5 reasons Ashantis are the richest people in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (67)

• Phil 7 years ago

THAT IS THE TRUTH

• Npp 7 years ago

These articles are needless,it should be about Akans because I see brong guys to be the richest in Ghana.The bono Ahafo people have more beautiful towns in Ghana more than any other region.They travel outside more than the As ...

• Ofori-Atta 7 years ago

what about the kwahu people's, the writer is write because Ashanti's are many as comparing to other tribes

• Ofori-Atta 7 years ago

what about the kwahu people's, the writer is right because Ashanti's are many as comparing to other tribes

• E. A. ADU GYAMFI 7 years ago

Are you aware that the Ahafo people are Asantes?

• Bonney 6 years ago

Ahafo pple are akans but not asantes

Why is it that majority of the FM and TV stations in Ghana are owned by Asantes?

• Kwabena Yeboah 7 years ago

These megalomaniacal Ashantis are truly delusional. They are boastful yet empty headed!

• ADRO-CHOPPER 7 years ago

Go to Europe. Asanies are ADRO-CHOPPERS and LIARS& THIEVES and PROSTITUTES.

Copy and paste this YOUTUBE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=39-5VBf0Vx8&t=109s

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

These are not the only reasons the Ashantis are successful. Some of the other reasons are :1 they are the ones who like and indulge in money rituals (occultism) more than any other ethnicity in Ghana, of course, since they wi ...

• Kwadwo 7 years ago

Bitterness, envy, hatred and low life is what you represent. Yes, Ashanti change pad of oldies in Europe at a good rate which is far better than the attitude of your tribesmen who are very lazy, docile and unemployed. Send an ...

• ASANTE IMPERIALISTS 7 years ago

You can only make MUFF-MUFF. The last time there was war, your men WERE HIDING and WEEPING like little kids. They were so sacred and have to send Yaa Asentewea and some pregnant women and old grandmothers to fight.
    Hahahah, ...

• Awuradebasa 7 years ago

8 out of 10 Ashante women were once prostitute in either in Nigeria or in Europe.

• TRUTH BE TOLD 7 years ago

NIGERIA IN THE 80s
    Asante girls give I fuck for 2 Niaras They could not pronounce NAIRA so they say LAILA.
    That is why Nigerians kicked 1.5 million Ghanaians out Nigeria.

• bo 7 years ago

who cares if ashanti are fra fras they are also human being if ashantis make money most people will say ooh it is prostitution or drugs or rituals lol lazy people we ashanti wil not shy away from jobs we create one don't be m ...

• Nana Esi 7 years ago

But it is true. Come to North America they are the ones changing old people diapers and cleaning of toilet. They think money is everything. No dignity.

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

Low life? Is there any low life worse than squatting under the ass of an oyibo man/woman for your livelihood? Or trading your beloved wife for money? Just admit you people have no pride (self importance) whatsoever. And did y ...

• Abena 7 years ago

I see jealousy and inferiority complex.. its just hate..

• Doe Beblie 6 years ago

My dear I think we should rather direct our collective effort at unifying Ghana which is made up several ethnic groups. Ghana is bedevilled with multiples of severe economic, social, educational and security problems. Why do ...

If you are proud of your tribe, mention it, and let me prove to you, with empirical facts, why you and your people are the less privileged in the world.

Actually, I can't tell whether Asantes are blessed with the spirit of trading. The moment an Asante enters into business, he succeeds. They have a unique way of making customers and keeping customers. They excel in the sellin ...

• Chief Asare 7 years ago

They are the most risk takers of all. They will go anywhere, everywhere. They are the wide spread people all over Ghana and among other Ghanaians in overseas. An Ashanti is prepared to change his/her comfort zone.

• HK 7 years ago

that is very true. some come here, sail across the volta River to places that even the local business men never thought of going n they make it big

• JAY 7 years ago

Not true,Gold has not benefited Ashanti People,about 90% or more of the people have not benefited,except people doing illegal mining,Galamsey for short.It is rather COCOA which was brought to Ghana by a GA called Tetteh Quars ...

What stopped tetteh quarshie from planting cocoa in ga land?

• Kweku trouble 7 years ago

Very dumb question. How did you get access to the internet?

• 59 7 years ago

hahahahaha

• Ken 7 years ago

If they are rich why them can developed Kumasi dirty city.go yo south Africa where the gold is them developed there .so stop talk nonsense??

• HK 7 years ago

as for business, it is their middle name

We should all start hailing you?! Mctewww....!!! People are talking of technological advancements and you are here vomiting junk about riches! how many ashantis r on the Forbes List of Billionaires?! Give us a break Mr Pe ...

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

When Forbes posted and exposed our ex-president thief John Dramani Mahama of stealing Ghana money of $990 million and $122 million by Afriyie Ankrah.NDC thieves denial it but when others are reveal they believe it.I truth For ...

• Togbe 1 7 years ago

The biggest problem in Ghana is that we celebrate mediocrity. Instead of talking about how we can stop galamsey and save the future, we are arguing about the richest tribe. After selling our birth right to the Chinese. I wond ...

• Oo 7 years ago

Ao my brother Togbe say it again.. Tribalism greed and lack of self confidence is making us stupid in Ghana ooo.Yei! Is this the land that is so blessed? Nyame be gye yen ooo.. we need to stop galamsey and fine all those who ...

