Entertainment

Rawiling's influence lingers in Ghana many years after his retirement

Read Comments Comments (44)

• A-CLASS 6 years ago

My brothers and sisters if these man should return to power, we can see changes a lot. A man of no nonsense i guess we will be heading towards better nation, his influence is still can be seen........what do you say. HE is a ...

• GW 6 years ago

He ruled Ghana for 19 years with nothing to show for. During that 19-year period, all the Asian countries moved from third world to first world countries. What a shame.

• Jasmine 6 years ago

No! Was it because of democracy or it was because of himself? It the country maintained the military rule, Ghana would certainly have been the best, especially IF the military ruler was selfless and dedicated. I mean, JJR wou ...

• Jah 6 years ago

Democracy wont work for the negro

• NA so 6 years ago

Rawlings had being in power for 2 years and it was his actions that led to famine in the country. Do not blame Limann for this. Stupid shameless propaganda by a sychophant writer

• Atta - USA 6 years ago

You are only jealous of him. May be you were not a grown up person in the 1970's else you would have appreciated this honest man. If you were also not born at that time, then I have to tell you that he came to save us from he ...

• Pinzguaer 6 years ago

Trash!!! nonsense indeed. Give me some guns and soldiers I can do much much better than has happened in Ghana over the last 30 years, within 10 years.

Come again, boot-lickers. This man is a fraud. He and his hungry sol ...

• Adjoa Sam Takoradi 6 years ago

Put JJ on NDC campaign trail and see what happens. That's the only way to know how we truly feel.

• Mercy 6 years ago

Mr writer, if one of the three high court judges slaughtered for doing their job during the reign of Rawlings was your family member, you will never talk like this. You remember the killing of the previous 7 heads of states e ...

• Jasmine 6 years ago

Why won't you asked Boakye Gyan about Acheampong and co. He was the architect. Actually he shortlisted over 150 officers for the firing squad. It was JJR who brought the list down, something that created enmity between him an ...

• Kafui Ho 6 years ago

Rawlings likes to talk. He talk his way to the Presidency and talk his way out of the Presidency of Ghana.

• TWEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA 6 years ago

GHANAIANS WHO WORSIP SERIAL COUP MAKER RAWLINGS ARE INFANTILE!!!!!!

• Kofi 6 years ago

Tweaa

• Julia Accra 6 years ago

JJ stop talking and form an NGO to support a hospital or a school

Even if you become President today you will do nothing but sit there and lecture Ghanaians.

• BERNARD 6 years ago

We have powerful set of nutritional supplement that allow u to losses a healthy weight and maintain a flatten tummy with no side effect...#CONTACT.0572174551
    Burn fats at tummy, arms, waist and other place where excess fat ...

• asonaba kofi 6 years ago

the man is truly great. he has kept to his believes whilst lesser men have sold theirs. posterity will judge him in a positive light.

• kojo 6 years ago

What are those principles you talk about

• KENNEDY AGYAPONG 6 years ago

Kojo-You make your face like Bofrot-SHUT UP!!!

• OPANINPA 6 years ago

CORRUPTION IS INFECTIOUS AFTER ALL IT MAKES PEOPLE RICH. SO AFTER 19 YEARS INSTITUTIONALISING CORRUPTION, HE CORRUPT INFLUENCE WILL HAVE A MOMENTUM OF ITS OWN, DESPITE RAWLINGS. NO THANKS TO RAWLINGS

• Hamed al qaq 6 years ago

OF GHANA AND ALWAYS WAS

• Mensa 6 years ago

the man is still very strong and feared in Ghana but is very much respected

• kojo 6 years ago

TRASH. wasting writing space

• Yaw Yeboah 6 years ago

Rawlings, in 2016, was labelled a mad barking dog by members of the NDC. Therefore, if members of NDC, are not prepared to listen to their Founder, what influence has he? Rawlings time has come and gone. Just like the former ...

• GHANANI 6 years ago

Rawlings? He ruled Ghana for 19 years and left the country in the worst economic state.His long rule, most part of which was illegal was characterised by the worst abuse of human rights in the country.After all he used a coup ...

