Entertainment

Appiah must be bold enough to omit Essien from the squad

Read Comments Comments (87)

• JJT 9 years ago

There is a reason why Appiah is the couch and you are not. So shut up and leave him to do his job.

• Chasoo Kas 9 years ago

You are entitled to your opinion even when it's wrong. Do you realize how vital it is to have a mix of experienced and young squad at high level tournaments like the world cup ? Essien would be an important member for Akwesi ...

• Mr.N 9 years ago

Only a fool and Self-hatred or self-loathing would make a comment like this!! "Any competent white coach would not send Essien to world cup."

I would not have called him idiot and Self-hatred if he has not used the "white ...

• GHANAian 9 years ago

Why writing such garbage on a player who has vouched to play for his nation.
    Even if he is 100 years and has the strength to play for his nation, what is wrong with that.
    Such articles don't do any good to nobody. The write ...

• Coach 9 years ago

Age cheating has caught up with Michael Essien. His soccer age of 31 cannot be true. He is at least 38 years old whose style of playrrequires strength and agility.

Very soon players like Muntari 29, Agyemang Badu, 23 and o ...

• Ern 9 years ago

Why is their age important? If they can still play competitively, let them play........ if your real age is 40 and you can play I will pick you. If your real age is 26 and you cannot play, I will not pick you. At the end of t ...

• mike gee 9 years ago

That would be a smart move, Ghana look at USNMT and Donovan.
    All people talk about is Essien when was the last time he played 45mins taking his age and health into account. He's more of a liability than an asset

• CEREBRAL 9 years ago

1. AC Milan would not have signed Essien recently if he Essien did not have anything to offer.

2. There mutual respect and camaraderie between Essien, Muntari, Gyan, and KPG. Essien, Muntari and KPG have links with AC Mila ...

• Adom 9 years ago

@cerebral the only reason you gave that I agreed with was the fact that Essien will love to give a performance to be remembered at his last WC appearance.Unfortunately this is not a personal project.If that is a good enough r ...

• Ern 9 years ago

Adom, Vorsah is not such a bad idea! Where is he anyway? I bet he is injured

• madman 9 years ago

massaa u also have a problm.ur opinions are mad

• FREEMAN 9 years ago

ESSIEN in Black Stars is a delight. Thank you Ofa for reminding us. Zambia almost beat us in Ghana. It was the entry of Essien in the 2nd half that changed things. He was a delight. The Zambia Coach said this over and over. A ...

• bomba 9 years ago

I don't blame this Raymond or what ever he calls himself.i blame ghanaweb who gave this idiot space to write this garbage. nonsence

• kbu 9 years ago

agree. become a coach if you think you can do better brother

• mkz 9 years ago

foolish writer

• Wakati 9 years ago

Raymond Yeboah I will advise you to see your doctor, something is getting wrong in your head. Essien will not give you any money to write anything good about him. You are mentally sick so see your doctor before it's too late. ...

• UNCLE KOFI 9 years ago

REMEMBER A BLACK OLD MAN IS STRONGER THAN A WHITE OLD MAN

• Kwesi Park Egyinamboa 9 years ago

Are you being paid to do this? Then you better refund that money before it's too late. If I were a coach, even Stephen Appiah would be in this squad. At this stag of the competition, it's more of strategic plays and ball sens ...

• Babu 9 years ago

I don't think you know what you are talking about.

• Coach 9 years ago

Yea, why not, field Appiah, Abedi, Tony Yeboah, C.K Akunnor, Sammy Kuffour, Konadu, Opoku Nti etc and make Osei Kofi Captain, he has more experience than all of them.

• Babu 9 years ago

I agree 100%..

Essien is a spent force. All he does these days is just guide the ball without tackling.

Essien today is not Essien of yesteryears, he does not play like he use to and looks like he is afraid to tackle.

• s== 9 years ago

what an idiot....

• the truth 9 years ago

Football is for the fit and strong. How can Essien for instance compete with Yaya Toure inmidfield. yaya will rough him up.
    His time is gone.

• anokwale 9 years ago

I would not be concerned if Essien was dropped. He is slower and less agile than he used to be. I think he is just being brought along to play the role that Stephen Appiah played last WC. A veteran to bring onto the field ...

• Tuga 9 years ago

Why fools are still making noise. Kwasi Appiah can't be dictated live him alone, he knows what he is doing. I will encourage the gentleman that posted this comments to give his piece of advice to "abusua pannin" Ghana has too ...

• GANI GANI 9 years ago

STUPID COPY CAT . AN AFRICAN MAN WHO WANTS TO COPY END UP OVERDOING IT . PLEASE GIVE US A BREAK !!

• Bob Santo 9 years ago

l am sorry for all those saying Essien should be dropped they are cassava sellers not football fun Akwasi don't mind them you are on top.

