Health News Fri, 30 Mar 2007

Distinguished medical practitioners receive awards

Accra, March 30, GNA - Seventeen distinguished medical practitioners were on Friday honoured with lifetime awards for their academic excellence, humanitarian work and dedication to duty by the Medical and Dental Council at the induction of newly qualified doctors in Accra With the reading of citation that catalogued their academic excellence, achievements and sacrifices they have made to their profession and the country, they proudly and with humility walked majestically into the hall of fame to be crowned with glory. With the Winneba Youth Choir in attendance, thrilling invited guest with songs like 'Hen ara asase ni' and 91they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength' among other inspiring ones which sent almost everyone dancing, it set the tone for the day's programme for the old and new.

The newly qualified doctors, who were humbled by the achievement of their senior colleagues with reverence, gave them cheers and standing ovation for the sacrifices they had made.

Though it was the induction of newly qualified doctors, the seventeen persons who had excelled in their various fields as, educationist, researchers, academicians, surgeon, consultants, innovators, humanitarians, humanists, patriots, anesthetists, among others caught everyone attention.

Proud family members and invited guests could not also hide their joy and admirations for the feats achieved by their relations. For the new doctors it was clear that hard work pays and that being inducted into the medical profession was just the tip of the iceberg and one had to work very hard to achieve the feats their predecessor had accomplished.


Schools like Achimota, Prempeh, Adisadel, Holy child; Mfantsipim and Tamale Government secondary Schools were mentioned and one trait, which ran through the citations, was that almost all the awardees had one way or the others work for greener pastures abroad but for shorter period before coming home to work for country.

Distinguished medical practitioners who were honoured were Professor Stephen Addae, Prof Glifford Armah Ashitey, Dr Kwame Addo Kufuor. Dr. Andre Kofi Badohu, Dr. Horatio Becham, Dr. Edmund Delle, and Dr Federick Nii Lomote Engmann.

Others are Dr Helen Maude Engmann, Dr. Emmanuel Kodzo Fiamavle, Dr. Samuel Axwell Kofi Forson, and Dr. Edward nwinyour Gyader. The rest are Brigadier General (Rtd) Dr. Albert Gyenning, Dr Maria Hagan, Dr Maureen Nelson, Prof Kwame Nyame, Dr. Francis Apiagyei Poku and Dr. Edward Donkor Yeboah. 30 March 07

Source: GNA