Politics Wed, 7 Aug 2019

2020 Elections: I will make history - Hopeson Adorye vows

Hopeson Adorye, a long serving member of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) is promising to wrest the Kpone-Katamansu Constituency from the National Democratic Congress (NDC) with over 10, 000 ballots when voted to lead the party for the 2020 general elections.

According to the Deputy National Security Coordinator in charge of Airports, he is eager to lead the party in the constituency to set record for the NPP in the 2020 polls.

Hopeson Adorye said this after filing his nomination forms at the NPP party office in Kpone in the Greater Accra Region last Saturday to contest the forthcoming NPP parliamentary primaries.

“NDC will become history in Kpone-Katamansu and NPP will also make history here. The good people of Kpone-Katamansu know my competence and believe I am the man, who can deliver them from their current plights in the hands of the NDC MP when they give me the chance to represent the party in the 2020 elections,

“I have the political clouds among the remaining challengers hence I am optimistic I will win,” he stated.

He noted that the time had come for the NPP to take over the seat, saying that he has what it takes to put in place strategic measures to attract the electorates and development.

“I have what it takes to lobby for developmental projects and other benefits to reduce poverty in the constituency,” according to him.

Hopeson Adorye a long serving member of the NPP has served as an assemblyman and also constituency secretary for the area.

On July 20, 2019, the NPP opened nomination for prospective parliamentary candidates to pick nomination forms to contest in the September parliamentary primaries in the orphan constituencies.

The exercise is expected to end on August 3, 2019. The ruling party hopes to add to its tally of 169 seats garnered with 45 more in 2016.

The Kpone-Katamansu seat is currently being occupied by NDC Member of Parliament, Joseph Nii Laryea Afotey-Agbo who has stepped down from contesting the next election after serving for four terms.

Meanwhile, five candidates including Hopeson Adorye have filed to challenge the opportunity to lead the party in the constituency. They are David Annan, Prince Dadzie, William Ofosu Asante and Mark Sobirie.

Source: ghanaguardian.com