Ghanaians' absurd infatuation with spoken English

Read Comments Comments (271)

• Yaa. 7 years ago

For once I agree with u. Kudos

• PN DC 7 years ago

Twi is not broad band language. We must count our blessings for having English "imposed" on us! What are the Twi for the following: pancreas, uterus, urerhra, piles, hemorrhoids? The secret to the success of nations is thei ...

• H.S. FIRE 7 years ago

Do you think English has all the words for everything? Language is like a living thing: it grows, it steals, it rejuvinates, but ONLY if one uses it.

Do you know how many words English language has "borrowed" if not stole ...

• agyapee147 7 years ago

Thanks. you are one of the educated few of our country

• dansas 7 years ago

most of scientific words are not english but rather latin

• Sika 7 years ago

All those of you calling for a Ghanaian language to be made national language are fools and shallow thinkers who are more driven by ethnic supremacy rather than intelligence and common sense.

Bashing the using of the white ...

• judochrislam 7 years ago

When we begin writing in our local languages then our wisdom will be well articulated. We have a lot to offer but we are bogged down to foolhardiness. Yes I do research and I have began to write a Mathematics book in Twi. Th ...

• ELINAM 7 years ago

You're so right. And only thru that we gonna be wise and develop.
    I laugh at those ignorant ones who ask if we start with a Ghanaian language, then how are we going to call Mars? I tell them name it fool to your understandin ...

• Kofi Sarpong, Peckham, London 7 years ago

I find some of the comments very interesting and revealing.

I teach the Twi Language and find it frustrating that many of our traditional rulers, those supposed to be the custodians of our languages and culture, do not kno ...

• Son Of Man 7 years ago

You can file a provisional patent application in a language apart from English with the US Patent Office. However, you also need to file an English Language translation and certificate of the translator with the Patent Offic ...

• fafa 7 years ago

what about akua donkor, mahambole's idol who thinks a stark illiterate could become president of agaha?

• OZA 7 years ago

OK let us all agree to make any Ghanaian language official. BUT, are we going to develop our own alphabets, if we really want to be self reliant. So what is it about all the noise here. Even if we decide to use our own langua ...

• Nerzyn 7 years ago

Which language are we using? Certainly not Twi/Akan. Are we using Ewe?
    We need to learn and use Ga since that is where the capital is. I know most people are already insulting me.
    But I choose never to speak Twi in my life ...

• fireman 7 years ago

The largest ethnic group is Akan ad Twi is the single most dominant language spoken across the country by indigenes so it falls in place to chose that as the official language over one being spoken by few in the capital.

• Counselor 7 years ago

Well said Sika.

• mojingles 7 years ago

You said it best, Sika; the fools think they can go to the United Nations or any other international organization and babble in their twi or dagbani or frafra languages......they better learn English and French fast before th ...

• YAANAA 7 years ago

You are right, tell them to write Calculus in Twi. Some of us talk really like stupid idiots. It is sad that many on this forum have no common sense.

• Aman 7 years ago

Right where how many of them are not twi speaker. They should use the common language between them

• fireman 7 years ago

You don't make any sense. dumb ass.

• THE REAL C.Y. ANDY-K 7 years ago

Sika,

You have made some valid points. Those calling for Twi to be made the national language are indeed fools and mere ethnic supremacists. As such, they can't recognise that Twi is not the mother tongue of the majority o ...

• Villager 7 years ago

As usual the Real Andy-K is making sense. This topic falls into his area of expertise. Even when the mighty Ghadafi dismissed Ghanaian teachers in Libya after the American attack and banned the teaching of English language , ...

• 12 7 years ago

good point

• Ankonam 7 years ago

The question is: Was this MP forced to make her speech in English? Why did she exert herself so painfully to speak publicly in a foreign language when she wasn't confident to do so?

Even in England, no one laughs when a n ...

• Omslopogaas 7 years ago

One of the most uneducated writers on Ghanaweb is Adofo Rockson. His English stinks and he cannot argue academically because his education is shallow.

• Prof 7 years ago

oh great and mighty one....and where is your counter argument, my erudite and well-learned friend?
    tweaaaa!!

• Kpapkilli 7 years ago

What arrant, nativist nonsense!? Why would we retrogress by adopting such an inconsequential language as twi?! How many people understand it? Even more widely spoken languages haven't made this idiotic request. SMH

• ASANTE IMPERIALISTS 7 years ago

Just IMPOSE "TWI" on Ghanaians as a National Language. Ghana will BURN.
    Remember Soweto? It started with a language- Afrikaans.

• MINOR CASE 7 years ago

Wake up from your slumber my ignorant Bro. Noody is going to impose Twi on you. It is the language imposing it self on you and you willingly embracing it and there is nothing you can do about that. You don't even have to spea ...

• F9 7 years ago

You see your folly. We accept you in Ga with all our heart and every tolerance we can muster. We see being multi-lingual as a good thing as do most non-Akans, but do NOT for a second think we want to hear Twi in our parliamen ...

• MINOR CASE 7 years ago

If I were you , I would advocate that all pupils be taught in their native languages so that they do not become extinct including your Ga language. Your type is behaving like the proverbial ostrich while Twi is sweeping other ...

• Sam 7 years ago

If Twi is allowed to grow naturally as a result of the Akan population no one will cry foul of Akan imperialism so I suggest a natural process rather than an imposition been suggested by others.

• bo 7 years ago

you accept whow hahahah did you bring land from Nigeria you people are all high or something the resouces that is used for accra you think it comes from you people let Ghana turn to a federation you will not see akans in accr ...

• Counselor 7 years ago

You must be hallucinating. Nobody can impose their language on anybody including the Akans of Ghana.

• MINOR CASE 7 years ago

Will you be happy if I tell you TWI is the unofficial language in Ghana ?

• JOKER 7 years ago

Yeah, "Twe" is the unofficial language in Ghana. Oh, did I say "Twe" again? I meant "Twi"
    Hahhahaha, my ribs

• F9 7 years ago

Latin was also once the unofficial language in some parts of Europe. Go ask them what happened to it. All we need to do is say "minuu twi" and your ethnocentric fuelled dreams will keep crushing down. Keep overreaching.....

