News

Sports

Business

Entertainment

Is Justice Francis Obiri a Danger to Rule of Law?

Read Comments Comments (20)

• ed 8 years ago

GHANA CANNOT AFFORD JUDGES THAT ARE IGNORATE AND DENY PEOPLE DUE PROCESS OF LAW.NO MAN OR WOMEN SHOULD EVER BE CONVICTED IN COURT OF LAW WITHOUT THE RIGHT TO HAVE AN ATTORNEY DEFEND HER OR HIMSELFS

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 8 years ago

The right to a fair hearing is Article 19(1) and not 19(2) as stated in the article. Therefore, 19(2) should read 19(1). My sincere apology.

• Kweku Ananse 8 years ago

All previous judgements by Judge Obiri will have to be reviewed. Unfortunately, that Judge Obiri is ignorant of the law and lacks the competence to dispense justice as per the constitution of Ghana is indicative of the human ...

• Nii Teiko 8 years ago

We ought to review all previous adjudications of this 'Injustice' Obri guy. In fact he doesn't need to be at the bench again. Retraining is a befitting prescription for his incompetent black ass.

• Tuyoo 8 years ago

... GUILTY of contempt of justice!!

• Jojo Hammond, New Jersey 8 years ago

Kofi you've said it all. Justice Obiri did the system of Justice in Ghana a great disservice. I found no sensible explanations for my other African colleagues here, let alone my American friends who asked me about this case ...

• YAW 8 years ago

CAUTION: A Ghanaian court consists of one judge of average ignorance.

• Edomi 8 years ago

Are we sure this Judge keeps his knowledge and skills up to date.His action is like a Doctor who will prescribe an out of circulating medication to patients.
    Has the Judge got what it takes to be a judge, did he sit in a cla ...

• LONTO-BOY 8 years ago

MASSA KOFI, whether the suspect gunman is sane or not, this isn't a trivial case. Regardless of his sanity or insanity, the possession of a loaded gun by the suspect intended to 'kill the President'/endanger life, and his abi ...

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 8 years ago

What the gunman did had nothing to do with endangering the president or his family because they were not even at the scene. The fact that the president attends that church regularly should not be relevant to anything because ...

• LONTO-BOY 8 years ago

Dr SAS, this is intellectually and legally impressive perspective. Thank you for your expert legal analysis on this case and the consequences.

Dr SAS, I couldn't agree with you more on your last sentence. That is precisely my concern, particularly when the miscarriage of justice is from the judiciary and not the executive, which usually is the norm.

Mayhem, yes ...

• Luther King 8 years ago

Much as I agree jusctice obiri erred, which unfortunately has become the topic of discussion and not the attempt on the president's life. The mistake or error the judge made could be rectified with an appeal.

I think we s ...

Luther King, that is one of the dangers I deliberately did not mention because I wanted to write a second article on the security failure. On that matter, even the BNI is also to blame because they arrested Mr Antwi, interrog ...

• Okonko Palm 8 years ago

The title itself is inciting hatred against a judge who was doing his job according to the rules.This was a man who intended to assassinate a sitting head of state and pleaded guilty to the charge of possessing a loaded gun.

"The truth of the matter is that a charge was read and the accuse pleaded guilty and as a court of summary jurisdiction the judge convicted him on his own plea and sentenced him as required by law".

Okonko Palm, which law ...

• HAZOR 8 years ago

Justice Obiri was one of justice Atumbuga panel judges who was invited to office of the president and took bribe to rule infavor of president Mahama during 2012 presidential dispute and was the one who wrote the most ridiculo ...

• Abeeku Mensah 8 years ago

Those who choose to be outraged either of the process or sentence have misplaced value system or are outright hypocrites; they choose to ignore the log in the eye but panic at the speck in the eye of others. Across the Ghana ...

Abeeku Mensah, how did this miscarriage of justice save Ghana from organized evil and their anticipatory reasons to continue an agenda of making Ghana ungovernable? In fact, the opposite is the case.

If Charles Antwi has n ...

• KELLICS 8 years ago

As ignorance of the Law is never accepted as an excuse to break it,so is insanity.In fact,it it only a loophole use to either buy time or get a favourable sentence in Law.Even if,Charles Antwi has mental problem,that can also ...