Entertainment

What is tribalism?

Read Comments Comments (79)

• warren 10 years ago

who is stopping people from other regions naming schools after their kings? who is stopping establishment of ewe radio station? who says K4 doesn't speak Ga? didn't Ndc get 30% vote in Ashanti? isn't every tribe represented b ...

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY 10 years ago

Illiterate fool like you. Aren't there ashantis in Accra and other region? Do you know there are ashantis in volta too? The rat doesn't know his own history.

• warren 10 years ago

where in Accra or volta have ashanti's formed a town or are represented in a chief's palace?

• KOLA,LONDON MAIN 10 years ago

....they are purely bigots if you ever know them well.

I have lived with them, walked with them, talked with them and eaten with them but they still remain bigots.

As JJ said Kuffuor Monopolised Corruption, same as Asan ...

if there is so much hate and mistrust among us why do we continue to nurture this country , isnt it better we hold a referendum and each go our separate ways in peace like in Czechoslovakia. what belongs to everybody in reali ...

In your coconut you think you 'nuture' this country. In your poor knowledge and weak intelligence, you think you 'nurture' this country through your bigotry and hate for other tribes huh?

Hear you compare America to Ghana.

as usual in you thick pigheadedness you didnt understand the point , since we hate other tribes so much its best we separate . it was k4 who was asked to be a special envoy not your bullshitting fool rawlings who together wit ...

long live the republic of akan...fuck all the rest..die....obliterate yourselves!!!!

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

Just seen when I was about to go to bed. Been very busy and so no time for Ghanaweb.

Just a few observations. The Wikipedia definition of tribalism is very porous. It is descriptive rather than definitive, a common weaknes ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

Fool. When late Dr. F.K. Fiawoo established the Zion College of West Africa in 1936, why did he not name it Ewe College of West Africa? And Zion College of West Africa can boast of having both Ghanaians and non-Ghanaians as i ...

• Umslopogaas 10 years ago

Kpakpo is God-damned right! The issue is a complex one. My opinion is there are two phases of TRIBALISM: Negative and positive! What's glaring and apparent is the Ashanti's use of their primitive tribalism, not only to look d ...

• Man 10 years ago

What is going on in Ghana is not different from the rest of the countries in Africa. Ashantis been the majority and who had enjoyed substantial control over the rest of the Akan for a long time would naturally love to keep th ...

MR. MAN, THAT'S A VERY GREAT AND LUCID COMMENT AND OBSERVATION FROM YOU.

I DOFF MY HAT TO YOU, MY ASHANTI COUSINS, ALL AKANS AND ALL OTHER TRIBES IN GHANA.

MERRY X'MASS & HAPPY NEW YEAR.

• FOUNDING MEMBER 10 years ago

Mr MAN,God bless you...you've said it right.TRIBASIM HASN'T DONE ANY COUNTRY IN AFRICA ANY GOOD...TRUELY WE NEED TO WORK TOGETHER TO GET RID OF IT.

YES, YOU ARE REALLY UMSLOPOGAAS!! THE GREAT UMSLOPOGAAS OF SIR HENRY RIDER HAGGARD'S ALLAN QUARTERMAN'S FAME.

• warren 10 years ago

U don't even know the difference between Akan and Asante. to you everyone who speaks twi is Asante.

SWINE, GET AWAY FROM HERE AND GO CHOP SHIT.

• joe 10 years ago

Ashantis should grow up and stop looking down on all other tribes that are not Ashanti..!!!!!!

• aj-usa 10 years ago

dude,i am not ashanti but what`s going on here shows that most of ghanaians themselves dont even know the differences in the akan ppl.most of the non akan tribe think every one who speaks twi is an ashanti.be cos da writer hi ...

Who cares if there is no Ashanti-town in Volta? Do I really need one?

• warren 10 years ago

no wonder your name is vodoo.

Swine, hide behind the cassock to cover the countless human heads in your chief's palace.

• STUPID NAME-VOODO 10 years ago

ONLY AN EWE WILL CALL HIMSELF-VOODOO

IDIOT. I'M WONDERING WHETHER YOU EXPECT ME TO GO BY THE NAME YAA ASANTEWA?

• ASHANTI MONKEY 10 years ago

ASHANTI MONKEY,even your whore mother is also proud to be called MAMI ASHAWO

• EVIL-MIND 10 years ago

VOODOO ?

YES, I'M PROUD TO BE VODOO XEBIESO. WHAT'S YOUR HEADACHE ABOUT THAT? IS YOUR "ANTOA NYAMA" EWE? JUST THINK ABOUT THAT.

THANKS AND MERRY X'MAS PLUS A PROSPEROUS HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL OF US. WE ARE ALL PROUD TO BE GHANAIANS ...

• Ghana boy 10 years ago

man, u r really funny, huh....

• Yaw Poku, USA 10 years ago

That fool called Allotey, Henry Kpakpo is the most illiterate Ghanaian ever. Who told this nincompoop that TWI is tribe? For his info, Kofi Awonoor-Williams is still burning in HELL.

