Entertainment

Prof Kwaku Asare explains why Akufo-Addo has no law degree

Read Comments Comments (144)

• Samuel Tackie LLB Hons LLM candidate{ 7 years ago

You are brilliant. But of course one should not be surprised. This is why they call you Prof. Well explained.

• Kem Anderson 7 years ago

What a shame, Prof. Asare! Your hypocritical attempt to save Akufo-Addo will not wash. You're pretty much aware of the fact that he told the whole world and Ghanaians that he studied law and that he had a law degree but that ...

• kwame 7 years ago

wo maame tw3 wai Anderson

• Kojo Abega 7 years ago

Bush guy,Kwame

• Jojubu 7 years ago

I think say this small boy no get sense,make u na grow up.Na Akofo Addo wuna size?

• Constructivist 7 years ago

How would the professor be convincing to a brain-dead fool? The professor's explanation laced with numerous examples and history is clear and convincing. But Akuffo Addo has proven himself as one of the most accomplished prac ...

• ME 7 years ago

Another Kumasi man....they get Emulation to only put on tie ..educated fool

• LAST DON 7 years ago

No wonder we have corrupt Judges..Neo colonialist lawyers who were trained to fit into the "whims and caprices" of their masters

No wonder JB danquah worked against Nkrumah.

These NPP people have never being themselve ...

• Rastafara"I" 7 years ago

You need to emphasize that one need to pass the BAR in the USA to become a qualified lawyer...the pass rate is less than 50 percent and most of the candidates hold JD degrees from US law school..

I should also add that the ...

• zak 7 years ago

do u really understand English? what's this fake professor is saying doesn't make sense at all to we the deep thinkers

• Jew 7 years ago

Surely there must be a certificate or some kind of document after any apprenticeship training, which Nana Akufo Addo does have. So where is the evidence that he actually has law training?

• Nene Narnor. 7 years ago

Zak, any deep thinker will understand this explanation. Be fair.

• MOI 7 years ago

THIS IS A COVER UP FOR THE DOPE HEAD. WE STILL WANTS TO SEE AKUFFO ADDICTS LAW CERTIFICATE. IF WHAT YOU ARE SAYING IS TRUE THEN WHY DID AKUFFO SAY HE CAN'T FIND HIS CERT?

Hope Bokor reads this

• Abongo 7 years ago

Read it for what? Did your foolish fraudster Akufo Addo not say his certificate got missing? If he as trained as others like the prof explained, what prevented him from saying it? He is a complete fraud and a fake lawyer.

• Jojubu 7 years ago

Kai! See me see donkey,as your mother dey born u something happened to the coconut wey de hang for your neck your Mama call "head" go find something chop .

• Efya 7 years ago

It's high time we as Ghanaians become open minded about somethings and not restrict our way of thinking
    If he was not certified our anything I'd that sort, can you think about how his thesis are still being used as case stu ...

• hka 7 years ago

No sweat. Dr. Bokor is already on it and is going to tear this explanation to pieces and further expose the fraud Nadaa. There is always certification for every kind of trainig. Nadaa is a fraud ; period.

• Kojo Abega 7 years ago

U are completely lying about what u said.
    Do u want to tell me that "trotro" mates have appretinceship certificates to show?
    If he isn't a lawyer why Atra Mills confirmed that he is a lawyer?

• Kem Anderson 7 years ago

Yaw, you're just a simpleton. You don't reason well enough.

Dr. Bokor is not your equal in any sense of the word. He is a professor of high repute. What Prof. Asare has explained does not answer all the questions surroundi ...

• Champion Atta 7 years ago

MOI, NANA ADDO MEANT HIS ECONOMICS CERT. ANYWAY WE CANNOT ENTRUST THIS COUNTRY INTO THE HANDS OF AN INTERNATIONALLY KNOWN DOPE/GANJA SMOKER! WHEN HE SMOKES THE STUFF AND ADD JIM BEAM WHISKEY OR RED LABEL TO IT, HE WILL SIGN A ...

• RITCHIOUS 7 years ago

I KNOW PEOPLE WHO SMOKE WEED AND CAN DO A BETTER JOB THAN MUHAMA. lOOK AT ALL THE CONTRACTS SIGNED BY THE NDC AND LOOK AT WHERE THE GHANA ECONOMY IS NOW.IF YOU ARE ALRIGHT WITH LOOTING AND SHARING I DONT MIND BUT I CANT STAND ...

