Those Who Say 'We Cannot Poke Fun at Islam' Don't Get It

Read Comments Comments (85)

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

You may be in danger.

• Sultan 8 years ago

Your response is part of the problem.We are all being bullied by Islam.Why should five billion or more people who do not believe this bogus Arab cultural Vanity be scared in criticising it? If Muhammed married a 9 year old ki ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

We don't either, Leo Igwe!

READ: "...christianity and islam owe their growth and spread in Africa to poking fun on African traditional religious beliefs and practices...I mean, making caricature of traditional religious 'p ...

• Nwakwo Simons 8 years ago

One of the few Ghanaian journalist I admired so much is Kwaku Baako. In fact I was shock to the bones when I head that he has finally found solace in the religion of the Boko Harams. As an ace journalist of caliber one would ...

• Critical thinker 8 years ago

God forgive your soul, Kwaku Baako has been saved n he has seen the light

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 8 years ago

For the sake of the many who may be taken in by your Malapropism, let us clarify that the word is "pastime" not "pass time".

And for purposes of negating all contradictions, let us clarify that we can also poke fun or crit ...

• === 8 years ago

Think before you speak/write.He was quoting the writer.Did you bother to read the main article?

• Concerned 8 years ago

Flamingo instead of flamenco is malapropism but I am not sure the use of the wrong tense can be described as such. All petty and childish. Criticise Nkrumah as much as you want if it makes you happy

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

Thanks ===!

Almost missed this one!

Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law, will bend the truth, create new nonfacts to represent them as truth, and will dwell on the trivia.

Maybe, we should get ready for Dr. English Dr. SAS, Att ...

• Ndeeya 8 years ago

So, Mr. writer, just tell me a single benefit to be driven from ur article. If ur intention is to fuel hatred between the peace loving Muslims and other religious believers, then, bravo!!! U have really achieved ur aim. My ad ...

• Odurose 8 years ago

Mr Igwe,

I salute your bravery and congratulate you for your piece. You are right but as you very well know the African mind has been long enslaved by Christianity and Islam in equal measure and is incapable of understand ...

• Vuvuzela 8 years ago

African mind has never been enslaved by Christianity. It would be interesting if you addressed what Leo is talking about rather than meddle Christianity in it.

Leo’s contention here is a serious issue most of us would l ...

• tikuma 8 years ago

IIs it necessary to poke fun at any religion at all? What you are advocating does not promote peace but rather disrespect and disunity.
    If you are christian, just try and be good. On the other hand if you are a muslim too ...

• Mr. Figure-Out 8 years ago

Igwe has said it all. There is no need for anyone to kill in defense of a religion. So sad that most Muslim do not practice what the Koran teaches. There are several verses in the Islamic scriptures which talks about toleran ...

• Vuvuzela 8 years ago

It is necessary to criticize/ discredit anything that disrespects/ debases the human being, human life or peaceful coexistence of anyone in a civilize society. Its name is Islam!

It isn't a matter of poking fun at it; it i ...

• Abdul Razak walewale 8 years ago

may Allah Almighty have mercy on you and bring to the right path. Remember that better people than you try to destroyed Islam but could not succeed , but my question to you is what is Islam ?

• king Maker 8 years ago

May Allah forgive you your sins and guide through the right path.What you are trying to do is to undermine Islam and its Holy Prophet, but u won't go anywhere with that cos that is silly,arrogant, lack of faith and disrespect ...

Islam is a false Arab story, forced unto a lot of unwilling people by force. Do you think an Arab Allah gives a shit about you in WaleWale? No. Does the Arab Allah speaks to you in Frafra? No.It has to be in Muhammed"s ...

• USMAN 8 years ago

Dr Jane Smith of the Harvard University has clearly shown in a dissertation that even the term Islam did not originally mean submission.Also in ‘The Spiritual Background Islam’, a renown Middle East scholar Dr M. Bravmann ...

• Buba 8 years ago

mtcheeew....i challenge u to study Islam .

• Ahmed Hamza 8 years ago

A litreat like you wants to mislead our nation, you will not succeed, our problem is not about religion, you don't even know that we have Ivory Coast case at hand, which is a big concern for all Ghanaians not about what you E ...

