News

Sports

Business

Entertainment

Why are people from Volta Region called number 9?

Read Comments Comments (109)

• Alligator 7 years ago

Interesting history but why do the people of the northern parts of the region want a separate region?

Will they get it?

• Otanii ba 7 years ago

THESE ARE THE IMPORTANT THINGS WE WANT TO LEARN AND KNOW.KEEP ON WRITING SUCH PIECES OF WRITE UPS TO EDUCATE GHANA

• Paa Joe (UK). 7 years ago

Very interesting and enlightening. A few maps or diagrams would have helped a lot, but still well done and thanks for history we all should know but don't.

• Davidt 7 years ago

Google British Togoland or Trans Volta Togoland

• Alligator 7 years ago

Even the eastern parts of Gonjaland were in TVT. The Western part of Gonjaland, where Mahama's father came from, was part of the Northern Territories which were British protectorate.

We have an interesting history that wa ...

• Paa Joe (UK). 7 years ago

Thanks Davidt, It didn't occur to me. I'll do that.

• Calculus 7 years ago

Interesting. Now many of us who think Number 9 is an insult to voltarians will think twice.
    But I think probably the "Number 9" thing started because others from other regions felt it's their right or better put they are ent ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

Three black woman who were good friends would meet at the laundromat once a week to talk while washing their clothes. All of the woman were dating men named leroy, so one week they decided to make up nicknames to call their m ...

• 1106 7 years ago

Why swerve the topic?
    We know sey you be Tadi Ewe Guy,
    so let's hear you about Tadi No.9 gang,
    There was once a group @ Tadi called themselves 'Effo Union',
    1106 (Daavi's apio joint), that time you dey downtown Tadi also, ...

• Maffi 7 years ago

was Have and Kpando part of Gold Coast?

• Willie 7 years ago

Have and Kpando were parts of the German colony and never in the Gold Coast. There are still some German landmarks in Kpando. They had a station there.

• Teinge 7 years ago

No Have and are not part of gold coast

• CY ANDY-K 7 years ago

This is a good account of why the VR became tagged No 9. In fact, it is better than what's taught in even the undergraduate history lectures in our universities. I had met history graduates who claimed the lecturers never tau ...

• Alligator 7 years ago

Yes, I also thought the writer glossed over the formation of the regions at the time of independence. Looks like they were not called "regions" before independence. Perhaps that's why he said BA was the first region to be cre ...

• francis kwarteng 7 years ago

A good one there Nyebro Yao!

I read this piece on modernghana some two or three days ago. I simply loved it.

• Nii Teiko 7 years ago

From your account, it is quiet clear that these number 9s were given to Ghanaians as kind of slaves or funeral donation after the British realized that there was nothing to gain from their useless backyard: no gold, no diamo ...

• Matter 7 years ago

use your real name cos we know a coastal native wont reason as you. Troublesome NPP negger

• ... 7 years ago

he's only on the net to defend his useless tribe! he's like an ewe police on Ghanaweb that comments only on 'ewe' matters! no wonder you'll always be tagged inward-looking. an educated idiot like you should be able to look b ...

• Sam 7 years ago

Before you accuse him know that Ashantis are master tribalist in all of Africa, the no 1 reason the continent is in such a mess. You cant even get along with fellow Akans.

• Aj 7 years ago

Sam,why attacking the Ashantis for no reasons. did the person who comments on this article says he/she is an Ashanti, you're doing that out of personal hatred or a kind of stupidity you learn from your parents. Africa is in a ...

• kissi Amuabeng 7 years ago

Thanks to the writer. Do you have more information on Ghana. Please share it with us.

• UNCLEJOE 7 years ago

oh yes. i read the article with much joy. i have been asking this question and the only answer is: volta is the last region to be created. but now i know. thanks for reading whatever come my way.

• Kofi Sarkodie 7 years ago

Excellent article. This is something we need to read to educate us in the past, not the politics of lies. God bless you. Keep it up.

• Fiifi 7 years ago

Mistake it is not pndcl who created greater region check your files well.

• maxfrance 7 years ago

you are right my brother it was the S M C of Col KUTU ACHEMPONG who created the G. ACCRA Region.not pndc.

• T'pau 7 years ago

A brilliant piece of history. That's incredibly awesome.

• TnI 7 years ago

Bunch of bull. Nkrumah created BA. No. 9 is a derogatory term coined for the ewes of the voltage region. That is why it never changes. But for the Ashanti they were brave people. Adu Boatene was the problem.