This apprenticeship lawyer thing is worse than Nana's embarrassing 3rd class degree in economics.

• Djan 7 years ago

And what stops akufo addo communicators or spoke person to clear the air all these while??? This is no crime if the explanation by prof is true. Akufo Addo is a hard talker and what's keeping him to react. There is a fresh ca ...

• Paapidi 7 years ago

This has been cleared several years ago but dumb Ghanaians mostly on SiL can never get it. Yes, even in the state of Virginia, USA, you can today become a lawyer without going to law school.

• ROGUE LAWYER 7 years ago

you must be ashamed of yourself , if Apprenticeship certificate is awarded to you , you are not allow to work as a qualified lawyer outside that country. and you would be remain as Assistant under a qualified degree holder ...

• H.S. FIRE 7 years ago

You hate wisdom, but discerning Ghanaians will NEVER settle with IDIOCY cum INCOMPETENCY occupying the Presidency!!

RAWLINGS HAS NEVER SAID HE IS A LAWYER
    unlike your akuffu Addo who had claimed to be a lawyer but not . that is the dangerous concern Ghanaian voter must be worried off

• Asiedu the thief 7 years ago

Either He has a certificate or not He is a LAWYER and there is nothing you can do to change that, sorry.You can go and burn the ATLANTIC sea if you don't agree. The hate and jealousy must cease, fool.

• TT 7 years ago

But u have to pass the State Exam before u aew accepted as a lawyer.

Moi, you are a dick head. Its your father who is a dope. why envy an innocent man. Akufo Addo was given a certificate but he cannot find it. Simple fact.

• Kay Kay Rey 7 years ago

You better go back to school to educate YOURSELF first in GRAMMAR before questioning someone's educational achievements. YOUR BR?FO STINKS!!

• Coco 7 years ago

Most kings in gh and head of family members settle cases and play as lawers with no degrees ........and they are not curupt ...as yu ...did yu take tradition ...studies at sh ,,haaaasshole

• agyekum 7 years ago

ape mindset.
    lawyers do not settle issues.
    judges does. u see itself? stop defending the certless & learn.

• Knyc USMC 7 years ago

The ability to interpret the constitution is all it matters. I have known some lawyers in the U.S who couldn't interpret the State or the Federal law, but they call themselves lawyers. Understanding the law of the land is al ...

• Kingsley Agyei 7 years ago

nana addo eiiiii hmmmm hahahahaha what a shalk.????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

• BNA 7 years ago

Abraham lincoln didn`t go to law school,he independently studied the law registered in a county court illinois and passed an oral examination he was then given his license to practice law.In five states you can still take non ...

Great explanation. Straight to the point. No innuendos. Thanks Prof. But I think matter mundane now. Let's Ghanaians focus on other essentials.

• KOFI 7 years ago

So nana addo couldn't give this explanation all this while? Or he felt it was not a legitimate question to ask. His pride doesn't allow him to deal with very simple issues. How then can he be president?

• KWADWO 7 years ago

BUT HIS OLDER UNCLE JB DANQUAH HAD LAW CERTIFICATE,WHY NOT NANA ADDO WHO WAS YOUNGER BUT CANNOT SHOW HIS APPRENTICESHIP CERTIFICATE ???

• Petersburg 7 years ago

Nana akuffo addo pls bring ur cert u claim u are a lawyer shame unto u Nana akuffo

• Constable Joy 7 years ago

SO WHAT KARATAA(PAPER)CONFERS ON HIM AS A LAWYER?

• Star Ben 7 years ago

Kpakpa to kpa

• RITCHIOUS 7 years ago

thank god i dont want a lawyer for a president thank you for putting my worries to rest. Now i can vote for akuffo addo with a peace of mind

• Peprah Yaw china. 7 years ago

pro.Kwaku asare,
    for the years pro.asare got so called pro. what pro.has than to the nation Ghana. maybe pro. didn't have office for himself as a pro.
    gya a de ka.saa na mo tie, pro. hwee give as good policy to build the n ...

