Entertainment

Ghanaians, please cease your overly crazy infatuation with spoken English

Read Comments Comments (62)

• Good 7 years ago

There we go. Ghanaians will never learn. They love over-copying too much but they are never the best.

Speak Twi as a national language to make Rockson happy or else he will always make you lose sleep over your crazy fondn ...

• JOKER 7 years ago

To speak FUCKING TWE or TWI? Is it by force? TWE/TWI? Tweaaaaaaa!!!

• Okormansa 7 years ago

Even the tweaaaaaa you said is twi,shm.

• KUNIBA 7 years ago

Why should we use Twi as a national language?
    I think Kasim will be appropriate

• Okormansa 7 years ago

The English idiom is 'My Foot' and not my feet. You have problem with the 'Twi Debate' and your English too is crazy, shm.

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

I can't comprehend how Majority of Ghanaians think.How could you abandon your own language for someone else language?we abandon our language and even also abandon our technology and food.Am not surprise all of our mentality.A ...

• AUTHENTIC C.Y. ANDY-K 7 years ago

Is this Rockson Adofo aware that the non-Twi languages such as Ewe, Ga, Dagbani, Hausa, etc, are not dialects of Twi?

And btw, the Akans haven't conquered some of us and so can't impose their Twi on us. Period!

My gr ...

• Car Thief Adams 7 years ago

Nonsense! Bragging buffoon with a brain of a monkey. This article makes much much sense than your ridiculous rejoinder. With all due respect to your tribe, the great Asante tribe stands really tall above the rest. Even when g ...

• francis kwarteng 7 years ago

Adofo is still sleeping and so I will leave him to sleep.

He will definitely wake up at the right time.

• KAK 7 years ago

Ephraim Amu wrote what you're referring to in Ewe. After that he translated the lyrics to Twi.

Philip Gbeho wrote the original national anthem directly in English. During the Acheampong regime new words were found for the ...

• PATAPAA TRUMP 7 years ago

Adofo is silly and tribal,what language does he speaks in his hideout in the UK?English is the official language,the language use in parliament to conduct business,had it not been tribal politics Ghanaians find themselves in, ...

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

Who told you TWI is unrecognized in the world.Dumsor has led many people learning TWI.Many white people speak TWI so stop your ignorant.

• Omanba kojo 7 years ago

And after 60 years of speaking English, have we developed faster? We r rather retrogressing. To think that a foreign language will make u develop faster is naive. What about those great countries who don't speak English.

• Constable Joy 7 years ago

OH MR BOND,YOU TOO CAN LEARN AND SING THE SAME NATIONAL ANTHEM IN ANOTHER GHANAIAN LANGUAGE

• James Bamfo 7 years ago

Adofo, you are now seeing the light. This is one of your best. Well written!

B'cos you don't have much sense of thinking like him.

Andy-K

• James Bamfo 7 years ago

Primitive superman, welcome back. Or, are you Ral Yarrow?

You never make sense at all. In fact, your irrevocable jealousy beclouds your sense of judgement. As I said elsewhere, this article makes much much sense than your crap rejoinder.re

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

Seeing what light, James? Adofo is endorsing illiteracy and here you are praising him. The NPP call NDC members who have not had the opportunity to study abroad, or who do not have degrees dining hall prefects. And here they ...

• Asuo. 7 years ago

If english language were not to be the mother tongue of Donald Trump, my goodness...

Re. Ghanaians' absurd infatuation with spoken English
    I find it necessary to respond to Rockson Adofo’s piece of 16 March 2017
    (www.ghanaweb.com/GhanaHomePage/NewsArchive/Ghanaians-absurd-infatuation-with-spoken-English-5 ...

Just piss off! Braggart! For your information, there are much much better educated EWE men and women than you, but those refined intellectuals do not brag as you do. So, do you really think you possess superior power of the m ...

• GYAMFI 7 years ago

Ghanaians don't like anything in Ghana. Now they want to change their money to dollars white mans currency. Now most hotels charge in dollars, what is wrong with the cedis?