• Abdul Razaq 8 years ago

@kofi it's quite unfortunate you don't know what you're talking about. Islam is not impossed on us. we believe in all the prophets that were sent by the almighty God including Jesus. we worship the creator and not the creatu ...

• not necessary 8 years ago

lets face fact here. when was the last time somebody got killed because he cartooned Jesus or mocked the faith of christians.
    Jehovah God is an able God. He can fight His own battles. Why cant your Allah do same, instead of ...

• A M 8 years ago

Pls u got it all wrong, when MizBell openly said dat de issue about Jesus was framed up, do u no dat she was attacked n even some "Christians" threaten to kill her. She in no way accused Jesus himself but imagine de tragedy s ...

• Latif 8 years ago

If the critic of a religion means insulting blatantly, ridiculing and to belittle the intelligence of its adherence, I leave you to your own conscience.

• GIDEON 8 years ago

Eric Allen Bell updated his cover photo.
    March 22 · Edited ·

Muslims are not what is wrong with Islam. This is what has been nearly impossible to communicate to most Liberals today. The problem with Islam is the Prophet ...

• Amin 8 years ago

If personally you have the absolute right to poke fun of any religion,don't you think those who profess that religion can can have fun killing you?But why will they have fun killing you ?The reason is,outright lies and insult ...

• USMAN 8 years ago

Are you saying the Anti-Baraka Movement people were right for taking up arms against Muslims in CAR when Islam became a threat to their existence?

• Barius 8 years ago

Death cannot be undone but words can, this is why killing is wrong when used to silence words.

• Hussein 8 years ago

Your misconception n hate for Islam is simply legendary. It can only be cured wen u genuinely study Islam. May Almighty Allah hav mercy on you.

• Abdallah 8 years ago

any one who mock about Jesus may peace and blessings of Allah be upon him will not be tolerated by any true believing moslem around the world,cos we believed in all the prophets from Adam,Noah,Abraham,Joseph,Jesus and Mohamme ...

• Akos 8 years ago

Do not worry about Jesus.He died 600 years before that fake Arab prophet was even born.We do not have to accept what an Arab story teller says about him after 600 years.We can mock and cartoon him without being killed by a bu ...

• ismail Ayitey 8 years ago

Jesus dosent belong to u he was sent to the lost children of israel read ur bible and u will know that he was not sent u in ghana or Nigeria he said he was sent to the lost people of israel so he is not for and we muslims don ...

• Abuba, Accra 8 years ago

you are right but you need knowledge to write what you have raised. for instance it is only pple who are illiterates or those who are literates but will not study the bible who believe in islam. Start reading the bible and yo ...

• Abuba, Accra 8 years ago

How can Allah not know the holy trinity God the Father, Son and the Holy Spirit. The quran says Christians take God as three and goes further to say God the father, Jesus and Mary. Now every Christian knows that, that is an e ...

• USMAN 8 years ago

How can greatest Allah make such a grievous mistake?

• Joe Moore 8 years ago

right on point! Christianity and Islam has demonized African gods and we Africans accepted it without any resistance. we are totally ignorant. how can Africans be soo prosperous if we don't pray and thanks our Gods who is gu ...

• Arahman Muh-tar 8 years ago

Laailaaha illal laah Mohammad rasullul laah
    Igwe ... I cry for your ignorant soul. May Almighty Allah have his endless mercy on you and he guide you on to the right path.

But please, Leo next time think very well before p ...

• Akos 8 years ago

This is where you brain stops working.What right do you have to tell us not to mock a murderer cum paedophile Arab wanker? In today"s world,no Christian will kill anyone for mocking Jesus.Can you see the savagery that comes w ...

• Arahman Muh-tar 8 years ago

Laailaaha illal laah Mohammad rasullul laah
    Igwe ... I cry for your ignorant soul. May Almighty Allah have his endless mercy on you and he guide you on to the right path.

But please, Leo next time think very well before p ...

• Abubakari Issah pele 8 years ago

It always regrettably that most unbelievers don't know anything about Islam or the Quran. U try and put ur hatred in Islam aside and try to learn something about Islam. Cos u are too ignorant about Islam religion which doesn' ...

