Entertainment

Doyen of Ghana Politics - J. B. Danquah, A Tribute

Read Comments Comments (49)

• ADJOA WANGARA 9 years ago

For detailed stuff about J.B. Danquah and Kwame Nkrumah call Francis Kwarteng (USA) on 001-301 277 5871 in 4230-Oglethorpe St. Hyattsville, MD 20781-Maryland, USA.

• Asem 9 years ago

Danquah could not even argue successfully at court against brainy Kwaku Boateng. He lost case after case.

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

Ghana epitomises much of the best of Africa, but also throws into relief the tragedy of the continent. It has maintained its higher education and has fewer extremes of wealth than elsewhere. But at independence in 1957, Ghana ...

• HANS 9 years ago

JB DANQUAH WAS A TERRORIST WHO CONSPIRED WITH THE CIA TO DESTABILIZE GHANA AFTER FAILING TO WIN INDEPENDENCE FOR GHANA. HE WAS JEALOUS OF NKRUMAH. HE WAS ON THE PAYROLL OF THE CIA BEING BRIBED TO CREATE MAYHEM IN GHANA. HE DI ...

• KOLA, INSIDE LONDON. 9 years ago

How can JB Danquah be regarded as the Doyen of democracy in Ghana when all he did was appointed into some position which existed before him?

Kwagir Aggrey, Mensa Sabba, and a host of academics had taken the lead before JB ...

• INXS 9 years ago

Kwesi Sakyi, this is not good enough. No, it isn't good.

If you want to write a tribute to Danquah 50 years after his death, you should do that. You should tell us about the man, his time and life, his positive and negativ ...

• Kenyatta 9 years ago

The name, " Ghana " came from the old Ghana Empire which existed long before Ghana was founded.That empire was located in the West African sub-region north and west of the current boundaries of Ghana.

It had nothing to do ...

• Dr. SAS, ATTORNEY AT LAW 9 years ago

Explain to me your ad hominem argument against me.
    The thesis of my articles is that Nkrumah was a bloody dictator. Instead of debating my assertions and critiquing my conclusions, you are merely stating "....so who is the s ...

• francis kwarteng 9 years ago

Dear Prof. Sakyi,

Thanks for this piece.

Unfortunately you did not mention Danquah's connections to the CIA( as per Mahoney's book "JFK: Ordeal in Africa").

This is very important if we want to have a fuller pictur ...

• We have forgiven the CIA coup makers 9 years ago

Dear Dr. Kennedy, can you go and sue the CIA for saying JB was on their payroll?
    Your integrity is on the line.

Dear Dr. Kennedy,

Come and sue me!

Next time use your real name. Hiding under this name will do you no favor.

Call on Gabby and the Danquah Institute to sue Richard Mahoney and his book "JFK: ORDEAL IN AFRICA." You ...

Prof. Sakyi,

Feature Article, by Nana Akyea Mensah, The Odikro.

It is funny the way Kwame Okoampa-Ahoofe, Jr, writes to justify the insults heaped upon Dr. Omane Boamah, Deputy Minister of Science and Technology, duri ...

How does Danquah being a CIA asset answer the question of the brutal dictatorship of Kwame Nkrumah?
    Today, if anybody were to impose Nkrumah's type of dictatorship on my country, I will be working with the CIA to ship arms t ...

Dear Brother SAS,

Calling Nkrumah a “dictator” is nothing new, Brother SAS. It is even a relative terminology, concept. There are many Americans who have called George W. Bush a “dictator.” So who is a “dictator ...

• ADJOA WANGARA 9 years ago

Kwarteng, can't you get it that because of your stupidity and baseless lengthy copy and past nonsense nobody is finds it expedient engaging you in discussion? You are simply an idiot!!!

People who may like to call Kwarten ...

• YAW 9 years ago

Main article: Palmer Raids
    Fueled by labor unrest and the anarchist bombings, and then spurred on by Attorney General A. Mitchell Palmer's attempt to suppress radical and non-radical labor organizations, it was characterized ...

Akora Sakyi,

I am giving you one hour ultimatum to retract your gratuitous insult against my person or else be prepared for my eternal wrath. What did I ever say against you for you to write the following:

"Only sobs an ...

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Sakyi, although I like your tribute, I however, believe that you stooped low in insulting and belittling SAS. Please be advised millions of Ghanaians like SAS are not amused by Nkrumah's dictatorial policies and are willing ...

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Sakyi, although I like your tribute, I however, believe that you stooped low in insulting and belittling SAS. Please be advised millions of Ghanaians like SAS are not amused by Nkrumah's dictatorial policies and are willing ...

Dr. SAS,

Let's keep this cool.

Thanks.

• Kwesi Atta Sakyi 9 years ago

I do not want to hurt a fly but got so I incensed by your one-sided bashing of Nkrumah that I lost my cool. I will like you Dr SAS to accept my unreserved apology of using harsh words on you. First and foremost I thought you ...

• KKO 9 years ago

Yes, your attack on Dr SAS was uncalled for. You have done the gentlemanly thing for apologising to him. I hope he accepts it in good faith.

Sorry is one word that most people on this web do not seem to have in their voca ...

• Paul 9 years ago

I just wished that Dr SAS himself would have that same spirit, sense of decency and magnanimity in his dealings with others, but I rather doubt it. It is simply not in his genes to say sorry and admit his own wrongdoing.

• Yaw Boakye 9 years ago

Bokor is going to get a heart attack if he reads this oooo.He thinks JB should be confined to the dustbin.Check his write ups on Ghanaweb.