• Counselor 7 years ago

Well said F9; they think it is a forgone conclusion. They must be hallucinating.

• F9 7 years ago

wELL SAID!

• Counselor 7 years ago

Only in their dreams adopting Twi as the national or official language. Once this language is adopted other tribes will not only loose their native language but also their heritage! It will not happen since every tribe wants ...

• bobostone 7 years ago

Language is dynamic. I agree. It's a work in progress. We must work towards making our language rich by adding to the repertoire of words we already have. In America for instance if you mention the word Obamacare everybody un ...

• K Asumadu 7 years ago

You are absolutely right. There are so many words and phrases in the English language that are foreign, and indeed if Twi was used at national level it would have developed and adopted other words from other languages as doe ...

• dd 7 years ago

What's broad band language?

• Alex London 7 years ago

PNDC I am sorry you are wrong. Let me tell you something. The English in their pomposity said the english is an internat ional language of trade. The Japanese in their wisdom said no. And the language of international trade i ...

• Alex London 7 years ago

PNDC I am sorry you are wrong. Let me tell you something. The English in their pomposity said the English is the international language of trade. The Japanese in their wisdom said no. And the language of international trade i ...

• Abi fine boy 7 years ago

I beg to differ with your opinion please. For the fact that we go to school to learn the white man's language does not make u to be part of them. All these stem from the fact that we couldn't stamp our authority on our langua ...

• Okukuseku 7 years ago

You are man little brains, uterus,hemorrhoids, pancreas can all be created we create names and symbols to match the English languAge A-Z with all the scientific and mathematics symbols period.
    We have the linguistics profes ...

• Ntow 7 years ago

Try n search for the discoverers of those medical terms u mention n its simply the names of people who discover those organs n conditions. So u can also name one after u n the rest after ur children.

• Nicholas Kyeretwie 7 years ago

Stupid fool,who told you the success of china and other countries is because of their use of english.You meet a Chinese born in America,schooled in America and yet speaking the chinese language.Unless we take pride in what we ...

• DIAMOND 7 years ago

If you can't speak proper English, don't worry. You're very pretty.

Just use your MONEY MAKER to advance in life and to bend the politicians into developing your constituency and the nation!

• Kojo T 7 years ago

Don't you laugh when I speak broken Twi? So what the beef? You forget others need to learn the Twi too? Then which twi Asante, Akwapim or Akyem?

• H.S. FIRE 7 years ago

So go ahead all your lifetime TRYING to be ENGLISH. Good luck!!

• MINOR CASE 7 years ago

It is not a matter of language , it is more of education than language. How can she contribute as the a parliamentarian when they are deliberating on matters of foreign , economic, education, technology and science ,domestic ...

• See kay 7 years ago

I think you are right mine case. It's about understanding issues.Does this woman understand Economics, Finance, can she use mathematics to discuss about government financial issues and strategies.

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

Good one there, Kojo T. This semi-illiterate bush girl has support because her party is in power. If she was an NDC girl she wouldn't get even the "dining hall prefect" tag - she would probably be called a gutter cleaning pre ...

• MINOR CASE 7 years ago

A whole minister had only " dining hall prefect " job experience to execute policies and you think that is acceptable. This lady is not going to be in charge of office. Your dining hall of a minister was doing more damage to ...

• Counselor 7 years ago

Well said P Djamgbe!

• Kofi of USA. 7 years ago

P Djiamgbe or whatever there is difference between knowledge and wisdom.One of them God give it(wisdom)It goes beyond everything in this so travel and see things

• Brucebruce NY 7 years ago

Twi is Twi whichever way it's spoken you will understand

• moyo 7 years ago

Good one Sir.

• kwame 7 years ago

u call this sense?? u sounded like a broken record

• old. and wise 7 years ago

You dimwit should start writing in twi and leave the English language alone

• Hal 7 years ago

Thank you old and wise. You are so right. He is reaching a much wider audience writing in English. A referendum on which language to adopt in parliament will not get a majority vote. Lets rather improve the teaching of the En ...

• okuseku 7 years ago

Yes they do they learn it as a subject so they can speak it whenever they go outside their country, they don't use it to teach science and maths, they worship it like us that's what every non most Aglo-saxons countries like I ...

• Kantona 7 years ago

The NDC and their useless Ewes should leave president Akuffo to show them how to govern a country . GHANA belongs to AKANS ( Ashantis , akyem , Brong - Ahafo ,Fantis- central Akuapem - eastern , westerns and other noted twi ...

• AKRANTIE-BINI EATER 7 years ago

Look at this RAT SHIT EATER too. After eating RAT SHIT and drinking calabash of flies-infested palm-wine, you come here and talk SHIT.

Don't be an INTERNET WARRIOR. If you have BALLS, go to Keta beach and tell an Anlo fis ...

• bo 7 years ago

why must we go to boxing and fuck our self off when we can play football dude and keta beach no asante want to be there and ps whow told you the person that is typing is an asante you think we think about you people that much ...

• AKRANTIE-BINI EATER 7 years ago

Stop talking SHIT, you RAT SHIT EATER

• Counselor 7 years ago

It is because physically they are strong AKRANTIE-BINI EATER.

• Ama 7 years ago

Kantona ,u re a fool for sayin wat u re sayin,Ghana belongs to eyi,it wud be even beta to belong to dogs ,cats ,lizards n crocodiles,dan Gh belongin to Ashantis ,l n r,akyems wit dwarfs lyk Akuffo Addo n de lyks.create ,loot ...

• IDRIS PACAS 7 years ago

I strongly support your arguments but your introductory paragraphs (first 2) are 'undemocratic'.

What we must argue for are the channels through which MPs such as Ama Sey can contribute on the floor of Parliament.

MPs ...

Maame you are absolutely right. Ghana is still in slavery. We pride ourselves to be the first country to have Independent in Africa. Even we just celebrated 60th anniversary, yet look at our Justice system, especially the dre ...