• SD 7 years ago

well, another animal from the animal farm

• Albert 7 years ago

Good history lesson.Great article

• 3dem 7 years ago

No. 9 has never been a derogatory term. I stand for correction but until recently, all Miss Ghana contestants from the region had borne the number 9 and we have some how always known that. I think since the 2000s they ve not ...

• Willie 7 years ago

3dem, No 9 has been derogatory. I guess you are a young man and may not know that.

Is it really true that all the Miss Ghana contestants from the Volta Region have carried Nr 9 since 2000? That is strange. Perhaps it is be ...

• 3dem 7 years ago

"They have not been so identified" read my comment again......

• Willie... 7 years ago

Yup, you're right there.

Sorry

• BB 7 years ago

The article about Volta region starts with ashanti blablabla

• Aj 7 years ago

Bb, stop your childish behavior and stop blaming Ashantis for your inability to develope.

• ghanaman 7 years ago

The article makes very interesting read. Such pieces help identify well-intentioned tags that are later twisted to become derogatory. Good work.

• ... 7 years ago

they are tribalist to the core and there's no way Ghana can have peace with them in our midst. there's something awkwardly strange about these inward-looking bunch of goons! they think one-way (herd mentality), never trust an ...

• GADZEPO 7 years ago

sHAME UNTO YOU. YOU COULD NOT PROVIDE YOUR NAME BECAUSE YOU STUPIDLY AWARE THAT YOU TRADING CHEAP LIES ABOUT EWES.IF YOU ARE NOT BOLD DON'T WRITE UNTRUTHFUL COMMENTS.

• hor 7 years ago

Skin pain and jealousy go kill you, Massa..

• Maame Grace 7 years ago

You need deliverance

• Akpe Kobla Gracious 7 years ago

We belong to God's wealthy human beings because u can find and locates us all over the continent Ewes the most wealthy unique people ever

• K.K. 7 years ago

Oh yeah, wealthy like Woyome!

• nyebro 7 years ago

these are some of the articles that ghanaweb should be publishing. thanks to the writer. more of such

• KORKU ATTIPOE 7 years ago

Interesting history.
    Which are the towns that were from TVT and now part of today Ghana. Am asking because, l learnt the Anlos or the South of Volta was not part of TVT at all.

• lrn 7 years ago

stop worrying about which insignificant towns were part of Ghana. ewes were never part of Ghana. check your names! everything about you shows you are not Ghanaians and there's no way anlos are Ghanaians. with all your strange ...

• stop the ritual money and go to schoo 7 years ago

More flames from us to u.

• hor 7 years ago

Who is a Ghanaian? Did Ghana exist before 6th of March 1957? I want to have some clarity on this. Am made to understand that someone decided to create an entity to be called Ghana.The parts he brought together included Britis ...

• Erl 7 years ago

Do you know that the Akans also migrated from somewhere to Ghana look at the Akans and the people of Mali (Mali Empire) you will understand and your origins as fulanis

• Kakadua 7 years ago

The writer said exactly that. Read this part again;

"Take a good look at the regional map of Ghana. The coastal areas of the Volta Region consisting of Anloga, Keta, Aflao, Denu and going up to Peki, Tsibu, Awudome, etc. w ...

• acasia 7 years ago

the most annoying thing of this dirty tribe is it thinks itself to be more educated than other tribes in Ghana. nobody heard of ewes when education was being spearheaded especially in western region, central region and Greate ...

• Nguyen 7 years ago

DO you think all Ewes reason as you claim? and do you think all Akans and other Ghanaians also reason like you? Sadly your kind of personality are too dominant in the NPP and hence its struggle to appeal to the larger Ghanaia ...

• Aziza 7 years ago

Is undeducated an English word?Please go back to P1....lmao

• Tettey Emmanuel Kudjo 7 years ago

If Ewes are not Ghanaian's, then why are we voting since 1992? Why can't Ghanaian's allow we (Ewes) to be on our own? The only remedy to this is to pull the trigger.

• Yaw Aboagye 7 years ago

Your ancestors are Ga who left accra when they defeated by the Akwamu. When the Akwamu invaded Accra a lot of Ga people fled to the what is know today as volta region. Some also went to Aburi and and parts of central and west ...

• Tettey Emmanuel Kudjo 7 years ago

We have to stop voting for Ghana if we are not Ghanaian's as the Ashanti's are claiming if not, history would repeat itself.