• more 7 years ago

that why cedi is falling we imports everything man do you know switzerland the ricchest country in europe has four offical language French,german ,italian and roman, franch make up 24% german 60% italian 10% and roman 1.5% bu ...

• Constable Joy 7 years ago

YOU WRONG.KWAME NKRUMAH SAID,EACH AND EVZRY GHANAIAN WHEREVER YOU ARE LEARN THAT LANGUAGE AND SPEAK AT LEAST TWO(2).
    THIS SHOULD HAD HAVE HELPED US TO HAVE SOME MAJOR OFFICIAL LANGUAGES INCLUDING ENGLISH AS PRINCIPAL.
    BUT S ...

• YAW 7 years ago

Rockson,kindly stop your infatuation with written English and write in Twi. You sit in some pokey or dismal hovel in London churning out a fat lot of bollocks!
    The use of "English" in the United Kingdom is through custom rat ...

• francis kwarteng 7 years ago

Namesake,

I don't know when this sleeping Adofo will wake up.

• Adwoa London 7 years ago

What does this man understand as globalization? Are we going to negotiate our trade deals in Twi?What about our curriculum and text books? What about other languages and dialects should we abandon these and start learning Twi ...

• Yaw Asante 7 years ago

This Adodo guy is just an educated illiterate. Kennedy has exposed crime, so Twi should become a national language? What sensible laws has Kennedy crafted and promoted? Maybe because laws are not crated in Twi. ????????????? ...

• LAMBERT A-USAH 7 years ago

The overwhelming issue in Ghana here is the inportation of even toothpick. You're rather bothering us with official languages.when the late prof-Mills made a mistake of "economy" where were you? Now bcoz of a common mp, we sh ...

• Pkayy 7 years ago

Still no sense in this write up just for the fact that the writer has carefully written in the queens language whereas he could write in any if our local dilect.dat one too not be blind copying?its sad when we make mockery of ...

• AKRANTIE BINI EATER 7 years ago

Adofo, your head is full of SHIT, you RAT SHIT EATER!!!

• Kwami US 7 years ago

Adofo should begin to write his articles in TWI and we will see how many Akan speaking people will patronize and read them

• Kojo Ghana 7 years ago

Rockson you're educated illiterate ! From now on try and write every article in "Twi" charity begins at home

• Obrempong 111 7 years ago

In the first Parliament of the forth republic, there was a member of parliament who was a complete illiterate. Check the records.

• ASANTE IMPERIALISTS 7 years ago

Non-Akans DONT want to speak TWE/TWI. Is it by FORCE? Fuck off with this FUCKING TWE or TWI or whatever.
    It is all ASANTE IMPERIALISM packaged in the name of "African Culture and Black man redemption.
    FUCK TWE or TWI or w ...

• Stone 7 years ago

pls, stop wasting our ears, why are you not writing Ghanaian language like Two Fante Ewe Dagomba etc?
    What is wrong is always wrong, no matter how you try to make it good.

• Billionaire 7 years ago

In fact Ghana has a problem. The whole of East Africa (Tanzania) speak Swahili. Yes l agree with Rockson. Frankly speaking, after English, Twi is the next most widely spoken language in Ghana. Twi is our second language wheth ...

• Strong man 7 years ago

Stop this stupidity. You have not yet finished with the trouble laden free SHS and here you are bam, make twi official language. Why are you so egoistical? Each time we want to rest there is going to be you coming out with s ...

• akwasi 7 years ago

The lady trying to say something. ..but she should understand that twi (asanti) is among the nine Akan language mostly speak in Ghana.so therefore she should rather say Akan language.

• k.B Sarpong 7 years ago

Struggling over this issue of a national language is a sign of lost focus, lack of vision and pride, and I can assure you that our chances of prevailing will always diminish because we don't actually know what is good for us ...

• Nicholas Kyeretwie 7 years ago

Ghana where are we going.We no no where we dey go.We choose English to be our official language and it will be difficult if not impossible to change it at this time.But we should allow people to express themselves in any loca ...

• Nicholas Kyeretwie 7 years ago

No and No.No language is superior or better than any one.All were the work of the Almighty.Please we should not promote any language above the other.Amend the constitution so that any body can go to parliament and speak the l ...