• C.K. Man 9 years ago

Bokor can never be taken serious, the guy is filled with tribal and partisan that make him a typical Ewe.

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

Wrote as if you were trying your utmost to please the Danquahists, and avoid displeasing the Nkrumahists; in the end your historical account was sacrificed trying not to hurt anyone's feelings.

Would have liked to know why ...

Yes F.K. Buah;s and Adu Boahen are well read by me, I could have also cited Agbedeka, Ivor Wilks, Fage ( A Short History of Ghana), Ajayi and Webster's A Thousand Years of

Yes F.K. Buah;s and Adu Boahen are well read by me, I could have also cited Agbedeka, Ivor Wilks, Fage (A Short History of Ghana), Ajayi and Webster's A Thousand Years of West African History, Dike's, Basil Davidson, Ibn Khal ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

Brilliant article and I do not think you should have given okompa ahoofe any premium. He has lost the academic turf war with sarfo. Nobody can change the fact that Dr. Nkrumah is ranked higher than Dr. Danquah not only in Gha ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

J.B. Danquah is an error in Ghana's history and can not be righted even when his followers deodorize him, will still remain an absurd person. A person who prefer the servitude of his people under British colonialism. Danquah ...

• Danso 9 years ago

Doyen of Gold Coast was the accolade not Doyen of Ghana.Get it right.He did his best for Gold Coast not Ghana.He tried to undermine it because his vaulting ambition was not fulfilled.

• Paul 9 years ago

Actually these articles and sources are on Wikipedia. Also note, not all sources are necessarily accurate or even reliable.

• REM 9 years ago

Paul,

This is from the other day

Nkrumah started work on his PhD thesis and had a topic. But he never completed it and certainly never defended any PhD thesis. He left the US before he could finish work on it. Some repo ...

Hello,

You don't need a PhD to be smart, intelligent, or wise. You don't need a PhD to make an impact on the world.

Regarding the preceding, Nkrumah (without a PhD) impacted the world in a way that the combined PhDs of ...

• Paul 9 years ago

You are right. Nor is a PhD a panacea for wisdom or success in any endeavour. Many are those who have influenced change and impacted the world without a PhD. It is however noteworthy that Nkrumah's body of work merit more tha ...

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Francis, to you, Nkrumah walks on water and we all get it. He is the political black messiah and we get that from you too. But I am curious why you keep heckling people with his work if he is that great. A work of beauty stan ...

Kwadwo,

Hahahahahaha...That was a good one.

I wished Nkrumah had walked on water! Of course Danquah and Busia did. Did Jesus truly walk on water? I want to know!

When am I getting the girlfriend you promised me even ...

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

There is a quite storm passing over Nkrumah and Danquah tonite. I guess we flogged the horses to death on this issue. I give you credit for calling the truce between SAS and Sakyi. Bravo. Have a great week end.

• REM 9 years ago

Francis, take note that Paul and I are trying to establish the accuracy of a historical fact: whether or not Nkrumah wrote a PhD thesis and if that work is to be found in the museum dedicated to him.

Paul and I agree that ...

Dear Paul & REM,

You can requisition for Nkrumah's doctoral dissertation at the University of Pennsylvania. The school has a copy.

In fact, Dr. Kofi Kissi Dompere once told me he was planning to obtain a copy on which h ...

• REM 9 years ago

The point about my last statement is that because of the use of the "Dr" title by Nkrumah as an accolade, Ghanaians have come to view the title as a hallowed thing. This is something they share with other Africans who think, ...

• Paul 9 years ago

I think you have just confirmed here that indeed Nkrumah (for whatever reason) did not in fact defend, and therefore did not OBTAIN his PhD from the University of Pennsylvania.

Their "posthumous" award is but one of numero ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Passion, benevolence, humility, and properly balanced Ghana-centeredness.

We see all of that in your comments!

Let's be even stronger in those common, human traits, as we follow our individual paths for the common g ...

• Paul 9 years ago

You are right, with all the pressure on pursuing the Pan-Africanist agenda and his recall to the Gold Coast, that did not materialise but his MPhil Thesis is displayed at the Museum.

His body of work however is worth far ...

• KKO 9 years ago

Kwesi,
    You have destroyed an otherwise brilliant article with a dismal conclusion (emphasis mine). Thus” Power games are always dangerous and Danquah sadly enough paid the price of playing that game, leading to his untimel ...

• lankwei 9 years ago

Error. He was not sponsored by the Abuakwa state. He was sponsored by Nana Ofori Atta
    I who reformed the State apparatus, by disposing of the illiterate members and filling the various positions with his children, siblings a ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

AN IRRELEVANT TRIBUTE WHICH HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH MODERN ECONOMIC POLITICS OF THE 21st CENTURY.

DANQUAH WAS ANTI-ELEMENT TO THE ASPIRATIONS OF THE PEOPLE IN GHANA.

YOU FOLKS SHOULD CONTINUE TO ADORN MAN WHO ONLY STOOD ...

• Barnes, T'di 9 years ago

Ei so JBD went to England and instead of concentrating in his study, he was bonking the ladies. He came back home to continue this nefarious womanizing activities, bonking more women and not even marrying them. Now I know wh ...

• Kwesi Paul Ajiro 8 years ago

If you want to write about someone, just write the truth and don't link them to things theyre not linked to... You can be a better writer if you stick to facts and move away from stomach writing, where you write to destroy ot ...