US embassy Accra: Fleecing poor in the name visa

Read Comments Comments (52)

• kuu 7 years ago

VERY VERY SERIOUS

• NO FEARS(well just a little) 7 years ago

This is an issue that affects almost every Ghanaian on this forum but fear of retaliation has muted everyone of them.Is this the democratic principles Ghanaians are always aspiring to?Is this the type of friendship we work so ...

• Kay 7 years ago

I am very sure it says clearly on the form that those fees are non refundable and you still choose to pay. How then do you expect a refund if denied the visa?

Simply develop Ghana and Africa for that matter so you all don' ...

• Idiot Mugabe of Montie 7 years ago

“Then he to told me "I am sorry you are not qualified to enter into the United states of America”.

“So that day alone, the embassy made a gain of US$17,000 from the one hundred applicants that visited the embassy for ...

• Buffalo Soldier 7 years ago

It's a damn hell out there,
    US is no heaven on earth as many Africans think.
    Rather it's the 21st. century babylon replica & not that promising land with green pastures & golden streets for the black race.
    Pity that today ...

• Jordys 7 years ago

How does one become journalist in Ghana? About 95% write very badly. No creativity, no motivation, no flexibility, finally, no flair for writing!

It's very incomprehensible. What's wrong in Ghana?

• spartacus 7 years ago

This is good. Organise the demonstration against them. At least half the amount must be refunded. The Ghana embassy in the USA must charge $1000 for Ghana visa. These so called developed countries are plain crooks

• Nii Akwei 7 years ago

Then the US Embassy in Ghana will charge $1000 for US Visa.

• Kwame 6 years ago

Sorry about this Spartucus, but 99% of Americans would not go to Ghana even if you paid them

• KONKONSA 7 years ago

I do appreciate your anger and frustration but this issue of processing fee will recieve no sympathetic ears from any official quarters.
    The best solution is to strive to develop our country so our offsprings will not endure ...

• Kay 7 years ago

You said it all bro

• Eli 7 years ago

Well, I don't think that's the solution, I think it's something we all have to stand up and say NO to. Even if we are developed we will still need to go on holidays elsewhere, now how will they believe you then,if they cannot ...

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

I have said this before and I will repeat it here.America or U.K for that matter is not forcing anybody to go and give them $170 for a common interview.If the government and stupid parliamentarians think it is okay then why a ...

• Kwasi 7 years ago

My daughter, a graduate nurse with 11 yrs experience, married with 3 kids won the diversity lottery in 2014. She had applied indicating she was married with 3 kids nd had won. In April 2015 they were all invited for interview ...

• Pamoja 7 years ago

Unfortunately this particular problem is spiritual in nature. True the visa process is fraught with peril at our expenses, however truth must be said,if our leaders were genuine, none of us would ever have left. Have been aw ...

• Tanny 7 years ago

i think i would applaud the German Embassy on this one, they have a shelter and seats for applicants, and would not collect cash from you until you are given a visa, and i think it makes sense.

• Ringo Star 7 years ago

That's how it was in the eighties. No visa no fees. I think the embassy is now infected with the Ghanaian corruption syndrome.

• Concern citizen 7 years ago

Papa Kwasi, when your daughter won the visa lottery the American embassy did not ask her to borrow the money for the process. She did that out of her free will so where is the 419 here. Please let's be realistic in our commen ...

• KKD 7 years ago

Civilized country my tie. Most Anerucans are ignorant bumpkins who have never travelled out of their state. As you can see, it's a racist society that is currently going through much turmoil. Don't waste your time to go there ...

• TK 7 years ago

Every country has policies in awarding visas to visitors to their country. It is a yes or no question. They inform you on the form that the fee is non-refundable either way and the writer knew that before he went in there so ...

What a revelation? The amount calculation is incorrect anyway. The real figure should be US$6.1 milliom per year. Follow the calculation below:
    Amount per Ghanaian applicant = US$170
    No. of applicants per day = 100
    No. of ...

• Frank Acheampong 7 years ago

In the 90's the US embassy was a place that if told to go and pay your visa fee of $100 then your visa is guaranteed. As to why they have changed no visa no fee policy,I have no idea? Again, you didn't state whether you have ...

• Ghana Ba 7 years ago

These Americans will steal our money and give it to us back as aid from the American people. USAID

• Atuguba 7 years ago

It is the same money they give back to Africa as aid. These crooks will never give you anything for free.

• DA OG 7 years ago

There visa fees are not negotiable and non-refundable as stated on the application. The problem is this; most countries if not all countries outside of Africa don't respect Africans and they are really not to be blamed. The r ...

