Politics Sun, 12 Jan 2014

32 vie for NPP Volta Regional executive positions

A total of 32 members of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Volta Region at 1700 hours on Friday January 10, deadline, listed to contest various regional positions in the Party.

George Ahiable, Chairman of the Regional Election Committee told Ghana News Agency that the exercise had been smooth and that the candidates are scheduled to be vetted.

Significantly, none of the outgoing key officers including the Chairman and Secretary are in the race.

First to file on Thursday was Mr Kwasi Owusu-Yeboa, a Legal Practitioner and onetime Regional Minister, for the position of Chairman.

He told journalists that he was seeking the job to begin a process to raise the stakes of the NPP in the region, where performance “is nothing to write home about”.

Julius Kwame Ametepe, a former Regional Director of the Ministry of Food and Agriculture and John Peter Amewu, a Consultant, are the two others vying for the chairmanship position.

Filipo Nyaho-Datti, a Commercial Farmer, Johnson Avulete and Dr Archibald Letsa, the Party’s Ho-Central Parliamentary Candidate in the 2008 and 2012 elections, filed to contest the position of First Vice-Chairman.


Esther Happy Ejeani, Educationist and Seth Ohene-Frimpong, Dispenser, are in the race for the position of Second Vice-Chairman.

Four people; Charles McCarthy, Journalist; Joseph Homenya, Accountant; Apea Kwesi Fenteng, Farmer and Kenneth Kodzo Ayim, Teacher; filed for the position of Secretary while three others, Macubu Joshua, a Student; Roland Fiakpui, Maritime Administrator and Pekyi Jones Jid-Yeku, Teacher want the position of Assistant Secretary.

Abdallah M. Sadiq, Social Worker, Makafui Kofi Woanya, Businessman, Attah Nestor, Artisan and Evans Yaw Ayivor, Systems Analyst, filed for the position Organiser while Akua Sika Nkansah, Entrepreneur, Fidelia Dorleku, Teacher and Agyagbo Rejoice, Trader, are going for Women’s Organiser.

In the race for the position of Treasurer are Anthony Avorgbedor, Businessman and Joseph Booker Yaw Denteh, Trade Unionist.

Maxwell Koffie Lugudor, Student, Dupe Yao Martin, Broadcast Journalist, Divine Bosson, Businessman, Enoch Amegbletor, Farmer and Bodja Emmanuel, Systems Administrator are going for the position of Youth Organiser.

Hajia Adiza Fuseini, Trader, Zain A.D. Sulemana, Student, Alhassan Issah Yakubu, Farmer and Adotey Ibrahim Salifu also a Farmer, are for the position of Nasara club Coordinator.

Source: GNA