• Sam. Michigan 7 years ago

It would be far better for us to be first class Ghanaians as oppose to being second class Britons or Americans. It is not worth it.
    Kudos to you, Sir Adofo. But please stop bashing Nana Asantehene

• Afrikatu Kofi 7 years ago

WHAT LANGUAGE DID GOD GAVE GHANAIANS AND AFRIKANS?SO YOU THINK GOD IS STUPID AND OBRONI IS CLEVER?PLEASE ANSWER ME YOU ALL THAT ARE FILLD WITH EXTREEM LOW SELF ESTEEM AND HIGHEST DOSE OF INFERIORITY COMPLEX.YOU SAY YOU ARE E ...

• Nana Kuffuor. Abeka. La Paz. 7 years ago

This idiot Rockson Adofo is back again. Some Ghanaians can be idiots. When they ask you to study English well, most of you are advocating speakingTwi. Twi is not a national language but English is. We have fine actors, footba ...

• Nii Nmai, Dallas,TX, U. S. A 7 years ago

Me bro, for this one I dey with well,well.
    Look, the constitution for the Fourth Republic was drawn by Makola women and farmers and now the educated are using it to run the country.
    Per our inferiority complex anything fore ...

• NppGhana 7 years ago

The MP should be elected to represent Ghana at the ECOWAS parliament!
    And let Nana impose Akyem Twi on us as our official language. Nana has the power to do so. Adofo you are so smart. I agree with you. Next elections we sha ...

• Lovely 7 years ago

GHANA MUST MOVE ON AND ADOPT A LOCAL LANGUAGE AND MAKE ENGLISH A SECOND LANGUAGE.
    YES AMA SAY CAN REPRESENT GHANA AT THE ECOWAS PARLIAMENT AND SPEAK TWI. RIGHT.
    IT IS TIME TO MAKE A U TURN AND DRAW BACK FROM THESE COLONIA ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 7 years ago

1. Ghana's Parliament is for Ghanaians and not for the British. So, why speak in a language which 85% do not understand?

2. What was Ghana's so-called independence for if after 60 years we so yearn to be British? What lang ...

• Sintim 7 years ago

FUNNY THAT THE VERY CRITICS OF THE USE OF ENGLISH IN GHANA ARE THEMSELVES WRITING IN THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE. WHY NOT THEY WRITE IN GA, TWI OR EWE ON THIS FORUM? FOOLISH BLACK APES!

ENGLISH IS A LANGUAGE OF CHOICE, AND THE LA ...

• H.S. FIRE 7 years ago

Stop that crap: Are Japanese and Chinese or Koreans not equally developed using their OWN languages? Let's stop being lazy-minded and for once stop following like perpetual FOOLS and act responsibly and develop something we c ...

• B..k 7 years ago

Crap, those Parliamentarians should English well and this bullshit about using twi in Parliament should stop

• Counselor 7 years ago

Nana cannot impose TWi on any Ghanaian in Ghana. He does not have authority to do that.

• Addo Kuffour 7 years ago

Tell this to your Akuffo Addo first

• Philips 7 years ago

Yes that is the man again I said once to you that I follow you and read most of your articles I like almost all of them except the issue involving Asantehene. Get to the point, Ghanaians have big problem about how to speak th ...

• kuffour 7 years ago

Remember guys, Ghana is a country of NATIONS, and not a twi village. Why adofo did not write his piece in his twi language ? Let's stop misleading our intelligence. making noise about twi language, have we ever find out how ...

• H.S. FIRE 7 years ago

Nonsense: Japanese and Chinese are official languages for Japan and China respectively, so are you telling me their American visa form are not printed in English language? Do they have a problem applying for visas to the US?

• Adda 7 years ago

Are you stupid.
    In Japan they speak only one language
    In China they do same speak one language.
    Why cant they have a National one

• re 7 years ago

Check your non-facts!!!!!!!!!

• H. S. FIRE 7 years ago

Thank you very much. Lack of knowledge and lazy mindset are destroying us.

• H. S. FIRE 7 years ago

It's obvious you are the one showing stupidity here: for how long can you hang on to colonized mindset? Who told you China has only one language? Mandarin, Wu, Miu, Yue just to mention but a few are all Chinese languages, but ...

• Ruddy 7 years ago

I understand what you're driving at but I just wanted to chip in that the said countries china and Japan indeed have their visa forms written in both their respective language and English. They've got their local dialect on t ...

• H. S. FIRE 7 years ago

That is the case because American Embassy in Tokyo recognizes the FACT that Japanese is the official language of the HOST nation, (Japan)and there is the need to make such provision on the forms. Granted that Ghana has a nati ...

• Kotey kotey 7 years ago

Every American Embassy in every country uses its official languages to print those forms.....so in Japan it is in official language (Japanese) and then China in Chinese.....likewise that of ghana is in English......if Twi w ...

• Pelicles 7 years ago

"Some" Ghanaians are the most stupid humans ever to walk this planet. I don't understand why we hate "anything being ours". I don't get that.

Why are people so angry with the Akwatia MP in the person of Ama Sey? Why? The ...

• H.S. FIRE 7 years ago

You summed up my stance!! My respect.

• coffee 7 years ago

Please, can you read twi. Can you write twi. Can you even read and write any of the Ghanaian language well?. Think about it for yourself. Anyway why didn't you write your comments in twi.

• H. S. FIRE 7 years ago

You should rather ask "can you learn Twi" or "can you read Twi" If you think we learned English, then I think you should also know that Twi or any other language can be learned.

• JMK 7 years ago

I think you are rather "stupid" for saying what you have said! Which bill in Parliament will be translated into twi for her to read, understand, analyse before approval? She is there to do nothing but YEEE YE! That is what yo ...

The dickhead forgot to tell us that in the DRC parliament their MPs speak good and fluent french not Lingala. And DRC is the largest french speaking country outside of France. Do not force twi on anybody.

• Counselor 7 years ago

The Akans cannot force anyone to speak Twi, period!

You see,look at how you who have mastered the English Language as your second language is using it to insult your fellow Ghanaian. I tell you what, SHAME ON YOU for disrespecting your own mother language. There is nothing wro ...

• Counselor 7 years ago

By not speaking Twi does not mean disrespecting my native language. You could speak your own native non-Twi native language and English.

• Eagle 7 years ago

True talk!
    Please keep saying we should adopt a local language like twi. What about the non-twi spoken people who can't speak it either? They should now go learning twi? And at what stage? Running into the same challenges! L ...

