News

Sports

Business

Entertainment

There Was No "Dum-Sor" Under Kwame Nkrumah!

Read Comments Comments (49)

• Ada Boy 8 years ago

Grow up Pro Lungu. What was Ghana's population in 1966? Even Dr Nkrumah would be repentant communist if he was alive today. Get a life,poor revisionist!

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

Busia did not say that he was going to stay in power indefinitely as Nkrumah did, and he did not declare Ghana as a one-party state either. He was given a 5year mandate to deliver for Ghanaians to judge whether to extend his ...

• Kojo T 8 years ago

Poor boy who cannot read. Your illiteracy stinks

• MINOR CASE 8 years ago

He calls himself a professor, and he could not even factor in his useless article Ghana's population of 5 million at that time. All these communists trained arts people are useless in this modern era. All along I thought thi ...

• Joe 8 years ago

Ada Boy and Mahmoud, you guys are just ignorant fools. Do you know the meaning of a communist? And what is wrong with being a communist. Are the Chinese not ruling the World now to such extent that USA even owes China and Gh ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Who told you Joe idiot the Chinese are practicing the discarded archaic communist economy?

Some of you dumb illiterates need to go back to school. China adopted the capitalist economic system more than twenty years ago aft ...

• Okofo 8 years ago

Sarps, I thought you are lying about China's PPP but you are right, China is number 89 well below countries like Gabon, Mauritania, South Africa and Equatorial Guinea.

No wonder Chinese are still paying thousands of dollar ...

• MINOR CASE 8 years ago

A lot of ignoramuses do not know that China is becoming more capitalists than the USA. The greater part of the means of production in China is owned by the capitalists who have taken advantage of the cheap labor China has. C ...

• Shabi 8 years ago

Every time I read the opinions of the Schizophrenic Trinity, I feel more and more saddened and angry about how several hundred years of the brutal imperialist/capitalist tyranny of Africa has completely destroyed the minds an ...

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 8 years ago

Every time I read the opinions of the Nkrumaist do-heads, I feel more and more saddened and angry about how several hundred years of the brutal young pioneer indoctrination and tyranny of Ghana has completely destroyed the mi ...

• Joe 8 years ago

Kwasia SARPONG who are you to educate me on Bonds and Derivatives? You dont know or understands bonds so just shut your stinking mouth up. Continue cleaning toilets in the States and tell me when are you going to stop eating ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

This shows that you have been educated. I asked you a simple question to show us where you have seen the USA government signing a loan contract with China and your response shows that you smelly trokosi incestuous daughter fu ...

• francis kwarteng 8 years ago

Dear Joe,

I think this beautiful piece by Dr. Christof Lehman might interest (you might get to the original article at: nsnbc.wordpress.com/2011/10/30/e-u-begs-china-for-dumb-money/, where you can click on his references w ...

Dear Joe,

I also thought this Wall Street article "Germany, France, Italy to Join China-Backed Development Bank" might interest:
    ............................................................................................ ...

• Gye Nyame 8 years ago

Kwarteng and Lungu, China is looking to hire teachers and some professionals from the West so if you love them so much why don't you all relocate. This is the same dishonestly of your idol Nkrumah, you live and enjoy the bene ...

Gye Nyame,

Well my idol Nkrumah is still one of the world's greatest leaders, having being ranked among the world's best 100 leaders in some studies?

Have you forgotten he is Africa's Man of the Millennium? Which other ...

• Joe 8 years ago

Thank you brother Francis

• Ghanaba 8 years ago

Sarps, CONTINUE TO EDUCATE THESE FOOLS WHO CANNOT TELL north kOREA FROM Thailand.

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

Tell them, Joe!

Thanks.

Dear Readers,

Please, go to Ghanahero.com/vision and look for the same title under Prof. Lungu, and there one should find a graph and a table of data, bot of which further go to explain important aspects of Prof. Lungu's e ...

www.Ghanahero.com/vision

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

Yes, a copy of the final essay, with charts, in PDF, is available at for FREE:
    www.ghanahero.com/visions.
    (See under "Prof Lungu Says....").

Dear Prof. Lungu,

Thanks.

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 8 years ago

The Nkrumaists ostriches, idolaters, nincompoops and ass heads will never get it into their rasta heads that Nkrumah is dead
    and gone and his tyrannical ideologies expunged from the laws of the country.

The Akosombo dam ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

CRITICAL OBSERVERS REFLECT ON THE LEGACY OF KWAME NKRUMAH & THE FORCES BEHIND HIS OVERTHROW IN 1966 BY THE KOTOKA MILITARY JUNTA THAT ESTABLISHED A DICTATOTSHIP THROUGH MILITARY RULE...ALL THE WAY TO JERRY "ACCOUNTABILITY" RA ...