• samgoody 9 years ago

u are a big fool u don t know anything about football so shut up and let those who know talk so u can learn cus what u are saying is nonsense

• bonkete 9 years ago

you are a big fool ,who doesn't cheat in soccer .even if he is 100years old he is better than more than half of the players going

• jay 9 years ago

esssien is vital for ghana,roger miller played with experience,mark my words down,essien will shine big time in this wm

• Johnson Mensah 9 years ago

Did you watch ghana vers Egypt? 6-1 Critize or juge his performance and come out again

• Gordon Yeboah,USA 9 years ago

ever since i knew Raymond as a co teacher,he always criticises wrongly.do you think u are better in critism than "things fall apart" by Chenua Achebe and "anasewaa" by Efua T Sutherland?what is this?u have wrong impression ab ...

• JOJO 9 years ago

you agument doesn't make sense Ray, we are not USA, GERMANY or any other team for that matter. answer this how old was Roger Milla when he went to the world cup and how fast was he? Essien presence in the team regardless of h ...

• Raymond sam 9 years ago

Let us give the coach the chance to choose any players he thinks may be of use to his team and the country.If I may ask,did you watch the matches Ghana played against Zambia and Egypt?That alone will tell and show you the cap ...

• Henry Appertey S.A 9 years ago

that is your sweet view but am sorry you are not the coach.

thank you

• Kofi Yankey 9 years ago

Mr. writer watch your English. Learn to use your full stops and commas properly. You have consistently misused commas in place of full stops in all your pieces. You write a lot so it is about time for you to set a good exampl ...

• Ern 9 years ago

Raymond Yeboah is another idiot talking out of his arse!
    Who is Rynn Giggs? Or do you mean RyAn Giggs?
    Who is London Donovan? Or do you mean LAndon Donovan?
    Who is Ronaldos? Do you mean Ronaldo?
    Who is Ozils? Do you mean ...

• Kwajo michael from 9 years ago

Some gents aa talking abt ronaldo and kaka with out call from brazil squard thy must to no dat Brazil have a lot of prayer but wen we comes to our Ghana which prayers aa there compare with Brazilians .please gents must put d ...

• Sirry 9 years ago

Thanks, you've quench the flame with wisdom.

• S.Markin 9 years ago

We have Asamoah Gyan, KPB,Waris..all can play forward,Essien, Wakaso, Badu
    K.Asamoah,midfield,(Rabiu Surplus) Schlupp, Afful; Opare,Akaminko,Rashid, Jonathan,and Boye enough, Essien can be shifted if necessary..(Inkoom Surpl ...

• Kwajo michael from 9 years ago

Please michael essien need to pray dis world cup .Becous had expelience future for black stars .the young prayer like ado'jordan ayew 'essien can do butter dan dam Ghana must take care Abt essien Tanx ?

• Jamjam 9 years ago

Who is this idiot?

• BB 9 years ago

Yeboah don't bring yourself just leave Essien alone ok? Don't let me slap you ok?Do you know the joy and hope Essien brought to the squad?Mind your speech okay?

• sas 9 years ago

I have said it b4,He is not 100% fit like KPB there4 to avoid too much injured players drop Essien who is not active as b4 and also old and take KPB, that is my opinion.

• Thomas 9 years ago

Does he get playing time in Milan ? Why

• Kwadwo Nsonamoah 9 years ago

I think the guy does not know what he's talking about? Did he watched Ghana against Zambia at Kumasi Sports stadium at all. it was the experience Essien inclusion in the second half that won the game for Ghana. he should stop ...

• Yaw Nkansah 9 years ago

YOU SHOULD JUST BE THROWN IN JAIL!

• abunjolly 9 years ago

master, why everybody want ackam out of the 23 man squad huh? this is not fare at all please you guys should allow the coach okey and i know he surely prov you guys wrong again

• samuel 9 years ago

If you watched ghana vs egypt you would note that without essien in the team ghana would not win 6:1. So i ask writer how can one be of age in just six months?

• Roberto 9 years ago

A reputable company is looking for serious people to work with. Salary ranges from $ 500 and above.QUALIFICATION: Graduates and non-graduates,serious minded people,computer literate and self-motivated individuals. Call or wha ...

• rico 9 years ago

Better get your own ticket go there and Omit Essien, whether you like or not the Bison rules we don't care.

• King 9 years ago

Fuck you boy

• HD 9 years ago

you dont know anything about football so just shut up

• zebra 9 years ago

What has donovan done in football to compare him with essien? Essien has played in almost every major league and ream has donovan? Essien played for Lyon, Chelsea, real Madrid and now Milan while donovan couldn't even make it ...

• Haj Yussif 9 years ago

That is your opinion and that is why we all have different lenses. Many in the world of football will disagree with your opinion including me. Many of the white coaches need to learn from our Black Coach "Appiah" if he select ...

• Yeboah Richmond 9 years ago

I think some of us have to stop saying things we are not really sure about that,because most of Ghanaians love soccer but they don't understand it,like Raymond Yeboah,my brother if you don't like Essien does it mean he should ...