• Doe Beblie 6 years ago

Togbe.well said. Indeed you belong to the brains needed to move Ghana forward

• Ababio 7 years ago

Very true...they have even turned the church into business.... hahahahaha

• Home Boy 7 years ago

yes that's akan for u ,we are generous. may God continue to bless us n give us the spirit of generosity.

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

Home Boy, maybe you don't understand what being generous means? The least generous people in Ghana are the Asantes. An Asante man/woman would never give anything out for free, and that's what being generous means - helping so ...

If you don't know about Asantes, just shut up. Your shear hatred and envy towards them will get you nowhere. If they are not generous, how come have they accommodated people of your tribe in the Ashanti region?

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

See an earthenware black pot calling a silver sauce pan black. You call me ignorant when you rather are the ignorant one. You probably have never traveled out of your village since you were born, so you don't know what is goi ...

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

See an earthenware black pot calling a silver sauce pan black. You call me ignorant when you rather are the ignorant one. You probably have never traveled out of your village since you were born, so you don't know what is rea ...

• bo 7 years ago

lol you are all over the place with your comment on every comment do you hate ashantis ooh man you have commented on atleast on most op the comment don't be mad that your tribe don't get notice it is not ashantis fault we bui ...

• Abeeku Mensah 7 years ago

Being rich is relative but being rich in the midst of filth is not anyone's cup of tea. Let me give it to you in a way even your ignorant ass can understand.
    The last time I checked on Kumasi the, kingdom's capital, people ...

• AUTHENTIC C.Y. ANDY-K 7 years ago

Abeeku, ibi so you dey? Yoo! It is not me saying it.

Once upon a time, long, long ago, when they were going on about it on Okyeame, I remarked that I had just returned extensively in parts of the Ash/R and what I saw didn ...

• ONUA 7 years ago

What do you mean by African Indeed? are you not African yourself? The writer/s were discussing 'Riches" in the context of the Ghanaian economy. You try to hide behind the trash you put up (western standards) here your real/tr ...

• Bk 7 years ago

There is no tribe called kwahu. Most of kwahu people are Ashantis who settled at that place during civil war. Kwahu means go and die. I know for a fact that Oboo people have their root from kuntenase in the Ashanti region.

The Akyem, Kwaku, Denkyira and Assin are all Asantes. These are the 5 tribes that speak pure Asante Twi.

• Kweku trouble 7 years ago

Since when did Akyems become asantes? Stop talking nonsense.

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

See how ignorant you are. You don't even know the difference between Asantes and Akans, and you can't even tell Kwahu from Kwaku yet you have the guts to call someone ignorant?

All the tribes that speak the same language are from the same ancestor. It was migration to occupy fertile lands for farming that resulted in the spreading of people from the same lineage. What language do Akyems speak, tell ...

• Boss 7 years ago

Stupid article

• Kwadwo Gyamfi 7 years ago

Jumia Travel, I beg to differ, in my opinion, the richest people in Ghana are by far the Kwahus.
    Go and visit their towns this Easter and see for yourself. Besides, they are hardworking, generous and friendly.

• Kwahu Asafo Chenku 7 years ago

Just compare 10 Ashanti towns to 10 Kwahu towns. Also, compare 100 Kwahu business men to 100 Ashanti businessmen.
    Yen Kwahus don't like to splash our wealth.

• Wal 7 years ago

so northerners should emulate the ashantis?

• STAFFORD 7 years ago

The Ashanti is more traditional,he shies away from most western foods and music,and mostly stick to their mother-tongue language, Akan or Twi. They strictly believe,observe and practise the traditional religion with the g ...

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

Did you know you just described a stone-age people, while we are talking about twenty first century?

What is rich to you???
    Ever watch the PRIMITIVE movies by Agya KOO???
    Ever seen the background of where the movies were shot and calling that RICH??/I don't blame FRA FRA origin people like the Ashantes.

• bob 7 years ago

lol the kumawood movies are shot in the village don't hate bro even kumawood is made up of 70 percent non ashatis we created something that other tribes can come and earn money

Ashante are at the FEET of the Akwapim people.
    Tutu was a (deity name) given to them by the Akwapims after helping the sister of Obiri Yeboah to be able to get pregant resulting the birth of Osei Tutu the first.

• Ekow Samuel 7 years ago

Very good of that but not to think of some of the people to be doing the galamsey to distroy the land and the proparty in the in the Land,and very good that the Akans are realy rich,God bless you oman ghana.

• MUSA SAPIENTO 7 years ago

Dangerous is all I can say.

• TOPHIA 7 years ago

ASHANTIS ARE BLESSED. HATRES GONNA DIE.

• Akoo 7 years ago

This is a complete Ashanti properganda. The Ashanti's bost of what they have. The akans in general are rich but not the Ashanti alone. We equally have gold in prestia, takwa, and these are not under the ashanti henes kingdo ...

• Atta Germany 7 years ago

How can you worship good why people are suffering Apuutuuuu

• Appiah Kubi Dominic 7 years ago

ENVY Ashantis are blessed whether you want it or leave it

• 59 7 years ago

I'm disappointed Jumia Travel. All you have succeeded in doing is tarnishing your brand with tribalism. Shame really. I had some respect for what you guys were trying to do. I steer clear of your products

• Bbb,Mahama remains a thief. 7 years ago

Ashanti's what a great people they never give up,Rawlings tried to destroyed the greatest people on earth BUT he failed woefully.Big up.

• Dominic 7 years ago

Let's concentrate on something that will unite us as a country. Every tribe is unique in one way or the other. There is poverty, lack of education and basic things which all the regions lack .Most of our leaders have schooled ...