• KK 10 years ago

Awoonor said he was Ewe first and a GHANAIAN second. But you write that he is a GHANA second. He didn't say that! Then in the second half of the article, you write the correct thing.

Why don't you check to see that you wr ...

• Kofi Atta 10 years ago

U can adore Satan an nobody cares......did any Ashanti man go to Volta to stop them from having Ewe stations....I dont no what u r driving at.....Jj introduced tribalism into Ghana politics.....JJ tried as much as possible to ...

• Thief Mahama 10 years ago

Unintelligent piece.....Inferiority complex

• Yawose 10 years ago

Kpakpo you have got your points wrong. You have not researched well. Kofi Awoonor wrote that Ashantis should be kept consciously out of central power to reduce their influence. That was distateful and tribalisyic. By that Ko ...

• Ungrateful People 10 years ago

Yes the article is porous and lacks substance. Ghana first. You also take your time and research on your spellings. Merry Xmas

Another blatant liar. Juxtapose Busia's unfortunate "Apollo 568" with Kofi Awoonor's alleged write-up and see which of the two is tribalistic?

• Mr. Figure-Out 10 years ago

Trokosis are not just tribalists but disgusting haters. My Ashanti people could be tribalistic, which is instinctive and natural phenomenon, but one thing is certainly undeniable; thus, every one across the length and breat ...

Mr. Figure-Out, you get it wrong here. The so-called cat-eaters used their technical skills to build your Kumasi into what it is today. Way back in the late 1880s your stock were dwelling on trees and covered themselves with ...

• bill 10 years ago

You claim you dont hate but your write up is so far the worst of all respondents, filled with so much hatred and bitterness. Hmmmmm, posterity will be the judge.

Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!!, this is funny me bro.

• ASHANTI MONKEY 10 years ago

where from this MONKEY WITHOUT TAIL too? an ENDANGERED SPECIE like you...

• james bedu kojo graham from accra ga 10 years ago

The article is very good and necessary but let me insult all ghanaians in ghana and abroad.

we are all hypocrites and liars.

I am ghanaian I came back to ghana in 1995 after sojourning in brazil for 14 years.

the mos ...

• james bedu kojo graham from accra ga 10 years ago

in an ideal world there would be no tribes.

but I have to be realistic there will be always be ethnic groups and sytems.

So my fellow ghanaians I believe that federlaism where every group will have its own leaders and s ...

• Abu DHABI 10 years ago

ASHANTIS ARE EXTINTED SPECIE/ASHANTIS EXISTED SOME YEARS YEARS BACK:just ask your grand father if there is any real ASHANTI these todays,the people you see in the ASHANTI REGION today are about 60% NORTHENERS,10% EWE,20% bas ...

• Isaac 10 years ago

Kofi Awoonor was said to have written that after what Busia was forced by his Ashanti bosses to do to the numerous Ewes in the civil service at the time. And also what V Owusu was said to have accuse Ewes of and his open disp ...

• Ungrateful People 10 years ago

When you see yourself outside Ghana and you are asked of your nationality say you are Ewe or Akan. When he died in Kenya did they say an Ewe Professor died in the attack or a Ghanaian Professor died in the attack. When Azuma ...

• Isaac Osei 10 years ago

You have the whole concept of tribalism wrong! When people talk about tribalism,they are usually talking about the negative aspects of it like ,appointing unqualified people into sensitive positions when more qualified peopl ...

• Kojo Essuman 10 years ago

I am too busy but let me quickly draw your attention to the attitude of Gas in comparison with Ashantis,with regard to your allegations of TRIBALISM.Remember,the Ashantis believed that it was appropriate to name the Kumasi sp ...

Asantes did not name the sports stadium after Baba Yara, Sports council Did.

If not you would have named it Akwasi Appiah Sports Stadium........hahahahaha

• aj-usa 10 years ago

kola,do u know it is only ghana which will reward a coup planner like kotoka.was kotoka who over throw Dr Nkrumah an ashanti,i know u come out with words to deny it but go to youtube videos and u will fine it there.

Stupid fool. Sport council as well did name Accra Sport Stadium after Ohene Djan too, but fools like you called for it to be changed.

I can see this is eating into your dark smelly skin.

• Kwaku Addai 7 years ago

And now has Oko Vanderpuye not successfully stripped off the Akan name Ohene Djan from Accra Sports Stadium?

• KOFI NSIA 10 years ago

Kpakpo,have you ever met any white person in the United Kingdom who identify himself/herself as an Iceni?You can"t even find them in Norfolk,why? Which tribe does your children belong?Akans are the most accommodating people a ...

• minimi 10 years ago

Which survey hv u conducted to find out that the Akan are the most accomodating of all tribes in Ghana? Im sure Gas, Mamprusis, Dagombas, Eves, and co would also say the same about thier tribes. This types of self glorificati ...

