Entertainment

Remembering 24th February 1966 - The day Ghana met her Nemesis

Read Comments Comments (31)

• Robert Okine 9 years ago

Today is exactly 49 years when Major Afrifa entered the residence of Major-General Bawa,the chief of defence staff and murdered him and three inmates of his house in cold blood.Nkrumah was saddened when the news reached him.

• Atta Baafi 9 years ago

Kwesi Atta Sakyi stop trying always to raise youself and fabricating lies.
    Most of us knew Nkrumah before you, besides who wants to know about Nkrumah. He is dead and gone.

• owusu 9 years ago

I and all meaningful Ghanaians want to know about Nkrumah

• Kowadis 9 years ago

Baafi paa, so how come nobody is talking about these " YOUR dead and gone
    patriots"?

Kotoka, Afrifah, Ankrah, Busia, Harlley,?

Do you know how you too will END?

• Desperate for truth 9 years ago

So Atta Baafi what lies has Kwesi fabricated? His narration of events of that day and subsequent days seems very accurate to me as I was in Middle school form 2 myself and either witnessed or read about events as they unfolde ...

• k,no problem,a 9 years ago

According to one military eye witness, they used a powerful gun which scattered the body of Bawa.How about Salifu Dargati. He is a man who should be honored and institutionalized in Ghana. He put his life there to save an ele ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

Abraham Lincoln,fought to unite all the different states in America and gave certain amount of freedom to the African Americans.Abraham Lincoln will forever remain a hero for fostering unity amongst Americans.He was disliked ...

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

Some of you are not fit to share Ghana with me. I needed my freedom and I always thank God that some laid their lives to give me that freedom.

You are in Zambia slaving your black arse just like some of the idiots here lik ...

• Captain Canada 9 years ago

You should ask yourself that too. Are you not also squatting somewhere? Enjoy the 'peace' your 'justice' bought. What's fucking retarded was after Nkrumah's overthrow, there was no peace or justice. There was more oppression ...

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

Are you trying to be stupid or you were born one? An idiot like you had been allowed to roam freely on the streets of LONDON, ONTARIO and yet you wanted other people freedom to be curtailed.

Kwasea, have you ever seen scho ...

• owusu 9 years ago

There is every proof that if the same moni nkrumah came to meet was given to those who ploted against him, they could not have achieved 10% Of what nkrumah achieved. Hv we got the justice some of u talk about yet ? People wit ...

• Kowadis 9 years ago

IEA Survey: 63% of Ghanaians living in poverty NOW!

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

And your point is? So you want to be a millionaire and slave at the same time?

Reason, my friend. There are poor who are happy because they have their freedom. ANd there are rich people in North Korea who have become slave ...

• Captain Canada 9 years ago

inglorious bastards sowed. Oman Ghana enjoy you dumsor, bad roads, poor health care and the general morass you find yourself in. Thank the NPP/UG mate meho party and the rest of the traitors. In a perfect world their graves w ...

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Captain Canada, do you have to insult those who don't share your political views to contribute to an issue? Canadians are know for their grace, and I suggest you learn that from Canada if you actually live there.

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Nkrumah was cetainly a victim of the Cold War. His anti western speeches /writings along with his pro Soviet stand and his interventionist policy against our neighbors undoubtedly did not make him a favorite in western capita ...

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

Should rather read; " consequences of his domestic and foreign policies".

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 9 years ago

Some good revelations about the euphoria accompanying the overthrow of the evil tyrant.

However, the essayist appears bashful to state unequivocally that Nkrumah was a brutal dictator.

The author speaks succinctly when ...

Oh is that your interpretation. At least my own experience was that we were asked to pay school fees and buy books. Many children fell out of school and progressively enrollment rate went down.The so called doctor ,depending ...

• Atuo 9 years ago

If you did not pay school fees during the tyrant's period, I paid. I almost stopped schooling because I was kicked out for not paying my fees. I guess you saw the health situation of the detainees when they were released aft ...

Where in Ghana were you during Nkrumah,s time that you paid school fees. That one too you people want to change the records

I have my position on the detainees, that the CPP made a mistake. They should have tried them and released those who were innocent and severely punished those found guilty of throwing the bombs.If you as a child you suffered ...

Sakyi you never mentioned the outpouring of support for the abortive coup by Arthur, Yeboah and Osei Poku. Iremember how soldiers ransacked people,s houses beating them for allegedly jubilation when Arthur announced the count ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

THE READ: "....Why is that the UP group have stopped telling those lies:

Nkrumah has stolen our money to build a golden house for Fatia;

Job 600 was a bad job it was going to sink in 6 years time;

Tema motor way was ...

• owusu 9 years ago

I cant finish reading about Kwame Nkrumah, i always want to hear about him. Variouse designed propaganda has been put down to down play this giant but whoooo wahala. To me Nkrumah was the Missiah who was to come. I will do my ...

• KKO 9 years ago

“Some hard-core CPP functionaries disguised themselves as women and fled to neighbouring villages to go and hide or lie low and watch the unfolding events.”

Kwesi,
    Those hard core CPP functionaries disguised themselve ...

• Desperate for truth 9 years ago

Ah Massa. As for this one paa de3 where did you get your facts? Name me which government after Nkrumah hasn't robbed us blind, civilian or military?

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 9 years ago

THOSE GOONS AND CRIMINALS SET AFRICA BACK 200YEARS, AND THEY ARE EVEN PROUD OF THEIR MADNESS!!

• Yamoah Baah 9 years ago

How old were you when Nkrumah was overthrown???? Some of us woke up with relief and joy not shock when we woke up on Ghana's Day of Liberation. You should have been alive to observe the relief of most Ghanaians on that day!! ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

Ghanaians must remember that the history of Ghana does not begin with Kwame Nkrumah.We have gone through,illiteracy,tribal wars,slavery,colonisation,independence,military coups and democracy.Every generation has gone through ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

WHERE ARE WE NOW,ECONOMIC BACKWARDNESS,
    BRIBERY AND CORRUPTION,MANIPULATION, STEALING, CHEATING, LOOTING OF STATE PROPERTIES,UNDERDEVELOPMENT AND EXTREME POVERTY.

WERE THESE ILLITERATE ARMED CRIMINALS IN MILITARY UNIFORMS ...