• Nana Wireko 7 years ago

I would like Ghanaians to advice themselves for not going to the Embassy to apply for a visa which they are not going to get. If nobody go to the embassy to apply for the so-called visa for one year, how would the Embassy get ...

• nana 7 years ago

as in the case of american embassy,they dont collect documents befor interview.the interview the applicant and demand paper document if the need arises.i accept the insanity of having to coolect a huge sum of money only to te ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

Your complaint is nothing new but its like a baby sucking a pacifier story.
    In 1977 i had a Full Scholarship to attend Free Gospel Bible College.
    My guardian who is a multi Millionaire paid all my school fees to the College ...

• Prophet 7 years ago

Does anybody know that Ghanaians has the highest visa over stayers in America (USA) second only to India? That Ghanains illegals are treated better in USA than in Germany and England in fact all of Europe. Nobody hunt them do ...

• Obaa Yaa 7 years ago

Hello Fellow applicant; sorry your visa was denied, however you should have done your home work about the non-refundable visa fee. After all the Embassy did not force you to apply for the visa. They've the right not to issu ...

• Fuzzy 7 years ago

such foolish comment from dis silly ashawo girl..think wisely before passing ur comment..yarefuo)

• T'pau 7 years ago

And so Prince, did you return to Africa after studies? Probably not. So statistically, you are part of the problem too, my dear brother.

• Patriot 7 years ago

In Nigeria, the embassy refunds applicants' fees if they are denied. Why not Ghana?

• Eric Asamoah USA 7 years ago

Yes develope your country.America has the same soil as Ghana but they have worked hard to make theirs look good.build yours because you have all the resources.

• Asiedu 7 years ago

When did they work hard for what?
    Do you call stealing and invading peoples countries working hard ?
    Stop thinking like a hungry slave trying to impress his boss for a licked bone.

• Kwabena R. 7 years ago

Chai,where did Africa go wrong?

• #brt . 7 years ago

Americans are afraid of terrorism and the embassy don't want to be blamed if something happens and they won't tell you publicly so you can advise yourself. In 2009 there was an Under-ware bomber on Delta Flight in Michigan wh ...

• #brt . 7 years ago

I remember when Ghana Oil discovery was given to Tullow Instead Chevron and other American companies, the U.S was not Happy about it and thought Ghana was anti-American.!

17,000 by 30 days is NOT 170,000 please.

• bongo 7 years ago

you have said it all bro , forward copy of your letter to the department of state and action will be taken on it. do you know how easy chiness get usa visa and their validity is 10 years whiles Africans are given 5 years or r ...

• Cosey 7 years ago

They look at so many factors to arriving on a decision on visa application. It is not automatic. A discretion could be used. Ties are some of the factors they consider. They are afraid when u go u won't come back. Out of 100 ...

• Jed 7 years ago

It's such a pity. Unless we change for the better Ghanaians will continue to be marginalised.

• DUNSOR IS BACK 7 years ago

Q. HAVE YOU TRAVEL BEFORE ?
    A. U CLAIMED YES
    Q. WHERE ?
    A. U DIDN'T MENTION ANY COUNTRY .

REMEMBER THE EMBASSY HAS SEEN SO MANY FRAUD AND FAKE DCUMENTS AND THEY NEW GHANAIANS ARE LIARS THEY DON'T RETURN BACK . GOOD L ...

• joe 7 years ago

crook crooks crooks that's all.

• inkoom 7 years ago

A child can joke with the breast not father testicle.

• Yamed 7 years ago

What the Ghana Embassies (NY/DC) are doing with regards swindling Ghanaians and Americans alike is worse! Enough said

• ?ghananyi 7 years ago

How do you complain to the US justice dept

• Kwasi Boateng 7 years ago

Will help demonstrate.is a good idea

• Bob kook 7 years ago

I thank you brother.
    This is the spirit of Elijah,he fear not he is of sound mind,this is common sense if the so call America is super power why then taken money from ( underdeveloped country ) the lower class so call, and ...

• King David Adu ii 7 years ago

Mr the embassy is something else..they are stupid and barbaric

• Nana Yaw 7 years ago

Really really crazy the way they behave!I disagree with people saying we should stay in Ghana n stop going to e States.Is it not a global world? Don't i have my right to go wherever i want to go? Why do they also come to Ghan ...

• Kwame 6 years ago

The world is not a socialist utopia. When you apply for a US visa you know your chances are 1 in 10. My advise to you is simple. Don't go there. Help make Ghana a better country by spending your money at home. At the end of t ...