• NPPigs 7 years ago

youtube.com/watch?v=lv8iC6b4RwY

• Joe, UK. 7 years ago

We ourselves have killed our language. We speak the language that makes you progress and move along with current trend. How many books are available in our native languages now. Akan is not the only language spoken in Ghana. ...

• abg 7 years ago

Inability to fill a form doesn't make them unintelligent, does it? Intelligence is not enshrined in the English language. Is he/she able to give you the needed information and explanation to fill the form? Intelligence lies w ...

• Akua 7 years ago

Ghanaians must wise up!! Why worry about not speaking someone's language properly? Ask anyone in England if the English people will even bother to speak a foreign language, The English people say, 'was you there' and others. ...

• ASANTE-IMPERIALIST 7 years ago

You got Physics Chemistry Biology books in TWI?

How the FUCK do you say this in TWI?:

1)Avalanche Breakdown of Semiconductor.
    2) Metal-Oxide-Silicon Field Effect Semiconductor.
    3) Stack-Pointer on Microprocessor?
    4) ...

• Stupid Africans 7 years ago

Kwasia, you fool u think ewes are what , getting high tech job at where, you guys are just a bunch cat thieves , if you think your English will make your crap region rich and successful , then keep dreaming......

• ASANTE IMPERIALISTS 7 years ago

Fight over cat meat lands brothers in jail, hospital

KWADWO BAFFOE DONKOR 11 APRIL 2014

A misunderstanding between two brothers over cat meat has resulted in one of them being in critical condition at the Komfo Anokye ...

• JH New York. 7 years ago

Your argument is Juvenile. Who should develop your local language for
    you!. A word like Semiconductor,etc could be maintained. What do you think a Computer is called in the Russian language?.So a Computer in the Akan is "Co ...

• ASANTE-IMPERIALIST 7 years ago

You got Physics Chemistry Biology books in TWI?

How the FUCK do you say this in TWI?:

1)Avalanche Breakdown of Semiconductor.
    2) Metal-Oxide-Silicon Field Effect Semiconductor.
    3) Stack-Pointer on Microprocessor?
    4) ...

• Akua lolo 7 years ago

Oh Akua thank u,I live in London Dagenham my dear it's true,Our kids are being mocked everyday sometimes they don't even want to go to school,please ours is ours oh,English should be our second language

• JOKER 7 years ago

You think I want to speak "TWE" by force? Oh sorry I mean "TWI"? Take this your FUCKING TWE Language back to your village. ( Did I say "TWE" again? Oh I am sorry. I mean "TWI")

Nobody can stop us speaking our own language/languages. An MP in Ghana should be literate in English.Is this too much for an Asante to understand? Asante language does not contain more than 30,000 words. So a lot of scientifi ...

• Kwami US 7 years ago

Why is it that the writer did not write this article in twi instead of using English as a medium of communication? The word is Lingala not "ingala". Ignorant writer!

• Mpunipu thoughts 7 years ago

Much make up of saman saman girl. You eye lashes scares me. Girls with too much make ups scares sexually. They fuck too much. If yu are my girl friend with too much eye lashes, I will ask you to slow down a bit.

• Sintim 7 years ago

AKUFFO-ADDO DELIVERED HIS PLAGIARISED INAUGURAL SPEECH IN ENGLISH.

HE ALSO DELIVERED THE STATE OF THE NATION ADDRESS IN ENGLISH RATHER THAN IN DAGBANI, GA OR TWI.

NOW HE TELLS GHANAIANS TO ADOPT AND USE THE LOCAL LANGUA ...

• Ruddy 7 years ago

Stop making unnecessary noise sintim. Did you read on here that the name of this author was akuffo addo? So why the reference to the president. If you have nothing reasonable to offer keep mute!

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

My bro.you have taken this from my mouth.I said this just 3days ago that because of crookedness they would like always to swindle the masses with this btittmans language,with all these PhDs ,fluency what have they achieved or ...

• GYAMFI 7 years ago

Yea we have many languages in Ghana but yea most people speak Akan. If you go to UN all the Presidents speak their language. English is a second language in Ghana. Ghana hate themselves that is why the white man has power ove ...

• Counselor 7 years ago

Nobody is obligated to speak Twi. Only in your dreams.

• JW. 7 years ago

A blackman is a blackman no matter how good he or she speaks English language, let's be proud of who we are, we were born with our own language

• Maj 7 years ago

Educated foolish Adofo or whoever you call your self. Because of politics you don't want to use common sense to in your defence. The countryear that you mentioned how many languages do they speak. I want you to know why Ghana ...

• good 7 years ago

you have said it all.

• Kofi Kyei 7 years ago

I recommend that we use Dagbani or Wala. Otherwise southern arrogance will lead to perpetual civil war!!

• Ras Sakyi 7 years ago

Mental slavery and inferiority complex is a great disease for Ghanaians and most AFRICAN countries. Emancipation is a must

• bb 7 years ago

no problem if she can read and write twi. put her points across in written twi to parliament. so now, NANA, u see d reason why some of us are wondering about her ability? at least one should be able to read and write. India, ...

• Victor 7 years ago

I wonder why the learned writer did not write Twi but English!! He should give us the difference between a dialect and a language. The Akwatia MP's ambitions cannot match her IQ. Who pushed her there???

• Osei Boakye 7 years ago

This is an essential problem for Ghanaians.
    We have to think seriously about which language to use to govern ourselves & relate to others.
    Adolfo, why didn't you write this article in Twi?

• kardinal 7 years ago

Since we are promoting our heritage, dagaare language should be used alternatively with Twi in the Ghanian parliament.
    We would be promoting national unity in that regard hence these local languages can be enhanced in our e ...

• Pk morne 7 years ago

Some Ghanaians are fond of weeping more than the bereaved. Kudos, BRO Rocks on

• MOHAMAD ISSAH. NIMA. 7 years ago

Rockson Adofo you cannot impose your language on anyone just because someone cannot speak good English. Do you understand, Idiot and a foolish man like your type... What about those who don't speak good twi.

