Ghana High Commission, UK & Embassy, US Actions Unconstitutional

Read Comments Comments (38)

• Mobutu 10 years ago

Point well taken

• KANE 10 years ago

IN GHANA, EVERYONE IS PREOCCUPIED WITH MAKING EASY CASH FOR HIMSELF OR HERSELF.

A FOREIGN MINISTER LEAVES HER JOB IN GHANA, AND TRAVELS ALL THE WAY TO THE UK AT TAXPAYERS EXPENSE JUST TO DELIVER THIS "SERMON".

AND THIS ...

• Anne 10 years ago

thanks, i i will spread the news

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Anne, if you are happy to provide your e-mail address, I can send you copies of the Supreme Court ruling. This goes to any reader who provides his/her e-mail address.

Please spread the news amongst your family, friends and ...

• kwasipong 10 years ago

Hi Kofi, I’ve been reading your articles on this forum and I quite admire your intellect and effort to enlighten and educate the public on certain aspects of Ghanaian society whether political, economical or educational.

• Flabbergasted 10 years ago

I hope Ghanaian Missions are all aware of this interpretation of the SC ruling. Please, make this article available to all Ghanaian Missions. Thank you for this information.

• KANE 10 years ago

IN GHANA, EVERYONE IS PREOCCUPIED WITH MAKING EASY CASH FOR HIMSELF OR HERSELF.

A FOREIGN MINISTER LEAVES HER JOB IN GHANA, AND TRAVELS ALL THE WAY TO THE UK AT TAXPAYERS EXPENSE JUST TO DELIVER THIS "SERMON".

AND THI ...

• KANE 10 years ago

HANNAH TETTEH AND CO. SHOULD BE FORCED TO PAY FULLY FOR THIS USELESS TRIP TO THE UK, AND NO PER DIEMS WHATSOEVER.

• Yaw Bee 10 years ago

Kofi your point is well taken but i can assure you that these immigration guys in Ghana will give you a hard time.It's very disgusting you are in line at the airport after a long flight and you see these guys laughing and cha ...

• iPad 10 years ago

Mr Atari thanks for this..
    This is institutional thievery. For years the government of Ghana has held the Ghanaian diaspora in contempt and continue to do so irrespective of the huge remittance we contribute to the developme ...

• Akyeampong kwaku 10 years ago

Mr.Ata, what prevents you from writing to Akufo Addo that you are 'his'
    KOFI ATA.
    Iam sure he will reward you adequatelly.

• quantum 10 years ago

kwasia kwa. respond to his well reasoned article and stop the nonsense

• Ebo Mends, New York 10 years ago

I have believed, and written, that corruption is one of the causes of our underdevelopment. However the more I read from people like you, I cannot help but agree that our inability and unwillingness to enforce even the most ...

Ebo, you are absolutely right that no process/es is/are required when any Ghanaian who lost his or her Ghanaian citizenship decides to regain it by dual citizenship. Neither the Act that restored the the citizenship nor the S ...

• Kwesi 10 years ago

Are you telling us here that you, Kofi Ata, contributed to ending the controversy over whether Akufo-Addo went to Oxford or not? Why do you give yourself credit for something you didn't do? Those of us who followed your very ...

Kwesi, until I made public the confirmation from Oxford University that Nana Akufo-Addo was a student there, the controversy had raged on in Ghana since 2008. Again, until that both Nana Akufo-Addo and NPP kept silent over th ...

• Kwesi 10 years ago

Kofi, it was not your posts that ended the controversy. Your letters from Oxford did not resolve the issue. After your last post on this matter, it still continued on ghanaweb and elsewhere. People like Bokor Michael continue ...

My posting confirmed beyond any reasonable doubt that Nana Akufo-Addo went to Oxford. However, it did not answer the question on why he left and that is what may be outstanding in some people's mind as different reasons were ...

• Kofi Osei 10 years ago

Thank you very much Kwesi well said and nicely put. I really don't care which party is in power in Ghana as long as they can provide the basic life needs of Ghanaians. Kofi Ata waisted his time and got nothing good from that. ...

Kofi Osei, I do not regret what I did but rather proud of it. The matter was of national interest, about integrity and honesty. That was why the Office of the Information Commissioner ordered Oxford University to respond full ...

• Kofi Osei 10 years ago

I must admit your a very good researcher but for all the wrong reasons. It would benefit Ghana and Ghanaians in general if you could write about the state of our economy, the poor standard of education and the basic needs of ...

• TonyPM 10 years ago

Hey Kofi.

• TonyPM 10 years ago

Good job, Kofi. I will get back to you on this.

• Titugri 10 years ago

Kofi Ata has just opened the food gates for Ghanaians in the diaspora to exercise their civil rights and duties to register and vote in any subsequent elections in Ghana.

I think the EC intentionally denied Ghanaians in t ...

• Nii Adjei 10 years ago

where would my loyalty be if i am serving two masters at the same time?

• Dokurgu 10 years ago

Why did the Minister have to suffer explaining? Ghanaians who acquired foreign nationalities in the past were required to first renounce their Ghanaian citizenship. If now they wish to become Ghanaians once more, it is logica ...

Dokuru, I never renounced my Ghanaian citizenship when I took up British Citizenship. I only swore allegiance to the sovereign (Queen). I also believe that is the case for most countries where dual citizenship are allowed so ...

• ghanaman 10 years ago

For the record, in Germany, an applicant for German naturalization has to renounce his/her Ghanaian citizenship. Rather unfortunate, but it has remained so till date.

• Kwesi 10 years ago

Then what should they do if they want to go to Ghana? Obtain two passports and use both interchangeably? Or pay visa fees everytime they go to Ghana if they don't have a Ghanaian passport? That, in the end, will be more costl ...

Kwesi, it appears you are bent on disagreeing with me. Are you suggesting that the nine Supreme Court Justices were wrong to rule the dual citizenship application and the issuance of a dual citizenship certificate unconstitut ...

• TonyPM 10 years ago

Kofi, the point is that if it is unconstitutional then it doesn't matter how I present myself. I am a Ghanaian, period. My US passport says Country of Origin: Ghana. That should be enough to identify me as a Ghanaian. I l ...

Tony, unfortunately your US passport stating that you are a Ghanaian is not sufficient. You must prove to the Ghanaian passport issuing office/r that you are a Ghanaian either by your old Ghanaian passport, birth certificate ...

• TonyPM 10 years ago

You will be surprised. The current Ambassador's relative is married to my cousin. I have met him before at a family function. I can go to my church and get a baptism certificate. As far as tracing it, I have no hope. I l ...

• Kwesi 10 years ago

I didn't make any pronouncement on the decision of the Supreme Court. I didn't disagree with you on that. I just felt not paying for dual citizenship card will not resolve the issue. Perhaps another court case will be needed ...

Yes, the next action is to bring contempt of court action against the The Attorney General, ministries of Foreign Affairs and Interior and Ghanaian missions abroad who are still processing dual citizenship applications. The q ...

• Kwesi 10 years ago

Often laws that are not respected or are lying dormant must be triggered off by something like that for it to be brought up and discussed and implemented. I hope your effort results in something like that.

This is really n ...

Kwesi, when it comes to this matter I agree with you that it's not politics. The imposition of dual citizenship application was the work of the Kufuor administration but the court case was in 2012. I also believe when it come ...

• Kofi Osei 10 years ago

Am sorry Kofi but looks like Nana has more important issues on his mind. What did you really achieve regarding if Nana went to Oxford or not?
    Have read about Winston Churchill and his education?
    You should use your time a ...