• Peprah Yaw china. 7 years ago

Mr. prof. asare.
    wi ye atro professional not prof.wa da

• Jim w 7 years ago

The hard and honest fact is the apprenticeship scheme was abolished earlier on so this old man couldn't have been an apprentice. He was just massaged into the legal profession in Ghana . Because some one who hard undergone a ...

• Zargon 7 years ago

Concert Asare!!! Justice Addo's time was different. During AA time you needed a certificate to be a lawyer.. where is the certificate from the inn? And why did he say the certificate was missing?? You people are such concert ...

CDERTAINLY-BECAUSE OF AKUFO ADDO'S CHARACTER;THE INNER TEMPLE NEVER BOTHERED TO AWARD HIM EVEN WITH A THIRD CLASS APPRENTICESHIP IN LAW.

Rewrite:CERTAINLY-BECAUSE OF AKUFO ADDO'S CHARACTER,THE INNER TEMPLE NEVER BOTHERED TO AWARD HIM EVEN WITH A THIRD CLASS APPRENTICESHIP IN LAW.

• Villager 7 years ago

Nana would have saved himself and Ghana all the trouble if he himself had come out and told the story Azar is telling us today. Why did it take so long to for such an explanation? Some of us are now beginning to harden our st ...

• Knockout 7 years ago

Very knowledgeable

• Jo Alaa 7 years ago

If this is the case, Akuffo Addo shouldn't have LIED that he cannot find his law certificate. At least he could have been honest and say you know what, I did the law apprenticeship so I don't have a formal law certificate. Th ...

• Abongo 7 years ago

If what prof Asare is saying is true in the case of this violent and divisive wee smoker, Akufo Addo, why then did he tell Ghanaians that his law certificate is missing ? Why is he lying to us? And he calls somebody incomp ...

• Ghana portmanteau 7 years ago

Do say you will come out of the Inner temple in London as an apprentice lawyer without even a testimonial .How can our lawyers and professors throw dust into our eyes.In 1971 who was his master and as lawyer why did he keep q ...

• Tsatsu Tsikata Jnr 7 years ago

long lecture with little fact aimed at helping nana who don't know what to say..............reject and retired nana

• Pa Stev 7 years ago

How can somebody say such nonsense against Nana simply because he want save Ghana from the hardship they plunged it to. Lawyer or not Ghanians will vote for him massively come December 7. Criminals

A good one there! Very soon we shall all become lawyers .Because it does not need any formal certificate to become a lawyer.Then they should stop calling themselves learned people and stop being pompous. Our teachers and nurs ...

• Abdul 7 years ago

@Abongo,if you called an elderly foolish, then what do you call you good for nothing father.

This is why i feel it dangerous to hand over Ghana presidency to such a person.
    IN THE FIRST PLACE- those apprentiship program was meant for Assistant , but if you want to become a self employed lawyer who had the leg ...

• Nii Nmai, Dallas,TX, U. S. A 7 years ago

When you go to India they even use the same apprentice system that Prof. explained to train doctors. There is nothing wrong with it. These same people made similar calls on Alhaji Kweku Baako some years ago. Alhaji Kweku Baak ...

• Victor Hugo 7 years ago

Who told you Kwame Nkrumah had no degree? Read his autobiography and come again Go to the Kwame Nkrumah Mausoleum and see his thesis when he did his Master's Degree at Lincoln University, USA.It is the Doctorate degree which ...

Akua Donkor wait , when you win election appoint Agya Koo as Attorney General because he is very sensible and Lilwyn as chief justice.

• priece 7 years ago

When he was questioned he said his law certificate was missing. You will tell us that i so dumb such that he ccould not explained this and ustead opted to lie that his cert was missing? We have heard you but we will not take ...

• Asare 7 years ago

John Mahama offered History for his first degree and continued to Soviet Russia for another Dondology Masters degree.so he had a bullshit first degree(BSc) and more bullshit(Msc) in Dondology again yet some mother fuckers won ...

• Villager 7 years ago

As for this one deeeeeee, my bruda it is SKIN PAIN woooooo. If Nana ha d expalined like Azar has done we would have trusted him. But first he said it was missing, Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings was first to go public, the guy n ...

• Badohu ayivor korshi 7 years ago

Am impressed. Schools are set up to study things which already exist. The most important thing is your ability to deliver not certificate.