• TROUBLEMAKER 7 years ago

Deep inside, they know TWI cant take Ghana ANYWHERE. But out of being TRIBALISTIC, they come here with Twi this and that blablabla.

Remember Woyome? He OUTSMARTED TWI-SPEAKING officials during Kufours time with ENGLISH CO ...

• F9 7 years ago

This is Nothing but sheer tribal supremacy. The real reason to all this is to make Twi the official language of Ghana. We have a good thing going but this will tear us apart if we go down this road. Just because I am multi li ...

• G. K. Berko 7 years ago

Come on! Why should this discussion degenerate into such a turbid fudge of tribal feud? The tribal insults thrown around here, and the baseless suspicion that some tribal superiority would be implied for choosing a particular ...

• TROUBLE 7 years ago

My friend, this is indeed Asante Imperialism. Ask Gas and Ewes and Northerners if they will accept Twi. They will tell you NO. End of the story

• Sam 7 years ago

Berko...A little eye opener for you as a Brong man.This is the sacred oath the Asantehene swears before he takes office.I do not think other tribes who were subjugated by the Asante"s will be so happy if Asante Twi is imposed ...

• Marcus Ampadu 7 years ago

Language that becomes lingual Franca evolves slowly, that which come along through revolutions and wars don't last long.

Whether we are aware of it or not, whether we like it or not we are surreptitiously moving towards a ...

• F9 7 years ago

You are either not Ghanaian or naïve. You will see the true colours of the proponents of this one local adoption thing if the criteria were changed from most widely spoken in Ghana(twi and it's variants) to say most useful i ...

The proponents of Twi ARE TRIBALISTS-IN SECRET. If they really want a language that easily goes deep in West Africa, it will either be Nzema or Ewe.
    These same TWI proponents will be fuming and singing WAR DIRGES and playin ...

• ASEM K 7 years ago

Your English is very bad.

These TWI officials are STILL on the JOB "SIGNING" Contracts, you get it?

• Abeeku Mensah 7 years ago

I knew it was only a matter of time before you hung yourself with the rope Ghana has given you, Adofo Rockson. What is the medium of instructions at out schools in Ghana? What are our wonderful teachers supposed to do in our ...

• fact facter on Feb 16'2017'06'53 7 years ago

ok if the British palament say like that it doesn't make difrend with what we are experience in Ghana. maybe the one in Europe is beter here in Ghana everyday we are abuse by akans. hey TANII Ayigbe Pepe's sometimes even Gas ...

• BERNARD 7 years ago

*1.Burns Fats at the Tummy and the Arms.
    *2.Blocks Carbohydrates and Fat Absorption.

*3.Reduces the conversion of Carbohydrates into Fats.

*4.Enhances Weight loss.
    (0572174551)The Unique thing ...

• Anokware Asa 7 years ago

How do you say "Loose Weight" in your native tongue? Would it be different from lose weight?

• BERNARD 7 years ago

RID OF YOUR STRETCH MARKS, SCARS, ACNE, DARK SPOTS,(0572174551) DRY SKIN, SUNBURNS, RASHES & OTHER SKIN
    RELATED PROBLEMS USING OUR NATURAL PRODUCTS .0572174551
    ALSO GET PRODUCTS THAT BRINGS OUT THE BEST OF YOUR SKIN'S COMPL ...

• Adda 7 years ago

Very funny huhh.....
    So if all the parliamenterians speak their own dialects on parliament would that be ok by you????? You want us all to speak Twi.
    Why don't you suggest we use Dagbani, Kassem, Mampruli as the national an ...

• KWABENA KASAPREKO. 7 years ago

GHANAIANS, ALL OF YOU LISTEN, IT IS UNFORTUNATE THAT WE STILL HAVE THAT SLAVERY MENTALITY. ENGLISH IS NOT OUR LANGUAGE. WE WERE SUBJUGATED WITH THE LANGUAGE BY THE BRITISH COLONIALIST. UNFORTUNATELY, TO DATE, WE ARE STILL NOT ...

• FUFU CANT DIGEST 7 years ago

My friend, we are not willing to work in Nyame Bekyere Chop Bar or work in Europe as Apra-prah, Or in Ghana as Fufu Pounder. Do you have Physics Chemistry Biology Text books in Twi? You got Hi Tech books in Twi?
    You Asantes ...

Piss off with your ignorance.The country Ghana itself was created by the white man.ALL 92,000,100 sq miles of it.They unified us.Secondly, names such as Peter,John,Andrew,Abraham,Joseph,Mary, Sarah etc were not Europeans. No ...

• Adr 7 years ago

I think, they need help for laughing at her. Shame on them. I am very much disappointed in them. A

• NON-ALIGNED 7 years ago

Hopson,.......you have said it all.
    It is to me, the ENSLAVED MINDS that can't fantom the fact that they can exist and progress without speaking or writing in English.

Even most English people can't speak or write their o ...

• FUFU CANT DIGEST 7 years ago

Why didnt you write this in Twi to make your point? Practice what you preach.

• NON-ALIGNED 7 years ago

I won't insult you.....but for sure if I wrote in any GHANAIAN language you won't understand it because your MENTAL ENSLAVEMENT is too deep.

I hope you could read what I wrote though? I doubt it so much, that is why you wo ...

• Chairman 7 years ago

That's why we have so many graduate unemployment in our country. In Ghana ' if one speaks good English, people tag them as the most intelligent people on earth so students in Ghana spent all their time on english language. If ...

• old. and wise 7 years ago

The people of akwatia wanted an illiterate so let them have her. Its sad we dont think of necessary things and think everything is politics.

How can she communicate the people of akwatia needs to parliament?

• k,no problem,a 7 years ago

Man, we are blessed that we have English as our first official language.
    In our parliament the law permits the MP to speak in a local dialect .
    There is much admiration whenever a person speaks a language and speaks it ver ...

The most dreadful infatuation of English is an Asanteman who calls himself Rockson. Do I need to say more?