• HE REIGNS 7 years ago

I dont agree or disagree with you but permit me to clarify issues here. Wisdom is relatively embedded in all languages in this world. I speak and write Twi 80% but i will be blocked and cut off the world of innovations and in ...

• Kinjoe 7 years ago

this article has completely changed my mentality about national language. I couldn't agree more with you. I used to have this backward mentality that how can twi be used as national language when we have many dialects in ...

• ST. SIMPLE 7 years ago

Am actually infatuated with the facts and the truth in your write up! Am praying our parliamentarians will consider this. My fellow country men the Akans are not trying to impose the twi on other tribes but let's be honest wi ...

• Thom 7 years ago

Why am I surprise at this article? you should have written it in local language to back your argument but instead, you wrote in the very language you are trying hard to downplay. If may ask again, which of the local language ...

• DI ASEM PA 7 years ago

Only stupid Ghanaians think English is everything to them. Over 60 years of independent our mind are still in slavery. Even now, English is taking over our churches. All the big churches speak only English. And these pastors ...

• KK 7 years ago

Twi is dominant because Akans are largely illiterate and have low IQ, hence, find it difficult to learn any other language, let alone speak it well. That is the only reason why Twi is popular. Can you imagine I met a Kumasian ...

• Abigail 7 years ago

I think the writer is a young man. This issue of Twi becoming a national language had been an issue before but it never worked and will not work.
    The Lady MP knew her spoken English will be on the Parliament floor. I humbly ...

• Kay 7 years ago

The writer is a 62 year old fart who has been living in London for more than 30 something years! Got it!

• Wilson pak 7 years ago

You are sick in the head ,twi be made national language in Ghana, we would have divided Ghana into two.stupid Ashanti nationalist ,your analysis is intellectually flawed.

• Godwin Kay 7 years ago

So you think electing illiterates is the best way to go, Go on and encourage that, if mp don't expose wrong doing it means they can't speak good Twi.

• Kofi sarfo 7 years ago

I strongly support you,we need to do this at all cost,
    In fact all banks don't speak English when that are talking to their customers,most listing Radio station in Ghana is peace FM .so what are we talking about. We need ch ...

• Amanshianyebi Okoe 7 years ago

Adofo, well written but I would expect you to have written your piece in Twi to buttress your point. You failed me as you wrote in English. Please start this crusade and write in Twi.

• Paa Kwesisika 7 years ago

Hip hip hip; hurray. Let's go for it. Twi all the way. I mean, with all due respect, the writer is absolutely right. All the other dialects are equally important to be maintained but the Twi as a matter of fact is the most d ...

• Kojo kan 7 years ago

She could have chosen to speak her local language, she created the impression that she was competent in spoken English but disappointed her listeners. Instead of advising her, you chose to change the behaviour of a whole nati ...

• Ohene Fredua 7 years ago

Mr Adofo,
    Drop your English Rockson name and we will start the conversation in the right context.
    East Africans use a lingua Franca Swahili in place of their many ethnic tongues which is gradually dying albeit slowly.But th ...

• SHAMO 7 years ago

WHAT IS WRONG WITH A GHANAIAN WOMAN NOT SPEAKING ENGLISH, BUT I HAVE A QUESTION FOR THE MEN, WHAT ABOUT OF SHE GIVE HER SELF TO YOU, OR TAKE CARE OF YOU WITH HER RICHES, WILL YOU ASPECT HER,WITHOUT SPEAKING ENGLISH, THINK TWI ...

• Cletus 7 years ago

Is this a research, an appeal, politics, rebutal or schezephrenia?

• prof 7 years ago

So u want us to use twi as a national language? That will never happen in Ghana as far as am concern.what kind of foolish and barbaric thinking is that? I once was in Kumasi n l spoke to one woman in English who asked me whic ...

• YAW 7 years ago

Rockson, what do you say to this stunning success of our own beloved sister? You can translate her work into Twi for the benefit of "Twi" speakers.

Meet Yaa Gyasi, the young author with a $1-million debut novel

Who? Yaa ...