• KOFI ASANTE 7 years ago

TETTEH I DON'T THINK THE AUTHOR SAID EWES ARE NOT GHANAIANS. READ THE ARTICLE VERY WELL AND STOP BEING PAROCHIAL AND TRIBALISTIC

• Aj 7 years ago

Kofi,you see how some Africans think.when you try to bring good article to educate the masses,some block headed people would still not get it.

• THE VOICE 7 years ago

No Ashanti man will say EWES are not Ghanaians.of all the Regions in Ghana only the Capital the heart of Kumasi you can find
    EWE community called AWONAGA.ASHANTIS were first people who worked hand by hand on cocoa field in A ...

• george 7 years ago

interesting... :)

• Mercy 7 years ago

that for the information, more grease to your elbow

• naana 7 years ago

Great piece

• BOY SKIDO 7 years ago

This article has really opened my eyes. I thought number 9 was an insult but it must be a good recommendation because of Miss Ghana, the pride of Volta region.

• Michael K. Tettevi. 7 years ago

If people from the Volta Region are called number 9, it is due to colonialism and never their own making. If the German missionaries who brought christianity and education to them were not destined to rule them, NAZI made it ...

• hor 7 years ago

Wie geht?

• Kotakopia 7 years ago

Where exactly are Ashantis coming from? A history book, SHORT HISTORY OF GHANA, states that ASHANTIS were from CAVES. Horrifying, isn't? I suspect, cunning as they are, they are hiding something about their origin. Can giants ...

• Aj 7 years ago

Kotakopia,let me help you with your fantasy thinking.first of all never hate any tribe due to their rich culture or what's some people might tell you, pls do your own research then relying on fake,hate and ideology which are ...

• K.K. 7 years ago

We came from Amedzope.

• Etse Dugah 7 years ago

Though the lesson given looks nice, your comments on Eastern and Ashanti regions seem rather derogatory and depicted that some political figures had intentions of "land-locking" those regions for a purpose. Don't you see that ...

• sam 7 years ago

this article is by and large the truth.This is the absolute truth. For lack of knowledge my people perish.
    please my people read and be knowledgeable and ignore those idiots in the society and behave ignorantly.

• John 7 years ago

Vry vry educative article indeed .We mxt once again dive into our histories to explore the facts in order not to be misled .

• Otis Darko 7 years ago

Well done,and God increase your knowledge.

• Ernest 7 years ago

Wonderful article! I have passed by the statue of Monica a few times and I laughed at the no.9 tag. Continual education regarding history is the surest way of creating a harmonious society. Kudos Stephen Atta!

• FRED CRUZ 7 years ago

A well-balanced article. I read your article on PEPENI which was very interesting and insightful indeed just like what you wrote today. Can you help us by writing about how the Nzimas came to be called Kotoko?.

• BOY SKIDO 7 years ago

Fred I agree with you. My Nzima friends could not answer me. I will also be happy to know

• Kwame Nyamekye 7 years ago

Apart from the beauty pageant number 9 identification story which could be the authentic reason, the other one which is on a more lighter note is the picture of a cat jumping through the circle in the figure 9 on the Eveready ...

• Alligator 7 years ago

Kwame, your alternative explanation is very interesting. I've never heard of it before but it's very likely to be true and easy to see. I remember Eveready batteries very well and the cat going through the 9 or was it 6 if yo ...

• mary 7 years ago

ppl that said Ghana belong to them where are they

• Afrifa Richmond 7 years ago

Interesting, i am very grateful for such history.Indeed the past has something

• Afrifa Richmond 7 years ago

Interesting,the creation of many regions has really affect this country negatively.That's why this country is not developing because we uses the tax payers money to pay some so called MP's who are doing nothing in their area.

• anas aremeyaw 7 years ago

Thanks bro is black man we have problem with everything

• capt Eziator 7 years ago

Da most dangerous tribe

• Freddie Re Nduom fucken dirty lies. 7 years ago

It is just the Ashantis they like giving names to people they don't respect. People they don't have regards for so you becomes a laughing stock to them.

• Changes 7 years ago

Well written article. Kudos. One small point though. Brong Ahafo region was not carved out of the Ashanti region alone. Parts of the Northern region were also included. Places like Babator and Kpotor just south of the Black V ...