• WAZABANGA 7 years ago

SEE HOW YOU EXPOSE YOUR INGNORACE.FIRST CHANGE YOUR ENGLISH NAME B4 YOU COMMENCE YOUR LONG ESSAYS ON NATIONAL LANGUAGES

• comfort 7 years ago

Ghanaians think they are wise. this has affected their children . hence they Can,t think far. they speak English at home. it is ignorance

Refuse to learn English, fail Physics Chemistry Biology exams. Now learn Twi and be a FUFU POUDER at Nyame Bekere Chop Bar, you want that?

• Tony D' Lion 7 years ago

Very well said Mr Adofo. We very often ridicule ourselves when it comes to the English language. You have to be able to think within the confines of a language to be able to express yourself well and to let people understand ...

• KK 7 years ago

Been to Sierra Leone before? It's amazing. They don't give a damn to the Whiteman's English. They speak broken English (called Creo) in Parliament. Official national news on radio and TV are delivered in broken English. They ...

• Sammy 7 years ago

"In Ghana, Twi language is predominantly spoken by the majority of the population. Why can't we use that dialect as our official language to be spoken in Parliament as done in other countries"?

I dont speak twi, my family ...

• Anon 7 years ago

English is the language for business, not Twi. You need education and ability to communicate in English to participate in parliamentary business.

• B..k 7 years ago

To use what local language in Parliament? You can use your Ashanti in your local Assembly not in Ghanaian parliament period, this is crap. No local language is going to be used in Parliament...

• Sofia 7 years ago

Very good article.My advice is ti Adom fm's Kofi Adoma ,he plays the MP's speech as voice of the day and ridicules her.Some of us live in the U.K. ,work with pure English people and also live in one neighborhood.There hasn't ...

• Omane 7 years ago

Why Are Europeans 'Bad English Shaming' Their Politicians?
    English has become the lingua franca of Europe. And politicians who can't speak it well are getting roundly mocked by their own citizens.

FEARGUS O'SULLIVAN

If ...

• Omane 7 years ago

Italians mock Prime Minister Matteo Renzi for awful English.

Matteo Renzi, the Italian prime minister, has been ridiculed for his poor English.

ltering attempts by Italy’s prime minister, Matteo Renzi, to speak Englis ...

• Yaw Buor 7 years ago

Great piece of writing. After all, a language or the spoken word is simply to convey a message. If the message is understood, it has served its purpose. That is all that matters.

• jazzyj 7 years ago

pls pack your stupid self somewhere and leave us alone.

• FREE EDUCATION 7 years ago

Ama go back to the classroom, free education has come

• KWAPPS 7 years ago

If ever we were to have a governance system as practised in China, this debate would be put paid once and for all. My parents are from different tribes in Ghana so I believe I am centrally placed to give a balanced opinion on ...

• Aben 7 years ago

No, it is the writing system which is the same in Chinese not the spoken one.Madarin differs from Cantonese.

• Dee,Germany 7 years ago

Appoint Agya Koo for educational minister....
    That's why as a child we are told to take education very serious...we will have a gang of illiterates running our affairs. .bullshit

• Nack 7 years ago

I give you thumb up on this your piece, bravo

• Omslopogaas 7 years ago

Rockson, your level of education is shallow from your style of writing and the way you argue. Do not waste our eyes, ears, and feeling. You are a disgrace to academia.

• Sueto Sade Kodjo 7 years ago

Oh yes you are soo correct ignorant and stupid people wiLloyd do such am in Europe nobody one has ever laugh at me for learning their language those who will laugh are disgrace people period

• Bryan 7 years ago

Why didn't you write in twi. Who are covering up. Nonsense

• JAK 7 years ago

what is the difference between LANGUAGE and DIALECT? English is a language and Ewe, Twi and the rest are all dialects. You guys must learn.

• Sarita 7 years ago

With all your tons of correct English can't you translate science books for us? Fool

• Spartacus 7 years ago

Ado for so u think u have mastered the English language eh? Sorry

• omanbapa 7 years ago

THEN AKUA DONKOR IS CAPABLE OF BECOMING A PRESIDENT OF GHANA

• Keli Mensah 7 years ago

Nokware no ara na waka no. It's about time we adopted a local language as a national language if we want to develope as a Country. The success stories of Kumawood movies and Twi fm stations should give us a clue.

• Nshyira 7 years ago

Yes some might be very good in English language,but for you your beauty is above all as well as your boldness and that attitude. You are beautiful.

• Maestro 7 years ago

Check this one out.If form four leavers cannot be employed today in for example the police and the army as well as other security forces of the country, then how can we accept an MP who is just a form four leaver? hair dressi ...

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

You could have written this in TWI rather than English my friend.
    English is Ghana's official language. The poor lady could have opt to address the people in Twi, instead decided to address them in the language she knew ver ...

• GARI KOTOKU 7 years ago

Those laughing at MP Sey are just like the so called man of God OTABIL condemning FUFU eating.BOLLOCKS

• Public Figure 7 years ago

If you have problem with the critics of the MP in question,why don't you give her your full support by writing your piece in your self acclaimed national local language?Go and support her in the shortest time to come up to th ...

• Kofi UK 7 years ago

I believe in speaking our own language but the system is that we learn the English language in school. It means if you cannot speak it then you did not go to school. You are simply an illiterate This is the truth. Whether we ...

• Loneranger 7 years ago

English is a bane to our development.

We next time vote for Afua Donkor in any case how will call budget in twi ?

• adomakoh froboo 7 years ago

The South Africa route is best. 9 official languages so every MP will feel at home

• princess adofo 7 years ago

mediocrity of it's highest peak

• Lazarus 7 years ago

No Ewe is a language! The Ewe language has many dialects such as Tongu, Mina, Ewe done, Anlo and several others

• NANA 7 years ago

Leave Afua alone. Listen, Ghana do need people who are fluent in English but are professional THIEVES & CORRUPT. We need men and women of integrity and faithfulness at the parliament to do what is right and ethical.
    why are ...

• YAA 7 years ago

Good one der

• bobostone 7 years ago

Kudos to the author of this piece. It's very shameful that 60 years after independence we still depend so heavily on the Whiteman's language to express ourselves. We do not, as the writer said, have a national language. This ...

• Atadwe /8 _19th 2016.USA 7 years ago

English is not Ghanaian language so please leave the MP alone, and let me tell Ghanaians if Ghana can go forward on less we use the AKAN language because 90% OF GHANAIANS SPEAK Akan.