• Ken 7 years ago

Some of you are the reason why Akua Donkor and her running mate think they can rule Ghana better than the educated fools. Since 1957 empty barrels and good for nothing educated people like you has ruined Ghana with their stup ...

• The don 7 years ago

YOOO PROF YATE WAI.BUT EIIISH, ONLY YOUR FACE......AND YOUR SUIT.IS IT A TREE YOU ARE STANDING BY??HEHEHEHEHE. KOOKOOASE PAA OO"....... LOL.AFUOM

• Captein 7 years ago

Even after the long explanation Nana ADDO is not cleared. And here is why...
    Prof. Asare explains the operational issues of becoming a lawyer overall but here is the caveat.
    Akufo Addo did not complete his training in any ...

• Kojo Morovia 7 years ago

Azaa well done with your 419 explanation. You can only fool your gullible NPP and Ashanti supporters. Akuffo Addo has nothing to show for what he claims to be. He was inserted into the Legal roll by his insincere father and ...

• Akofena 7 years ago

Kwaku are you a professor in America?If so why is it that we so many professors in America.It appears it is very easy to be a professor in America.Anybody who writes from America is either a PhD holder or a professor.I hope y ...

• Akofena 7 years ago

we have so many[line2]

• King 7 years ago

Most of them are professors in community colleges... Remember there are literally millions of colleges and universities in the US... No top university will hire most of these guys... And yet they come throwing their 'titles' ...

This. is because a lot of Ghanaian Schoars after completing their first degree in Ghana continue to do their second and doctorate in the US. After completion,very few come back to Ghana.Some are retained by their Universities ...

• Man Of God .....USA 7 years ago

KWASEA BI

• philip 7 years ago

Yes man he is very stupid dont mine him

• Kokuvi Da Togolese 7 years ago

This is a person we call learned. Not those two-by-four educated illiterates meddled in create, loot and share calling themselves lawyers!

• Michael K. Tettevi. 7 years ago

If most of the trained lawyers are extremely competent, what makes the difference ? A lawyer with law degree from a university may not beat a trained lawyer from the inns. If Nana is an extremely competent lawyer, then he is ...

• Mia. 7 years ago

But he is an accomplished lawyer. In the US people sit in their rooms and become what ever they want to be, they get their degrees by studying on the computer.if that is how lawyers were trained at that time what is wrong wit ...

• Chuks, Tudu/Nima 7 years ago

So Akufo Addo did not have formal education in law, he was only an apprentice to some lawyer we don't know; therefore he had not certificate, period. Can I honorably equate that to the carpenter in my village who was only an ...

• MOI 7 years ago

CHUKS, THANKS FOR YOU MADE MY DAY. AKUFFO DOPE HEAD A BOY BOY LAWYER. I CAN'T STOP LAUGHING.

• H.S. FIRE 7 years ago

Nana Akuffo Addo is a CITIZEN of Ghana. He has sound mind and wisdom. He is HEALTHY and therefore our CONSTITUTION QUALIFIES him to be Ghana's president.

As a matter of FACT, any Ghanaian adult of SOUND mind can be a pres ...

does your own writes ups sound sensible to you?

check from Akuffu Addo filled public forms like 2008, 2012 EC forms and the part that ask him his profession-what he wrote there,
    from MP to prez candidate in all he cl ...

Not withstanding the fact that Rawling"s father is not a Ghanaian, Rawlings himself is nonetheless a full Ghanaian. He was born in this country when it was called the Gold Coast and after Independence any one living in the co ...

• SIMPLY GEORGE. 7 years ago

Cheeii!!! Prof, you dey make my head dey scatter ooooh!!!!. I love your revelations. You mean general dwarf is a trainee lawyer from one of the Sikh temples in East London ? Is it one of the ilford Sikh temples or one of th ...

• MOI 7 years ago

ANOTHER GOOD AND FUNNY COMMENT FROM SIMPLY GEORGE. THE PROF HAS MADE MATTERS WORSE FOR SHORTINGO.

• Haruna Ibrahim- Sawaba,Ksi 7 years ago

What is CERTIFICATE? Buhari of Nigeria doesn't even have BECE certificate yet he is a president of over 170 million population. Jacob Zuma of south Africa did not even attend class 1 yet he is the president of the Africa larg ...

• lee 7 years ago

Why then do you people denigrate Akuan Donkor?