• OPPONG-AGYARE; HAMBURG ; GERMANY 6 years ago

RAWLINGS IS THE LUKIEST PERSON ON EARTH.
    HE SHOULD COUNT HIMSELF LUCKY THAT GHANAIANS FEAR BLOODSHED; THE COUNTRY´S WOES STARTED FROM HIS ERA. HE IS HYPOCRITE

• OKOROMANSA 6 years ago

HERE IS A LONG PRAISE THAT IS WORTHY OF SHAME. I WONDER HOW MUCH RAWLINGS PAID FOR THIS PROSE. ANY WAY, RAWLINGS CAME AND LEFT, HIS INFLUENCE LIVES NO MORE EXCEPT AMONG NDC STOOGES. NOW THAT RAWLINGS IS ALSO AN OLD POLITICIAN ...

• OKOROMANSA 6 years ago

IT IS ONLY THE EVIL INFLUENCE OF RAWLINGS THAT LINGERS ON IN ONLY NDC, OTHERWISE HE HAS LOST HIS CREDIBILITY.
    WHAT AWAITS RAWLINGS IS JUDGMENT BEFORE HIS CREATOR BECAUSE THE TROKOSI gods AND AYIGBE FETISHES CAN'T DELIVER HIM ...

• Patriot 6 years ago

Frankly speaking, Rawlings' influence on Ghana is negative. That's it!!!

• Becky M 6 years ago

Thief and murderer

• King Solomon 6 years ago

This entirely is new era !!!!!!

• King Solomon 6 years ago

We're in an entirely a New Era !!!!!!

• King Yobo 6 years ago

The admiration of Rawlings and the hate for him is all subjective. Those who love him will always love him. Those who hate him will always hate for whatever reason.

• Pelicles 6 years ago

What influence has JJ got other than patapaa? Trust me, people who have no sense of direction follows JJ. A man of principles will never kill someone over 50,000 ceids loan taken from the bank and later accept a bribe from an ...

• GHOSTS OF THE MURDERED 6 years ago

SO DOES RAWLINGS PONDER OVER HIS PAST ATROCIT I ES THE MURDERS THE BARBARIC TREATMENT T H E INTIMIDATIONS THE DESTRUCTION AND PTHE CONFISCATION OF GHANAIAN-OWNED BUSINESSES?
    IS HE NOT H A UNTED BY THE GH I STS OF ALL THE G ...

• Born in Kyebi 6 years ago

All Rawlings is doing is to cover up his past deeds but he will soon be put before proper court to answer few questions; KILLINGS,LOOTING OF STATE FUNDS,BEATINGS etc. Kweku Baako is collecting all the INFOS. Get ready to face ...

• africa people 6 years ago

ghana people will deport this two out laws GITMO PEOPLE at all cost, any lawyer or Ghanaian who will defend them will face the anger of the people of ghana, john mahama must return the $300 million dollars he took from obama ...

• Bob 6 years ago

Rawlings is the best we have so faw ,he care for his people .Not his pocket like others

• Tweea 6 years ago

Infantile,,,,Krow..
    Only Retarded People Worship Rawlings
    God Gave Us more Than He Gave Malaysia
    But Dew To Black-Man's Stupidity/ Slavish Mentality , To Day Malaysians( Muslim Majority) Enjoy High Standard Of Living Than ...

• Amandze 6 years ago

He and his click were responsible for the destabilization of the country. Rawlings alone was involved in 3 coups. Captain Tsikata and his group were in "one man one matchet coup". Sowu was in another coup and the list goes on ...

• Xewokui 6 years ago

Indeed, yes. Lawlessness and gross hooliganism among the indigenes and the security apparatus of this nation with no solution in site. Yes, "let the blood flow". Yes, "let the blood flow" he extolled as a virtue. To date, th ...

• T and T 6 years ago

This student of Quadafi ruled for 19 years, he is the reason why 1/3 of the Ghana army is from one minority tribe most of whom are his boys. Ghana is hi-jacked by the army, which is responsible for our lack of progress, they ...

• kwesi 6 years ago

This man killed many Ghanaians so he have to continue to play some role in Ghana to divert the attension.He need the face the death penalty too.

• AKONTA 6 years ago

has engulfed a whole generation of later day GHANAINS-wasted generation

• Nkansah 6 years ago

This brutal and corrupt killer! Only insane people praise him.