• Kpenyigba Kwesi 7 years ago

Parliamentarians do not need to speak/write the Official language of the Country he or she can use the local dialet in parliament as done in other west african parliaments. English is our official language and we must try and ...

• LABARAN Toufik 7 years ago

Sometimes, I find it very difficult to understand why everybody wants their child to speak English especially, the "well-to-do" parents of today. Take a walk with your toddler and the first question that's flinged on them is ...

• Scorp 7 years ago

You miss the point. It is not her poor English that is the problem. In a country where English is the medium of instruction, 'official' language etc, her poor command betrays her poor education. Replace 'English' with 'Twi' i ...

• Kofi Osafo 7 years ago

Majority of journalists and politicians pronounce the "th" as d and I think that one is ok with everybody. Give her her space please

• PeterQ 7 years ago

The Constitution is written in English. MPs are law makers who make legislation that affects the lives of 26 million people. How then will an MP not be able to effectively communicate in English understand how the functions o ...

• JH New York. 7 years ago

Yes,what most people back home do not know is that, the kind of English we speak has assent and therefore, it's "Ghana English ".And it cuts across all academic levels with exception of some few people.My observations is that ...

• Asuo 7 years ago

A lot of British people thinks American English is a different Language. Do you know the difference between assent and accent? The Queen"s English can be spoken in any accent,so long as it is clear,lucid and coherent.
    For E ...

• AK 7 years ago

Many Ghanaians are ignorant. They seems to forget that English language is not our language, yet Ghanaians are so obsessed with it.

The most annoying thing is a 13 to 15 year old born in the UK speaks better English than ...

• Dr M. M-Bonsu(arckotoko@gmail.com) 7 years ago

Very, very well said, Mr. Adofo - thank you for standing up for the young lady. I remember how many brilliant young men and women in the 50s and 60s could not continue their education into 6th. form and to the university just ...

• Nana USA 7 years ago

Hon Marcy Adu Gyamfi has awaken Ghanaians from our ignorant, stupid slumber.
    Somebody's language has now become a yardstick for measuring our intelligence !!
    Think about it ...

• dong dg 7 years ago

this mp addressing her people with a second language was adorable considering her level of education. Take heart. You have got the looks and you are now popular with the events.

• Kwame Joe 7 years ago

Rockson Adofo has hit a jackpot with this article, looking at the comments it has generated. President Akufo Addo must seriously think about what was said here.
    The implications for a national language to undergird our d ...

• kunkum 7 years ago

Because your mp can't speak good English we should change our language, what should then be the language during swearing in of president and ministers please come again

• LAMBERT A-USAH 7 years ago

Replied

• Osei yaw 7 years ago

You should have written yoyr article in twi.

• yaw 7 years ago

so if English is not so necessary or important as you want is to believe why did you not write your article in any of the local dialects npp people will always defend when it is against them angels leaving with human beings

• Okukuseku 7 years ago

ADOLFO ROCKSON NYAME NHYIRA WATI WINIM NYANSA PAA. 1 OUT OF 10 BLAC PEOLPLE ONLY THINK OUTSIDE THE BOX. YOU SAID IT ALL I TOTALLY AGREE WITH YOU

Quoting you below

In England, America or any advanced Whiteman's country ...

• Dery 7 years ago

Your piece is full of inaccuracies.
    What is the working /official/business NB language of Ghana.
    The fact that twi is spoken by about 44% of Ghana's population is not panacea that it should be our official language.
    If peo ...

• Nii Addo 7 years ago

Thank you Derry. You make my day and God richly bless you.

• kojo, london. 7 years ago

Point of correction. The Congolese were colonised by the Belgians not the French.

• Dr. K. Mantey 7 years ago

Well said. Thanks sir.

• prick 7 years ago

hmmmmmm Ghana politics .how can she express herself when in ...............

• LAMBERT A-USAH 7 years ago

Why didn't you posted in your said local languages.
    We can talk but we can't act...meanwhile, you are foolish more than the least mp.

• Yeah 7 years ago

You Have said it All. I salute you my brother. I wish this is publish on many platforms.

• phamousmann, Tangaland. 7 years ago

Mr Adofo, i thought upon all your support for twi you would write in twi on this platform.

hahahahahaaaaa

Very true, he should start writing his effusions and codswallop about Kumawu and Asantehene in Twi. Asantehene will probably understand him better.And the village boy calls himself Rockson. What is more English than that?

• ISIS 7 years ago

If she belong to another party is a problem but with NPP is OK. This incompetent illiterate lady, like his Third class leader. How can such a person overthron Jamal and the leader taken over the mantle from JM. God have mercy ...

• Ntow 7 years ago

She overthrown jamal bcos, with Jamal's well EDUCATIONAL BACKGROUND, he couldnt deliver what the people of Akwatia constituency wanted from him. And the leader taken over from JM bcos he didn't show concern for the welfare of ...

• Prof 7 years ago

Well writhen article for serious debate.
    Kudos to you!!
    Jealousy is what is killing us.. oh!

• Taliban Coach 7 years ago

Does speaking twi alone make you smart or educated?
    Your article in perfect English is full of miseducation: the language they speak in the Congo is Lingala and RDC was sadly a colony of Belgium!

• Hmmm 7 years ago

Rockson Adofo: could you re-write, but this time in Twi, all that you have said in your article? Only then would you have made your case.

• ANANE 7 years ago

Dear Mr. Rockson, thank you for your piece. When this news first appeared I was abhorred with how ignorantly most Ghanaians are. Those who claim to be educated (Lagonians; KUSTians, etc) they make mistakes all the time in the ...

• Kofi Asamoah 7 years ago

An illiterate has no bisiness in parliament; full stop.

• bobostone 7 years ago

Kofi, you should emancipate yourself from mental slavery. Until you see the light, you will be walloping in the darkness of your ignorance for years. What do you mean by illiterate? Somebody who cannot speak English language?

• K. M., Australia 7 years ago

Why didn't you express yourself in Twi but in English? And who forced the MP to speak English? The MP should be aware of the position she vied to occupy and must be prepared for it. Her spoken English is a total disgrace and ...