• Jerome, Accra 8 years ago

Guide to which path? open your eyes if Mohammed had not told Moslems to believe in all prophets in sura 2 ending, islam cannot stand. Because what is in the Quran is a copy from the old testamaent of the Bible. When it comes ...

• Gideon Atongo 8 years ago

Last Friday, April 24, we remembered how exactly 100 years ago the last historic Muslim caliphate, the Ottoman Empire, tried to cleanse its empire of Christian minorities — Armenians, Assyrians, and Greeks — even as we st ...

• Nwakwo Simons 8 years ago

I feel so bad that my people in Nigeria voted Buhari, a potential Boko Haram, as our president. Growing in Kano, there was a lot of times that my father receive dead threat from our Muslim neighbors with mere reason of raisin ...

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 8 years ago

I ACKNOWLEDGE ISLAM AS SOME PEOPLE\S FAITH, I DO NOT ACCEPT THE FAITH MY SELF, BUT THE TROUBLE IS FROM THE POINT THIS WRITER RAISES, AND I WISH TO SUBMIT THAT WE CHRISTIAN BELIEVE THAT IF YOU INSULT OUR GOD OR MAKE UNDUE FUN ...

• syncopa 8 years ago

don't think, don't try to figure anything out. don't wonder. don't innovate. don't adapt. just believe.

• Abdul-Rauf 8 years ago

Actually not surprising because its already mentioned in the Holy scriptures. Its not peaceful to even cartoon somebody's believe then expect him to praise you. Its good we accept each others fate so we can live in peace. pl ...

• Pam 8 years ago

Holy to who? use your fucking head and stop killing people in the name of an Arab god who does not give a damn about you.Why was Muhammed drawn in the past? Why was his face shown on coins 60 years after his fucking death.Som ...

• Hamza 8 years ago

May Allah guide him and everyone to the right path of Islam. This has been the position of infidels after satan deviated man from the believe in ones of Allah. Many prophets were mock and kill. So there is nothing new from wh ...

• USMAN 8 years ago

“And the holy prophet said: Allah created Adam. Then He stroke his right shoulder and took out a white race as if they were seeds, and He stroke his left shoulder and took out a black race as if they were coals. Then He sa ...

• USMAN 8 years ago

The Quran quotes Allah as saying that Jihad is, in fact not just a religious duty but a profitable commerce, a business. (Sura 61:10-12). In the Hadith, Mishkat ‘ul Masabih, Jihad is said to be: “............the best meth ...

• abdul razak 8 years ago

Why don't you state your address.

• Pam 8 years ago

And you think by killing him you will go to the imaginary Arab heaven? Sadly, your Arabic is not good enough for you to understand your fake prophet.Instead you will be arrested and bung in jail where your Arab god will be o ...

• Nana 8 years ago

Take the pain n read abt Islam . to fight Islam , u need to learn Islam . believe me after learning Islam , You will publicily proclaim Islam.

• Pam 8 years ago

I have a functioning African brain that does not need to be washed by an Arab bogus story.

• USMAN 8 years ago

Muslims are not the only custodians of violence. You remember what happened in the Central African Republic that led to the formation of Anti-Baraka. The only thing Muslims fear most is tough resistance and some of us know. T ...

• back door director 8 years ago

My friend you do not impress anybody.keep your views to yourself.dumsor is on our minds.
    This your piece on Islam is a distraction from national discourse
    Leo you are nothing but a fifth columnist

• sheriff 8 years ago

Go to hell,mother fuckker

• Issah pele 8 years ago

Try to always watch peace TV to get wisdom.U Should learn that all that u are doing to Islam religion will never help u. Even ur pay masters try all they can but failed. Today Google and c which religion is da fastest-growing ...

• Yap Yap man 8 years ago

This is the same holy prophet who married his adopted son's wife because Allah told him to do so and it was OK,eh? And again he married an underage girl? It that is true, then I know the definition of holy in Islam is unique! ...

• Nuru 8 years ago

Oh Allah please forgive this man and our brothers because they do not know what they are saying.Why should u call a colleagu being God.Then who creat ur lord mother,and how would u call the mother?.