• Owusu Thomas 7 years ago

Look at the mess Jacob Zuma has turned Southafrica into. As for Buhari don't even talk he has failed. A third degree holder becoming president is a tragedy.

• Nana Asenso 7 years ago

The man without certificate is quoted more than any other in the ghanaian law books. What a genius

• Sekwa 7 years ago

Every greta man is envied so much. So is Nana Addo, wish I could be like him

• Gabby 7 years ago

The apprentice system was abolished in Ghana after the Makola school was set up Ghana. So when did Nana become qualified as a lawyer in Ghana? Was it under the apprentice system or the Makola law school system? Prof please ...

• ME 7 years ago

Dont mind these Idiots , they can only fool thier supporters who can only speak and unterstand Twi....he has made the matter worden for Nana....

• ME 7 years ago

Matter worse

Gabby, be smart and shed your ignorance. Anyone qualifying in any given profession overseas is made to write an exam in Ghana to test him before he can practice (that is if he passes).

• Geee 7 years ago

So did he go to Oxford or not?

• Nii 7 years ago

That is why Nana is more interested in "Try Me" apprentice fitter. He became a lawyer by apprenticeship! Eeeeiiii

• J Ananga 7 years ago

Eiii Economics degree! Then why one district one factory? Has Nana Addo forgotten the factors for the location of industries? God help us!

• Tutsi 7 years ago

Weed or no weed, leave the short man alone. Enough of the insults. That is all Ghanaians know. Nothing else

• sule 7 years ago

hmmm.. so the short man was an apprentice learning law. so....hmmm mr short man, you see the presidency is not for you. lets see if you will grow taller in the next 50yrs so we can consider you, but for now forget it.

• Gabby 7 years ago

Hmmm! this whole thing is fictitious, I saw Akoffo Addo's Certificate of apprenticeship somewhere, and he stated his address as East legon, Ambassadorial street. My question is how come? even though there were other anomalies ...

• Ernest 7 years ago

Good education. Keep it up Prof

• horbledza 7 years ago

Thanks Prof. This is the kind of education we should be having on this platform. Bless you, Prof

• Jerry 7 years ago

So where is the certificate or a document to show as evidence that Nana trained as a lawyer whether apprentice or whatever?

• Kwasi Ajin 7 years ago

This is not a big issue Nana has to get rid of NDC thieves come Nov 7th ok?

• MISAA 7 years ago

SHAME ON YOU KWAKU ASARE

• Kaakyire Kwasi 7 years ago

Shut the FUCK OFF you FOOL If you think you know it all come out of your exile and come to live in Ghana IDIOT

Kaakyire, you need to learn to be sensible. W'agyimi too much!

• K Mensah 7 years ago

MOI, you are so stupid that you cannot understand simple English. Go back to nursery school. Idiot!

• bb 7 years ago

The chickens are now coming home to rouse.
    Truth is only one and no matter the length of time you try to subdue it,
    One day it will one erupt like dormant vocano.
    Today a certain prof. is trying to justify why NANA is not ...

• MAA 7 years ago

Tell John mahama to show his masters degree certificate from Russia nkwaseafuo,you talk by heart. Your enviness and hate will eat deep into your bones and kill you.

• Tp 7 years ago

No surprise. Azar is a brilliant guy

• Love 7 years ago

Eii n Nana can speak English like that, then Nana is really blessed. This is what Ghana wants, someone who has knowledge n vision. NDC fuo nkwasiafuo instead of them to take a lesson from this, look at what they are saying, G ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 7 years ago

Kwakuu Asare qualifies as professor of explaining all matters Ghanaian. Thanks, prof.

• DR KUFFOUR 7 years ago

Still this does not help Nana''s case. The man has no classmates when at the Inn in the UK or at the bar in Ghana. So your explanation is a good trial but has not answered the question of his qualification. Simple!!!

• JB 7 years ago

Seeing is believing. WHERE Is The CERTIFICATE? the professor has raised more questions than answers.

• JB 7 years ago

What the professor said has nothing to do with nana addo. Akuffo addo said he has the certificate but it's missing whereas prof is explaining why somebody may be lawyer without certificate. Two different stories

• Star Ben 7 years ago

The Inns stopped being responsible for legal education in 1852, although they continue to provide training in areas such as advocacy and ethics for students, pupil barristers and newly qualified barristers. Most of the Inn is ...

