luck...our eye on them..all the Europe fear the stars...we live in Europe and ...

• FRED 10 years ago

WAT IS WRIITTEN IS WRITTEN

• AJAH B. 10 years ago

Yes we can! No mountain is high enough; no valley is low enough; no ocean is deep enough - Black Stars will shine on the world.

• Noah P, los angeles Ca. US 10 years ago

what a fuck is this..

• ziggy w 10 years ago

I will disagree with all those who say Ghana is in trouble, rather it is Germany Portugal and the U.S.A. who are in trouble. they are shaking in their boots and elsewhere. was I the only one rejoicing when the draw was made? ...

• bush boy 10 years ago

negative monkey you need to go to the ashes, you are a typical fool

Ghana, beat them all!shock them!teach them!for we are the SAME 2 legs we have.