• Al Hajj AAA-Rashiid(OH.USA) 7 years ago

Can someone please tell the author that the language is LINGALA and not INGALA. It is also accepted as NGALA by the natives.

• Frank Nyarko 7 years ago

If you wont stay aloof be there how dare you or you think we are all fools you elect illiterates to parliament and when you're found wanting you say what,can she deal with any foreign diplomat?

• James 7 years ago

The worst policy is to be prevented from entering university because you didn't pass English though you passed the other subjects which required understanding and writing English. What a people leading the country in some are ...

• Stone 7 years ago

Is true that we have to respect our local languages but I think knowledge of the English language is very important. Even the writer of this article and all the people talking here are using English so why are we pretending. ...

• Ntow 7 years ago

I was so happy when u made reference to Mr. Osei kwame Despite introducing twi in radio. Through that innovation, today, more than 2000 people are gainfully employed. Where would these people be by now left the few English ra ...

• jeff 7 years ago

My brother tell them the truth, In Russia all foreigners study in Russia language

• Freddy 7 years ago

why didn't you write this article in Twi

• Ghanaian 7 years ago

Since the time of independence, even in Dr. Kwame Nkrumah's time when we had several semi illiterates in government, the lingua franca in Ghana for school, trade, business, parliament, and with our African and western neighbo ...

• Ama 7 years ago

bunch of hypocrates,if it was NDC government,de way dey re seein it nw wud ve bn diffnt.idiots

• firepower 7 years ago

this is bogus

• Emmanuel 7 years ago

Who edited this story before leting it out? Hmmmmm

• Ekow Samuel 7 years ago

The northernness now are speaking the the twi in general of some and withe fanties and Asanti in general as ,Akan language to applies the other once the same and its means the other that the president whom is intresting to o ...

• Kofi Sam - USA 7 years ago

The fact that the lady MP can't speak fluent English does not mean that she does not have the ideas to promote what best she wants done in he constituency . How stupid are those questioning her lack of English . Ghana had an ...

• Agya Yaw 7 years ago

Oga you are 1000% right.

Adofo's ignorance at its best. Maybe you should confine your writings and articles to "fufu" and "trotro". Clearly, you have no clue about what you were talking about. Take this advice from, sometimes silence is golden.

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 7 years ago

Mr Adofo, I totally agree with you. It's time we use one of our local languages as our official language. Kwame Nkrumah tried it but those good-for-nothing "mate me ho" destroyers the Akufo Addo parents never saw any good in ...

• Are Twi courses available 4 all 7 years ago

If you want it embraced here in Ghana more so than English, then make it accessible to all. What local college or school is there offering the course because there is interest once they know it's available

• Kofi Mensah 7 years ago

If an MP cannot speak good English in public nothing stops her from using a local Ghanaian language and getting someone interpret into English. Or she could just speak Pidgin English and nobody will judge her English. But ter ...

• Pius 7 years ago

stop making noise why didn't you write your article in twi and you wrote in English. so twi cannot be official language of Ghana because it will bring another coup de tat in Ghana so fokes keep quite

• KT 7 years ago

Are u kidding me u find nothing wrong in her inability to speak English???? Stop the hypocrisy.... u think we are not proud of our local dialect???

• Holy RICHIE 7 years ago

Dos (sum)wu can read n write,speak 're signing fake document stealing nation property.u ppl should allow her to function.fire burn dem in professional way

• KK 7 years ago

These are the same people who kept bashing Ablakwa and co for being incompetent and not qualified to MPs and Ministers. How can this woman scrutinize a bill brought to parliament? Stop the double standards!

• Nii Addo 7 years ago

I did not hear you say anything when the NPP ridiculed our late President Atta Mills for saying "ecomini" instead of economy. You kept quiet as some NPP supporters printed T shirts to sell.
    Now you are out defending the inde ...

• T. Neequaye's 7 years ago

Well said... I'd like to ask if any of these self loathing Ghanaians have ever seen Spaniard or an Italian express themselves in English, most are worse than our MP, this lady has been elected by people who understands her an ...

• Fiifi in Nungua 7 years ago

Whether or not an MP has to be fluent in English or not is debatable. I wonder what her contribution will be when Parliament is legislating!
    What does not sit well with me is this contributor calling for Twi to be used as th ...

• Joyce 7 years ago

I do understand you to some point but you have to understand that English is our official language and anyone who ocupies official position should be able to comm

• Joyce 7 years ago

I do understand you to some extent but one has to know we have made English language our official language and any person who occupies an official position should be able to communicate easily in the language.It is true some ...

• noble 7 years ago

Full stop ! If Twi is the best n is to be used in Parliament, why do you write this. article in English n not two-- she must learn n be a good role model to the youth-- MP isn't small job

• Richard 7 years ago

she did not come to parliament with any higher qualification,she has no qualification but do love her .It is not about grammar but development .Some MPs are there with huge qualification but they speak bad grammar(trees under ...

• JORDAN 7 years ago

Majority of ghanian are ashanti,of course but why do you want us to speak twi when you put your tribe as the best on others and being so arrogant like fucking pigs,everyday and everywhere in Ghana.

• Mohammed Amin Adams 7 years ago

This does not only happen in parliament. In fact, I want to emphatically point out that this is quite a sheer standard behavior of the Asantes as they usually make mockery of people due to their inability to speak TWI. I wis ...

• His idiotic team 7 years ago

It is unfortunate that some people equate English speaking to wisdom. How would I have called Jay Ray Ram Allen a buffoon on this platform? This idiot, good for nothing man thinks he is superior to every single being on this ...

• Socrates 7 years ago

It easier to be an mp than to pass elementary school English in Ghana

• KOJO KPETSIGO 7 years ago

ARE YOU OUT OF YOUR MIND. YOU ARE SAYING IT IS ABSURD FOR GHANAIANS TO BE INFATUATED WITH CORRECT MATHEMATICS, CORRECT SCIENCE CORRECT EVERYTHING. IF WE ALL MAKE OUR OWN RULES WHAT KIND OF SOCIETY SHALL WE BE. FOR A LAW MAKER ...

• Mathew Aaliebe 7 years ago

Kudos my bro