Thanks for educating the ignorant folks!

• Truly 7 years ago

Does this not mean Nana is a lair who cannot speak the simple truth but says his law certificate is missing?
    How do we vote for someone who is calling others lairs but he himself is a lair and going about saying try me, try ...

• Kofi Mensah Accra 7 years ago

I so much agree with the prof but the fact remains that the time when people without law degree were called to the bar has long passed before Opana was called through the back door

• Kwame Attafuah timber market Akim od 7 years ago

The next president is on the way coming nana addo cert or no cert I dey feel for you.

• ME 7 years ago

Worse is the matter...

• Asuo ba Kyere-Denkyem. 7 years ago

Tsatsu Tsikata knew all these facts, but he and his cronies wanted to paint Akuffo Addo as fake lawyer. Ghana for you!

• Gomda A Hafiz 7 years ago

It's a lie, Professor, we can find a connection between what, Akofo Addo himself explained earlier on and the story you are trying to cook. Let, Akofo Addo do the explanation himself and stop the rubbish.

• kusasi 7 years ago

nana charged tsatsu to court on the charge sheet as the president vs tsatsu.an o level student will never do that this nana is an empty barrel

• philip 7 years ago

Who is this stupid man clear off nonsense

• V. POPULI 7 years ago

Are you saying that after completing sure apprenticeship you are not given anything to show you have indeed trained in such an "important" institution? If so, then it is a dubious institution and it is even worse when we thin ...

• Jew 7 years ago

Surely there must be a certificate or some kind of document after any apprenticeship training, which Nana Akufo Addo doesn't have. So where is the evidence that he actually had law training?

• Uncle T 7 years ago

So after all Akuffo Addo had no Law Degree but has been parading himself as such, he is a fraudster. He is only banking his hope on the 3rd class first degree he obtained in Legon. What a shame.

• Lewis Kwame Addo 7 years ago

Why don't call spade a spade? Nana Akufo-Addo, the man who wants to be a Ghanaian President by any means necessary is a FAKE LAWYER, period. This is a man, who has had his way into our judiciary system through a dubious and m ...

• JH New York 7 years ago

That is to say one needed to have intellect (Common Sense) or be remote from idiocy to train as a Lawyer.Good,but you left out the then "Pocket Lawyers".

• JH New York 7 years ago

Prof Asare,common sense dictates that,you should not have reference your article to Nana Addo,to let "sleeping Dogs lie" on his Law profession.You're not as smart as you thought you are.Anyway.

• Stephen Osei 7 years ago

Where was this professor when the Supreme Court ruled on this issue? I'd rather follow the Supreme Court than a learned academic at a time when law and order are needed for a peaceful election

• J B 7 years ago

Abraham Lincoln former USA president did not attend any university but thought himself law and was called into the bar and became one of the most successful lawyer is the history of USA. Eventually became the president who ab ...

Thanks for the explanation. It is good that Kwame Nkrumah made a first degree in Law a cine qua non for achieving a professional certificate in Law.Those who don't have the degree before proceeding to become Lawyers can be sa ...

• TT 7 years ago

Since every institution presents a certificate to an apprentice at the end of his/her program, we expect him to show us his certificate if indeed he was trained.

• Kwaku A. Danso 7 years ago

Folks,

Why should this be an issue so far as the Ghana Bar admitted him, be that he has a law degree or was called through the Inn in London.

I still don't get it. Unless he said openly or in writing that he had a law d ...

• AGYA 7 years ago

MOI,after all the explanations and examples given by this noble and knowledgeable prof,u still dont agree with him? Aaaaah"Kwasea as3m ka,wose wontease3,te a wontease3"

• Kwaw 7 years ago

.... for his law degree? It wasn't like the law school was not there when he got his 3rd class from Legon, alo? Why defend illegal acts?

• Chris P-Aasare (Esq) 7 years ago

Well explained Prof, thank you very much for the insight.

• Efya 7 years ago

Very well said
    #change is coming

• Efya 7 years ago

It's high time we as Ghanaians become open minded about somethings and not restrict our way of thinking
    If he was not certified or anything of that sort, can you think about how his thesis are still being used as case studi ...