• Nii Teiko 8 years ago

I Thought Nkrumah was booted from office under the soul comandeer of Afrifa, as Francis Kwarteng want his reafers to believe, little did I know Trokosi Kotoka and Ankrah were the main actors. Does it mean that some haters tr ...

Yes,

And since when did you become a Ga, Nii Teiko? Or you just chose that moniker! Well you quite know ethnicity means nothing to me really. Be yourself, that is all!

Go and read Godfrey Mwakikagile's "Western Involvem ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

Nii Teiko,
    Afrifa was part of the junta!

Kotoka and "Bomb-Vietnam-Now-Ankrah" were the official faces of that military dictatorship, in international circles.

Thanks.

• MINOR CASE 8 years ago

You see a typical diversionary tactics of a communist . It is no longer 'no dumsor under Nkrumah' but Nkrumah's legacy. He thought he could get away with lies if Dr. SAS had not corrected him. In any case quoting what Dr. SAS ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

Nice try!

Looks like you did not even read the article, but found time to make so many "political" comments, without basis in fact.

Explain the gains in GDP!

We are talking about achievements of fundamental proportio ...

• GOLD COAST 8 years ago

(Akoa yi,wa gyimi paa!) You're a disgrace to the the law school that awarded you your degree.

Anyway,as they say in the HOOD:"You can take a man out of the ghetto,but you cannot take the ghetto out of him." KURASENI!

P ...

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

Let us remember,electricity started in Sekondi,produced by Railway in 1914.The British colonised Ghana for over 100 years but Nkrumah was able to devolop Ghana faster in a very few years.I remember when I was a kid in Sekondi ...

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

Nkrumah was able to develop Ghana faster

Dear BOY KOFI,

I believe you are right.

I also believe Paa Grant later did a lot in terms of having some form of "electricity" in Sekondi. I hope my recollection is right!

Thanks.

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

Yeah,Francis as a matter of fact,Paa Grant did a lot for us,including the lay out of potable water for the city.We need men of his caliber but no where to be found.
    Have a nice bro.Thank you.

Dear Boy Kofi,

Thanks for the info!

Take care.

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

BOY KOFI
    Hope you got a chance to read Professor Botwe-Asamoah's essay the other day.

But yes, those lights were powered by diesel generators.

Problem is, VRA de-commissioned the generators and never thought about ret ...

• KKO 8 years ago

Selective amnesia? Acheampong built the 160MW Kpong Dam. If it had been managed properly, the Aboadze thermal plant was designed with a capacity of 922 MW. Kufuor did not only bring in expensive super light crude from Algeria ...

• KKO 8 years ago

Correction, "He then opened the way....."

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

Not really, KKO!

Maybe you need to go back and read the article, "again"!

In part: "...Thereafter, it took practically 17 years before any government, military or civilian, would add to Ghana's electricity generation ca ...

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

If I understand well,the hydroelectric and the thermal plants already installed in the country have enough capacity to produce power for us without dumso.From technical perspective,we shouldn't have dumso at all but here we a ...

• Ghanaman THE REAL 8 years ago

Your article, sadly, is an exercise in futility! Ghana during Nkrumah's time, logistically, has no comparison in terms of population scenario with present day Ghana even in its current pitiful state. For a start, what was the ...

Dear,

You probably skipped reading where Prof. Lungu discussed Nkrumah's strategy of using the outcome of research into solar/atomic energy to supplement energy from the hydroeletric project (among others).

And you thi ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

Some people are just not serious!

Or, they are just plain ignorant of the history and the facts, having been deceived all their life.

They do not appreciate the difference between results-driven policy analysis and poli ...

• Shabi 8 years ago

In your futile desperation to confront and retract truth, you resort to all sorts of shenanigans which make you look dumb.

Every era, period and age in time has its own peculiarities, challenges, populations and difficulti ...

• Nii Anyetei Blofobii 8 years ago

Stupid, stupid, stupid.Less that FIVE PERCENT of the whole of Ghana enjoyed electricity under Nkrumah.

Where there was electricity, individuals and town/city councils used Generators.

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

We are talking about achievements of fundamental proportions!

Ghana-centered achievements, that is!

No Ghanaian government comes close to Nkrumah.

There is data to back up all our claims.

The days when governmen ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

Read more!

Get the final paper with graphics!

FREE!

www.ghanahero.com/Visions.html - FREE

See under "Prof Lungu says...."

Thanks!

• Takpole 8 years ago

So Mr Ada Boy, you don't no that population goes with production?if at that time ghana was producing more than our population.Why we can do that after Kwame Nkrumah.if people like ada boy , mr Kuffour and mr Mahammah to be a ...