Entertainment

A Profoundly Accurate Assessment of the African Problem

Read Comments Comments (31)

• Ghanaman1 10 years ago

The USA has its own problems. The white boy should solve Americas problems first.

• Tommy 10 years ago

I don't think Packer was heeding Kennedy's call which specifically required US citizens to ask what they can do their country (USA) not what they can do to poor countries. One may argue that Packer on a Peace Corp mission to ...

• Larbi Asare 10 years ago

You have said it the right way. This is complete rubbish. These are the things who are prepared to lick the anus of the so called white man. The peace corp was not a demand from Africans.It is a means of projecting the imperi ...

• Daniel K. Pryce 10 years ago

Yes, Packer was heeding Kennedy's call for service -- whether inside or outside the U.S.A. One of the things Americans are good at is selling their brand of democracy, education, culture, etc., which is nothing new to African ...

• Tommy 10 years ago

"His willingness to take up this dangerous assignment" I don really know what exactly you mean by dangerous assignment.If we continue to project Africa as a dangerous place, then we have no reason to condemn the West, when th ...

Tommy, I put dangerous in inverted commas because that's not my view of Africa -- that's others' view. My job, as a Ghanaian and African, is to project the continent in positive light.

It is true that some Westerners refe ...

• Nanasei 10 years ago

You "Ghanaman1" has never ever talked sense on Ghanaweb. I just pity for you. I wonder how you live your miserable life on a daily basis.

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

Really, Packer who was a senior and would be at most 21 to 22 years at that time was "in love" with a woman, Christine who had 8 children already? Christine might be our African goddess then.

Danny, long time! Hope you are ...

Thanks, my brother. I am well--just been busy.

• francis kwarteng 10 years ago

Dear Brother,

How are you doing?

I hope you remember telling our problem is ours to solve, not the West's or Asia's.

Unfortunately, the West is part of the African problem. Most of these dictators you mentioned in ...

Hello Brother Pryce,

Please try and watch Democracy Now every day if you have the time. It's usually hosted by Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez.

First, read Tom Ashbrook's "The Power Elite and Nepotism in America." Then r ...

• Monika 10 years ago

Don't you see the guy is working hard to finish his dissertation in Criminology, and not Political Science or the exploitation of blacks by whites?

What have all those books, articles, court cases, TV shows, etc. you reco ...

Hello,

Yet he had the time to write!

Then he should have waited before his doctorate his article.

Daniel K. Pryce has also responded responded to some of my concerns. I believe he will respond to the rest when he ...

Dear Brother,

Please find time to read "Illicit Financial Flows from Africa: Hidden Resource for Development."

This comprehensive report was prepared by the Global Financial Integrity (Dec. 2008). This should add to yo ...

Francis,

I identify with many of the arguments you've made in your three separate comments, and although I agree with some of them, I have my own views about the provenance and causes of the African problem. Additionally, ...

Dear Brother,

Your piece is beautiful but it represents an oversimplification of the problem and it explicit and implicit solutions. We need to inlcude he West in decisions we take. Many of the legacies of colonialism, sla ...

Thanks for the follow-up, Francis.

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

My answer is very simple. Africans have short memories on right and wrong. Look at Ghana. Mahama attacked Akufo-Addo's policy of free education, calling it sakawa, yet Ghanaians are very at home with Mahama when he said that ...

Akadu, I am pleasantly surprised you did not call me any names today! Hmmm, is it the sign of the times?

Well, I'll graduate in May, but I am not sure where/to whom to send the invitation! Lol!

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 10 years ago

I am pleasantly surprised too.
    Wonders will never end!!

Greetings, Brother Sammy!

Greetings, my good brother, and the best writer and scholar on Ghanaweb. Greetings!!

Brother Sammy,

Thanks but I think you, Kofi Amenyo, Kwarteng, and Ahoofe are all better writers than yours truly!

• Monika 10 years ago

... Akadu writes well too, only that he refuses to write prose which would have conveyed his concerns better than the kind of poetry he thinks he excels in so much. And his partiality (for NPP/Akufo-Addo) and tribalism (again ...

• Monika 10 years ago

Yevu may be made to translate as "cunning or tricky dog" but that is not how the word Ewes use for whites may have originated. The origins may be more benign than that. This issue has been discussed on ghanaweb before.

Ma ...

You write:
    Note too that the Twi word "obibini" refers to a black person even though no part of that word has any relation with the Twi word for the colour black."
    This is not true. The word "obibini" has a relation with th ...

• Monika 10 years ago

Thanks for that, SAS. I will add that to my stock of knowledge. Very useful.

One little question: will every native Twi speaker know this?

No.

Sammy, thanks for this great lesson. I also learned something new today!

Thanks for sharing your views with us! I think Packer's views may be based on both his observations and the things he was told by the locals in Togo. This means that his assertions may be incorrect, but, overall, I see the bo ...

• Monika 10 years ago

Oh no, I don't blame Packer if the etymologies of yevu and sodabi were rendered incorrectly. Packer was not a linguist researching into these things. He made it plain in his narrative that these were what he was told by the l ...