Let Ama Sey be, Parliament isn’t just for English speakers

Read Comments Comments (27)

• NON-ALIGNED 7 years ago

GHANA IS NOT ENGLAND.....more like it!

WISDOM is of GOD and everything else is of man......So, if you lack WISDOM you will believe that speaking somebody else's language and aping around their lifestyle, will make you be l ...

• Sam 7 years ago

Perhaps you should google Brazil, Colombia,Mexico and Ecuador.You will see the number of languages they speak within their countries then come back and tell us whether they are so stupid to choose the one that binds them toge ...

• F9 7 years ago

Great comment! Thank you

Sam, you are a typical enslaved minds I was referring to.......so enslaved to the extent that you see no good in who you are, let alone your own existence on this earth.

'Erudite'? Ha! ha! ha! Oh! dear! That is exactly wha ...

• Sika 7 years ago

Those Asian nations you mentioned have a very well developed writing system, ours haven't even gone past fufu pounding so don't make those lousy comparisons.

• Sam 7 years ago

Does it require a "surgical incision" into your understanding that people like Cristaller contributed more in helping us write our own language? I have no time for nonsense! And where did you get your enlightened education fr ...

Sam, it is obvious you an one of the educated illiterates (no offence, please. Just making a point) who think speaking English and aping around the lifestyles of the English would make us to be like them........

You had yo ...

• Sam 7 years ago

It takes more than a "glorified idiot" to upset me. One thing is for certain,if your brains were money,you will surely be in debt. Below is an oath
    the Asantehene swears before he assumes power. The writer said English Lang ...

• Sika 7 years ago

Don't mind those bush people, They don't understand the world.

• ASANTE IMPERIALISTS 7 years ago

During Kufour's time, Most of these TWI ministers appointed could not READ and comprehend basic English.

Woyome OUTSMARTED them with the contract and made millions!!!! It is not Woyome's fault. We have IDIOTS who refused t ...

• THE REAL C.Y. ANDY-K 7 years ago

Modern governance is not for the uneducated and unsophisticated Kwame Attia or Mammy Serwaa! The inability of this self-confessed school drop-out to speak passably, fluent English is simply a reflection of her lack of the req ...

• Daavi 7 years ago

Let this Lady be.

• Ken Ntiamoa 7 years ago

What's the English equivalent of "Tweah!"

Ken

The answer is Tripe.

• OMANNI 7 years ago

Who cause this to the side of the country ? No one to blame but Kwame Nkrumah who gave the southern resources to the north for free education make people like Azure and northerners today stand tall for abusive language ,we k ...

• Ababio 7 years ago

Only fools will disagree with Manasseh. Intelligence is not in the English language but how can you bring out that knowledge if you can read and understand the language on the table. Who translate English documents into Twi a ...

• NANA SARFO K 7 years ago

1957 to date has been full corrupt officials we the electorate elected as ELITE POLITICIANS to high offices in country.Mannese should shut and give us a break.

• Ob 7 years ago

Good one there! Why must we reduce intelligence and progressivenes to speaking of English? I have encountered people with first class from university who though are able to read and write cannot make meaning out of an Eng ...

• Ababio 7 years ago

If there is nothing wrong whith her level of education, why was she overlooked during ministerial appointments. Even the president is very selective.

• Jim 7 years ago

If she can't express herself well,how will she be able to scrutinize documents that are brought before her? Moreover, our constitution is written in English, a language that binds almost all of us together. You can't justify ...

• Spiky 7 years ago

Brilliant article! Decolonisation of the Ghanaian mind should be fast-tracked not only to halt self-hatred and gloating over "defending the values of the British", as Gen Afrifa vowed, and people like him are still doing but ...

• Ea 7 years ago

In the last parliament, the MP for kariga could not express himself. Oh boy! What did so called Dr. Amoaku Baah say? Now that it's an ama hell broke loose. This time round English doesn't matter. Fire burn all of you.

• Nana adu gyamfi 7 years ago

this Azure guy must be very stupid.Does wisdom dwell in English? Hon.Ama sey may not be flawness in english as you are but she is wiser& bolder than u.u sef koraa you be TANI I sure say u enjoyed free education. Ntafo) nyinaa ...

• Nii Kantinka 7 years ago

If the lady can not express herself in the basic form of communication in Ghana's Parliament how is she going to work in the sub-committee or review a document before it is passed? The "twinglish" can not make anybody product ...

• Nii Kantinka 7 years ago

....I don't think it occurs frequently ....
    ... and we have some people here supporting here supporting her....

Any inconvenience is very much regretted. ...

• Jacob nyame 7 years ago

Ghanaians should stop that kind of noise. English is the language of the people of England,so leave ama alone ok.

• Joe kiev 7 years ago

Pl.every profession requires some sort of qualification to enable people perform.Can some one work as a LAWYER, or judge with out the required education?