• mr Man 9 years ago

som people dnt deserve any space in any media kroaaaa>>>>> wher frm dis so cald writer to>>>> minfua sane>>> ma guy>> komot for der

• Abele 9 years ago

This is the first time I am agreeing with this bias reporter. Essien is not strong ,sharp and lacks speed. We need young and hard running players for the world cup. He should be dropped .Period

• sir adjei 9 years ago

This writer paaaaaa ahh. I will a 70% fit Essien over any midfielder Ghana has to offer.

• JUSTIN U.S 9 years ago

I read through almost all the comments made concerning Raymond's article and found out that most people's comments are mostly emotional but not positive nor negative critique. Let me break down the body and soul of this artic ...

• OSEI KWAME 9 years ago

I perfectly agree with Raymond, the three players mentioned, Essien, Albert Adomah and David Accam must be cutout from the team. Kwasi Appiah must be bold to take them out from the theme.

Nobody should tell him to do that ...

• Kwaku 9 years ago

Osei are you stupid,why did you say that...What about pirlo and others...Do you think if klisman has cutout Donavon we too should cutout Essien and co..Fool and stupid that is what you are..Fuck you.. why do you always like t ...

• Kwaku 9 years ago

Raymond Yeboah,You wanted Appiah to drop Essien from his squad ,Are you alright....Why do we Ghanaian like underrating our hero,Let me asked you,Who is the key player in the Man city team...Do you think if Essien is white man ...

• madman 9 years ago

this writer is mad. withouth essien no ghana player has confident. without essien would u have been able to beat zambia and egypt?mad talk,u koraaa who gave u d power to publish.even ur english is substandard and u not suppos ...

• ofa k 9 years ago

this yeboah guy is thinking from anus. he need not being taken serious

• FREEMAN 9 years ago

ESSIEN in Black Stars is a delight. Thank you Ofa for reminding us. Zambia almost beat us in Ghana. It was the entry of Essien in the 2nd half that changed things. He was a delight. The Zambia Coach said this over and over. A ...

• Sammy 9 years ago

Jordan Ayew must be axed from the squad

• Sammy 9 years ago

Essian will use Brazil to showcase himself for market.

• THOMAS 9 years ago

how can u compare landon donovan to essien

• OB 9 years ago

You've defeated your own argument by saying "Any competent white coach...." Appiah is competent but not white so do not expect him to do what a "competent white coach" would do. You should have said "Any competent coach" and ...

• EMMA 9 years ago

Stop this. Just read the many objective comments by others and stop this bad campaign on NAMING players who should be sent out of Black Stars. Do you imagine what this can do to the three players you just named? hired by othe ...

• stone 9 years ago

massa i think you are right. essien does not play for ac milan for some time now, i don't think he can help Ghana at this world cup in Brazil. he doesn't need to join the squard at all. you know whn Essien was fully fit he d ...

• kk 9 years ago

who gave this swine of a fool the space here to write such nonsense. asshole

• S.Markin 9 years ago

Tweaa u craze, how dare u compare Donovan with Essien? U craze, who is Kinsman? Backward article, talk about Fatau, Rabiu and Inkoom to be dropped not Essien or Adomah, Adomah is the only natural winger we have...we need him. ...

• Arafaat 9 years ago

Did u watch Ghana Vs. Egypt in Kumasi? Did u watch Ghana Vs. Zambiam in Kumasi? Did u watch Ghana vs. Montenegro? Check the performances of Michael Essien b4 you come out with this stupid, out of touch suggestions. Why did th ...

• ADONGO 9 years ago

STUPID COMPARISON .THOSE PLAYERS WERE NOT BETTER THAN ESSIEN

• Wofa Yaw 9 years ago

wo ye kwasia beberee. dwen woho

• kwame 9 years ago

select the writer

• Morgan 9 years ago

you dey craz, who are you to write this crab.. next time you write this nonsense i go burn you alive.. fool

• Nii Lartey 9 years ago

This is pure hatred not a writing. Names also plays psychologically in football Appiah must be careful of his enemies.

• danity 9 years ago

useless writer hv u kicked ball b

• Baruwanga 9 years ago

If Essien was good enough, Mourinho would have kept him likewise Seedorf of AC Milan.
    Essien is off form and cannot compete with strong and fast pace players of world cup standard. If he is included in final team, I would sa ...

• Kwame Boafo 9 years ago

Normally i tolerate people's opinions even if I don't agree but Raymond Yeboah must be corrected before he makes such stupid statements for us all to read. Any competent white coach???? You make me vomit, this mentality is be ...

• DEBA 9 years ago

raymond wo mame twe wate.

• Puncho 9 years ago

Kindly tell ur mother to divorce ur father bcos in reality, he is aged and not active. Like u said, U can't cheat nature. I don't blame U, but editor of Ghana web.

• Rudebwoy Ranking 9 years ago

Have you ever played football before ?? Do you have sense at all ?? WE NEED EXPERIENCE FOOTBALLERS TO TAKE GHANA FORWARD -- GET SOME WATER TO DRINK -- YOU ARE A SON OF A BITCH !! KWASIA WRITER -- MICHAEL ESSIEN IS MY MENTOR !

• lukeman 9 years ago

Have you ever play football be 4 Raymond?