Don't you know this obvious truth? Come and look at what Collins Dauda's brother, Naaba, and Salifu Eleven and some other northern gangsters are doing in Goaso. Can an Akan man live in Bimbila or Bawku and molest their people ...

Because they don't have the money and the technical know-how to set up radio stations period.

• Saint James 10 years ago

Is this Kola really educated,at least up to primary school level ?

• Frank Appiah 10 years ago

Kojo,I know you are from the Central Region and you are definitely not one of those tribalists on this forum.I really appreciate your comments on this forum.You are fair-minded,candid and objective.You have really dismissed H ...

• aj-usa 10 years ago

kpakpo or what ever u call urself,u must be ashame of urself even saying ur married to an Ashanti woman with two kids with her.i wonder what`s dat woman will be going through in her marrital home with such a hypocrite husband ...

• Nana Antwi-Berko 10 years ago

You're a goat aj-usa! The truth hurts but it remains so. I wish I didn't have Antwi-Berko on my name sometimes. You listen to people like Kofi Jumah, Sir John and cohorts and you wonder what pit they were dug from & you feel ...

• fuseni 10 years ago

Ayittey kpakpo, this inferiority complex go kill you oooo. What has ashantis done kraaaaa. I have had the opportunity to live at least eight out of the ten regions in ghana. I have never seen such an accommodating people lik ...

• jones 10 years ago

this man is very very stupid

• Abbey 10 years ago

For fairness in governance to be achieved in Ghana and Africa, the constitution need to change so that only hail from would stand to be voted in all areas. Also need properly decentralization of regions headed by hail from.

• raman ayishetu 10 years ago

Until they stop being entrepreneurial, they will forever dominate ghana. They control every thing in ghana

• jones 10 years ago

ewe man posing as a ga. kwasiato!

• saaa 10 years ago

Kpakpo provided his phone no and address, why dont you check up on him? Why are you so wary of Ewes even as they seemed not to care about you?

• Sintim 10 years ago

Give the dog a bad name in order to hang it.Oh poor Asante!!!they`ve labeled you matemeho and many worst names but you do not seem to care,are you all that weak and craven as they are suggesting,remember that you are older th ...

• James Quartey 10 years ago

I am happy you are claiming you are a Christian first.You may take food for thought in the Biblical stance "Remove the mote in your eye before you talk about the speck in somebody's eye."I hope you read Kojo Essuman's respons ...

• Ohenenana 10 years ago

Hi kakapo you come across as intelligent but your arguments just doesn't add up. You've made an enormous effort to justify nyebro awoonoo ethnocentric assertion but no matter how you clothe it, it was tribalistc and inapprop ...

• GT. ACCRA IS NOT A TWI REGION 10 years ago

We the gadangmes are very unhappy about our chiefs selling off all our lands to non-natives depriving generations to come a place to expand.Please warm our chiefs we shall soon come after them.We Gadangmes are wounded lion in ...

• TWI PEOPLE STOP INVADING-ACCRA 10 years ago

Akanisation of Greater Accra

Since independence there has been a deliberate attempt by Akans particularly (Twi-Ashantes) and within their political establishments (from JB Danquah era and counting to take over Accra from G ...

• GHANABA 10 years ago

list all the natural resources that Ghana have,give a percentage to every region according to what comes from that particular region,then you will found out that GA-DANGME region is the least productive.Ask yourself,why every ...

• GADANGMES WAKE UP 10 years ago

gadangmes rise up and take control of GT.Accra.Stop being the driver and be the passenger. We have contributed our quoter to Ghana and yet when its comes to giving out political appointments-they say we are minority.To hell w ...

• YABRE O YABRE 10 years ago

OVER 200 PLUS MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT WAKE UP AND MOVE THE CAPITAL AND ALL THE MINISTRIES FROM GREATER ACCRA REGION!WE THE MAJORITY ARE FED UP!

• Saint James 10 years ago

Kojo,you are candid and objective.You have completely torn Kpakpo Allotey's article into pieces.I always like your comments.Keep it up.

• Alex, London. 10 years ago

I will be very offended if someone asks me what tribe I belong to. In Ghana I would prefer to be asked where I come from? I would respond by saying from Somanya in Eastern region, Sunyani in Brong Ahafo or Bekwai in Ashanti ...

• Abu DHABI 10 years ago

"WALAHI" today's ASHANTIS are NORTHENERS and EWES...no real ashantis in this modern Ghana.

• Estelle 10 years ago

People, we do not have to insult Mr Kpakpo 4 a job done. this is wat he thinks n feels n am gonna support him in it. sum points r funny bt it is d hard core truth. as a matter of fact, am stealing d article....lol. tanx a lot ...

"We should try to clip the wings if the Akans..." Kofi Awonoor.
    That's not good enough. If you justify Awonoor's fallout that he is an Ewe first before he is a Ghanaian then I believe that truly Votarians are more Ewes ...