• Alligator 7 years ago

I have been looking for such contributions that expand on what Owusu has written. It is great that people in the know add to our knowledge, correct inaccuracies and seal holes in the factual information.

Thanks for the con ...

• winnie bill 7 years ago

you sent Gonjas to fight for you or yourself. tell us how many Ashatis die in the war?

• Local Dynasty 7 years ago

it's not everyone who knows much about history .l think dis history should be made to reach all part of de country. So Volta can dicide to depart from Ghana n stay independent or join Togo

• SAMPSON 7 years ago

hmmmmmm. I was born in Goaso and lived up to 13years before I left to school in VR. I stayed in Kumasi for about two years. Now this is my honest observation about Asantes: If u are not one of them, nothing good about u will ...

• SAMPSON 7 years ago

Now that the chinese are rampaging your land for gold and destroying your cocoa farms, keep bragging about nothing. Volta land is safe though we have nothing in it, our water bodies are safe for us! What about yours? If I wer ...

So,what is the point then??

• Alidu Alhasan 7 years ago

I also put. this same question to my Ewe Teacher in the early 70's and Miss Lucy told me it is because they were the number or 9th Region to he created by the government.
    I stand for correction though.

• DAN 7 years ago

Kpando was not part of Gold Coast

• Edem Komla 7 years ago

I was told at KNUST that Ewes eat cats and the label on EVEREDY BATTERY has a number 9 with a cat jumping through the 9. That is why people call Ewes number 9

But it is the entire region that is called Number 9, not Ewes. And the region is not made up of only Ewes. There are many other tribes in the region.

That reason cannot be correct.

• Laari Patrick 7 years ago

History is always lmportant.hence one can not explain the present without understanding the past.very educative and interesting history.even number 09 is an important number to be called.

• US 7 years ago

Good piece. I've leant some knowledge. Keep it up. God bless Ewes.

• kobii 7 years ago

ewes are not inward looking people. Ashantis are chimpanzees. always proud for being short. kuffour is not an Ashanti. Nana addict is a chimpanzee. he will see it black at the 2016 poll.

• Priscy baby 7 years ago

Nice history .these is what we have to know about nation .
    please we are all one people let stop saying these people from these region are like this like that it will not help us....

• Nana Akwasi Aboagye Mensah II 7 years ago

you ewes claim you are much educated than the other tribes yet when tag number nine ,you get angry. You are educated buh dont know anytin abuh yourselves. For all I know madness begin from your home. No wonder you dont know w ...

• PRINCE PARDY 7 years ago

Great article by all standard

• Poppoulous 7 years ago

Good to share, ignorance is strength...

• THE VOICE 7 years ago

WELCOME THE TVT WHY?WEN KRUMAH WANTED TO EMBRACE TVT SOME OF THE
    ASHANTIS WERE THE FIRST GROUP TO OPPOSE THEM NOT THAT THE ASHANTIS DID NOT LIKE EWES BUT AS NKRUMAH CREATED BRONG AHAFO THEY FELT THAT NKRUMAH WANTED TO DIV ...

• Willie 7 years ago

1. TVT joined Gold Coast to become Ghana before Brong Ahafo was created. So how can the Ashantis welcome TVT because the creation of BA was going to weaken them?

2. The Anlo enclaves created in Kumasi were for Anlos as the ...

• the eye germany 7 years ago

Such interesting articles rekindles and refreshes our minds about our rich history and culture. Well done and thank you.

• K.K. 7 years ago

U

• Oseeeeeeeeee yeeer 7 years ago

Another joke to the whole issue is that voltarians like the colour reg and cat. Now ghetto ever ready battery had the colour Red with cat popping out of the number 9 and people felt it fit into the preferences of our brothers ...

• Oseeeeeeeeee yeeer 7 years ago

Another joke to the whole issue is that voltarians like the colour reg and cat. Now ghetto ever ready battery had the colour Red with cat popping out of the number 9 and people felt it fit into the preferences of our brothers ...

• Stephen-Pipes Afrifa 7 years ago

Wow such a great article which jhas enlightened me on the VOLTA REGION. It is very interesting to know all these facts , very hilarious but true .

I copied the link to a friend and he was like wooooooow... A voltarian thou ...

• Ellis 7 years ago

This is really history for us.

• Stephen Atta Owusu 7 years ago

Here is a more correct account of the formation of the regions:

At the eve of our independence the Gold Coast had four administrative regions: the Gold Coast colony (also known as the crown colony), Ashanti Protectorat ...