• A Rashid 8 years ago

the writer is simply a big fool who doesn't know what he is talking about . u need to broaden ur horizon . u lack the ability to do critical thinking .l don't blame u because u don't even know ur own bible not to talk about ...

• Nuru 8 years ago

So sad and disgraceful are u shore u know ur religion well?if yes, then review ur comments and make corrections.And the doors is still open for u to repent.Alllahu akbar.

• USMAN 8 years ago

Which correction. The guy is factual. You have nothing specifically to dispute than to insult and after insults human blood to appease Allah.

• USMAN 8 years ago

You remember, Boko Haram abducted 292 girls and converted them to Islam at gun point against their will. After this, all of these girls will be raped and if they become pregnant and give birth will their children be Muslims o ...

• Hud ( Guidance) 8 years ago

Surat Ar'af
    199: Hold to forgiveness:
    command what is right:
    But turn away from the ignorant
    200: If a suggestion from Satan assail thy mind seek refuge with Allah, for he hearth and knoweth all thing.

• ideas 8 years ago

Fool why didn't you leave your name and mobile number?

• not necessary 8 years ago

cant their dam brain tell them that killing is inhuman? I thaught it was a religion of peace but this turns out to be war-minded.
    kidnapping, killing etc.
    we are tired of these descendants of mohammed!

• hassan 8 years ago

And Islam continues to grow! May Allah guide you to the right path

• USMAN 8 years ago

You remember, Boko Haram abducted 292 girls and converted them to Islam at gun point against their will. After this, all of these girls will be raped and if they become pregnant and give birth will their children be Muslims o ...

• Askanda@ 9ja 8 years ago

may god 4give who ever want 2 poke Islam .

• USMAN 8 years ago

A God that needs to be fought for by weak and feeble human beings ceases to be the Almighty God. I therefore challenge Muslims in Ghana to do away with violence and let Allah fight his enemies.

• Nuru 8 years ago

Which facts are u talking about.Do they preach critisism in ur religion?

• med 8 years ago

I don't also get you. let me also ask that if for instance I don't know you how do I do a caricature of you its impossible. doing that means mocking u because I don't even even know you. unlike Christianity, you have picture ...

• syllah 8 years ago

Once again we had a lot animals some walking on two feet some on four some on their stomach, we thank allah. We are that animal walking on two feet. But the special animal that we are, we were called banu adam which means ch ...

• baseer 8 years ago

the only problem with the Christians is we the Muslims knows the bible more than they do

• Jkuuz 8 years ago

hahaa, so do u christians accept dat image as Jesus de Christ? HMMMM, LEARN.cos u are astray.

• Marzuk Bin Nuur 8 years ago

@vuvuzela u see how unease u r when som1 generalized d piece to Christianity? Now to d writer, spend some time n learn about islam. There are some ppl who infuse their own ideology to Islam. The Muslim scholar knows dat if u ...

• Lukman 8 years ago

you seem very civilized but you know wat, you are a very big fool.you just dont start writing long essays condemning Islam simply because you have nothing doing. i'll advice that if you are a christian then spend such time go ...

• NOBODY 8 years ago

If Muslims can refer to non-Muslims as infidels, then those so-called infidels have a right to poke fun at Islam in any way they choose. Religious groups, not limited to just Muslims, have to learn to practice their faiths wi ...

• Bakait 8 years ago

As an Indian, thank you for writing this. Christianity and Islam have been pulling this act for a long time now, and I am glad to see more people standing up to it. The point that these people who take offense at the slightes ...

• Peace 8 years ago

To the writer of this article.Give a single benefit one gets for poking or making fun of a religion(ISLAM).

• Bakait 8 years ago

The benefit of poking fun at islam is the same as the benefit of making fun of the KKK - fascist, totalitarian ideologies are allergic to mockery. But if muslims are so eager that their religion not be mocked, they should rep ...

• muslims at heart 8 years ago

u little idiot u cannot even respect ur own religion cos if u do will nt ve publish dis stupid article abt different religion,test ur 'holy'book by putting it in it fire n de same to de Holy Quran n see de one dat will burn d ...

• S M OLA 8 years ago

your Jew counterpart wrote article worst than this, it just conspiracy against Islam